Jacksonville RV Park

New Hot
 
4.0 (58)
85114   0   19   2   40

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

58 reviews

 
(17)
 
(28)
 
(12)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.2  (58)
 
3.8  (58)
 
4.3  (58)
 
4.0  (58)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 13-16, 2016

It was great!! We missed to Auto hobby Shop RV sign in office and Julie called me on my cell phone. Ben (the camp host) came right over and got us set up and had me go to the office and sign in. We stayed 3 nights, we had our adult kids with us and they used the shower facilities (Raving about how clean and well maintained everything is) Our Rv spot was very clean and well laid out. We played Golf on your great course and ate breakfast in the clubhouse all 3 days. Everyone we met and did business was wonderful and very helpful.
As Arnold says " We'll be back". Vince & Barb Mee, Chief USAF RET.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 22, 2016

We stayed here for several nights and had a great visit.  Only problem was that it was somewhat confusing to get to the campground, the NEX, etc, but hey that's the military for you. They are really improving the roads and buildings, so this should change soon.  The office personnel were great, called us to make sure how to get to the gate, welcomed us, and were super friendly. The guest host, the campsites,the bathhouse and laundry were top notch. Not a place to stay for a long time, but close to St. Augustine, and other sites.  We plan on returning whenever in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

FEB 2016

Not a bad park at all.  Wifi was free and works great early and late in the day. You have to stream TV because of trees block the signal for Dish. Middle of the day it must get overloaded. Laundry (never crowed), heads and grounds and always clean. Staff was fantastic. It is a great place to home base and go see the sites. Not much to do at the Camp ground. Does have a few trails. We would stay here again. We were in a motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2014

We stayed in the park in January, 2014 for two weeks. Park is kept in good condition. The check-in staff is very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here for the past several years and have always enjoyed the stay. Biggest problems are that the upper sites are far from level and Verizon 4G internet service is marginal. We were in the upgraded lower portion of the park and found it to be great. Several of those sites are pull-thru and closer to level. They are gravel, but in good shape. The base is convenient to our reason to be in Jacksonville.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12-17 March 2013

Nice campground and good location. Reservation process was quick and friendly. We also called a couple of hours before arriving and given our campsite on the phone. Check-in was very quick. Staff at MWR/Campground check-in were very friendly, helpful, and efficient. (Good job ladies!) Campsite was clean and access was easy. Sites were plenty long for our 40 ft 5th wheel and parking for our 22 ft pickup. Shower house was very clean. Did not use laundry. Our vehicle sticker had expired 12/2012 and due to only Army and USAF facilities locally had been unable to renew the sticker. Security here does not require sticker for retirees, only active and permanent party. Retirees only need ID card to access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 8 - 22, 2012

Great location, easy to find. We used this as a hub to visit with family and friends in the area. Afternoon traffic jams on Rt 17 are awful. Everyone was courteous and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 26, 2011 - Jan 1, 2012

We arrived on a holiday and were able to enter base by showing only our ID. Our advice - if you are arriving on a holiday, be sure to call ahead for gate openings. The people you call at the Auto Skills Shop are very friendly and helpful but there is no host or anyone to show you to your site. Also, be sure you understand the afternoon traffic patterns since street in front becomes one-way in the p.m. and you'll need to enter by the Navy Lodge. Our site and patio are concrete and the 50 amp power is excellent. This is a great place to relax yet close to shopping and area activities. Watch your speed on base!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Dec 2010 - 12 Jan 2011

No changes here. Just as advertised. It's very busy at this time of year so call for reservation. After two weeks of trying we could not extend our stay for an extra week. The cell phone reception (Verizon) has improved here and we had good connections all the time we were there, even with our Verizon MiFi. FastEagle

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 01, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Nov 2010

Stayed here one night on the way back to North Carolina. Called the morning of the 29th and made a reservation for a site with no problems. We were assigned a site in the newer area. Site had full hookup, concrete level pad and a concrete patio. Everything worked just fine. We were on the way from Sigsbee in Key West, I had paid for a month of internet at Sigsbee and it just so happened that the same service is used by this FAMCAMP, so I was able to log on to WIFI with my codes from Sigsbee. The campground was well taken care of, grass cut and sites clean. I checked out the bathroom, (OH, I forgot to ask for the code and no one said anything about a code when I checked in) but another camper gave me the code and I was able to get in. The bathroom was clean and ALL fixtures worked properly, I checked them all since one of the last comments I had read was that 2 of 4 toilets were broke. Didn't get a chance to wander around base much but did notice they have a huge gas station with a number of work bays in it. The exchange was close by the campground as well as the Auto Hobby Shop, which is where you have to check in. Overall I think this is a very good FAMCAMP and will make it a stop in the future when I can spend a little more time here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 27-30, 2010

We are presently at NAS JAX. On check in we were assigned to site 36. On arrival in the campground, site 36 was occupied. I was about to pull into another site and was told by a camper that many sites didn’t have power. Trusty voltmeter and I checked out three sites and after the CB had been flipped, all were good. We picked the most level and still had front tires barely touching in the level position. The entry drive is very narrow and would be almost impossible for anyone with a long trailer to back into. Folks also park their vehicles on this drive which provides more restrictions. We have many young campers at this time and they do not seem to be familiar with the dog codes. My dog was attacked by a small one running loose at 630 AM. Also found evidence of not using their doggie bags. The Navy Lodge is adjacent to the FAMCAMP and would be a much better landlord. An RV site is just like a room and can be booked in the same fashion. They are also open longer hours than the auto hobby shop, which is a half mile away. Great camp ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2010

We've stayed here many times before and not much has changed, except that the laundry room has been re-done with all new (and FREE) washer's and dryers. When we arrived (with a reservation) we were told we would have to settle for a site "down below" rather than on the paved sites we'd requested since there had been power problems and the power didn't work on about 6 sites. We drove to the park and realized that there was no way our large rig would fit into the site assigned. A fellow RVer suggested we check the board posted near the laundry facilities to see what sites showed as available. One site (41) was listed as available so we checked the power and found that it worked just fine. We called the office and the young woman working the desk told us that power didn't work on that site. When we explained that it DID work, she rather curtly said "fine, then take it"--which we did and stayed for 4 nights. During that time we realized that the "board" which lists available sites for late arrivals was never updated and it appeared that no one was working on the power problem. One major issue is that there is no host and the MWR office seems more concerned with running the Auto Hobby Shop--which is excellent--than dealing with the RV park. Other than that, the park is very conveniently located, the Exchange and Commissary are wonderful and there are lots of places to walk safely--including a walk way out to a platform along the river. Unlike on previous visits, we found that we had good signal strength from our Verizon Air Card and our phone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan-Feb 2010

R.R. left this review using the Directory software: We are enjoying our stay in JNAS Campground. It is beautifully located on the saint Johns River. NEX is close. Beautiful nature walk along river. Staff has been very helpful. A nice extra is that the naval hospital provides excellent care to us snow-birds. Beautiful golf course, fitness center and indoor swimming pool. We enjoy the sounds of freedom as airplanes and jets are constantly in the air. All this and free laundry.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 27 2008 - Jan 3 2009

We've stayed here at least a dozen times now and will definitely return every chance we get. (btw, another highly recommended JAX area FamCamp is at Mayport NAS.) The check-in staff are very friendly - heads-up: the registration office is still at the Auto Skills Center on Birmingham, a "long block" away from the FamCamp. Be sure you call in advance ahead for a reservation as this park is often filled to capacity. If arriving after hours (1700), they will have written your name and your spot # on the whiteboard at the bath/laundry house. This park is very comfortable and has all normal amenities, all of which are kept clean and in good working order. Even the tenter's "primitive area" is very well-kept. The laundry machines are still free :). The "old" area is our preferred location due to its forest sounds and smells and being right next to the St. John's River bank w/ its nature trails, and this older area still receives clear WiFi. NASJAX has a marina, Navy hospital, very well-stocked exchange and commissary, and most every large base feature. There are several places to eat on base, though none are 24/7. Right off base are Orange Park and Jacksonville where you'll find no shortage of places to see and things to do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 29,2008 to Jan 1, 2009 +

We have been here for three days and are really enjoying our stay. Arrived well after dark and had no problem getting into our site. Did get a little turned around coming in from the Yorktown late at night. We are in a nice shady spot on the lower side. Glad I brought extra blocks to get level. I would say it would be worse on some of the paved spots. Great free washers and dryers and close to PX and commissary. Hope to get south to Patrick in mid. Feb. steve

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2008

As a basic RV campground this place has everything you should expect and it is all in pretty good shape. The restroom and showers were spotless, the water had good pressure and there was plenty of hot water. The FREE laundry was a real bonus, particularly as the equipment appeared almost new. We stayed in overflow in the older section within a mature forest. We could see the river through the trees. For those desiring amenities, the new section has concrete pads, full hookups, sun for your solar panels and that always necessary clear view of the southern sky for satellite reception. You certainly get more here than you pay for here. If your expectations are higher you should stick to those civilian destination parks and pay the fifty bucks a day. We are full-timers on a retired NCO budget and for us this place is on our keeper list. Some of the pads are not level and not having a resident manager is a bit of a problem at times. Perhaps they should look into a Workamper Campground Host. Thank you Phil and the crew for a nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26-28 March 2008

This CG was very nice, Phil and Vicki at the RV MWR were very helpful. We stayed in the upper level area on a concrete pad. Everything was fine and it is very quiet. Great location to stop and visit St. Augustine, about a 30 minute drive from the base. Base has everything you'd need -- commissary was great and MWR Ticket center had all that you would need including the trolley tour of St. Augustine -- check there first before going outside for tours. Bathrooms and Laundry Room were very clean. Would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 7, 2005

Great location and view. Kids loved free internet access in clubhouse. Free laundry was a plus after 2 weeks on the road. Hosts and other travelers were very friendly. Site was level, easy access and restrooms were clean. Would visit again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17