Manatee Cove Campground

New Hot
 
4.1 (114)
123906   1   21   1   83

User reviews

9 reviews with 2 stars

114 reviews

 
(54)
 
(38)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.5  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
3.7  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
4.1  (114)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Nov - Dec, 2016

I went to Manatee Cove to Enjoy Some time away from snow in Mich. I was greeted at the office by the comment (what are you doing here, we hired someone to do Karaoke) I did Karaoke for the last 2 years with no compensation and I enjoyed It. Went to Karaoke, the guy was terrible so I Went to Karaoke no more which was fine with me. People kept wanting me to go so I went. The Karaoke host came to me to talk and threatened me so I walked away from him. He then grabbed me and I pushed him away from me to protect myself and someone turned in a complaint against me and I was kicked off the campground. I asked if I was allowed to say anything and was told an officer would come and escort me off the Base. No Explanation from me at all. The guy was rite, If you are not part of the Clique, Good Luck. I am a veteran and I do want Respect. This Campground would be great if the people who run it cared about the campers instead of just the money

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Mar 9 - 11, 2015

This is one of the times you really have a hard time not posting a review. Hopefully we just caught them on a bad day. We called three different times to make sure they had overflow spot for us. He said he had one or two, so we we drove our way there and arrived at 12:15. When we arrived the office was closed, and said they would reopen at 1:30. Wow, would have been nice to know that when we talked to the person running the office, he could have mentioned that to us. I called the offce number and they said the office is close 1:00 - 1:30 PM, for lunch and a mail run. We ran into some people, and they told us good luck, but one person took us to one of the camp host. I told her (site #30) that we just pulled in and the office was closed and could she help. Her anwser was you need to leave and come back. Really, just get in the unit and leave and come back??? She said she couldn't help me, she didnt have paper work for me to fill out to get a spot. She didn't know if they had any spots at all. The reason she didn't help she doesn't start working until 4:00 pm. The person running the office showed up around 1:00 pm, put the closed sign on the door until 1:30 pm. He finally opens the office only to tell me that he doesn't think he has any spots open, three people came in since we called at 11:15. He said, he will go check to make sure, but it will take another 30 mins. He returns and tells my wife he has 3 spots open. To say this guy is clueless to what is going on in this campground is an understatement, that or he is just lazy. Then he takes almost 30 minutes to get my wife log in and go to good so when can go to our spot. Total time from arrival to getting in our spot over 2 hours. When my wife presented her frequent camper program book to get stamped, he asked if we had ever been at the campground and if we already had our book stamped??? No, she told him three different times, then he said if he found a stamp from Patrick AFB, he would void our book, of course once he looked through the book he stamped it. Why there are people like him working in a job that requires working with customer's I have no ideas. If your a camp host and someone needs help, help them best you can. This is the 97th military campground we have visited, and this is the worst customer service ever. The Patrick AFB needs to change the way they run the campground, thats my advice. I don't like posting bad reviews, but sometimes you have to do it, so others will be informed. Johnny B.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Feb 14, 2015

We arrived on Saturday behind a active duty that had reservations and would be leaving Monday morning. Upon check in we were informed we would be in overflow slot number one and would move into a site on Monday morning. Ensured that there was quite a few active duty that would be leaving Monday and that we would be put in a slot. On Sunday we were informed we would have to leave because there would be no rotations on Monday due to the holiday. We, along with two other campers that were in overflow explained what we were told upon check in. We were told we would have to leave and was offered a list of campgrounds, which were full. I believe the hosts name was Tom, who explained that these were the rules. When we awoke on Monday, there was five of us in overflow, which is against the rules! When we went to dump the tanks prior to leaving, the active duty personnel that was ahead of us was leaving along with others. We didn't stay around but I would imagine that the two campers that were in overflow, one of which was in no way active duty (due to age) would check in with the host and be put in a slot. The three of us in overflow were treated very rudely and all of us should have been informed of this on Saturday when we checked in. No veteran should be treated this way aboard any military installation!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

February 2015

Beware of calling ahead of time and being told that you could be waiting on getting in to the overflow. They will put you in the "Parking Lot" for a maximum of two days, then you must leave if no spots are open for the overflow area. There is a nearby Walmart and a Cracker Barrel however you should contact the manager of those respectful places for permission to over night in their parking lots. Local commercial campgrounds are quite full in this area during February, so plan accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

August 2013

I called ahead from the Florida panhandle and told Rec Services I had a boat and I wanted to be sure there was a place for me to part my boat at the FamCamp before driving all the way out there. The gentleman I spoke to assured me there was, that he was the guy who worked at the FamCamp and that there would be no problem. Now this was very important to me because I had to make 2 trips from Panama City Beach, Florida as I had just purchased this boat. I brought my bumper pull trailer first, 440 miles, then went back and got my boat. When I return with the boat, I was told there was no where to park it at the FamCamp. I ended up putting it in the Lemon Lot on the base in order to have access to the boat, when I parked it near my RV to prepare it to go fishing the next day, my wife took the truck to the Pharmacy and I ended up with the base police at my RV site telling me I had to remove my boat immediately. It really turned into a cluster, they simply could not or would not understand that my wife had the truck and I could not move the boat. There were other people with there boats doing the exact same thing. I ended up with a Major down at my RV as I had gotten on the phone and called the Commanding Officer and anyone else who had a phone number and told them what had transpired. The women in charge of MWR had sent the Security Police down there, at 1 time I had 4 armed policemen outside my RV with their vehicles, lights going like I was a serious felon. I had just put my boat there a couple hours before to get it prepared to go fishing the next day. There was another boat parked on an RV pad a little further into the FamCamp, hooked to the water, parked on a RV pad, and hooked to RV power, while the guy cleaned his fish and no one said boo to him. I was more than a little upset with the whole experience I had at Patrick AFB. I will never go back....................

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

January 2014

This was our 4th trip to Patrick arriving on 1 Jan 2014. We were turned away due to the park being full. The new building for check in and recreation is still not complete and they have closed down the office in the front of the park. They have moved the hosts to the end of the park which makes it difficult to pull the RV's into and out of the host camp site area. The new hosts they have this year are not very friendly and not very helpful. The washer issue was still not corrected. The host stated that the base commander will not allow rv's in Chevron park as they had in the past, but the by-laws still state that rv's can stay in the park for up to 48 hours when full. We ended up going to KARS at Kennedy Space Center. Will not try to stay at Patrick in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 18, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Feb 9, 20013

Warning, we have stayed at this Famcamp many times, but the last time was in 2011. We attempted to spend one night here on 9 Feb. I tried to call the office five times and the message said my calls were during office hours but no answer. Since we stayed here many time in route, we assumed we could spend one night in dry camp overflow, wrong assumption. We arrived at the large vehicle gate at 5pm and waited about 45 minutes to get on base. We arrived at the Famcamp at 6pm. The host on duty didn't look happy and after a few minutes we were not happy campers. No room at the Inn, the overflow was full, the Base/Wing Commander only allows three RVs in overflow. I was very tired after a 450 mile drive. They said we had to leave the base, After about 10 calls to parks we attempted to leave the base, which took about another hour, then a 30 mile drive to a county park in the dark. Looks like this park only caters to long term residents, or to someone that knows someone. I've been retired 10 years and never been turned away from a military Famcamp. The poor communication on the phone message was the main problem, if they had offered me a warning I would stayed at a commercial park. I guess I learned a lesson.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

August 2011

2 Campsite Hosts plus the lady at the office provided plenty of support. Free Ice at the office. Restrooms were very hot and steamy. The site can be VERY noisy at times because the base firing range is only 50 or so yards away. Expect to hear loud gun fire throughout the day, even at 4am when they are doing their night fire. The site is a high vehicle traffic area because of all the activity going to and from the firing range that passes right through the RV park. Digital TV scan got around 10 or so local channels using RV roof antenna. Virgin Mobile Mifi 2200 worked well for internet service. Cell use was available. Base had excellent facilities. Anyone can now use the chow hall. Tickets and tours had all the tickets for all the Orlando parks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

05 Dec 07 - 15 Jan 08

This campground is located in a fantastic area. It's a shame that's all it has to offer. No clubhouse, no planned activites, no cable tv, more partial and dry camping than full hookups, and a bath house that although they have a cleaning service come daily for an hour, it's never clean. How can you clean 8 showers, 8 toilets/urinals, 4 sinks, and all that floor space in one hour. The military RV park system needs to realize to continue to provide these parks to us some of the revenue being made needs to be put back into the park or they will end up just as they were, an empty field with no revenue. I hope these reviews are also forwarded to the appropriate personnel at the campgrounds for action. See you at my next stop.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9