Manatee Cove Campground

New Hot
 
4.1 (114)
123906   1   21   1   83

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

114 reviews

 
(54)
 
(38)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.5  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
3.7  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
4.1  (114)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 14-21, 2017

This place is a full-time retirement community and if you are not part of their "clique" good luck! They are very unfriendly and all act entitled. Unfortunately upon arrival, we were exhausted and late we signed the paperwork in the dark, provided our dogs proof of rabies and then they brought us to a sight. The host told us our 36' RV was too big to park in the spots with a water view. We ended up in the middle of a parking lot with not much around. The next day we realized we had handed them an envelope (that had $1,350 in it!!) along with the rabies certificates. When we asked the host about our missing envelope, he told us the people around there are always trying to rub two nickels together to make a dime and that we would never see that again. I said at a military campground you would think people would be more honest...he just shrugged his shoulders. A few days later his wife indicated she saw the envelope my husband had but doesn't know what happened to it. She can't believe people aren't more honest. All in all, I wouldn't bother to make the trip again to sit in a parking lot with rude people all around. We can't prove what happened to the money but we know. We had a conversation with the host about karma...he brought it up and I think he might be worried. We found out when we were leaving that their contract is up and they won't be working there anymore. Hmmm....

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

August 2016

WOW what a shocker, the price increase is out of this world. We haven't got a cost of living raise in over 6 half years and the price has went from $17 to $30 dollars. They are putting the cost of their FamCamp upgrade all on the campers. I have been a camper to PAFB FamCamp since the year of 2002 to the present and this year they finally made a needed upgrade. What happen to the money collected all those years and no money was put back into the FamCamp. I have used many military campgrounds and this one has to be the highest of all military campgrounds. Was a survey of all military campgrounds conducted to get the overall average. I bet not. I have found that the average is around $21 a nite to include WiFi and cable TV which these site don't have. You can tell by looking at the new sites installed that a RVer was never consulted in the planning stage. The sites are very small and the sewer hook-up of the neighboring site is right next to the site's patio. Can you imagine setting outside of your camper having dinner with your family in the hot summer smelling sewage. I think before they open these sites that a health survey be conducted to determine that this is not a safety hazard. I feel these prices are just a cash cow for MWR at Patrick AFB to save face for their poor planning and mismanagement of this project because they haven't offered to camper a damn thing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

January 1-30 2016

Major reconstruction going on here with all 35 overflow electric only sites shut down due to adding sewer and water. There are 33 new sites being constructed south of the campground office. There are 17 waiting in line to get into full hookups. Overflow into Chevron park has only 3 spaces allowed for a maximum of 48 hours only. If you do not get a spot after 48 hours you must leave the base. The worst is the muddy roads and swamp like conditions in the water and electric only sites. I feel the base should at least grade the dirt roads and add some gravel to these areas....it's a MESS! This area has had almost 8 inches of rain this month, normal rainfall is 2 inches. It will be nice when finished but I would not advise coming here until June when the construction should be completed. The office personnel and camp hosts are working very hard to help all their customers in these difficult conditions!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 10 - July 18, 2014

We arrived after hours, almost dark, the host, "Bob J." Wasn't really welcoming & friendly. He was bossy. The very first sentence he said to us while trying to park in the dark was, " didn't you see the sign to see the host first before you park anywhere & I don't want you to park here, park over there instead". This man has serious "control issues". He even told my hubby that he can't step on the grass. We didn't see the sign because it's dark and we were so tired traveling all day, we were ready to crush. This was our 6th camp ground for this summer travel & we were so used to choose our parking site before we register as we always arrived late to the previous 5 camp grounds that we have stayed. The camp ground itself is in ideal place, but it is infested with billions of mosquitoes. We were booked for 10 days, but decided to cut it short because we were eaten alive by these billion of mosquitoes. The beaches surrounding the base we're beautiful and easy access. It was hot and very humid with lots of stormy afternoons. Facilities were clean, but bugs were all over.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 27 thru Feb 21 2014

We have been coming here for the last four years and this year by far the worst. Since they moved the Famcamp office to Outdoor rec the organization is terrible. I never saw in the past the list for moves not being updated by 1700. I don't know what happened to the old camp hosts but there is no organization this year. Moving from full to dry camp should not take two hours. Fifteen people waiting to find out where they are moving is to much. It is hard to imagine coming back next year. Unacceptable to have one washer working for over a month. Such a hassle to find a key to do laundry at Bldg 404. Internet costs $50 pet month. A jewel in middle Florida, I don't think so.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Patrick AFB, No Internet in camp ground, one washer working 4 dryers out of eight, not very much to do around the area, camp host was very helpful, the camp ground office is under construction. Everything is being handled out of the outdoor rec center, the phone number was supposed to be forwarded to the outdoor rec office. I finally contacted the base operator and go connected to them after calling for 4 weeks, the outdoor rec manager 321 494-9691 was very helpful. over all not bad, if they got the main office up and running and fix the problems and add more 50 amp services and sewer around the park they could be a top notch facility. Don't think anyone is in a hurry to fix anything. Also the RV park is on the lake side not on the ocean, you have to drive to the beach 10 min only. No beach at the lake that I have seen yet might be one just not found it yet. Just some update info.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15 March 2013 thru 17 March 2013

We have been coming off & on to PAFB FamCamp since 2002. Our stays are okay but the place could show alot more improvement.. They finally got a great clubhouse which was way over due. But they moved the office and check-in that was at the beginning of the park which was alot more convenient for the RVer into the new clubhouse that is located way down into the rv park. I feel that it was much harder to pull the motorhome with my car/motorcycle trailer to get to my site and set up. They also moved the nite host from the beginning of the park to the middle. Now if you arrive after hours and never been to the FamCamp again this makes it hard on the RVer to find the nite host and get a site alot of unnecessary driving and parking. I also feel it is ashame that the park doesn't have a good internet/TV serviced with all of the thousands of dollars this park makes off the winter season RVers. The last three years that I have stayed the internet service has been down. When asked the park office just replies that this happens all of the time. To me this is a problem and some kind of action should be taken to fix it. If MWR is too cheap to provide this service, why not let a commerical company come and provide it. I try every way I can to avoid staying here but a couple of days can be tolerated.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 8 - Mar 6, 2011

G.P. left this review using the Directory software: We have stayed here almost a month. Great campground, friendly host. WiFi intermittent...no community bld at this time...improvements are planned.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 2, 2011

G.B. left this review using the Directory software: This time of year, spending a week or more in overflow is normal before any chance of getting hookups. Overflow is a small grassy field behind park. Since I didn't get hookups I can't comment about park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2011

J.K. left this review using the Directory software: Spent 5 days in dry camp. Site was adjacent to a FIRING RANGE?! I couldn't believe there was an active firing range surrounded on 3 sides by campsites. We were about 30 feet from the firing line ..close enough to hear the brass hitting the ground. After about 2 days of live fire, my wife stopped taking cover every time there was a burst of gunfire. On my 5th visit to camp office I finally found it open for business. Staff friendly, camp hosts excellent. Wi-fi was down and there didn't seem to be any effort to get it fixed. Golf course undergoing renovations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Dec 20-26 2009

If you have a son or daughter stationed there and if they just returned from a deployment don't count on being able to get a slot during the winter, it seems that the snow birds who move there during the winter have priority. I shouldn't be so mad, as this is true for every FamCamp in the military. Overall the camp was OK, they even came by to make sure we were leaving when we said, or to remind us to LEAVE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2008

B.M. left this review using the Directory software: Just spent a great 4 days at the Patrick AFB Famcamp. 47 or so spots on the Banana River with full service about 1/2 of those have 50 amp the rest are 30. 30 or so sites with water and electric. 10 primitive campsites and about 45 overflow primitive RV sites. Clean Rest/Shower/laundry room. Easy access to the dump station. No reservations except for active duty but in the summer its usually not a problem. Gets a little crowded during Shuttle launch week but usually OK. You cannot bring your rig in either the North (Main) gate or the South gate. Access is from highway A1A on the beach side of the base. They have an inspection area for trucks etc and this is the checkpoint for RV access. After you access you must take a right on the main road headed North. This takes you to the admin side of the base around the end of the runway. Follow the signs and you will end up at the FAMCAMP around the other end of the runway. Check in is between 0830 and 1100 (Summer Hours) during the week and the camp host is available across the street from the office after that. Very easy to do. The campground is located within earshot of the base shooting range and if you have skittish animals it could be unpleasent. Also if you depart on Sunday or after hours you need to call Base security to find out if the gate is open on A1A. 321-494-2008 I didnt have a problem on Sunday Camp host sez they will open it for you if indeed it is closed. The campground is a runway away from everything and helmets are required for you bikes. Patrick has a great BX/Commissary area across the runway from Famcamp. Verification of current rabies innoculation required at time of check in for pets. No more then 2 pets/rig.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 2006

Caution - Ask about flooding. We were placed in one of the middle rows (site 78, I believe) - waterelectric only. It rained one night and we had about 4 inches of water all around the rig the next morning. Found my shoes floating down the road next to a blue heron that was trying to find breakfast. Avoid this row since it is in-line with the dump, which was also flooded. Not sure what all was mixed in with the rain water. We moved to a dry site. Wish the camp host would have placed us in a site that didn't flood in the first place. The firing range was active (after 8am) on several mornings.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13