Naval Support Activity Panama City Family Campground and Marina

New
 
4.1 (67)
119762   0   23   0   81

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

67 reviews

 
(35)
 
(16)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.4  (67)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (67)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (67)
Value 
 
4.2  (67)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (67)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
Feb 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Didn’t start out well; had made reservations for South Side, but when we checked in we were told they had us at mainside and that was the only opening. Mainside is small and tight. Mostly homesteaders. We were given Site 3, which is middle row inside down by wash rack. This site is Pull Thru, sort of. You can pull in, but if in a Class A, I doubt you can make the turn to pull out. We backed out of the spot and then could navigate without major issue. (Rig is 38’). Wifi is great as not only was Gowifi strong, but there is also an Xfinity hot spot there so had no problem using all devices. With slides out could not use awning as it hung over next site’s pad. Pads are concrete, but only 20’ long with the rest inn gravel. Total site length was 40’ at most. Amazingly with half on half off; site was level. Water pressure was really low while we were there. It is nice that they have a pull thru wash rack the will fit RV’s. Must say that Mainside does have a lot more to offer with watercraft rentals, small NEX, beach pavilions and all hands club on beach. Laundry was tired & small, $1.50 for washer or dryer. They made us put our trailer at overflow parking but there wasn’t an extra charge. One night was 2-3 “s rain and sites drained well. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
27 Nov 2016-28 Jan 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Location was good, close to beaches, restaurants, and shopping. The camp host and family were very nice and helpful. The laundry room and bathrooms were clean. We had good water pressure. Sites were spacious. Mail delivery good. When we arrived we were in Site 11 and had no WiFi so they moved us to Site 6 where WiFi worked but we got bumped off at times. Unless the WiFi issues are fixed suggest you not stay in Site 11 if you require WiFi. The campground was quite dark at night. The dog park is nothing but sand about 8 inches deep, no grass. The base has a small Navy Exchange but no commissary. There is a Winn Dixie and Publix nearby for groceries or you can drive to Tyndall AFB (approx 40 min) for their commissary and BX. There were no planned functions at the campground for the holidays. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 30 - April 7, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed at the South Side park off base. It was a little inconvenient to go on base, check in then have to travel further down the road to the park, but was easy in the end. The sites are level concrete, very wide and easy to back a 35' fifth wheel into. The location is gravel roads with mostly sandy grass. Lots of sand burrs made it tough walking the dogs and the road outside the gate was busy with no sidewalks. Wifi was down the entire time we were there, even though we were told it would be up the second day of our stay. Had to use our Verizon Hotspot which had a great signal. Cable was ok, but would blank out every so often. The laundry facility was small, 3 washers and 2 dryers. We washed 2 loads of clothes, which didn't come clean at all, the washers barely agitated, so we had to use a coin laundry out in town. The location is great in regards to all Panama City has to offer. If you are looking for Exchange or Commissary services, its about a 40 minute drive to the AFB for those. Great value for the location, but amenities could be improved on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
26 Nov 14- ?
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Check in called us beforehand to make sure we were still coming and to let us know they were closing early the day before Thansgiving, (which was good on my part). Can't add to much more to what all others have written. We like the South Side alot better than the Base Side. Base Side awful tight quarters, South has plenty of room,concrete pads, full hookups , wifi, and cable, and a key card gate. Camp host met us at gate, took us to our site, give us info and handouts on everything around, even come back around and said the mess hall on base was going to serve Thanksgiving dinner to retirees and dependents. Never had a holiday meal that good for $7.50 a person anywhere. Everybody we have met has been very nice, didn't seem to mind working the holiday at all. Might cancel every where else and stay here rest of winter.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Nov 6-12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful facility, well maintained, nice group of people both at the marina, visiting and acting as camp host. Bath house was as clean as I could have made it myself. Wild herds of deer wander throughout the base and helicopters take off and land thru the day. The SAND BURRS are WICKED and positively crippled my pooch when we went on walks This was my inaugural RV trip and I didn't take a car- big mistake because there is nothing to do- other than enjoy the sun and scenery. The Exchange is about the size of a 7/11 with similar offerings and prices, but it is within walking distance of the marina. I thought that a fishing boat would be available for rent, based on the description of the marinas services, but, no joy there. Canoes, paddle boats, etc. are available but both of my shoulders need surgery and I'm not going to hasten that event by rowing around the bay. I would go again, next time with a car. Rockb19
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
June 15 - 18, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.G. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed at the Southside (off base) campground. Getting to the Marina and checking in was inconvenient. This was our first visit and will probably visit again now we know where to go and there is space to pull the camper down to the marina for check in. Convenient to beaches, etc. Was met by camp host with maps and info for the area. Had difficulty parking truck out of road. Have a 42 ft 5th wheel and a F550 to pull with. Have to stay on gravel because of soft sand all around the area. Had planned to do laundry, but all parking spaces were being used by other campers as overflow parking. No one was in bathhouse or laundry, but every space was full with the same vehicles for the three days we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice campground. Small, but nice marina and very small beach area on the bay. Staff did a nice job cleaning out the seagrass in the beach area, but what we found out is that the water is only about 1-2 feet in depth. Not even deep enough to float around, but great for kids to play and checkout the sea life. You would have to walk half way across the bay for it to get deep to swim or float. Staff are friendly and sites are good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
6-8 Feb 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice helpful personnel here. I would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
Defc 22 - Jan 1, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.R. left this review using the Directory software: We just stayed at the Navy park (off base) at Panama City, Florida. The camp host's were on top of the park. It was very clean, well tended and shows pride. There are weekly group events scheduled for those interested. Free laundry in a very nice shower/laundry building. Park location is between PC & PC Beach. We will go again~! **** four stars from us. John Renger
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 7-10, 2010
(Updated: December 09, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The staff here is excellent. They assist you with parking, help customers with their boat trailers, their tow dollies. There are 2 campgrounds here, we stayed at Mainside. It's a great facility, but there are not many "big rig" sites at Mainside. There are plenty at Southside. Mainside is right on the water with great views. There is a lot of construction on base, but the roads are still wide enough for traveling through. The actual entrance to the RV park could be marked just a little better. We didn't come in at night, but it would be tough to see the turn at night. We would definitely come back here!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17-24 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
GPS coordinates for the “Mainside” RV Park are 30.1053, -85.4514. All of the current pictures on ‘militarycampgrounds.us’ site, with the exception of the Marina, are of the “Southside” RV Park. Unfortunately we could not visit the “Southside” location as it requires an access card for the gate and these are only issued to registered campers of that facility. Overall, the “Mainside” FamCamp rates a 3.5 and the only reason I would not assign an overall 5 is due to the very restrictive parking conditions. Concrete pads are cracked and much too small for modern RV’s. There are no picnic tables, grills, or fire rings. The lack of these items is dues to the congested nature of the pads – as an example; our awning (patio area) is almost on-top of our adjoining neighbor. Their sewer, water, and power connections are very close to our motorhome. The staff, marina, beach, and other amenities are all outstanding. There is no room for expansion of the current “Mainside” FamCamp. The marina offers pontoon, fishing, canoes, kayaks, and paddle boats for rent, as well as bicycles, diving gear, and miscellaneous outdoor recreation equipment. This FamCamp is well worth a visit for the marina and beaches, as well as the close proximity to the commercial beaches/fishing. Suggest all the current pictures, with the exception of the marina bay picture, be identified as “Southside”. I’m providing Larry with several “On-Base” photos to use at his discretion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 2 - April 30, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We full time RV and stay at the off base RV Park a couple of times a year. They have security, large concrete pads & dog run. Free laundry, cable & wireless internet at each site. Sheila by far is the most professional & friendly camp host we have ever met. She goes out of her way to help everyone an is always available. The locations is convenient to everything. Occasionally there has been times we could not make a reservation because all 24 sites were taken. The base has a more then adequate reservation policy to keep those from homesteading. It appears this policy applies to everyone with the exception of one individual that is allowed to stay year around. He not only has been on the same site since last summer but tells other campers he will be at the base for 2 years. It is evident by the appearance of his site he is permanent. There is a large tent beside the RV. He even has a refrigerator outside. We thought the RV Park was suppose to be a famcamp for all of those who served not just for one person. Other then that it is a nice park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27 Mar - 02 Apr 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in one of the cabins over spring break. It had a screened porch with a view of the bay. My wife and I had a great time. Can't beat it for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is a 5 min drive from base. The only con that I can think of is the size of the loft. It's quite small, but would be fine for kids.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
February 25-28
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground ... easy to get to ... facilities clean ... individual sites plenty large. The campground hostess is the best ... she is very friendly and very helpful ... seems to have your best interests in mind, including activities and helpful coupons and information on area attractions. We'd stop here again for a short term stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 4-8 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was our first stay here. We stayed on-base (marina side). That is where we were assigned when we called, told we did not have a choice. We had only made reservations about a month in advance. Nice place to stay although you are so close to your neighbors. Very small concrete pad on each site. Gravel roads which the kids could ride their bikes on. We were surprised to find out the picnic tables and grills that are advertised were "moved to the off-site campground". I have a grill so I didn't mind that but I had to rent a banquet table and chairs for $1.50 a day so my children could eat. There are NO LAUNDRY facilities on the base campground either as advertised. We were told the off-base campground facilities had laundry but we were not entitled to use them even if we wanted to pay for it. (Didn't realize it was free as jazyn55 stated.) Some of the staff were really nice however we had a few that were just plain nasty day in and day out. Restaurant tip: Dan's BBQ in Panama City is a must!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 28 - July 25 2007
(Updated: July 15, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the 3rd. time we stayed at this CG. Twice on Base (Full and limited hook-ups) and now off base. The on base does need help, there are only 5-6 sites you can get a rig larger than 24ft. and they take some skill to get into. To upgrade this on base CG for todays rigs would mean loosing some sites. All have been upgraded to 50 amp service. The water and elec. only sites are right down by the Rec. aera and the water. You get a lot of foot traffic around your rig at these sites. The shower rooms are clean, there is no laundry on base. They do have a wash rack to clean your rig. The Marina offers Pontoons and 17 ft. Cape Horns. The Cape Horns you can take into the Gulf, up to 3 miles. (good fishing boats) You have to take a online course to rent the boats. You can do this in the office or call in advance and ask for the web site. The staff on base does a OK job but needs to keep in mind rig size when assigning spots. The off base is newer and all sites are close to being the same size. All sites are concrete pads with 50 amp. The bathrooms have one shower ea. the laundry has 3 washers and 3 dryers and they are FREE!!! (very clean). The camp host is helpfull and I have not seen any junky sites. They also have a Activites Coordinator, she comes by when you set up and gives you a package on area activiies along with discount books. The beach is about 4 miles down the road. St. Andrews Bay State Park charges $5.00 per day to get in. The CG is not on the water but they have some picnic tables on the Bay about a 1/4 mile walk down a path from the CG. Some other things at the off base CG are, Free WiFi with great recep. Cable TV with 70 channels, Excellant cell and Dish reception. You can have your mail sent to this campground and the hosts will bring it to your door, Each site has its own trash can, no trips to the dumpster, you can wash your rig once a month and group pot lucks and trips. Lots of things to do in the aera. Things I would like to see changed is a different check in for the Off base CG, upgradeing of the on base CG. and a Flag pole at the off base CG. My ratings are a average for both the on and off base CG.
JA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16