Jacksonville RV Park

Hot
 
4.0 (60)
92024   0   19   2   41

User reviews

Filters 29 reviews with 4 stars

60 reviews

 
(17)
 
(30)
 
(12)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.2  (60)
 
3.8  (60)
 
4.3  (60)
 
4.0  (60)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

04 April - 04 October 2017

Registration and Check-in was quick & easy. After conversing with the facility staff, they informed that they now allow retiree's up 180 days on-site. At the end of the 180 day stay, you must leave for 120 days to reset the clock and then you can return for another 180 days. The camp host (Mike)met us at the park entrance and helped us set up in a back-in spot near the laundry. The upper sites are Concrete pads and the Lower spots are gravel. The upper pull-through sites are not really level and the closer you are to the laundry, the greater the pad slopes. Utilities worked well. Laundry is free. Bath house was cleaned regularly. The biggest annoyance has been the cell phone reception. On JAX NAS, only Verizon service receives any signal throughout the camp. ATT and Sprint is very spotty with an occasional single bar for voice communications. Texting works fine. Since I am on temporary assignment to Cecil Field for a year or more, I will spent my 120 days in the penalty box, then return to complete my stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-12 March 17

Check-in was easy and the camp host met us at the park entrance and helped us set up in a pull thru in the lower section near the laundry. Site was gravel, not really level and short. We have a 40' coach with a tow dolly and the site barely fit the coach. Tow dolly had to be placed sideways and partially under the rig and the car was parked sideways. Utilities worked well. Laundry is free. Bath house was cleaned regularly. Biggest annoyance was an obvious squatter in one of the biggest back in sites across from us who used the road in front of the pull thrus like it was his backyard and tossed a football with his kids on the weekends very close to our motorhomes. He also allowed his dog to wander without a leash. He's been there so long that his 5th wheel is in the pics inside the handout the office gives you when you check in. It's also in a pic on the website. I'd love to know what arrangements need to be made in order to squat at a military RV Park and why exceptions like this are allowed. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7-14 Mar 17

Jacksonville didn't have much to offer and the area right near the base was very congested. Most attractions and shopping was either north or all the way across the St. John's river, which meant at least a 20 minute drive. Most folks told us the only must see in the area was St. Augustine, which was very nice to visit, but not a local attraction in Jacksonville. Campground, shower house, and laundry room was well kept. Campground host (Mike) was very nice. Mike met us at the entry to the park to show us to site #2. Met several other campers near us who were super friendly and helpful with local info. Best part of our stay was visiting the newly opened Commissary. It had only been open for three weeks when we arrived. One drawback to the new facility was lack of parking. We usually parked over by the NEX and walked the few hundred feet to enter the Commissary. No big deal unless you are handicapped or have issues walking longer distances. Assume this will be resolved when old facility is demolished if they add more parking spaces to the vacated space. No issues with water, power, or sewer. Laundry had five each washers and dryers that were free use for campground residents. One drawback was size of sites. We drive a 41' fiver, so it was even tighter. Couple towing a small fiver ended up hitting a parked truck two days after we arrived. The back end of the trailer hit the pickup of the spot behind the one he was pulling into. I felt uncomfortable because our truck is a full-size Ram 3500 with an 8-foot custom hauler bed. The spot was so small I had to park at an angle across the nose of my trailer and both the nose of the truck and the rear end of the trailer stuck out into or very close to the edge of the roadway. Value was average. Would like to see them add some space, but cost was reasonable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jul 1, 2016

We were here for for 5 days in a 5th wheel. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Park clean,and well cared for. Large commissary and exchange. Unfornuately both were being remodeled. Heavy rains every afternoon our site flooded, but it drained off fairly well. Good WIFI. I would recommend this park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 25 - Sep 1, 2015

The staff is wonderful, sign in very easy. Good size sites, and clean. One of the nicer bath houses. There is a large PX, a few places to eat, and a good static display of Navy aircraft. The auto hobby shop is the best I've ever seen. I did not find an "official" dog walk, but there are areas to walk the pets. This is a place to come and relax, It is a ways to any activities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

We got to this RV park 35 min late due to wrong/missing directions stated here. We came off hwy 10 and you need to go I-295 SOUTH! Not north as stated in the directions. I'll make it more clear and easy here: coming from hwy 10, take exit for I-295 south going toward Datona beach, the first exit you will see it 21 and the number will go down, take exit 10, after you exit the road take a left at the "Y" then it comes to a "T" go LEFT, enter the base at the second gate on the right called "Yorktown gate" if you have a class A, take far right lane, if you take left lane it's a VERY tight fit and you have 2 inches on each side. Then drive straight and take a right on Jason road, there's a sign for the auto hobby shop, follow that to the end and auto shop will be on the right for check-in, there's signs that clearly mark RV office. The RV park is ok here, kinda small and cramped though, our site was a pull through but its very short, we couldn't leave our car hooked up because it blocked the road but laundry was FREE and the base is very nice, a lot of stuff to see and do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

27-30 Jan 2015

NAS Jacksonville was a good experience. If you are unfamiliar with NAS JAX it can be challenging getting to and from the RV Park. Directions on Military Camp Grounds are spot-on, it is more traffic lanes on an off base change during rush hour. Recommend arriving mid day or late evening. Full base support/facilities, and awesome PX with 5-Star Golf course, gym is small but adequate. Lounge at Golf Course is awesome, don’t miss. No cable, Wi-Fi is not good at all unless you are standing next to the bathhouse. Great stop-off for continuing travel of visits to St Augustine, or other local attractions. Bottom line: if you are passing through a great place to stop for a few days, but extended stays are not recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 Sep - 1 Oct, 2014

Hard to beat at $14 a night with free laundry and wifi (use credit card to verify, but not charged). I do not consider this place "big rig friendly". I have a 44' 5th wheel. I also have a dually pickup. To me, big rig friendly is when I can have my coach and tow vehicle on the same spot. Here the pull thrus are at most 50'. Yes, my coach fit, but my truck had to be parked at the laundry/bath house. No, not a problem, but still not big rig friendly, IMO. Water pressure was fine. No flightline noise. The directions are slightly off. RV checkin is at the auto skills center at the corner of Jason and Birmingham. The gravel pullout is on Jason directly across the street from the auto skills center entrance. After you sign in and turn left on Birmingham, you stay on Birmingham, cross over Mustin , then turn right into the RV park. There is a blue sign at the park entrance on Birmingham. If you have a pull thru in the lower area, keep the laundry/bathhouse on your left as you drive to your spot. I really liked being able to reserve a spot. I wish NASKW offered this. Heck, would be nice if all military famcamps offered reservations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9 - 23 Jan 2014

The campground is in a good location although it is a bit rundown. The upper sites are concrete pads, however they are not level, not even close. The first site we were in, the pad was actually lower than the road, and were there during a pretty good rain storm, making our site a swampy mess. The free Wi-Fi in the upper part was good where we were. We moved to the new lower section, gravel pad and mostly level but we couldn't get the Wi-Fi. There is no clubhouse, the women's bathrooms/showers were clean and plenty of hot water, then men's apparently had no hot water at least while we were there. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. As far as we could guess the sites to get are in the upper section in the back row, those looked good or in the lower section as close to the laundry/showers as possible to pick up the Wi-Fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 25, 2013

P.M. left this review using the Directory software: - The park is being updated. They have torn out the lower sites and are replacing the electric, paving the sites with gravel, removing extra trees so we can get satellite and the bigger rigs can use it. Should be great when done. Meanwhile, half the sites are not in use. Re messages on "homesteaders" the base allows people who are in their school to live at the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 - 30 Apr 2012

I'm going to echo "bcrocker", below. We reserved a full hook-up weeks in advance. I called in on the day we were arriving and was told we were being downgraded to a 'no sewer' site in the lower area (woods) because they were moving all long termers to the upper, pad sites, and had nothing for the 4 days we were going to be there. HOWEVER - the entire time we were there, there were 3 or more empty pad sites in the upper area. The individual who did this was not one of the ladies I have encountered before, all of whom were very nice. Don't know if this person was the same one bcrocker ran into, but I also suspect some type of agenda, and/or incompetence. He was also one of those people who seem to exude: "this would be a nice place to work if it weren't for those pesky customers". Otherwise, this remains a nice, clean, convenient area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-18 Mar 2013

We were in site 37, a large concrete pad, 50/30-amp back-in. Sites are well spaced with picnic tables. We called ahead and were told to park in Site 34 and then come back to the MWR Office for check-in. After getting settled, we got a call from the office telling us we had to move as the power in that site had been reported as having a problem. Seems maintenance won't work on the problem with someone in the site. OK, we moved. About an hour later a large MH pulling a very long trailer pulled into #34 (being directed by another RV'er already here) and settled in. Maintenance had not been out yet. Don't know what that is all about but something seemed fishy to us. Laundry has five washers/dryers and is free. All facilities were clean and well maintained. We will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2011

Yes the price is reasonable for full hook up and partial spaces. But, what is price if a FamCamp starts to fill up with homesteaders and you cannot get in? Jax NAS should follow their own rules on length of stay and make homesteaders move on. A Fam Camp is not a mobile home park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

31MAY-01JUN 2012

You really can't beat the price, $14 a night for full hookup's. You do have to register at the Auto Skills Bldg on Jason Rd about 3/4 of a mile from the Birmingham Gate entrance. Make a left off Birmingham and park in the gravel pull out on the right side of the road. After checking in, just go around the block to Birmingham then straight to the RV park entrance. Once you enter the park, if you are in the lower campground (trees/dirt sites) you go to the left at the laundry/restroom building, if you are in the upper sites (concrete/no shade) you go to the right. We enjoyed the park, very quiet at night and with the free laundry, life is good!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-10 April 2012

Location is great for those that wish to play golf, walking distance to the course. Facilities were clean but a toilet in the men's area broke while we were there and remained not fixed during our stay. Close to commissary and NEX. They are making road improvements and access to the campsite can be tricky as the normal access point is closed (street becomes one way out) if you arrive after 3pm. you enter thru the south access point which points your rig in the opposite direction to enter sites, you need to go around the campsite and laundry/shower area to access the sites correctly. This should be corrected soon. Folks at reception are very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2011

Nice area, close to a lot of shopping and the interstate. However, I was disappointed with the lack of communication by the office personnel at the Auto Skills Shop. We arrived on Wednesday, November 23 at 3:15 pm only to find that the shop had closed early (normal hours were supposed to be 0900 to 1600). No one tried to contact me and being new to this RV park, I had no idea where to go or what site I was supposed to be in. When we got to the RV park I had to ask another camper what the code was for the restrooms. Fortunately, I very nice gentleman helped us out by making some phone calls and we go the information we needed. I wasn't able to check-in until the day after Thanksgiving and didn't find that experience very pleasant. I don't think that the Auto Skills Shop is the place to handle the RV park. I agree with another comment made that the Navy Lodge could handle this much better as they already handle reservations. I wanted to get the internet for the cost of $12.95 for a week but was unable since no one was in the office on Wednesday, November 23. So had to do without internet for my stay. It wouldn't hurt for the park to also get cable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 OCT 2010

Great campground but could use some attention to finer details. The office forgot to give me the code for the bath house (bummer). When I did obtain the code the bathrooms were dirty (10a.m.) and two of the four toilets were broken with one leaking water all over. Breakfast at Mulligans right down the street was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 20, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 19, 2010

We stayed down over the hill in the older section. We have 36 foot fifth wheel and had no problem getting into our assigned site #3. We had a full hook up and everything worked, electrical panel needs to be repaired soon or it will be a problem. The biggest need is for a camp host. Since the "office" is in the Auto Hobby Shop, the area really needs to have someone who can oversee what is happening. It was an overnight stay, so can't really comment on local interests. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28 December, 2009 - 11 January, 2010

We have just completed a two week stay at the NAS Jacksonville RV Park. We have stayed there many times in the past six years and there are no major changes in the RV Park area. We had a little problem after we checked in because there were two of us with the same last name showing up on the same day. We had called early before we got there and were assigned to site 35. After getting there and dropping the trailer off on the site I went to the office to complete the check-in process and paid the remaining rent due. About an hour after returning to our trailer and getting it completely set-up the other people showed up and informed us we were in their spot. On the computer we were to have site 11 and they were to be in 35. Well we were completely set-up and not about to move. You cannot reserve by site number, they are assigned when you show up or call on your way in. Because the management had assigned us to the site 35 and taken our money we did not feel we had to move because someone else had also been assigned to the site. In the end all worked out and the other people took site 11. WiFi still has to be paid for here and there is no CATV. Cell phone service gets very weak in the parks lower sites. In site 35 we had two ticks on our cell phones as well as our Verizon USB internet connection. There are two major changes in the NAS Jacksonville MWR community. The new facilities at the golf course are completed and are top notch. The whole facility has been centralized into a single building with the golf cart storage in the huge basement type lower floor. Much of the grounds leading to the starters hut have been improved giving the entire experience a little more character. The Marina basin has undergone a major overhaul with all new anchoring and alignment and will be completely finished within the next few months as will an additional boat storage area. There are currently spaces available in the RV storage area. If your tow vehicle/motorized RV has current base stickers you can enter the Birmingham gate and go directly to the RV Park. If you do not have valid DOD stickers you will have to enter through the commercial gate where the visitor passes will be issued for your length of stay. Propane is very reasonably priced at the NEX service station and they will fill all portable bottles and also those with motorized RVs whose tanks are permanently attached. Although diesel fuel is not depicted on the marquis it is available at the NEX service station and is always within a cent or two of any you will find off base so save some time and fuel up there. The NEX retail store is under renovation but almost completed. The commissary is huge and has everything. FastEagle

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 1-13, 2009

C.H. left this review using the Directory software: This was our second stay here. We had made our reservation about two months prior, but when we arrived on 1 Dec, they had us down as arriving on 2 Dec and staying a day later than we intended. All the hookup sites were taken that first night so we stayed in one of the primitive sites, #19, down facing the river. They did not charge us for that night and refunded our last night's payment. The next day we were able to move to a gravel site with full-hookups. The next day we spotted an empty concrete site, so I called the office and we were able to get it. There really is quite a difference between the old and new sections of the campground. Sites in the old section are gravel and dirt, quite close together and some could present a challenge for large rigs. That area is quite wooded and fairly dark. The newer section with its concrete pads and grass is much more pleasant. Some of the pads are pretty tilted, though, and it takes some major leveling. The bathouse is heated with hot showers and free laundry facilities. We did not have any issues with its cleanliness. I agree with previous reviews about the lack of a campground host. I asked about that at the office and was told that they didn't want to pay for one. A Host would be a big help in keeping an eye on things, helping with late arrivals and being available to answer questions. All in all, we would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
29 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2