Oak Grove Park and Cottages

Hot
 
4.5 (100)
178955   1   22   0   95

User reviews

61 reviews with 5 stars

100 reviews

 
(62)
 
(34)
 
(3)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.8  (100)
 
4.6  (100)
 
4.3  (100)
 
4.4  (100)
 
4.5  (100)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
61 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 2017

Cleanest park I have stayed at in a long Time. Host friendly and helpful. Check in quick and easy. Loved the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 13-15, 2017

We spent three days/two nights at this campground. It was our first time. We loved this place! Imagine getting up and watching the sunrise on the sand with a cup of coffee or watching a spectacular sunset over the ocean. The access path to the sand was one campsite away from ours. The campground pluses included cleanliness of the sites and bathrooms; space of and between the sites; ease of hook-up for electric, water and sewage; and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff even when dealing with unreasonable campers (as we observed first hand while waiting to register). Don't expect to show up without a reservation for this military campground (or many others) and find a space for more than one night. Plan ahead! We made our reservations early enough that we were able to secure a site by the water. The campground needs to improve WiFi access. Having to use a computer in the community room is not acceptable. It was not accessible from our site even with a WiFi Ranger signal amplifier that we have installed in our trailer. We had to use our Smartphone as a hot spot. My recommendation is to install better WiFi in the campground so people can access email, websites, and, for some of us, work. As for activities, there is a community center for folks to get together and meet other campers. There is an air museum on site as well and a beautiful lighthouse. The NAS has the usual amenities as most other bases. The Pensacola area around this base has many restaurants, shops, and other attractions for both adults and kids. This is a campground that I would return to time and time again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 17 - 30, 2017

It is a tough challenge to add anything new in a review for Oak Grove Park. There are many reviews that give a good explanation of the oak tree shaded, beachside park. I especially liked OLD NAVY’s review of Jan 16 -30, 2017. Oak Grove is the 2nd Navy RV Park out of 5 that we made reservations through the online system. It [reservation system] worked great, the park was ready for our arrival. Check-in was easy, friendly and informational. Like most MCG’s you get a handful of paper with various types of information - Oak Grove is no different. The green pamphlet has been the most useful one for us. It contains maps of the base and the surrounding Pensacola area. In addition to the Navy-wide reservation system, we could logon to the Navy-wide GoWiFi system using the same user ID and password we used at other Navy RV parks. There are WIFI extenders located throughout the park. We had no problems with the WIFI system and response time was good. The 40’ x 20’ cement slab should be the norm for all MCG’s. The slab is large enough for an RV with multiple slide-outs plus enough room for outdoor activities, regardless of the location of the door on the RV. The parks interior streets are gravel which cause the front end of some slabs to get a little messy when it rains. We had a great time staying at Oak Grove Park. It is quite a sight to watch the Blue Angels flying their air show routines. We will return. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 1, 2017 - July 2, 2017

My wife and I booked this campground for July 1-8, 2017. We left after the 2nd night. This was in no fault of the campground. We left because the campground is located within the guard checkpoints of the NAS and we brought our motorcycles. It was our fault for not checking on the required riding gear for the NAS. We did not have all the gear needed. That being said, the day and half we were there, the park was clean but tight with some neighbors and spots, the bath house was clean and roomy. The parking pads were concrete and level. The camp host was extremely friendly and nice. The beach is within walking distance. Signs say no swimming but there were a lot people swimming. The lighthouse and Naval Air Museum is a must see and is a nice walk from the campground. We would stay there again but only if we brought a car and not our motorcycles.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 18, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 16 - 30, 2017

A wonderful Campground. Stayed two weeks and the prices above are correct. One can use this facility on a weekly basis. We carry a modem with us so we had no problems using the WiFi and the modem gave us complete security when on line. The Navy Exchange Gas/Mini Mart has started carrying limited supplies if you run out of something for your camping experience. The Naval Aviation Museum is not a one day event...it will take two to three days to see everything. The Pensacola Lighthouse is the tallest on the Gulf. If one has a weak heart or diabetic don't try to climb to the top. The Light keepers residence is a nice Museum in itself and provides a lot to see and learn. There is a bike trail the goes next to the Campgrounds and another hiking trail that runs parallel to the bike trail, but separates down by the light house. The pads are very large concrete sites. Plenty of room for my 31foot Class "C" and our towed car. The Campground Hostesses and Campground Staff were very friendly and helpful with their knowledge of Pensacola. I look forward to going back next year. If any concern I may have is that they use five or six inch steel pipes concreted into the ground to mark the campsite number. They are painted dark red. Very seeable in the day time, but almost impossible to see at night. Before backing in stop, get out and locate these. RV vs Steel pipes = Steel Pipes win. I do not know of any incident while I was there and not even sure there has been a RV backing into any of them, however I did notice a couple of the pipes leaning to the side for some reason. Your stay will be a lot more fun if you avoid these critters. A neighbor arrived well after dark and the Campground Hostess was with him and carried a big flashlight to assist him in backing in. You can't ask for more.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 5-8, 2016

This was our second visit. Very pleasant stay, nice people, within walking distance to beach, trail, lighthouse and of course, the magnificent museum! We didn't use restrooms/showers/laundry, so no comment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2 - 6, 2016

Not sure what I can add that hasn't already been said, but my Wife and I were here in May 2016 for the very first time and absolutely love this place. The Staff and all the people are so friendly and helpful and the CG is very well maintained. I'm a 100%'er and the walk to the museum was a little too far for me, but we made an all day excursion out of it and it was well worth it. The first morning we had the Blue Angels practicing for about 2 hours right over the CG, what an experience, got some great pictures and it was like having our own private air show. Everything works as advertised, the beach is a short walk away, the swimming beach is a little further down but still within walking distance and we really found nothing wrong with this place. I hope we will be able to come back many more times!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 7-14, 2016

Great campground.  As of 2 weeks ago, WiFi is now free at the campground & works great.  Also has 91+ digital cable channels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2016

Stayed for four nights in site #9. Pad was level and hook-ups worked well.  Staff was friendly.  There is a great paved road with very limited vehicle traffic right at the park entrance that is great for walking and biking.  Even though we had over 9 inches of rain during out stay we found plenty to do in the area.  Be aware that the commissary and exchange are about a 20 minute drive of base.  The is a Walmart and Target just outside the gate you come in that will meet your needs if you don't want to drive to the commissary or exchange.  Hopefully will return in the near future with less rain.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 Feb 2016

Great park with a short walk to the beach.  Courteous staff, clean, nice place to stay.  Only negative is no NEX within close walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 1-6, 2015

Our second stay to visit our daughter who is in training here. Weather a bit cooler but one of our favorite campgrounds. This time with fall temps the water is nearly crystal clear, such a change from the summer brown. Camp hostess Deb came to our rescue and recommended Blue Angel Tire and Automotive out the back gate for us. We needed some repairs on the RV and they took us right in on a Monday morning. Doesn't get any better than that. Such a pleasure to have a laundry where all the machines are in working order and a change machine. Rest rooms are kept clean too. We camped in a 32' motorhome with tow dolly and car.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 11-18, 2015

First time staying at Oak Grove and it won't be our last. Sites are a bit tight, but the bathroom and laundry facilities are very good and cleaned twice a day. The staff and Camp host's Frank and Deb were awesome to meet and work with. Saturday was grill and karaoke night and we all had lots of fun. Short walking distance to the beach as others have stated. Signage could be better locating the campground entrance which we passed first time and just happen to see campers behind the trees. Were able to see the Blue Angels practice but want to go back to spend more time on the base visiting the Naval Aviation Museum, the Redoubt, and Fort Barrancas. Beautiful location, the only downside we experienced has been true anywhere along the gulf is that a lot of trash washes up and the water a brown tint.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 4 - 10, 2015

Another great trip to Oak Grove. We try and stay 2 to 4 weeks each spring, but this time only the six nights. Our friends joined us this year and also had a wonderful trip. The camp is still as nice as any other location we stay. Our only problem was backing into our site (#37). Really tight and the folks across from us had to move their two cars so we could get in, still tight but made it. That was our only issue, if you call that an issue. Bathrooms and laundry are always extremely clean, and should be since they are cleaned twice a day. The campground stays full on most days. The operations runs very well due to the professionalism of the ladies in the office and the camp host. As long as our health allows us to camp, Oak Grove will be on our schedule at least once a year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2014

We love this place! We just spent a month here while visiting our son who lives in Pensacola. We come a long way to see the family so we usually stay a month. It's close to the Navy Lodge where we put up other family members who visit at the same time. We also were able to get one of the condos for our son and family (he lives about 40 minutes away) for a weekend so that we could all be together. It worked out well with all of us close by. We had site 36 on the end of the second row on the left. The problem with this site is that site 35 is VERY close and at a real weird angle. Several LARGE motorhomes stayed in 35 while we were there and their back end was just inches away from our awning and closed in our space somewhat. We will ask for another site next time. Restrooms were immaculate as always, the club house was clean, and the laundry can be done for 50 cents a wash! Can't beat that. We had a changing of the guard of camp host while we were there. The new guy is friendly enough, but just didn't seem to put much energy into enforcing rules or being helpful. Across the way we had a border collie that barked incessantly and the camp host never did approach the owners. Other campers left notes on the door of the offending owners, but to no avail. We were there for the storm that just recently devastated the area including a tornado warning. The sirens went off on base and some folks said that someone had come knocking on their door to take shelter, but we weren't among those notified. We did anyway - in the bathrooms. Although this building is the only solid structure it is wood construction and we wondered how safe it really was. Fortunately the tornado did not materialize! It was scary, though. This is a super place to stay despite the aircraft and traffic noise! We will be back!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 3, 2013

Immaculate restroom and shower facilities. Nice laundry room. Nice campground with very friendly workers and hosts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 4-7, 2013

This is a great place to stay, if you enjoy the Florida Coast Line, no traffic, easy driving in and around Pensacola, not your typical tourist atmosphere. The beach was very private, not crowded, very relaxing atmosphere, fishing was outstanding, great food in and around Pensacola. Navy Aviation Museum well worth the trip. I have stayed at many of the Military Campgrounds/Cabins, this is by far one of the best if not the best place I have stayed, thumbs up to the US Navy Command, Pensacola NAS so well maintained. Only problem, I had to leave and return to Kentucky, I will be back!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 29th - May 13th, 2013

First of all we have not visited a huge number of military campgrounds, but this is by far the first on our list. Everything is top notch from the ladies at the office, the ladies that take care of the bathrooms/laundry, the guys that take care of the grounds, and the best camp host we have met. The bathrooms and laundry is cleaned twice a day and at the same time each day. Could not be better. Mowing happens as needed and cleans empty sites when they are emptied. (To include high pressure washing). The ladies in the office are always extremely polite and professional. The camp host spends the time to make sure everyone is happy and comfortable with what is going on. A great beach is only a short walk. (Not the campgrounds fault, but some people do leave trash on beach for others to pick up). My only negative is the lack of local Wifi. You can purchase Wifi from a third party for a daily, weekly, or months rate. I was not happy with the third party. Would be nice if the base provided the wifi. We used the free Wifi at Starbucks down the street at least once a day. We will spend 2 to 4 weeks at this campground each year we are able to camp. There so much to do here. You can stay busy with just the base activities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 9-18, 2013

This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We made reservations 3 months out and at that time assigned Site #17 and that is where we parked. While checking in one of the office persons received a call that the Blue Angels had cancelled everything including their practices. We had looked forward to seeing them but there are enough other things to do around the area to keep you occupied. We visited the National Cemetery and Fort Barrancas on base and for the first time, Fort Pickens. The real only bad thing about this park is it's lack of WiFi. You can get WiFi from a private concern if you want to pay. We had been without for about 2 weeks and decided to pay the 14.95 for a week. The connections were mediocre at best. We decided that next time we would not do this again and instead go down the road to the Starbucks or Nex and use theirs. It's free, the connections are good and you can sit in your vehicle if you choose. You can wash your vehicles on site but anything with chemicals is not allowed. For the dirtier vehicles there is a wash rack (free)just down the road but if you go there take your own hose as most of theirs are rotten. I hope the following was an isolated thing and doesn't go any further. My next door neighbor had a top-load deep freezer on his patio and I saw another site with a refrigerator. I can understand the frig better than a freezer. Anyway, we enjoyed our visit and looking forward to next time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 11-April 20, 2013

This was our first "snowbird" trip to a military RV park and we loved this campground! Great walking/jogging trails, a beautiful sand beach, a great Fitness Center, the Lighthouse and NAS Museum, not to mention the Blue Angels. If you have the opportunity to watch them practice, the best view is from the bleachers behind the museum, which is within walking distance... and you will want to walk or ride bikes; They generate a lot of tourism so the parking lot is packed. Restrooms and laundry facilities are very clean and laundry very reasonable. This campground is a great location for day trips out to see the sites. Sundays we enjoyed attending Liberty Church (Blue Angel Campus) not far from the back gate. The only draw-back was not having a commissary on site. It wasn't far however, and easy to find at Corry Station, but I would have enjoyed riding my bicycle there. We will definately be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 - 20 January 2013

This was our first experience camping on a base - and now we are ready to do it again and again. This location is terrific - close to beaches, base activities and area cities. The exchange and commissary are indeed a few miles from campground - about 5 miles - but the facilities were the best we've ever experienced - left too much money at Exchange. Shady oak trees, concrete pads and full hookups were great! Laundry was super - lots of machines in great condition. We will be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
61 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4