Naval Support Activity Panama City Family Campground and Marina

 
4.1 (67)
111265   0   23   0   78

User reviews

34 reviews with 5 stars

67 reviews

 
(35)
 
(16)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.4  (67)
 
3.9  (67)
 
4.2  (67)
 
4.0  (67)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 2017

I have read a lot of the reviews and most a petty. there are pine needles on the ground rack them at your spot, no free washer or dryer pay for it just about all places we stay have to pay. I plan to be back in FEB we liked the main stay yes smaller than most but fine. as far as no parking by trailer drive to it unload your things and park in lot. only about 30 yard walk if you can not make it maybe you should stay elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 29, 2014 - Jan 3, 2015

Great place to stay - we parked our 25 ft travel trailer at the Marina campground on base and had one of the four spots on the grass area right near the beach/water. There is no sewer hookup at these four spots but it was worth it to us to be close to the water. The other sites behind the cabins seemed a bit tight, hidden, and boring. We probably would not have picked one of these four spots in the warmer months due to lots of people but it was relatively quiet while we were there. All of the people working here are very friendly and helpful even taking the time to help us back into our spot. Everything was kept very clean and tidy. Checking in is easy and there is a nice big temporary parking spot for your rig while you do that and plenty of room to go from there. The base itself is very small with a tiny exchange and no commissary but Tyndall AFB is nearby. There is nowhere on base to get decent food but a zillion places in the area. I am a little confused why this website labels this installation as "Panama City CSS" when all of the signs, brochures, etc call it "Naval Support Activity Panama City". Regarding finding the main gate - the GPS coordinates given above worked but my GPS tried to take me into a disused gate before the main gate on Thomas Drive. This street address works well - 1029 Thomas Drive, Panama City, FL (main gate on Thomas Drive). You will turn left onto Crag Rd off of Thomas Ave into the base (Crag Rd would not come up in my GPS). Also, in case you didn't know, the Navy has now stopped requiring you to get a pass at Visitor/Information Centers. All you need is one military ID. There is a 100% ID check so everyone in your vehicle needs an ID - military or civilian (not sure about kids...). The Wi-Fi in the Marina area is now available everywhere and is called gowifi. You have to completely sign out of it each time and sign back in - otherwise you will be redirected to a page that wants you to create an account, etc. Signal strength is great. Again, nice place to stay. We like that they take reservations. I wish all military campgrounds would wake up and at least take some reservations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 26-29 2014

We have a Class B Sprinter RV which fits perfectly in this campground. The facility was the best campground we have stayed in so far. It was very clean and well organized. Checking in was great and easy, someone helped you set your RV to your site. The staff was all helpful and jolly, which helped make our stay pleasant. Beach, picnic area, and playground were clean and well setup. We will definitely be back to this campground...we loved it...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 20, 2014 to Sept. 27, 2014

This campground is very nice and our stay was very comfortable. Concrete slabs were great to keep things clean and the full hookup was great. They also provided Wi-Fi and cable. the restrooms and laundry were very clean. Convenient to downtown and area attractions. the campground is secure with a gate that you need a key card to get into. While we were there this gate was broken and they were waiting on parts. Camp host was very nice and helpful. The only downfall we had was the check in process. We had to go to the main Naval base to register and getting through the gate was a little tricky. Staff at the gate seemed to be "put out" that they had to move the cones and use another lane to get us through. Other than that all other staff were very helpful. When we come back to Panama City Beach we will not hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 1-8, 2014

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We have a 37' fifth wheel and didn't have any problems checking in at the marina or getting into Southside. I can see if the marina was very crowded it would be hard to maneuver but you can pull off to one side and circle around back out. Wouldn't care to stay there...too crowded for us. Southside is great. The host is the most ambitious personable one we've encountered. She came around our first night handing out literature on the area and providing information. She does a great job keeping the grounds in shape too. One day there will be shade trees and privacy planting between sites. If the base had a commissary things would be complete. Wifi at the camp is outstanding and there are many cable channels. We'd stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 Mar - 5 Apr 2014

First time stay. Stayed at the marina campground. Cannot say enough about what a great experience this was. Staff were great and facilities were very clean. Free wifi and great beach facilities. Sites are tight but the staff were there to help me with my 5th wheel. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 12-19

We stayed at the Marina campground, other than the campground being a tad bit tight we really liked it. The Bay is beautiful, the campground is clean and the staff was great. The camp hosts were very friendly and kept us up to date if bad weather was coming in. We will go back it's a great place to stay to see the sights in Panama City. I do think next time we will asked to stay at the off base campground. The sites are easier to get into and roomier.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 29, 2013 - Mar 31, 2014

Returned for fourth winter stay to Southside RV Park. As usual the stay was great in spite of the weather! Great to return and meet old friends and make new ones. Sheila is the best host of all the places we have visited.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 18 - 21, 2013

We stayed at the Marina RV park in a 30 foot motorhome. Concrete pads make leveling easy, staff met us and showed us to our site. Great beach, very clean campground, good wifi and cable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2013

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed in the Marina campground. Nice location and the staff treat you great. It's a bit tight among the pine trees but we really enjoyed this park. Nice restaurant/club across the street from the marina. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 13, 2013 to Mar 20, 2013

Returned for third winter at Southside. Things are about the same, we are very happy with this facility. Sheila is still there and as usual she is the greatest host. Didn't seem to be as many people wintering in the area this year as there was vacancies in many of the RV parks in the area. The secret to entering the gate at Southside, if you think you can't make the turn, is to enter through the first turn then open the entrance gate and then use the metal plate and open the exit gate and pull through it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22 - 29 Jun 2012

Stayed at the Southside CG based on prior reviews concerning issues with larger campers at Main CG. Plenty of shade at the Main CG, but none at the Southside CG. We were there during Tropical Storm Debby so it was nice not having to worry about tree limbs and such from the high winds. Shelia was just as helpful as others have said. The facilities were great and the people were friendly. Very close to all PCB has to offer. We will definitely visit here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 16 - Apr 22, 2012

First time at this facility. With only one week notice the staff was able to fit two of us traveling together. We stayed at the main campground near the marina and really like the proximity to the water for fishing in the St. Andrew Bay right from the property. We have Porta-Bote and launch it right from the marina at no charge! We utilize the pavilion for fishing set up time. For those of us who like to walk for fun and exercise the base has ample sidewalks and distance. Furthermore virtually every facility is within walking distance on this small base. The galley doesn't let retirees eat there, one of the few in our experience. Bird watchers will delight in the forest, marsh areas adjacent to the park. The restroom/laundry building is always clean and tidy with a book exchange library in the laundry. The office staff are eager to help and are knowledgable about RV'ing, fishing, restaurants, etc. NOTES: Don't arrive after 5 p.m., the office shuts down and there's no place for you to stay till morning, that's stated policy. Their policy also makes sure a staff member assist in parking you, it's tight at main park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 30, 2011 to Mar 01, 2012

My wife and I returned for our third visit to this facility and as previously stated in reviews we were very pleased. As usual we were greeted by Sheila and other guest. We had planned to stay another month but were unable to extend. For those of you that comment about the "white tent", it is gone now as Mike retired while we were there! The free washers and driers are no more, they were replaced by coin operated machines while we were there. Would like to see changes to the policy for extending stay. Having to wait until two days prior to leaving does not give alot of time for making/changing travel plans. Will return in the future. As for previous reviewers negative comments about pet rules: He should read the rules as they are clearly stated!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 8-12, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at the Southside Campground. The location is wonderful and very convenient to the beach, shopping and many fine restaurants. The campground host "Sheila" welcomed us with information (and coupons) about the area and the campground. This is a super campground for campers with pets. They have a very nice fenced dog-run. We will definitely stay at this campground again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Jan - 5 Feb 2012

Stayed at the south point campground 1 week. I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don't. Well, I like this famcamp! Very quite and peaceful except for some road noise. Had full hookups (water, sewer, elec,). Had a lot of snowbirds here. Host was great and had somethings going on to keep you entertained. Shopping & dining out close by.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 6-10, 2012

We called just before leaving our previous campground for a reservation. Jessica helped us and was very nice and courteous. Once we arrived in Panama City I called Jessica again to have her help us to the base. She gave us great directions. She did forget to tell us to stop at the visitor center before entering the main gate line. We needed to get a pass for the truck so they made us turn around and go back. That was not easy pulling a travel trailer but was possible. Got the pass and got back in line to get on base. Directions were great on how to get to the marina. The people at the marina were extremely helpful and even went to our site with us and helped us get parked. There were several openings and it was no problem for us to get our 24' travel trailer into the spot even though we are new retirees and new to pulling a camper. There is great free cable tv here. The bathhouse has 5 individual locking shower stalls with toilets and sinks. They all have dead bolt locks. One has a sit down shower and ramp to make it ADA accessible. In that new building is the laundry facility. Wash is $1.50 per load and drying is $1.00 per load. They sell quarters at the marina. There are only 3 washers and 3 dryers. There are 3 eating places on base. One is for active military only (Galley) one is under renovation (C4 Cafe) and one is only open a few days a week in the evenings. There are plenty of places off base to eat. It cost us $19 a night to stay, but we are retired military. You have to be checked in by 5 pm and they do not allow late arrivals. But they tell you this when you make your reservation. We did not go over to South side, but this older main camp is not big rig friendly but southside is. We would definitely come here again. We loved it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 3, 2011

B.C. left this review using the Directory software: On 3 to 8 May my wife and I stayed at the off base RV site. We were as usually greeted by the site Host Sheila. She had a hand full of information about the site and local area. We were also invited to go out to eat along with the other site guest at a local restaurant she set up. We would have but had other plans. She keeps the facilities very clean. She always checks on the guest to make sure there are ok. She is a Class one Host and MWR should know they are lucky to have her. The personnel at the rec office are very professional and friendly also. The off base sites only bad mark is it needs trees and grass around the sites so sand is not tracked into the rv. It is nice to have nice laundry equipment and the cost is free. Thanks Shiela! Faye & Brian

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 - 21 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at this campground for the first time. We stayed at the Southside and really enjoyed our stay. The camp host is great and takes great pride in her position and area. The campers were super friendly and the location is great. This campground is a well kept secret. SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH don't tell anyone. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 28, 2010 to Mar 29, 2011

Second time for us to visit this facility. Stayed at the "south-side" park. All the positive comments about this great place are true. Sheila is the best Camp Host that we have ever come across and deserves the credit for making this a most enjoyable stay. All of the winter guest that were present during our stay were great. Will be returning here for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
34 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2