Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured New Hot
 
3.9 (80)
125828   1   20   0   66

User reviews

80 reviews

 
(24)
 
(39)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (80)
 
3.9  (80)
 
3.9  (80)
 
3.8  (80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
80 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2017

We have stayed at this RV location many times as it is in our own back yard and we keep our pontoon in a slip nearby. We usually stay only a couple of days and we have never been turned away. We are told go find a spot and come on back to let us know where you are parked. The idea that a person can stay for the "season" is a bit odd. There are a few permanent homesteaders that have allowed their items to grow beyond their boundaries. They however tend to be a bit further away than the temporary visitors. This is a place where MWR should throw some money. The shower and laundry facilities need to be remodeled and the showers have a constant smell of mold. The staff have been operating out of a shanty style trailer for the last few years. The sites are well kept and many have some shade. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 29, 2017

In reference to the previous dry camping comments. Here is what was in the latest base newspaper, Thunderbolt, dated October 26, 2017. Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp: "As of this week, the FamCamp is about 80 percent full, said Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp. There are 384 camping spots." "A change this year is that the dry camp, or camping without water or electricity hookups, is not available. The dry camp area is being converted into a compound of cabins which could be ready by late 2018 or 2019. "Currently, reservations have most of the camp spots booked for the winter, but there is short-term camping (two weeks maximum) on a first-come, first-served basis, said Farcy. For more information contact FamCamp at 813-840-6919"

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 2017

Just FYI, the FamCamp sent out a text message 23 October 2017 stating "Dry camp will be closed this season, therefore there will not be any rotation." That's all it said. Suggest anyone planning to go down with out a reservation call to get clarification.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1-14 April 2017

We checked into site 94 on a Saturday. The man was rude and curt to the people checking in before us and to us also. After arriving at our site I checked voltage at receptacle and discovered that the 50 amp receptacle had 117 volts on line 1 but only 79 online 2, since this low voltage could fry electrical devices I couldn't use and a serge protector would not let current flow to trailer because of low voltage. Told man in office and was told he would have it looked at. On Monday went back to office and was pleased to be greeted by a helpful lady that called in my problem. On Tuesday I went back to office to deal with mister personality again and was told the electrician had just visited my site and informed grumpy that I apparently had not turned breakers on. I assured him that I had tried the breakers numerous times. He said there was nothing else he could do he had to go with what the electrician told him. Long story short I plugged into empty sites around me for the 2 weeks I was there. This man exemplifies the employees at the DMV and has no business working with the public. I am a work camper and have had the pleasure of dealing with people all over this country, if I never have to deal with this man again I will die a happy man. On a Happy note the facility was very enjoyable with a great beach. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Oct 21, 2016 to Feb 1, 2017

Disappointed with management, base security as well as command to fix this place. They had a town hall Jan 2017 which from gossip I heard went ugly, so much entitlement from campers the command was astonished I heard later? I like active duty people skipped it as I know my place, I'm a guest and being on base is a priv, not a right like so many dependants seemingly think. Management doesn't seem to follow policies, much less enforce them equally among campers as anyone who spends time will realize and experience. Very close minded and project borderline thinking of "good people can do no wrong/bad people can do no right" so I'd suggest smile and don't get personal with people if you wanna stay extended/seasonal? Homesteaders wreck moral at this campground as there are special people (insiders) and outsiders (those the clique doesn't know) Constant less than equal treatment prevails here sadly as seasonal snowbirders converge and you get the clique effect is ugly, pretty emotionally immature dependas as well with their entitlement issues ("my husband served blah blah blah yrs and I'm entitled" mentalities) These are the people who think they don't need to follow base policy I.e. Wear a bicycle helmet...they think they're at K.O.A. Quite time 11pm-7am isn't respected, had a civilian defendant neighbor who thought the rules didn't apply to her, she'd start up her rattle diesel truck and let it idle 0600 so went over and reminded her it was quite time, she said "I'm going to work" to which I said "get in the truck and leave then, truck is waking people up, were retired not working people here" so she went to the office and said I intimidated her with a baseball bat??? LOL!!! Office cowards brought it up weeks later asking my side of it then leaving it with don't be confrontational, just come to us??? Here is where a lot of the issues with unreasonable and irrational behavior begin, people don't work things out seemingly here, they try to get those they don't get along with kicked out seemingly... Gossip is ugly as all heck too, way too many people acting like junior high kids but that is what happens when you have people who come year after year after year etc. Heck, one veterans wife was so hurt trump won and hurt by my comment one night at weekly trivia "I don't know how anyone can be in DNC after the way they treated Bernie" her spineless veteran hubby made comment in other words "I wanna control what you talk about and I can't hear your happy trump talk" so I quit the trivia team...I later started seeing/hanging out with a active duty SGM which the trivia team leader asked the classless question "am I getting some of that cooter?" I responded with "I don't ask you about sex with your wife do I?" Too many homestead kids also, little brats constantly running-biking yelling, screaming in campground can't respect your space much less your desire for peace and quite...they'll wake you up from afternoon naps daily, management won't fix this by doing the logicle reasonable answer of enforcing the kids play at the playground which is away from campers yet close to offices and in great view by adults for supervision/security/safety yet outta hearing of most of the campground? Dog policy isn't enforced, people bring dogs that are Air Force policy wide banned from installations (pits/Doberman/rots etc) and staff acts clueless...they'll act like you're the problem for bringing it up even when these animals are clearly acting aggressive and that being your grievance for bringing this up??? You'll see people without leashes and their animals pooping/peeing in your area of occupation and they'll act like you're being unreasonable? Campground stay lengths aren't inforced equally, supposed to be a six month limit per year for RV/60 day for tent which they selectively enforce? I know people who squat/homestead their RV there non stop year after year without leaving much less rotating? They even have one Vietnam veteran who RV camps, who has a mentally challenged/socially inept middle aged son whom he sponsors his man child 40something son and girlfriend in tent camping and won't let them in their RV as they fight verbally and physically? Most bases have a 14 day guest limit but this veteran gets to have his middle aged man child kid there indefinitely??? (This guy has no base privs, can't get on base without his mother or father present) yet he's mentally challenged and thinks he has same status as veterans...This is the issues with management I speak of) I know I rip this guy bad, but this is white trash who suggested I dog fight my puppy for money??? His father made the comment about my pickup "does that thing even run?" To which I replied "does your daughter like BBC?" (Has a mulotto granddaughter and is especially ashamed his daughter made children with black men so I couldn't resist) Again, I have zero no confidence in the staff as they'll twist stories into outcomes they like and for whom they want to prevail in disputes. Same feeling for fellow camper veterans or their families much less base security or the command to fix this place so I've personally boycotted it when I left I was so frustrated and it was making my ptsd issues worse. Staff were so competitive with me in the end I got a all base restriction as I didn't come see them when they left a note asking me to come by office on my checkout date LOL!!! Security at another base fixed the restriction issue and explained after their investigation that this was grand scale snafu and should've only pertained to macdill AFB LOL!!! (More examples of their over reacting and unprofessionalism) I called month later to cancel my reservation for the following year and one of the staffers who had it out for me was childish enough to tell me he'd call me back to cancel/refund my money but never did, great example of the professionalism there again, stubborn bratty childish pukes...but again I blame the command for this as it's their campground. In hindsight, seems things got especially ugly when I was gossiped by the community about my time with an active duty female SGM (jealousy) Again, too southern as in corrupt. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 7 - 8, 2016

We just stayed a couple nights here on our way south. I think the campground is really nice and looks like they are really trying to do a good job of taking care of it. I think it is so big and there are so many camp sites that it is hard to get anything completed, like finishing the new pedestal installations. I'm not complaining just merely stating my observation. I like the CG and all the facilities. The beach is nice, really big plenty of room for all kinds of activities. While we were there there were 2 weddings and several organizational parties all on the beach and they didn't interfere with each other. The restaurant is kind of small but serves good food and good drinks and was open to everyone even during all the other activities going on. We were here in May so it was not crowded and we had our pick of sites. I would definitely return again, just not sure if it would be during peak snowbird season, that may be a little crazy with all the sites they have here. Oh and the wifi does not work very well either, we were right across from the laundry where one of the hotspots was and it still didn't work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

November 2015

Well we were dissappointed on our visit to this base. I called 1 week before arriving here and ask about sites available for last min arrivals and I was told MANY were available. We drove here from GA and when we checked in they said there fully booked till March! They said there doing renovation on half of there sites and we can stay in overflow. When we drove through the park we saw about 30 sites available in between other RVs in a separate area from the renovation area. It was a miserable hot night too. People at the office were not very friendly or helpful, it seemed like they were doing a job they didn't want to do. Also be prepared to bring registration for RV and toad, current insurance and dog vaccine records. Also directions above are not correct on one part: it says to take exit 41a then go South on Dale Marby highway. Sadly Dale Marby highway is also called HWY 92 and it goes east and west, not north and south, this will be very confusing, so you need to go WEST on HWY 92, but the rest of the info is correct.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 22-29 2015

We were not sure at all we wanted to come here but curiosity got the best of us and being nearby we drove over to check it out. I'd called in late Feb and was told there was no chance of even overflow, dry camping. Then the conversation turned confusing: something about you had to wait 2 weeks in overflow, then you had to make a reservation 2 weeks out. So I asked to make a reservation for 2 weeks from then and no, that was not possible. When I hung up I just said HUH?? To my surprise when we drove in on March 22 the office staff was super pleasant and said sure we could have a fhu site with no reservation, just come back Tuesday. We did, again very pleasant people in the office, and we got one of the many sites open. That said, we would not come back. I think the place's main appeal is it's the southernmost famcamp outside of Key West, making the winters warmer than the nicer (in our opinion) camps up in the panhandle. The sites are just average, pretty close together, the laundry room is big but not very inviting, same with the bathrooms. The beach is ok for sitting, not for swimming. The base itself is very nice, the commissary and bx are great. The annex on Golf Course Rd was never discussed so I don't know what one has to do to get there. It's a little more open, more of a "country" feel. Has the look of an old mobile home park with the sites very oddly spaced on concrete pads, one for each wheel. There are no facilities at all there. The Tampa traffic alone is enough to keep us away from a second visit. It's just not that nice a place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

23-28 February 2015

Raccoon Creek is a “Snow Bird” Mecca during the winter that was at capacity during our stay 23-28 February. MacDill is a full services base with excellent commissary, exchange, gym, golfing etc. The CG has an excellent bathhouse, laundry, mail service, marina, and beach area; all within walking distance. Excellent bike or running trails. We found the staff to be busy, very busy, but courteous. The rotation to and from full hookup to dry camp seemed to be fair. The sites are situated close together-to close. Three hot spots for Wi-Fi are advertised: marina, laundry, and the club. I could literally be standing inside one of the above and could not get connected. If you need internet recommend the library. Tampa is a Metro area and recommend that you arrive or leave on a weekend or at the very least avoid heavy traffic times. Overall we enjoyed although crowded.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb/March 2015

I called several months in advance of our trip to make sure there would be no problem with us getting a sight because we are DOD retired. I was assured there would be no problem.. I was told to call 2 weeks before arrival, I did and was told that DOD can not make reservations but to come on we would be in dry camp for a couple days, week at the most. We arrive, and are told "oh no, you are lowest of priority" but to check back if someone leaves we may get a sight. We pay for a week in dry camp, go to renew and see what is the possibility of getting electric, at this time we are told that there would have to be a mass exodus for us to even be considered for a electric sight!! Several people have come and gone. We still sit in dry camp over 3 weeks!! I am sorry but we may be DOD my husband did serve in the guards, he did time for his country, he has worked very hard for the department of defense and is very proud of the job he did, now here we are being treated as second rate citizens. I truly understand active duty has first choice!! I understand retirees should have benefits. I do not mind waiting my turn..but it seems NO ONE here knows the rules. By the time we figured out we were scum, it was too late to find another place to stay, everything is full. So DOD unless you want to stay in dry camp, stay away..it advertises DOD can stay, but they forgot to say where. Oh, by the way the showers are NOT cleaned daily. I watched one stall for 4 days that had hair in the same spot. I bought cleaner and would clean and disinfect when I showered. There is very very limited wifi, if you find it DO NOT MOVE!! We have stayed at other military camp grounds and this is the first time I have been made to feel soooo bad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 November 2014 - 12 February 2015

This is a very good facility, which could be great with a policy change. Since stays up to 6 months are allowed, from October to April it's not a campground, it's a home for snowbirds. To make a "reservation" a $100 deposit is required. We called on 13 November 2013, but did not have a confirmed reservation until a month before we left home. The last time we stayed here we arrived in December and didn't get confirmed until two weeks after we arrived. Many people abuse the system. They make reservations for October. They arrive and park their rig, then go back home until after Christmas or New Years. This allows them to get a confirmed reservation, pick a good site, and deny others the opportunity to do so. Reducing the stay limit to 4 months would fix that problem. Although the signs say the rest roooms/showers are closed for an hour and a half daily, the state of those facillities do not reflect that. I saw the same candy wrapper on the floor for 3 or 4 days. On many occasions there were no paper towels and at least one time there was no toilet paper. Wi-fi is spotty at best. IF you can connect it's not very speedy. There is a limit to the number of connections at each location and many who get connected never disconnect. They do offer Mi-Fi for $50 a month. I had my own Virgin Mobile Mi-Fi and service was lousy. They are tearing down the old office and building a new one. Hopefully they'll upgrade the Wi-Fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12 - 15 November 2014

I stayed here for 3 days on my way to Key West. It is a large RV park catering mainly to snowbirds. The staff was very helpful. They have a LONG list of rules but that usually goes along with a military environment. The first thing I noticed was a MASSIVE amount of information they required at check-in, but the staff was nice when I didn't have pet medical records. Be advised that on longer stays they require a more elaborate registration of pets. The only downside I noticed was that MANY of the fellow campers had been staying for long periods of time and kind of have developed ownership and treat the staff as servants. Many people forget when they retire that they are not as "important" as they believe. Most were very nice, I just felt bad for how a few treated the staff. The facilities are great and MacDill has every base service one can imagine. There was a definite feel on base that the snowbirds had almost taken over. lol The sites were large and level full hook-ups and cable TV, wifi and internet is said to be available but I found it basically unusable. As with many base campgrounds the awesome amenities get little use as many seemed tied to their RV sites. The Sea Scape restaurant is a privately run facility and no one seems to know/understand their hours, other than an active duty base function it was closed during my stay. Some people complain of homesteading and this is for sure one of those places, as for me that doesn't bother me at all. I much prefer the facilities being used than possibly being shut down. Make a reservation for a long stay and you will be fine. I enjoyed my stay and plan to return for longer stays. Many retirees would be well served to remember they are a GUEST not an OWNER, but again I personally had no bad interactions with fellow RVers and most seemed quick with a smile and friendly greeting.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 8, 2014

2014,2013,2012 I stayed at Raccoon Creek, Three Wi-Fi sites and they still don't work at all, I went to each location with three different WiFi antennas had 4 to 5 bars and could connect to the router but no internet, I think it's like they are trying to force you to buy the $50.00 a month MiFi, it seems to make sense now. last year I could get a little connection off and on but now nothing, I talked to someone at the sea scape and they told me the internet sucks they cant even connect the there phone it. The Staff one girl at the office counter is one of the most rudest person on the phone, but not in person. I have ever talked to and all I was trying to do is get some information about the urgent care medical centers around the area, she was just rude and could not tell me anything, that was just after I had just got off the phone with them and the person I talked to told me to come up and get a list of the facilities. I found that person and got the list no problem. Just get a name of who you talk to because they seem to have different answers, overall everything I said before is the same they treat the snow birds better than the 14 day stay people. One day I want to be a 3 month snow bird and hope to be treated better. I'm a IT guy I would check it out the internet for free. They have a lot of talent in the park and should use it. I agree with everyone about the sites just sitting vacant waiting for someone to come, but they could make a lot more money if they would manage it a little better, last year I stayed 14 days in they short term site and watched the empty long term site stay vacant the whole time. Same thing this year you have to call 14 days to get a reservation and everyday I see nothing buy empty lots. I see the same problem all the way back from July 2011 with the internet, Management don't seem to care about it at all, get your MiFi for $50.00, Also if you have dogs watch the pickers on the ground very painful to your dogs and you, seems like they would put out some grass seed every year. Beach is super, lot of noise every morning, firing range going every morning, planes flying over all hours (planes going into Tampa Airport don't know why they come over the camp ground so low and all the time, I figured it was a secure air space. I figured I would give it a try again not much change. Getting to be a little dumpy every year. Traffic speeding up and down the main road all day not to bad this time. First time no bugs, better in November, Bugs very bad all the other times, mainly at night but it's Florida. Did not think I was coming back this year but I love the Tampa area. Went to Mayport this year and loved it, been to Patrick AFB before, but I came back to MacDill, this place is way better a lot more to do here, some policies are wacked, everyplace is different, you would think policy would be the same way everyplace, all US Government Military, they need to be fixed. you can stay 14 days but if you want to extend you can't until the 14th day you can ask to stay longer, so you better have a back up plan. Gun policy at MacDill the best so far, register at Raccoon Creek and keep your guns with you. At Patrick AFB had to check them in the arms room no big problem, at Mayport a no/no for any weapons. I'm almost at retirement next year Dec 1st and waiting to get my long term stay at MacDill and will get a little more involved in the Park, I don't agree with the homestead comments it nice to have a place to go after retirement, Patrick AFB is renting housing to retirees again everyplace is different. I like the security staying on the base and one nice part of serving your country for twenty years. you don't get much but this is a plus.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 20 thru Nov 7th 2014

Upon arrival at the office I could not find fault, The office staff were helpful and considerate, however it was only the third week of October 2014 but never less there were some two week spots. I read the reviews and certainly can see there are people who have been coming to this camp ground who feel entitled as annual renters, one told me he has been coming for 19 years. I asked several different questions regarding the USAF Policy on operating the camp ground and how the site reservation and waiting list are managed but was never able to see the AFR because there was no copy available and no clear response was given on year to year management. I suspect the IG should get involved or maybe raise it to a Congressional investigation. I don't think the people running the site are intentionally mismanaging the system, but I think there is a gap of fairness from year to year that should be looked into. Example is if all reservations are filled early in October for 6 months, people should be made to physically occupy the space not just pay to keep it for 90 days before they arrive. The other short sighted rule is if you are on the reserved waiting list and carried over to the following year then those people should be the first to be allowed to reserve spots before those who reserve and occupy annually. This would allow rotation from the waiting list annually and create fairness for all on the waiting list. Example if you are number 18 or 125 on the reserved waiting list in 2013 then you would have been given a reserved spot the following year during the peak times of October thru March 2014 before anyone who occupied the reserved spots in 2013. This would create a rotation from the reserved waiting list into the reserved spots at least every other year. The reserved list for reserved spots would only be open until they reach the total number of reserved spots available and would only be able to be reserved by those occupying a reserved spot in March of the year they have the spot. This is called fairness to all military entitled people to get a chance at enjoying the benefits offered at Raccoon Creek MacDill AFB Family Camp. I am not available to partake in this adventure because I still work full time and enjoy my job so even at 66 I have no plans to retire. However I did enjoy our two weeks spent here this year. I will not be able to travel there in 2015 due to overseas travel work commitments but I do intend to follow what is happening here because I think there are numerous violations of reservation mismanagement and if not publically repaired I will without hesitation start a congressional inquiry because I think all deserve to enjoy what just a few are now enjoying. Last thanks to the friendly management I enjoyed my visit and hope to visit again in 2016 or 2017, keep the lights on!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 14-20, 2014

After reading some of the remarks on here, I had my doubts about this place, but it is a remarkable place to stay! The beach is nice and never crowded, the marina is a full service marina with reasonable rates (just make sure to observe the rules for getting in and out of the marina; 3rd marker!) They have equipment to rent, nice permanent beach chairs, a restaurant, the golf course is nearby, etc.; what more could you want? And, the "heavy-handed" rules are mostly geared at discourteous pet owners. So, if you are a conscientious pet owner and you are cognizant of those around you who don't appreciate stepping in dog or cat doo-doo, or putting up with incessant barking at all hours of the night, then you don't really have much to worry about. If you are the type that treats your pet like it is a human being or an extension of the family with all the powers of cognition associated with mankind, then move on and go someplace else, plain and simple. I'm sure there are plenty of other appreciative folks out there who would be most happy to take your place!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 22-23, 2014

First the good: Wonderful location. Tampa is a scenic city and MacDill is an incredibly beautiful military base. The famcamp is well kept, neat and clean. We had a water view site on a level concrete pad. Now the bad: When we checked in we had to provide our RV registration, proof of insurance for our trailer and our truck, and a shot record for our dog. Both my wife and I had to provide our full names, plus a separate next of kin. I have never had to answer such detailed questions at any other military RV park, and we have been to at least a dozen different ones in the last two years. I haven't had to answer so many personal questions since my last overseas deployment! Next we had to sign our lives away, saying we understood the many pages of ridiculously strict rules and regulations of the famcamp. These include a demerit system. Every violation is 3 points. If you amass 12 points you are evicted from the famcamp. Definitely not a dog friendly place. Dog rules are posted everywhere, in case you forgot the page of dog rules you had to sign upon arrival. Cats are not exempt, either. A neighbor told me he got chewed out when one of his cats briefly walked outside his trailer without a leash. All the rules and their threats of heavy handed enforcement made me flash back to bootcamp... but wait, there's more. Hopefully it was just the time of year we stayed here, but the insects were horrible. Bugs known as "lovebugs" were swarming everywhere. They don't bite but they are so thick they are a major annoyance. Much worse were the "no see 'ums," tiny biting insects that were everywhere at all hours of the day and night. They are so small they easily get inside your trailer and even torture you while you are inside. I had to cover myself in Off insect repellent just to go outside. I am still swatting at them as I write this review. Overall, the terrible insect situation coupled with the absurd emphasis on unnecessarily strict rules spoiled what should have been a great visit. We will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 1 Mar 30

Thanks again for another wonderful winter stay. We arrive in Oct and stay the full 6 months. Thanks to the office staff for all that you do. We stay in the annex by choice and enjoy the camaraderie with our fellow campers. I have to address a few things Happy Camper reviewed (previous poster), I feel the people in the annex were misrepresented. I only know of one person who brought their MH in to get a spot and left. There were a lot of people who went home for the holidays. We have a dog that we take away from the campsites do to her business, we do walk her for exercise. Happy Camper should put a no dog sign on his lot and most dog owners would avoid his site. The only recommendation I would have is to make a designated walkway to the dog park area. I don't like walking through someone's campsite to get there. We are all adults and the majority of the campsites are kept in good condition. Again, thanks for a wonderful season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2013-April 2014

We had a reservation so upon arrival we visited the office. We were told to drive around and pick an open site. We wanted to stay in the annex so we headed that way. We were surprised that most of the sites, especially the better ones, were already taken by the end of October. A large number bring their RVs there in September and early October and leave them for 1-3 months just to get “their site”. Of course they pay rental for that time so the MWR is not losing money. However, is it fair to those of us that arrive with the intention of staying and many of good sites are already taken by empty RVs? Also, some of the better open sites, with no RVs in them, had stuff setting there to appear they were occupied – obviously being saved for a friend which is against the rules. The office does not enforce this either as we watched friends move into them. However, we did pick a site that we were happy with. FAMCAMP OFFICE does not enforce any policy that I could see. They have a policy that allows other FAMCAMP residents to notify the office of any rules violations. Very few, if any violation, get reported because no one wants to be the “bad guy” and report someone. The annex seems to have its own rules compared to the main RV area. Examples of some of the rules that go unnoticed/uncorrected. PET RULES WILL BE STRICTLY ADHERED TO. PLEASE DO NOT WALK PET IN NEIGHBOR'S YARDS. In the main campground and annex, pet rules are not enforced and again FAMCAMP residents are supposed to report violators. They have dog walks but most do not use them. They walk them on long leashes and allow them to dump on everyone site. Most do pick up after them but I got tired to watching dogs use my site to dump on. I did ask two owners to please keep their dogs off of my site. UTILITY/CAR TRAILERS OR BOATS OF ANY KIND ARE NOT ALLOWED ON SITE WITH RV. CHECK WITH OFFICE FOR PROPER PARKING AREAS. In the annex, this is not enforced. They allow all kinds of trailers and boats to be stored on a site. It looks like trailer park and very unsightly. RV SITES WILL BE KEPT NEAT AND ORDERLY AT ALL TIMES. In the main campground and annex, sites become very cluttered and unsightly because no one wants to be the “bad guy” and report someone. Why can’t someone from the office drive around daily and correct the violations? THE OFFICE DOES NOT DO ANY MOWING IN THE AREA. They claim that they stopped due to residents complaining of damage to their RVs, hoses, cables and so on. That could be correct but why not require the contractor/staff to be more careful? As a result, sites become overgrown with weeds and grass growing well over one-foot. The office does have mowers for checkout by the residents if they want to mow their own lot. I moved mine once but most do not. THE OFFICE STAFF for the most part, are not very customer friendly. It is a big park with lots of activity and it must be difficult to deal with complaining residents. However, I observed lots of rudeness while waiting my turn in line to pay my monthly rent or pick up a package. There is lots of room for improvement in this area. We do enjoy the base and area and come back every year and observe the same problems. It does seem to be getting a little worse with the enforcement of the rules. Someone needs to take charge and enforce the rules. If not then change the rules.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

February 2014

J.A. left this review using the Directory software: - I don't know why this seems to be so popular. We tried twice during the week we were going to be there to make reservations or get an idea of how long the wait would be and were told, of course, reservations were not taken but have to wait for a spot may be a couple days. When we arrived we were asked if we had reservations. (Wait, I thought you didn't take reservations?) Then they said it maybe a week or longer to get a spot. We set up camp in an open field to wait our turn. The next day they came and said we couldn't camp by the canal so we left. No way were we going to wait a week with no electric or water for an overcrowded space when you are way away from everything. I would have no desire to stay here again. The bay seems to be the only thing they have going for them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 16-20, 2014

Demerits? Seriously? A management style of treating campers like school children assigns 3 points for various infractions. Exceed 12 and you're ejected. Office staff lets those who come to the office wait, while they take phone calls immediately. With only 34 first-come, first-serve sites, this park certainly discourages spontaneity. It really just provides subsidized Winter housing and RV storage for snowbirds. Be prepared for days of dry-camping, hearing generators from dawn to almost midnight. It would be considerate to set aside a no-generator area for those of us who can function without one. FHU sites vary from spacious to cramped. Partial sites are next to the dry-camp field and their generators. We watched seven partial sites sit empty for three nights (maybe more after we left) but we couldn't get out of dry-camping. Neither could we make a reservation. If they don't reserve them and they don't move people to them, then what? The location is beautiful, the base has every amenity. We appreciated the library, commissary and exchange. Gas was convenient. Easy to get to highways and tourist attractions. This is the 23rd FAMCAMP we have stayed in and the first to require vaccination records for my CAT! For a 4 day visit! Bathrooms were tidied-up but have had years of hard use. Every stall had a functional shower-head and shower-curtain and lots of hot water. Huge laundry, as is fitting for 400 campsites. Dump station is located for departing campers, not convenient for those needing to dump before dry-camping. Wifi? Forget it. Never got on it in the campground, indicating it's way overloaded.

Was this review helpful to you? 
80 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4