Jacksonville RV Park

New Hot
 
4.0 (58)
85114   0   19   2   40

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

58 reviews

 
(17)
 
(28)
 
(12)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.2  (58)
 
3.8  (58)
 
4.3  (58)
 
4.0  (58)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

November 2016

Not a bad camp. Improvements made over the years. Homesteaders...ughhh Office says 45 day stay in 12 month period. Something like that. But every time we stop in there are the same campers in the same spots. One is in the "old" area. Back of laundry room. His 5th wheel has been in the same spot for YEARS ! He is not the host. Fam Camps are not housing. Or mobile home parks. Length of stay should be applied equally to all campers. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 18, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 2015

Overall not a bad RV park...... But, office says no staying beyond 45 days in a 12 month period. I may be wrong on the exact number of days. But do believe it is 45 in a 12 month period. Every time we have stopped in we see some of the same HOMESTEADERS. The camp ground has improved. The spaces in back of the bath house have been redone. No more muddy space at the end of the row. Laundry room combo needs to be changed on the door. Every time we have stayed here free loaders come into the laundry room and do laundry. These are not people from the marina (they are authorized to use the RV laundry room). These are others who seem to think they can do a free wash and dry anytime the want. You, the paying customer, will just have to wait in line behind them. Over sight of the people who work in the office and the camp ground proper is lacking.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2013

We have enjoyed staying at the Jacksonville RV Campground - having done so many times over the past 5 years of full-time RVing. We only stay from a few days to a week at one time. My husband is a DOD Retiree with the US Air Force, as his spouse I am a retired Realtor. JAX RV Park has always accepted us even though the Military Campground Directory said (at one time) "no DOD", now it states "Jacksonville DOD Retired". Just to clarify in our own minds; I called JAX MWR in late March and they very politely told me, "Yes, we do accept DOD Retirees from other branches - your husband is welcome to come stay". Then she asked me if I was also a DOD Retiree...I told her "no". She explained that the latest change of rules offer RV sites to DOD Retirees but if the spouse or significant other is not DOD Retired or Active Duty then they are NOT permitted. I laughed thinking she was kidding, but she assured me that - that is now the rule. She also said many of their regular RVers are very unhappy after being told that the only way they can stay is by leaving their "non-DOD Retiree Spouse or Significant Other" at the curb or at best; at home (if you have one). She agreed that it's a very unfair reg. We just wanted to alert our fellow RVers of this situation before they drive on base only to be rejected because your spouse is not allowed to stay with them. And if you want to get it changed spread the word and become a squeaky wheel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 2013

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Staying here currently after being at Pelican Roost (Mayport) for 2 weeks. Big disappointment. No office or host onsite. Pads are not level. Normal general delivery mail at the post office works fine. Needed to order something from amazon.com. RV office told me to us MWR RV Park and my space number and UPS would deliver to my site. Wrong answer. I checked with the MWR Warehouse, base warehouse, commisary and finally the NEX warehouse where UPS actually delivered. I understand this could simply be a mistake on UPS part but my advice on packages is to find a local home address to have packages delivered to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2011

Agree with below comments regarding homesteaders. When staying at JAX NAS RV park for two weeks last December,2011, we noticed a hand full of them (mostly active duty and DOD civilians) who were there from our visit in 2010! We learned from other campers that some of these homesteaders have been in the campground for Y E A R S ! Agree with below post, we also wonder how "they swing that being there are length of stay rules." One active duty Navy O6, with a class A, has been there for years. One DOD civilian we talked with freely told my wife and I that they had been there for years. He retired from DOD last winter and will continue to stay in the campground! Another active duty Navy officer (flyer - choppers) had also been there full timing for a few years! But, when you ask at the office you are given the "party line" about your length of stay. Retirees were told they could no longer stay beyond a certain date. The ones with valid medical reasons should be able to stay longer. But the three mentioned above had no valid medical reason. They were full time homesteaders. The RV park is not a mobile home park. MWR JAX: enforce the rules equally and fairly. Which you are not doing now. One of the campers, was a trouble maker ( threading people !). The office and director was made aware of his threats and behavior. But, they did nothing to remove him from the RV park. On his own, he went down to Key West. Good luck to those people down there putting up with this guy. Which brings us to another point: when campers are out of line in military RV parks REMOVE them. If warranted give them a warning. Otherwise, let’s keep out military RV parks safe. Laundry room: thanks to one retiree who made it his full time job to run off unauthorized users of the laundry room, the washers and dryers were freed up! Every time we stay at JAX NAS RV park, people who are NOT staying at the RV park or the marina, get into the laundry room and will do clothes before paying customers! Again, whoever that retiree was, we thank you for running them out of the laundry room and calling the base security when needed. MWR: you need to change the combo number to the laundry room and bath house often. You ESPECIALLY need to have a different number for the women's shower room and the men's shower room and the laundry room. You are asking for trouble by having the same number for males and females! Back to the retiree: he called, and kept on the office, to get the exterior lights fixed, dryer fixed, street light fixed, dryer vent cleaned out (was stopped up), had the steel spikes sticking up out of the ground hammered into the ground (present a safety hazard) and other things done. A host would do the same job if you would get one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

28 mar - 2 apr 12

Nice location that is convenient to on base and off base shopping. Rv park seems to be in an electronic dead zone because of all the electronic and radar devices on base. Even antenna tv reception is very poor. Free laundry and clean showers and restrooms. Still a few homesteaders. Don't know how they swing that being there are length of stay rules. A convenient stopover point, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 21, 2012

I drove out from Pelican Roost to check this park out for future use. Its location for me is not the best as it is about 45 minutes from the beaches. The roads are gravel with one section having concrete pads and the other one in the woods with dirt pads. The restrooms looked okay. It is located next door to the Navy Lodge and about a mile from the exchange and commissary. The maximum stay, I believe is 30 days although as with most military campgrounds there was one trailer with yard furniture he couldn't haul in his pickup and tons of stuff piled under the trailer. It looks as if they had been there more than 30 days. I would stay there if I could get a site with concrete pad, otherwise I would pass it up. I agree with last post, lots of traffic on 17.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

9-12 January 2012

G.G. left this review using the Directory software: - This is the second and last time we will visit this facility. We visited last June and it took 3 days to get my daughter's temporary pass. Nobody on base seemed to know how to accomplish it. They kept sending us to see other people. Thought we'd give it another try. This visit we called at 11 am and were told we would be in site 34 and it was empty and to come on out. We arrived about 1:30 and there was a motorhome parked in our site. Called the office and Katie said they had just come in. She would find out what was going on and call me back. Cell service is sporadic so I called back after 45 minutes. She had been unable to reach the owners of the motor home but told us to pull in site 5 in the old section until she could get our site cleared. An hour later I called again and was told the motorhome had been there several days, but would be gone by 4:30 - 5:00. Check out is suppose to be 11 am. We set up in site 5 and then moved to site 34 the next morning. Site was fine. One of the neighbors seemed to be homesteading: permanent wood steps and handrail; 6-8 large chairs outside; carpet on the grass the length of the trailer; two dogs, one of which was a huge German Shepard not on a leash that barked every time someone walked by; tiki torches, plants, wind chimes, etc. Observed several pet owners not cleaning up after the pets. Had to watch where you walked. This could be a very nice park, if there was more oversite and rules were enforced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2010

Pretty nice area. Clean, has a nice laundry room. No Cable, WIFI available for $$. Need to check in about 1/4 mile down the road from the RV Park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb. 7, 2010

Stopped by to check the place out. We'd never been here before. This is a nice RV Park, also with a few tent sites. It appeared there were still a few sites available. Part of the campground is in trees and a bit rustic, while the other half appears fairly new in the open and with concrete pads. The air station is fully equipped, making this a great place to spend some time at.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 18, 2009

Stopped through on my way from NC on to Texas. Did not meet any camp host. The site was adequate. Some sites have all hookups--ours did not have sewer. And, I did not find a dump station. You have to pay for wi-fi and the television reception is limited. Things on base are fairly easy to get to. For one or two nights, this is a pretty good value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Daytona 500 Weekend (14-18 Feb 2008)

Being retired Navy I exspected more from NAS JAX. The restrooms and showers were in bad need of repair and the power hookups were lacking. I had to share power with my neighbor, which would not have been bad except the RV park knew at 1000 the 14th and we arrived at 0300 the next morning and they could have called and gave us a heads up. The signs getting to the park, behind the Navy Lodge were not very displyed either. The gate guards at 0300 were not very friendly either. Thank God for the race.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 2006

Campground is divided into Upper and Lower Half. Upper half is all full hookup, seven pull-through sites, (sites 39 ? 45), and some back-in sites (sites 31 ? 38 & 46 ? 50). The upper half is partially landscaped, open and without obstructions. Lower half is all back-in sites, some very narrow and contains full hook-ups (sites 1 ? 5 & 10 ? 12), some partial hook-ups (sites 6 ? 9 & 13 -17) and some primitive/no hook-ups (sites 18 - 25). The lower half should be avoided if possible due poor/lack of maintenance of the overhanging and dense branches and foliage. Also, the interior road is very narrow, with trees at the very edge of the roadway. I spoke with two reservists who have stayed at the RV park several times, Each indicated they have complained of the lack of maintenance and resulting damage to their respective RVs. Management seems unresponsive to those complaints. My view - the lower half should be avoided at all costs! Rating of the lower half - ZERO.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13