Naval Support Activity Panama City Family Campground and Marina

New Hot
 
4.1 (66)
103781   0   23   0   71

User reviews

11 reviews with 3 stars

66 reviews

 
(34)
 
(16)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.4  (66)
 
3.9  (66)
 
4.2  (66)
 
4.0  (66)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 14, 2017 to Nov 9, 2017

First time returning to Southside RV Park in three years. There have been many changes since the last time I was here and wrote last review. As previous reviewer stated the daily ($22.00) and monthly($18.00 per day) rates are up, which seems to be the trend at most military parks. The previous host has departed and was replaced by two couples that seem to have no function other than to pickup trash twice weekly. Would be more cost effective to replace them with a dumpster and open up to more spots. The dog run is deplorable. Dog feces is everywhere and the solution is to just keep plowing it under. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

27 Dec 14 - 2 Jan 15

My review is strictly about the Southside NAS Panama City. WIFi was pretty much available throughout the campgrounds. Bathhouse was kept clean. Other than horseshoes (horseshoes provided), there are NO activities for children. No walking or biking trails available at the site. Hardly any vegetation between sites for seclusion, but also none for shade in the summer. Great location for Panama City activities. We attended the Beachball Drop at Pier Park New Year's Eve night. That was fun. Each site was occupied pretty much the whole week we were there. Each site is paved with water, electric, sewer and cable. There's a nice fire pit for the campground and wood is provided. Total of 24 sites there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 07, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 8-9, 2012

The location is good (close to the beaches in Panama City), but I would not call this location "big rig friendly". We pull a 43 foot fifth wheel and checking in at the marina was tricky given some tight turns. The South Point campground (where all of the pull-thru sites are located) has a very narrow gate at the entrance. To make matters worse, there is a V-shaped planting area in front of the gate which prohibits you from pulling straight in or straight out of the gate. Bottom line: it is very easy to scrape your coach on the way in or out of the campground. Given the aforementioned facts, I would probably not stay here again because of the size of our fifth wheel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb 19, 2012

Should have been posted about the 2 pet limit. Could not wait to leave. Our site was right be hind the sewer capture. PHEWW!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

January 2012

This was our second stay at the Southside Campground. Both visits have not been enjoyable. The Marina staff gave us incorrect authorizations each time when we made our reservations. During the first visit the incorrect authorization allowing both my ID and my wife's ID to reserve spaces (as Pensacola and many others allow) caused us to leave shortly after arriving. Jerry was host at the time and made the experience even more difficult. Our second visit has been difficult also. Nicole with the Marina staff assured me that it would be no problem allowing our 2 small dogs and the 2 small dogs of widowed sister who is staying with us. Host Shiela was hesitant but said she would notify management of the 4 dogs. WRONG!! Well! Campers were friendly upon on arrival, but after learning I am 100% disabled, not retired 2 guests complained about the dogs awakening them, which we think was not a valid complaint. "Squeaky wheel gets the grease". Make certain to request campground rules prior to stay and follow them TO THE LETTER no matter what reservationists or camp host promises. Guests RULE. Sheila is a pleasant host and just does her job.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug. 23, 2010

This site was on base and a little hard to find. The directions point to the site off base, after turning south off US98 you only go about a 1/4 mile to the base entrance. Once in the Marina the spaces are tight. It took two of the guys there to help me get into the site. The trees are big and old and drop a lot of pine needles on the 36 foot 5th wheel. Nice place and close to the busy Panama City beach, I did not get time to visit the other RV site. People are very friendly and helpful. I would go back but not stay at the Marina due to the size of the sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2009- Spring Break

Sites are very close together, and you have to park your truck across the street in the parking lot. Make sure to bring extra long hoses for sewage, and cable for the tv. It is a nice place, just very hard to get a travel traler in the spot. Tight spots, but nice place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15 FEB - 1 MAR 2008

This is actually called NSA Campgrounds in the Military RV Campground book. We stayed at the on-base campground. It definitely was not a good experience from the very start. First of all, to go into the campground you have to do a real tight hairpin turn and all of a sudden people started yelling at us - we stopped and found that we had hit a tree (they said it was the second time it had happened that week!) We didn't even hear or feel anything but sure enough, we had scraped along the side of our rig, including our dining area window. Well, that was truly a bummer since we've only had the rig since October. Oh well, I guess it could have been worse. Then it took us 40 minutes to get situated into our campsite - with about 7 staffmembers helping! The campsites are so close together and nearly impossible to navigate into. There are cabins in front of and in back of the campsites which makes it all the more difficult. Even though the maintenance guys were accomodating, I didn't find the office girl very friendly or helpful. You can't keep your vehicle with your rig so we had to go park the truck in a nearby parking area. There's a nice little beach area nearby and you can get a site almost right ON the beach. A tiny exchange. The mess hall is great and is within walking distance. We went there often. No coin laundry on base. There IS a coin laundry at the off base site but you can't use it. We found one off base and it was EXPENSIVE! $2 for washers. There's a building called the MAIN DECK directly across from the campground and there is FREE food and non-alcoholic drinks every Wed and Fri. It's really a bar, but you don't have to be a drinker to go in. There is karaoke on certain nights and there is a pool table (free) and darts (coin operated) and foos ball (free). DON'T wear your CAP inside this building or you have to buy a round of drinks for EVERYONE at the bar! You CAN have mail forwarded here. They have a little mail box in the office where you can check if mail came for you and there is also a modem for those that need to use their laptop. The beaches in Panama City are great and free and not too far away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 2006

R.D. left this review using the Directory software: Camp ground is ok. No swimming pool, small play ground and mini golf. Camp host is helpful only if it suits him. Getting in to the gate is a trick for big rigs with tows. So be careful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 2006

the off base cg has large site and full hookups with laundry facilities. signing in is a real pain as you must go onto the base proper which is a trip in itself and these personnel are not very helpful. we were met by a female host at the cg and welcomed us. the camping area on base should be closed very poor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 2006

Campground off base has large sites. However, you must go into Marina office on base to check in which is impossible in a 40' motorhome. They should have a system where the campground host opens gate calls to office and gets you on your site then you can go down and pay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11