Destin Army Infantry Center Recreation Area

Featured Hot
 
4.4 (92)
166791   1   30   2   105

User reviews

53 reviews with 5 stars

92 reviews

 
(59)
 
(25)
 
(6)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.7  (92)
 
4.3  (92)
 
4.5  (92)
 
4.4  (92)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
53 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 16-20, 2017

This place is awesome! Didn't think anyone in the office was rude--perhaps just busy. Being able to mke a reservation for our stay in the RV park was an assuring bonus. We had Enterprise pick us up for a rental car, the beaches are not that far, and the dining opportunities in the area are fabulous--we had a blast; so, we'll definitely be going back :-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 20, 2017

Great campground! The grounds and facilities are well maintained. There is so much for children to do including the splash pad, pool, and two playgrounds. There is a fishing pier and affordable boat rentals as well. RV sites are pretty close but we were able to get our 36 ft RV in with no problem. One thing I noticed was how kind and respectful everyone is here. There are many retirees who are just the sweetest and a lot of children, all of whom have been respectful and kind towards adults, the facilities and each other. You are a short 3 minute drive from the main drag. Henderson State Park is about 5 minutes away once you hit the main drag and it is beautiful, much prettier beach than the packed beach and brown water we saw over by the Boardwalk/Gulfarium area. This is definitely an amazing value, we plan to come back for sure! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 12-17, 2016

Great for RV it is a little tight but great we will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2016

Very happy with our experience at the Destin Army Infantry RV Park. it's a small park, and parking bigger RVs can be tricky but quite doable. The park is maintained beautifully, it's clean and quiet. There is a great children's play area, and a nice pool. the park is situated on the bay but it's not a swim area. There is a nice fishing pier and charter fishing boat trips are available. Cable and WiFi both great. In fact, the WiFi is much better than most I've encountered in RV parks elsewhere. We really enjoyed this RV park and thank the Army for doing such a great job staffing and maintaining it. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb/Mar 2016

We didn’t use the toll bridge indicated in the directions, but came down Rt 133 from I-10, a 4-lane road with non-toll bridge, which I would recommend using instead unless you are coming from the west. Access to the CG is very straightforward. There is a lot to do and see within a few miles either direction from the CG. The CG was very clean as were the restrooms & laundry. Ice was $1.50 a bag in the small shop, but there are a Walmart & Publix within a mile or so of the CG if you don’t want to go the 15 miles to Eglin. Wi-Fi was great and much easier to use than the Navy Go Wi-Fi. Cable was good. We didn’t experience any concern about ‘tightness’ in the sites themselves, but more from the campers. They park their trucks partway on the road, which is only single-lane pavement, making it narrow and limiting room to swing around into sites. The sites are concrete pads, but ours had settled somewhat into a lean and we had to block up to get level. Pool and marina looked nice, but were all closed for the season.  We stayed in a motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10 Feb - 13 Feb 2016

Our first visit to this Famcamp, and nothing really new to add to all the good things reported in previous reviews....just an affirmation.  Strong WiFi, good cable TV, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and yes - very tight maneuvering with spaces close together, but workable for big rigs if you're careful. The campground really occupies a beautiful and private bay front location with quick, easy access to the gulf, Eglin/Hurlburt AFB facilities, and shopping/restaurants in Destin or Ft Walton Beach.  Even though we were there in what should be the heart of Snowbird season, we were able to get reservations with only a weeks' notice.  If you're planning a longer stay/vacation on the NW Florida beaches, or just passing through for a few days, I can strongly recommend this Army Famcamp/recreation area....kudos to Ft Benning!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 18 through January 25 2016

Destin Army Recreation Area. We're here for a week and as other reviewers have stated the RV spaces are "tight" but it's the price you pay for a great location, excellent rates, cement pads and an overall super facility. The WiFi actually works and is strong, cable provides lots of channels.  Personnel here are very courteous the RV community during our visit was very "homey" very social.  Everything was clean, well maintained, even the sand box for the kids to play in was taken care of - overall an excellent value.  Only caution would be if you have a behemoth of a RV there are some spaces you'd never get in and some turns you might not make.  I'd say anywhere north of 42 feet would be too much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23 Oct - 21 Nov 2015

Love this Famcamp!  Another great visit and now the WIFI is throughout the park and is very reliable.  The staff is very friendly and does a great job keeping the park clean and all the amenities in good working order.  Can't wait till our next visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

4-11 April 2015

This was our second visit to this Campground and we may just make this a yearly Spring visit. The Staff is very friendly and the park is very clean. On this visit we got the last large site (next to the bath house) and it was a little difficult getting our 39 foot 5th Wheel into it because of the angle of the site. WIFI is only available in the office, but it worked real well there. We rented a pontoon for a few hours at the marina and just cruised the Bay and enjoyed ourselves. This park is worth visiting if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 18-20, 2015

Great facility, great Staff, Awesome location and amenities. Our first time there, but we will visit on every trip to Florida in the future. Rates were very reasonable for the services provided. Thanks Destin Family and Ft Benning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2015

BEAUTIFUL!! Everyone was very very friendly!! The grounds are very well kept!! It was rainy and chilly when we were there and want to return when it is warmer so we can take advantage of the pool and beach!! I want to bring my grandkids here. A BIG thank you to the office personnel for making us feel as a valued camper!! Very very clean!! Spaces may be small but there are places with less space for more money!! We have a 34 ft 5 th wheel and had enough space.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 2014

This is one of the nicer military parks we have stayed in. Located on the bay but very near town makes for an ideal location (see comments below). The park is clean and very well maintained. There were lots of things to do.. swimming, fishing, etc. The prices were very reasonable and the folks very helpful. There are only two drawbacks. 1) the spaces are small and very close together. Difficult to get into with a larger rig. 2) if you are sensitive to loud noises you might think twice. Eglin Air Force base is across the bay and the touch and go jet fighter training make for a lot of daytime noise. At night there was quite a bit of bomb practice going on. Our dog was not a happy camper the first week. But did get used to it as we did. We recommend the park very highly and most certainly will go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

7 April - 20 April, 2014

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - We came in on a Monday, with a 39ft 5th Wheel. Site 40. Neighbors were helpful in parking - moving vehicles and aiding guiding the job. Some lots have car curbs at the back. Ours was right under the rear leveling jack so I had to move forward a foot. Our 3500HD did not fit very well in front of the trailer, probably should of parked it in the overflow lot. Moved the picnic table for the slideouts, and settled in. Did not use the laundry or show facilities- no comments there. The dogs loved the area for walking ("new smells every trip). Eglin was busy (read lots of jet traffic by day, helicopters at night) but to be expected here. . I would visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 12-May 1 2014

This was my third visit here and I love it! The staff is very friendly and informative. Look forward to returning again perhaps in the fall. The only reason for only a 4 star rating for amenities is the WIFI isn't always reliable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 March - 5 April 2014

First visit to this campground, but won't be our last. Even though the RV side is tight, we had no trouble getting our 39' 5th Wheel into our site. Overall the campground is very clean and well maintained. Eglin AFB is very close if you need the Commissary or BX. We really enjoyed our visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Christmas week 2013

We were here over Christmas week. Every spot that could be a site is. And when this park is full, they are stacked in like a cord of firewood! When you get your rig in, then park your personal vehicle, there is only room for one to drive on the road. We experienced a neighbor coming in about 200am & was having difficulty backing his trailer in because of a vehicle parked across from his spot. And it was raining! He finally got in & called it parked. Definitely a park where one wants to get in with daylight & while people are awake where they can move their vehicle for you! We used this rec area for a family get together. 2 sets in the RV Park & 2 more families over in the hotel area of the Rec Area. The rooms were really nice! Very clean & roomy. The laundry rooms are clean & efficient. Marina on site but nothing up during this time of year. And it was way too cold for the pool or the splash park. The water area has a very nice layout. There is also an area with lines of loungers set to look out on the bay. We would definitely come back here as the Rec Area is a really nice setting. Close to great restaurants. Plus an awesome outlet mall near. Got great deals after Christmas! As this is a Rec Area located on the bay it is not on a base. If you want the commissary or exchange, go to Eglin. Plus you have Publix & several other local grocery stores plus WalMart nearby. After seeing pictures of Destin from the summer, I don't know if I want to endure those crowds! But I would like to come back to the Rec Area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with the whole experience. Upon arriving and seeing how close the campsites were, we were a little concerned that we would hear everyone and everything. Not true at all. The marina, dock and pool areas were a wonderful bonus! Very relaxing. Wonderful, courteous staff. One of my new favorite places to go! We will definitely be returning!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 7-8, 2013

We did not know that this FamCam existed until we went to the visitor center in Fort Walton Beach. A volunteer who was ex military guided us expertly. Luckily a vacancy was available and we loved it. We paid $20 for the night. No commissary etc, but that's OK. A diamond in the rough for us, but a staple for anyone who is local.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 1, 2013

We were in the area and just dropped in for a checkup. We stayed here I think about 5 years ago. At that time we found the sites a little small for large units and decided we probably wouldn't stay here again. They do have some larger sites on the ends that would be fine but for some reason they save them for the smaller units. I was hoping they would have found a way to enlarge the sites but seems impossible. I'm not going to knock it to much. It's a nice park, just not right for us. It appears to be a great place for families.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

16-20 Oct 2012

Well just arrived and pulled up to security gate, she saw us and popped it open then went inside to check in, $19 a night for 50amp, cable & full hookup. Looped around the corner, plenty of room and then got to my spot, disconnect the toad and backed right in with tons of space for my 37'er, Showers are awesome, super pressure and tons of scolding water, laundry .75 per, nice pool and splash park for kids I might play also. NO WI-FI, other than in main conference room and a small spot by the showers and pool, that's why I gave a 4 for amenities. Fishing Pier and charter boats and waverunners available right here. I made reservations for all of Jan 2013. Come on by and we'll charter a boat for a fishing excursion and split the fee, lol.

Was this review helpful to you? 
53 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3