Manatee Cove Campground

New Hot
 
4.1 (114)
123906   1   21   1   83

User reviews

53 reviews with 5 stars

114 reviews

 
(54)
 
(38)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.5  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
3.7  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
4.1  (114)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
53 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 July - 7 August 2017

A change in our plans brought us back to Florida earlier than normal. We are sorry we could not continue on our planned route, but we are glad we spent this summer in Florida. Manatee Cove was a pleasant surprise. We have stayed here before, but not in the summer. The Camp Hosts and the Outdoor Rec, MWR folks were all courteous and helpful. Always willing to talk and offer advice about the local area. As mentioned in an earlier review the restroom and laundry facilities are new, nice and clean. The only issue I had with the laundry room was the lack of ventilation. I can understand not having air conditioning, but a fan would be great. Something to move the air, the room is stifling hot. Since the completion of the renovation there are a number of new full hook up sites. I believe all sites have been upgraded to 50Amp, full hook-ups. We hope to spend the winter here, but that remains to be seen because it is a first come, first serve basis. The MWR/Outdoor Rec staff hours have been cut back severely. They are on duty 0900 – 1300 Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. Capable, courteous folks. We see the funding cut backs in lots of areas, this is just one more. Fortunately the Camp Hosts are really great, they know there jobs and preform them professionally and politely. I believe PAFB has the best pharmacy support in the DOD. The BX and Commissary are more than adequate. They have a good golf course, gym and marina. Very limited on swimming pools, but you have the Ocean to make up for it. This is a great place that I highly recommend. 45ft Entegra, Aspire RV with a Jeep. Wrangler, Unlimited 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 20th to Sept.27th 2016

This will be a wonderful place for the snowbirds as the new sites are varying sizes with nice concrete pads and many of them will accommodate big rigs. The price of $30.00 for the sites along the Banana River is surprising as they are still the same as when we were there 2 years ago and paid a lot less. Did notice there is minimal parking available at the new check in/community building so folks will have quite a walk to get there from the old sites at the entrance. Some of the sewers are placed awkwardly at the new sites but from all our years of RV'ing you normally do not get an odor when someone dumps properly and most folks dump in the AM. If you have a big rig do not try and turn into the road to get to the registration office it is tight. We parked our rig at the playground and drove the car down or you can park at the RV parking spot on the right side where the old check in trailer used to be. Definitely will go back again in the spring or fall as it is an easy ride from Hernando Co., Fl. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 26, 2016

Per office all sites are full hookup ! Expansion construction complete, but new sites not yet open, as is the new bathhouse. Great facility, beautiful Campground! Wifi in community center only ! A top notch Campground needs top notch Campground wide wifi access ! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 16 -17 2016

The only reason I gave the 4 rating for the facilities was they were working on the expansion while we were there. It didn't bother us and didn't inconvenience us, but I really couldn't give it a 5 either. I really liked this place, it was our first time here and all the people we met were so friendly and the camp hosts were so helpful, as a matter of fact they let us use their car to run over to the commissary before it closed the afternoon we got there. Not a lot of activity right there at the CG, but there is all kind of things to do in the area. My wife and I like it peaceful like that, we spend most of the time on the little beach she collects sea shells and I take pictures its very quite and relaxing. We stayed in a motorhome for 2 days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3 Jul - ? Jul 2015

The Staff went out of their way to assist us. Though we will have to move to an electric only site, due to upcoming renovations, the original site we were given was AMAZING! Right along the shore line, I witnessed sights I had never seen before. On the 4th of July, my one Grandson was saying that it would be the worse 4th ever....then, as evening fell, I had both boys come into the back bedroom. We literally watch dozens of fireworks displays all along the coast line, for miles and miles, even going inland for miles. I am now the boys heroine!! It really was unbelievable. Next, while enjoying watching the water, I spotted fins....yes, we watched black top sharks! Can you imagine the excitement?! The sunsets were breathtaking. Never have I seen any more beautiful. I am now figuring out how we can get back down here to winter. I love it here, and it's going to be so hard to leave to go to Disney. We are staying in a Coachmen Leprechaun, 28'er, have a cement pad right next to us. There is a playground within walking distance, but every day they've been announcing red then black flag conditions (yep, it's hot out there). I am a very, very happy camper!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 Apr to 13 Apr 2015

Nice campground. Spent two nights without sewer, had only a short wait list for some snowbirds to leave and start heading north. It was a very laid back and relaxing time. Our final spot was right along the water. The beach was great for small kids (grandsons). They could go far out and be still in the shallows. There were bees in our electric box, one of the hazards of being south in the spring. I let every one that should know, but nothing was done about it. No one was stung, so there were no issues from it. No cable TV, such is life. WiFi was only at the Community Center, but who needs it? It's not like I came there to work. The bathhouse had laundry and was clean. All round it was a great place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

31 Jan-6 Feb 2015

Patrick Air Force Base is a full service base that has commissary, PX, exceptional class 6, great (but crowded) golf course, and an exceptional gym that is conveniently located from the Camp Ground (CG). CG is on the far side of the flight line and takes 10 or more minutes to travel to most base facilities. Wi-Fi was unsat and don’t count on it. The new community center is great for camaraderie and information. We were well received by the staff and camp host and made to feel part of the “home”. Rotational system is fair and works, people are friendly. Great bicycling available. Highly Recommended!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 2015

Quick rebuttal to the previous review here - want all to know that almost all here at Patrick AFB are having a great winter due to the facility, base and staff. I am sure very few here would agree that it is the "WORST MANAGED" military campground and would have to wonder if this reviewer has been to some that are really poorly managed. I am kind of an "office rat" and consistently listen to the office staff explain in a clear manner the uncertainty of getting into there this time of year. They are limited by number of sites and the number of "dry" sites (3 only) that command permits them to use at Chevron Park. Most of us chose earlier in the winter to spend our time here, even if we knew we'd have to give up Key West and other Florida locations we'd like to spend time at. The rotation is fair and reasonably set up based on the facilities they can offer. Again, very sorry this camper came, left and was not happy but that does, by no means reflect the opinion of most of us wintering here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2014

Was just there the first week of August. Had no problems with having a boat there. Never took it to the RV spot. They had over flow parking at the entrance to the RV's so parked the boat there. I even parked the boat in the water by the RV some days. Loved this base and area. Spent 4 months traveling up and down 95 and this was the best to me. Big exchange and commissary. Ernie

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 30 - May 01 2014

A couple of important things to know, first off: The directions on this website are correct and the directions in the military RV camping guide book are wrong. Take exit 188 as this website says, not exit 191 as the military RV camping guide book says. The check in at Outdoor Recreation is closed on Wednesdays. We arrived on a Wednesday and checked in with one of the two camp hosts at the famcamp. She was friendly and helpful. The photo on this website of the famcamp office shows the old famcamp office which no longer exists. Outdoor Recreation is the place to check in, except on Wednesdays. They have an entry gate specifically for trucks and RVs but once you are on base you can leave with your RV through any gate. The Air Force dining facility is open to everyone. It is a very nice facility located right on the water with great views, but the food is poor, quite expensive for a military chow hall, and the staff is not very friendly. I would not eat there again. The famcamp itself is very nice. We had a waterfront space next to a beautiful swimming beach on the Banana River. Patrick is unusually quiet for an air force base, not many planes coming or going the two days we were there. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 2012 thru Feb 2013

We enjoyed Patrick famcamp so much more than other military rv parks. The rotation from overflow to full or partial is fair. Everyone has an equal opportunity. The hosts Ralph and Tom are most gracious and are always friendly to everyone. The PX and commisary are close and the Dining Facility is close and good prices. The new community center is very spacious and there is a lot of activites there. Thanks to the new Manager for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

30 Dec 12 thru 2 Jan 13

This was my wife and my first adventure with RV'n. We purchased a bumper pull toy hauler and wanted to stay close on our first time out (we live in Clermont FL) so we decided to go to Patrick AFB for the week. It was a great experience for us. The staff was super and the park was well kept. We had a pull thru with water/pwr only. We were 2 spots over from the wash house and the spot we were put on was a large lot so we weren't right on top of our neighbor. Where else can you go and stay on a beach for $15 a night. We can't wait to go back had a blast!!!!!!!! They are suppose to have the family center up and running on/about the 23 Jan 13 so there will be wifi then. We had our IPad so there was no issue with the internet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14 Dec 2012

We stayed for just one night and was pleasantly surprised at the changes since we last visited two years ago. There were no standard sites available for us but once we saw how they have improved the overflow area, we had absolutely no issues staying there. As others have already pointed out, the pistol range is gone, another nice surprise. The tent camping area has been cleaned out of all brush and trees have been trimmed up. Restrooms were the same as our last visit there, its not 'hospital clean' but it certainly wasn't filthy. The only issue I can see they are going to have is that the overflow area was hastily paved. I dont know if it is a low grade of asphalt, laid to thin, or needed some extra rolling; it was certainly brittle. For being there one night, our 8x12 inch wood blocks we put under out stabilizers and tongue jack sank into the asphalt about an inch. Like I said, we were there for one night and it wasn't exceptionally warm. Overall a great place to stay. Will certainly do it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 14-Sep 12, 2012

Can't say enough about this well run campground. The Hosts made our visit the best we'd ever experienced at a military campground. We had never stayed here before and were wonderfully surprised at the awesome location and friendly atmosphere. The former shooting range has been moved to its new permanent facility and a contractor is busy removing all of the berms and the former range building will be turned over to the campground for their use in the near future. The Air Force should be paying these people a bonus for the outstanding work they do from welcoming campers to keeping the park pristine. We look forward to returning here in the future and will tell all of our military friends about this GREAT CAMPGROUND....!!! Judi and Ralph Caldwell.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 26- May 7 and July 2- 7 2012

We live in Orlando but took our popup to Manatee Cove twice this year so far. Our first visit was exploratory and we found the lack of signage on A1A to be a serious problem. Fortunately, we located the correct commercial/truck entrance without by-passing it. Locating the Manatee Cove was easy but there was NO signage along the way if you didn't know where to go. We found eating at the Riverside Dining facility to be an inexpensive and convenient vacation option. Better yet, we realized it was easier to shop at the huge commissary every afternoon rather than worry about keeping fresh provisions healthy in a cooler. The dining facility overlooks the Banana River and for the view alone it is worth the bike ride (less than a mile). We were able to launch our kayak from the sandy shore on the Banana River and saw sting ray, dolphin, and schools of fish. Behind our site was an estuary of the river that was fenced off and during our first trip we watched a dolphin playing with the mullet; throwing them in the air and catching them. We were able to capture his escapades on video for posterity. There is a healthy, friendly population of raccoon so be prepared to have anything left outside shook, rattled, opened, and walked all over.
The host staff are excellent. They can and will answer any question and assist in any way to make your visit pleasant. We forgot our dogs shot record the first time over but we were able to drop the popup and go back to get it. So DON'T leave home without your pet's records. There is a vet on base that you can make an appointment with if your pet needs care. And there is a great dog walk enclosure for pets to make friends. Only complaint is the entire place is covered in burrs that are painful to pets and people. We learned the hard way. Other's have mentioned the movie theater that we took advantage of both visits and if you're into major physical fitness, there is an awesome gym and pool on base within an easy bike ride with ample parking. Our second visit included the 4th of July holiday and I was amazed that the park was not full. We had called ahead to make sure something was available and we were even able to get our same site #70 by the estuary. Of course it has only partial hookups but we don't need sewer hookups since the bath house was conveniently located and extremely well lit. We celebrated the 4th on the Atlantic Ocean beach. There was a base club house that rented umbrellas, paddle boards, kayaks, bicycles, and surfboards. A food truck menu was available at reasonable prices. Fireworks back at the campsite were awesome from the Banana River as far as we could see. We will be going back for the Cocoa Beach Air Show in September. Hope to see you there! Jim & Pat Webb

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 30th to May 14th, 2012

Have not been here for 3 years and am very impressed with the progress they have made and continue to make in the FamCamp. This certainly will be a contender for a Military Campground award and the 30 day max stay rule should be a standard at the popular Military Campgrounds. It is a fact the building at the existing firing range will become a community room for the FamCamp but no definite date when this will happen but the new building for the range is under roof, so just maybe it will be all in place for the winter season of campers. Not impressed with the Riverside Dining facility food and most folks in the campground said the same thing. For this time of year it stays almost full in the full hook-up sites and office personnel also said it is fuller this year than last year at this time. Movie theater has movies on Friday night and Sat. afternoon that are free and took advantage of this. Please all of you who arrive here, USE THE COMMERCIAL GATE TO ENTER AND DEPART as someone arrived in a Class A with a tow car when it was getting dark and attempted to come in the main gate and the gate guard allowed it but a big oops happened and the driver of the RV damaged his RV and property at the gate. There is so much to see and do in this area so two weeks goes by quickly so we will be back in a couple months to see continuing progress and explore more in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar.27,2012

This is one nice RV park. This was my first visit here, and it will not be the last. The staff are true professionals, and helped me out during my visit.I would like to thank Leslie for her assistance and friendly welcome aboard meeting. I believe this park could be number if the facilities were upgraded. The park needs some find of club house. This park is number one in patrons friendliness,ie,happy hour everyday by the guest makes your visit even better. Most parks (Kings Bay) are loaded with snowbirds,and you as a guest feel like a outsider and not welcome. Everyone is treated equally,and fair,and this my fellow RVers is the reason that i will be back,Thank You Patrick Air Force Base,Ray Wyatt,retired USN

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2012

Have been here several times and always like it. We are usually lucky and get a good site. Having electric in overflow is a great addition. Only problem this visit is that we arrived on Sunday. Commercial gate was closed. We had to wait for an hour for police to come and open it for us. RV's must use this gate as other gates are too small. Hope to return next year and stay longer. Nice crowd of people and very welcoming to "newbies".

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 Jan 2012

Although the park was very crowded and the waiting list to get into full hook ups is about 3 weeks, it was worth staying for just one night. A place that you would definitely want to get back to at a different time. The duty host was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22-29 SEP11

We truly found a gem of a RV Park! The staff was great and provided a lot of sightseeing information during the check in process. The sites were spacious and clean, and the park was quiet! 75 cents to wash/dry and the laundry/restroom facilities were very clean. MWR was in the process of wiring 45 overflow sites with 50 amp service, which will be an added benefit for all. We will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
53 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3