Destin Army Infantry Center Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (92)
174241   1   30   2   107

User reviews

30 reviews with 4 stars

92 reviews

 
(59)
 
(25)
 
(6)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.7  (92)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (92)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (92)
Value 
 
4.5  (92)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (92)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Mar 9-16, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the second year we have spent spring break here at the RV park. The people staying there are so friendly. We just love the location. The one thing that was lacking this year was the cleanliness. The bathrooms were not cleaned until our 5th day there. That was after I complained. There was a mold growing on the showers. The toilet paper was out and there were no paper towels. The staff was not friendly and seemed shocked when I told them. Even after someone cleaned it, the showers were still gross. The staff at times were kinda of rude as well. We will still go back because we like the price and enjoy the location. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
25-28 Feb 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We called about a week in advance and was able to get a four-day reservation in one of the new pull-through sites. We paid $30 per night for full hook ups, including 50 amp electric, sewer, water. We also had cable TV and very, very good WiFi service. We have a 36' Class A and dinghy toad and still had plenty of room in our pull-through site. The spaces are very tight; but, in the four days we were there, we felt like part of the family. Many campers had over-wintered; long-term stays are permitted in the campground and other housing areas. The campground has one large dumpster to deposit trash and one "dog station". There were plenty more of these stations around the entire Recreation Area but only one in the campground. For the limited number of camping spaces, one would seem to be enough but was constantly out of bags. The campground has pull-through and back-in sites. Check in was a breeze. Very friendly staff and very professional. This facility has a small conference/gathering area with restrooms and vending. It also has hotel rooms, villas, marina rentals, fishing options, a heated pool, and kid's splash park. Eglin AFB is close by. Several days we saw a variety of military exercises in the sky and could hear a few as well. I had a scheduled conference call one day and was able to conduct it in the conference/gathering room. The WiFi worked great and I was able to conference without potential noise pollution from Eglin. The bay is beautiful but there is no beach access at the Recreation Area. A Great Blue Heron named "Otis", according to the long-term residents, makes frequent appearances! Also, we saw plenty of brown pelicans. Very beautiful. Location: 4/5 because of its proximity to attractions in Destin and being near Eglin AFB for Commissary or other needs. Cleanliness/Hospitality: 5/5 no issues. The entire Recreation Area was very clean and very well maintained. Amenities/Facilities: 4/5 because although this is a great Recreation Area, it is small and is NOT contained within a military base. When you leave, you are immediately immersed in Destin homes and communities. It's a matter of personal preference. Value: 3/5 because $30/night is the most we have paid thus far at a military campground. Overall Experience: 4/5 because every campground could use some improvements. The rental prices are a bit high and tours/excursions rates are very high as well. We think both of these could be lowered to better support military families.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 9, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay. The only thing was the upkeep of the camping area as far as the grounds are concerned..the weeds needed cutting around the sites.. sand spurs where growing in this stuff and then your pets get these things in thier hair. The staff at check in on Saturday thru Wedesday not very friendly..but the staff that came in the Thursday thru Saturday were Great and very helpful. Over all its a nice place to camp...just need a few tweaks...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Sep-Oct 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
just returned from a week here and had a great visit to the park and the area!! we did make reservations and also called ahead when we were to arrive one day earlier and had no problem getting in, not that i should have considering there were a dozen open spots... as for the spots they are right next to each other all in a row around a circle, i had no problems backing in, but if you have a 40footer or bigger and they assign you a space that has someone in front of you, your backing skills need to be up to par?? there is plenty to see and do in town and and everything you need, there is a pool and kids play areas and marina and laundry on the grounds so no worries there, my only complaint is that the grass around the rv sites had a lot of stickers in it and the dogs have issues with that :( the other grass areas away from there were ok?? we would stay here again but there are other parks in the area and we might try one of them next time just to go somewhere new? if anyone has any questions about the area just send me a msg and i would be happy to answer, happy camping!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 3
April 13-16, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Second stay here. Still tight quarters especially as Class A's and 5th Wheels get longer. Surprised that at this time of year, after spring break, there were an average of 13 unoccupied sites every night. So, same-day reservations may be possible at this time of year. You can't find a better deal in Destin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb. 16-23, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice and clean located in a very nice tourist beach people area. I did not max the score because of the tightness. This place and this area speaks for itself so I will not go into detail… boardwalk, cafés, wining, dining, shopping, white beaches, very clean and so on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This park is in a great location, right off hwy. 98......a few miles from the beach and right on the bay. A marina is right on the premises and a nice pool area. Clean laundry facility. Lots of stores, restaurants, and activities are nearby. The park is very "compact" for rv users. Corners are tight, but if you are an experienced driver it will be no problem. All lots are back-in. We had to "hug a tree" with the back of our 37' travel trailer in order to fit in our space!!!! Some lots are bigger than others. Plenty of room to walk the puppies. You can make reservations which helps a lot when trying to plan a trip! We will definitely stay here again. Be sure to watch out for the grill location in the lot.....not in a good place!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We checked out all of the military RV parks in the area. This is by far the BEST in the area. Great location with a pool and splash pad. Also, the sunset views are breathtaking!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
26 Mar-2 Apr 2013
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park is a little tight and I wouldn't call it big rig friendly, however we were able to get our 40' 5'er backed into site #33 with just a little maneuvering. The folks in the office are fantastic who go "above & beyond" to make your stay pleasurable. Be careful driving in the park as there are a lot of kids riding their bikes and playing. Rules for dogs are not enforced as they should. Dogs are left tied up with no one at the site, several off-leash and some folks don't pick up after their animals. We got a solid Verizon 4G signal and our rooftop satellite got a good Directv signal as well. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 11, 2013
(Updated: March 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were not going to stay here but decided to when we could make reservations. That is a real plus. I found out I could make them on Facebook which is great. We are getting our RV repaired in Fort Walton Beach at Fleet Maintenance and waiting for the part to come in a few days. The major issue I have with this campground is the tight quarters. It is almost claustrophobic. Very tight turns and really no space between sites. The facility is co located with suites and rooms and they have really jammed a lot onto this property. Last year we were here at this time and the front office area had all kinds of T-Shirts, sweatshirts and souvenirs. Not sure what happened this year by there is nothing here. Like empty nothing. Word is that "we have everything on order". If we could have made reservations at Hurlburt Field we would have done so and not stayed here. Still, the location is great, the price is right and the scenery of nearby Choctahathee Bay is great. We could do worse. It was OK here, just not my favorite. We may be back but not sure. We camped in a 40' motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Jan 23, 2013
(Updated: January 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
RV spaces are old and not made for todays large vehicles but we were still able to park our 37ft 5th Wheel here. The rest of the area seems to be well taken care of. WIFI was only at the office/Conference Center but no problems hooking up and using. Staff was great and very helpful. Would have no problems coming back to this area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
18-26 Nov 2012
(Updated: November 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It was our first time at this location, and although the sites are close together, they are not too bad. The grounds are very nice and clean, and the staff is very helpful and nice. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay for us. I do wish that some of the equipment would be available, such as bicycles, and kayaks up at least until after Christmas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 28, 2012
(Updated: April 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were at Mid-Bay Shores and decided to drive over here to check things out. We had stayed here 4 years ago and I had said then that I would never stay here again. They are not big rig friendly and today they are still not. The sites are just too tight to get into. They do have a couple of end sites that are a little more roomier but 4 years ago for some reason they were empty but not available to me. I figured they were saving them for friends. This is overall a very nice resort also with cottages and a motel type facility. It is in a great location. I haven't changed my mind about staying here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
January 2012
(Updated: January 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Spent a couple of weeks here. We are full timers and this was our first visit to the area although we home base in north central Florida. Not crazy about the town of Destin. Just another FL tourist trap. Lot's of shopping here though. Has all the "big boxes". Park was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The downside is that the spaces are very tight to get into and very close together. Very little room to park a vehicle. Overall good experience but very cramped feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 18, 2011 to July 20, 2011
(Updated: July 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When we arrived the RV grassy areas had been neglected for the entire year, grass was 12" tall, RV laundry room was dirty, and some employees were less than friendly. Ft Benning MWR was notified and some corrective action was immediate. The Manager advised that he had intentions of remodelling the RV campground this coming winter with "pull throughs" and reducing the number of sites from 46 to about 23! He said he would ultimately would like to do away with the RV sites and build a "highrise" facility in it's place. The RV community should let Ft Benning MWR know what they want or don't want ASAP!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 23, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.K. left this review using the Directory software: Arrived here today for a one week stay. With one exception (more on that later), this has to be the finest military campground in the Florida Panhandle. Easy access to the resort, gated community with key card access, immaculate landscaping and maintenance, and a good combination of RV sites and motel type buildings. There is a nice pool within the resort and a water sports rental facility for everything from a kayak up to pontoon boats. The resort is sited right on the bay and there are picnic areas and Adirondack chairs in grassy areas right on the water. All of the RV sites are paved and level and include a patio with picnic table and charcoal grill. The utility poles are well placed and easy to access and include CATV at each FHU site. The entire RV area is well lighted, but not obtrusive. I saw WIFI antennas located around the area, but I don't know how well they work. I use a Verizon MIFI card and reception here is excellent! Same for Verizon cellular service. Now for the one exception that keeps me from giving this CG a perfect score...the RV sites are small and really packed tightly together. I have a 30' Fifth Wheel and it takes up the entire pad from the fence in the back to the street in front. I have to squeeze my truck into the space alongside my camper, open the door, and walk around the back of the camper to get to the door. I can't open the awning...there's not enough room between my camper and the slide out of the folks next to me. Supposedly this resort is Big Rig Friendly, but you better be REALLY friendly with your neighbors. There are a few longer Motorhomes here, but no place to park a TOAD on your site. There is limited additional parking within the RV area. I'm not complaining though...you're in a great military campground at a really reasonable rate, close to some beautiful beaches in a high priced resort area, and served by a staff that goes out of it's way to make sure you have the best stay possible!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 23, 2011
(Updated: March 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I wanted to add an additional note to the previous review....I am currently staying at this facility and there is no WiFi available in the RV park. I was told due to the construction going on with the Reception Office the WiFi transmitters where damaged and as a result there is no WiFi available in the RV park. However, they have set up a room in one of the hotel buildings (close to the RV park) to be WiFi capable. There are several tables set up in this room so it can accommodate 4-10 people at a time. Apparently there is no funding, currently, to replace the damaged transmitters so there will probably be no WiFi for the RV park for a while. This is the only disappointment, otherwise this FamCamp is very nice. It is easy to get to and is conveniently located to services/restaurants in Destin; the landscaping is well manicured, they have boat/jet ski rentals; fishing piers; swimming pool (closed currently), landing entry into the bay for swimming. I especially like that the roads and parking pads in the RV park are all hard top. Great if you have pets. I plan to stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2910
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Facilities are great--wonder when the 1 bedroom apartments will be open and are the motel rooms still being renovated?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 18, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
While staying at Henderson State Park w/ sister in her 5th wheel we drove over so I could check this out BEFORE we drove our 30ft 5th wheel down. Found it easy enough to find and the staff was great, extremely friendly. BUT I don't know how you can fit RVs in there that tight! I assume it is always full, it was the day we drove over, so there wouldn't be any wiggle room. The block walls surrounding such a tight area made me feel like I was in a kennel, and the drab one tone paint job- gave the whole area a institutional/incarceration flavor. I think the cottages and duplexes would be well worth pursuing and again a little paint could make it much more inviting. Possibly take out one of the older building near the RV section to make it more accessible would help. The price for a stay in Destin is great but you are quite a way out. I think we will try for Henderson instead. Hope this helps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
18 Jan 2010 - 1 Feb 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We liked this campground but as everyone else says, it takes quite a while to jockey a 5th wheel into a campsite, especially if a truck is parked in front of the trailer across from you, as happened in our case. We're full timers and the only experience worse than this, getting into a spot was at Panama City NSA. The BBQ grill at our site had rusted at the base and actually fell over while we there--glad we weren't USING it! The laundry room is large. There are 4 washers, 4 dryers @ 75 cents each and a large commercial washer and dryer for $2.50 each. My advice is to steer clear of the large commercial dryer. I put one regular washerload of clothes in it as the smaller dryers were being used, and for $2.50 it didn't even dry the load! The 75cent dryers do a MUCH BETTER JOB. You're given keycards at the office when checking in and you need those for the restrooms, laundry room and gate. The small beach area and pier are nice but it was cold when were there so we didn't get to enjoy it much. Lots of nearby restaurants and stores. Eglin AFB is about 30 min away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2