Pelican Roost RV Park

Hot
 
4.7 (207)
166387   0   33   1   97

User reviews

207 reviews

 
(163)
 
(30)
 
(9)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
 
4.8  (207)
 
4.6  (207)
 
4.6  (207)
 
4.7  (207)
 
4.6  (207)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
207 results - showing 1 - 20  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 7-9, 2017

My husband & I stayed here in 2014 & were excited to return. The St. John's River is beautiful & navy ships, cargo ships & even the occasional cruise liner can be seen. Dolphin frequent the river, & from what we could see, the fishing was good. And the sunrises are breathtaking! We had reservations, made online, for a 2 week stay here. However, the online information did not change our camper length, or so we were told - we upgraded from a travel trailer to a fifth wheel. The women in the office did get us a spot at Osprey Cove for 2 nights, & the camp hosts were very kind there & did all they could to get us a site at Pelican Roost, but nothing was available. We even checked back the next day, and felt like we were not welcome. If you make reservations online & have any changes, you might want to confirm them with the office. My question is, if their online reservation system is inaccurate, why do they use it? The staff here can certainly take lessons in hospitality from the staff at Eagle Hammock at NSB Kings Bay & Pelican Point at MCAS Cherry Point! We probably won't return to Pelican Roost. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 13 - 15, 2017

Pelican Roost is our first of five MCG’s that we used the NAVY-wide online reservation system. What a great experience to check-in at PR, they expected us, and told us we could pick our site from the four that were vacant. I give credit to the Navy online system and Pelican Roost for the seamless coordination between a centralized system and “where the rubber meets the road”, Pelican Roost. We have been to Pelican Roost several times and have always enjoyed our stay. It is very easy to get awed with the sights of the St. John’s River water traffic and the near-by beach. There is no doubt that PR deserves a 5 in the ratings, they provide everything you would expect, and then some, at a MCG. For some strange reason, I developed a different perspective about PR as I was walking my dog in the large grass area across the street from Pelican Roost. I looked back across the street at the MCG and I didn’t see or feel anything special about the “curb-side appeal”. It just looked like a typical MCG that has aged, and maybe could use some cosmetic changes to embellish its appearance and improve the sites. Perhaps the individual sites, especially the front row, could use some upgrading. I thought about the front row sites at Cliffside MCG [NAS Whidbey Island, WA]. At Cliffside, all the sites are fantastic, but some of the front row sites are set for drive-in (utilities & view), while others are designed for back-ins (utilities & view), great concept. It [Cliffside] gave the appearance and facilities like a “resort”. Just food-for-thought after a “which side of the window’ syndrome experience. If only, Pelican Roost could do something about the rain, lighting, thunder, heat and humidity, they would deserve higher than a 5. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June to July 2017

Rates went up but no improvements to either location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2017

The ratings I gave are from prior visits. The reason for the comment today is that when we made our Reservation for July 10th she said water front is now $23 a night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

Very nice military FamCamp. Just a general observation, the Navy seems to have some of the best FamCamps. They are always well maintained and in good locations. Pelican Roost is a good example of this. Pelican Roost is located where the St Johns river empties into the Atlantic Ocean near Jacksonville Florida. The office personal are very helpful and friendly. The cement patio is on the small side. Just large enough for the aluminum picnic table. Our site was level and had partial shade from palm trees. The down side from having palm trees close was it blocked one of our satellites. Most sites should not have a problem with satellite reception. Shade is a premium here. Water pressure at our site was 38 psi. Sites have green grass that is kept mowed. Roads are paved and easy to navigate. No large trees or low tree limbs to deal with. The beach is about ½ miles from the RV Park. The beach is not crowded and you can walk for miles on the beach. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 2017

Probably one of the nicest parks we have stayed in on a base. It is small, not that many sites, but the view is outstanding. If you like to watch the ships come in and out of port, if you like to walk on the beach and if you like friendly folks, this is the place. Full hook-ups and concrete pads. Reservations fill fast so be sure and plan ahead. The front row is the water view, but we were in a back row and it was still wonderful. The beach is just a short walk or drive away. You can walk for miles on it. Pretty easy on and off base, even with a big rig. And the laundry was free. Not such a big deal, but thoughtful for those of us who needed to do it. The wifi seemed to work well throughout the park for the basics needs. The staff was outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2017

Pelican Roost is one of the best camps we have stayed. The park is easy to find once you make it through the crazy overpasses. The sites are concrete and level, FHUs, and a great location if you get a waterfront site. The staff was very friendly and do their best to accommodate everyone. This is one park we will be returning to every chance we get.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October, 2016

We lucked out and had a waterfront site; great view especially with all the passing ships. Free laundry with a nice, clean laundry cottage. Free WiFi pretty good and appreciated. This was our second military campground and were very pleased.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 16, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 5 to June 19, 2016

This is our first summer stay here for 2 weeks and very surprised it is almost full every day. The position of the sun blasts right into the windshield this time of year compared to the winter months but still put this at the top of the FamCamps. The road work is just about completed and the 10 MPH posted limit is ignored and even see phone use on base while driving, hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. We have been coming here since it first opened and sad to say we do not see any of the original folks from back then here anymore. If you have not been here yet you need to come for a visit and find out what a gem this FamCamp is and how much there is to see and do.Note added: The 10 MPH posted on the new section has been changed back to 25 MPH as of yesterday.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 17-23, 2016

We had not visited this RV park for three years, but it was everything that remembered it to be.  The location is absolutely beautiful.  There are level, concrete sites with concrete extensions for the large picnic tables.  The access roads are asphalt, the hookups are good, the staff are friendly, and the WiFi (GoWiFi) is good.  There is a very nice commissary/exchange complex just a few miles off base and an excellent fitness facility on base (walking distance from the RV park).  The wide sand beach (also walking distance) is excellent and uncrowded.  The only area where this RV park could improve would be in its lack of comprehensive recycling facilities.  The only items you can recycle, at the RV park, are aluminum cans and newspaper.  In this day and age, we really need to do everything we can to encourage recycling.  There is a recycling center on base, but it is on the far side of the airfield and difficult to access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2016

We arrived a couple of days ahead of our reservation, but were unable to get in. The staff recommended we try Hanna Park which is only about a mile from the base (between the base & commissary); which we did. There are road works on base, if following the directions, with a small S-curve that was no problem if timed with on-coming traffic. I would expect construction to be complete by the summer. We had a water-view site that was fantastic. Nice large sites with concrete pads. The grounds were well maintained and the Laundry/shower/clubhouse were all very clean, free and well maintained. Cable was good and the free coffee and ice in the clubhouse was a bonus. The fitness facility on base which includes an indoor pool was exceptional. The commissary/NEX are a few miles off base and are very nice. We stayed in a motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 19, 2016

Stayed one night on our way home from Foster Creek NWS, SC and still a gem. Construction of roads continues and when completed it should improve traffic movement greatly. Not being educated about Naval Vessels there were some huge ships being worked on we have never seen in Mayport before and the fleet normally based there was gone. Safe Harbor Seafood in the little village of Mayport is going to expand the restaurant and the large processing building across the road is being torn down, not info what will be done there. We called one week before needing the one night and got a front row site and campground not totally full for this time of year. Noticed in the packet they were looking for summer and winter hosts if anyone is interested.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2015

We stayed two weeks in a waterfront pull-thru. Interior road and sites were paved. Our site was long and level. Water pressure was good. We had our own wifi. It was nice to be able to watch the boats come and go but the front row is also very windy and there's early morning runners up and down the road during the week. It's a nice well-kept and well-managed park that enforces the stay limits so no homesteaders. No playground, no dog park. Commissary and NEX  are off-base. In December, there was still construction on the road coming in. Overall a nice park. We'll return but surprisingly, we'll probably ask for one of the quieter sites in the back row next time. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 19, 2015-Jan 1, 2016

Pelican Roost is our favorite Military RV Park hands down!  We have spent the Christmas holidays here three years in a row, and love it.  The management and camp hosts go the extra mile, to keep the facilities clean, neat and very well organized.  There are always activities at the club house fully equipped with computers and two big screen TV's.  The coffee pot is always on to make you feel welcome.  We enjoy the Saturday morning pancake breakfasts, Christmas potluck dinner, and New Year's Eve celebrations.  The Oasis Galley is open to everyone on Christmas day for a superb noon meal.  It's very relaxing, just to watch the ships go up and down the channels, or take a walk on the Atlantic beach just 1/4 mile away; we hardly leave the base once we get there.  We call it our real home now for the holidays.  Chuck & Zoila

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 31, 2015 - Jan 4, 2016

This is our first stay at a military campground. I should qualify and say that this is our first year of RV'ing however, our first  RV trip was 30 days to Oregon from Florida. All that said, we are really enjoying our stay here. Hardy, the duty host couldn't be any more helpful. The campground is well kept and clean. Level concrete pads and grassy side yards are great. The showers are clean and the unlimited supply of hot water is super. The laundry facilities are available at no additional cost. The Saturday night ice cream social is an opportunity to meet your neighbors. Fishing from the jetty is a blast. Light tackle and shrimp result in a bucket full of sand trout. We were hoping for a 'visit ship' but none scheduled for this weekend. The historic and quaint town of Fernandina Beach is less than an hour away via A1A. We will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2015

Absolutely fantastic.  The host was very friendly and helpful.  He met us and escorted us to our site.  Even though we were on the second row, we had a beautiful view of the bay.  Everyone was so friendly, I almost forgot what it felt like to camp on a military reservation again.  Our site was a back in, but was level concrete, with a picnic table and a well lit because of the baseball fields to our rear.  Water pressure and electricity were perfect.  Cable was also excellent with a lot of channels.  Free coffee in the morning and free ice were the topping on the cake.  We only stayed here as a stop over on our way home.  It is easily accessible from I-295 even though there was quite a bit of construction on base.  We will be back again and stay longer.  All facilities were readily available, but we needed none of them.  Great value at less than $20.  GW and Sue

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 14, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 17-31 2015

Another great visit to Pelican Roost! This has to be the "TOP" Famcamp in the DOD. You can't beat the views no matter what site your in. The ships coming and going, military and civilian, and the beach, are a bonus to this campground. Great rates, free ice and laundry, awesome staff, clean bath house, pancake breakfast, ice cream socials,and camping with your veteran brothers and sisters, what more could you ask for. You have to experience this campground!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2015

This wonderful campground has set the bar for other military and civilian campgrounds for us. Great beach setting with an awesome staff. Debbie in the office and Wayne and George as the camp hosts are great. The grounds guy stays up on the grass cutting and the laundry room is always clean. They do a great job sticking to the occupancy rules so no one homesteads. From talking with the other campers who return often they all agree this a wonderful place. Easy access to the commissary and exchange. An excellent state of the art fitness center within walking distance. At $19 a night ($23 for front row which offers an unobstructed water view) with electric, cable, wifi, free ice, free laundry, level concrete pad and a great water view watching the ships come and go, who can complain. Certainly not us. We love this place!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May/Jun 2015

A great place to visit. Quiet, well kept, Camp Host and Staff very friendly and helpful. The Kitchette was great to have access to and use. Ice Cream Social was a nice touch. The views are excellent along with the price. Will stay here again. We stayed at Pelican Roost with a 40' DE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2015

This is a beautiful park in a great location. There's a lot to see and do on this base. Although it's interesting that the commisary and exchange are located off the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
207 results - showing 1 - 20  
« 1 2 3 4 5 ... »