Pelican Roost RV Park

Hot
 
4.7 (208)
174865   0   33   1   97

User reviews

32 reviews with 4 stars

208 reviews

 
(164)
 
(30)
 
(9)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
 
4.8  (208)
 
4.6  (208)
 
4.6  (208)
 
4.7  (208)
 
4.6  (208)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June to July 2017

Rates went up but no improvements to either location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 17-23, 2016

We had not visited this RV park for three years, but it was everything that remembered it to be.  The location is absolutely beautiful.  There are level, concrete sites with concrete extensions for the large picnic tables.  The access roads are asphalt, the hookups are good, the staff are friendly, and the WiFi (GoWiFi) is good.  There is a very nice commissary/exchange complex just a few miles off base and an excellent fitness facility on base (walking distance from the RV park).  The wide sand beach (also walking distance) is excellent and uncrowded.  The only area where this RV park could improve would be in its lack of comprehensive recycling facilities.  The only items you can recycle, at the RV park, are aluminum cans and newspaper.  In this day and age, we really need to do everything we can to encourage recycling.  There is a recycling center on base, but it is on the far side of the airfield and difficult to access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2015

We stayed two weeks in a waterfront pull-thru. Interior road and sites were paved. Our site was long and level. Water pressure was good. We had our own wifi. It was nice to be able to watch the boats come and go but the front row is also very windy and there's early morning runners up and down the road during the week. It's a nice well-kept and well-managed park that enforces the stay limits so no homesteaders. No playground, no dog park. Commissary and NEX  are off-base. In December, there was still construction on the road coming in. Overall a nice park. We'll return but surprisingly, we'll probably ask for one of the quieter sites in the back row next time. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 25, 2014 to April 7, 2014

This is one of favorite stops when we visit Florida for the winter. We always make reservations and this is a must if you want to stay here during the spring time when everyone is moving north after their winter stay. If you want to stay on the front row to have a better view of the ships, reservation is definitely required. Wi-Fi did not exist where we were parked even though a worker told me the antenna 40-feet away was for Wi-Fi. I mentioned it to the staff but didn’t get any interest or help to check it out. Cable TV is provided. We used the gym and it was definitely one of the best equipped and recently renovated. Commissary and NEX are off base but well stocked. No refund if you decide to leave early. We have stayed here three times and definitely will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 6,2013

We stay at the park every year and really like it. This year we were surprised to learn that sites 1,2,3 do not have wifi reception. Park residents are on their own to talk to the Gowifi providers. Gowifi told me that there was some equipment not working and that they would send a repairman. 3 days later no repair person. In the modern age RV travelers depend on the internet to stay connected for all kind of reasons. Too bad this facility chooses to use an inferior service. And you would think that the staff would be proactive in maintaining the service.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14 NOV - 26 NOV 2012

Very nice campground, had spot over looking ships coming in and out. If you don't have base stickers on HM and toad, take required documentation to pass and ID and get base stickers. Very easy process and took only 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 13-23, 2012

First of all, I rated Cleanliness/Hospitality low because of the way I was treated at check in. There is nothing wrong with the cleanliness of the park. We made reservations 4 months in advance for a waterfront site. We arrived early and expected to wait for a site. However, there was one site (#18) open and we assumed we would get it. Instead, we were assigned #10. If you've been here before, you know that in between Sites 8 and 10 is Site 8A, which uses what should be Site 10's lawn area. I asked the check-in person about #18, it was empty and available. He said #18 was not available. I didn't press the issue as I thought something may have been wrong with the utilities. We pulled into the front parking area and waited about 2 hours for #10 to be vacated, about 1300. Check-out is 1200. We were early so no problem there. What really set me off was while I was setting up in #10, a motorhome pulled in and got #18. I went to the office but it was a losing cause. The check-in person explained that the person in #18 was coming in for 5 days (he actually stayed 4 days) and another person was coming in for 10 days and we were staying for 10 days. What is he talking about? He explained again and I still didn't get it. What difference did it make? We got there first and should have been assigned #18. It took me a while but I finally figured it out. He was saving #18 for a friend of his or of another staff member. The "Pelican Roost Good Old Boy" network was at work big time. The first 4 days was uneventful. We had a good neighbor. They were replaced by a person who parked as close to us as he could get without hitting the utility hookups. He was about 6 feet from us. At check-in, the check-in person told us he would never allow us to be crowded by the people in #8A. He was at the site and watched this person crowd us. This person in the motorhome must have been part of the "clique" because the host in black and the commando hat hooked his utilities up for him. Two days before our departure, we asked the manager to come out and take a look at our situation. She told us the same assignment story that the check-in person told us. I still don't understand their system. She did say she would look into marking #8A better so people will park in the site instead of crowding #10. She agreed that the person in #8A was a little close to us. OK. After all this, we made the best of our stay and did enjoy our time. The ship watching was fantastic with an aircraft carrier and submarine coming in. They have added a new laundry room (free laundry) since our last visit. WiFi was great. It's too bad that sometime you get a jerk for a neighbor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2 Dec-30 Dec 2011

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - They have a 28 day MAX stay policy. Would like to see this amended on a space available basis.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct. 27, 2011 to Nov. 9, 2011

Amenities/Facilities: Fitness Center is small and usually very crowded. The BX/NEX and Commissary are several miles out the front gate. VALUE: I rated value lower because there is no discount for weekly or monthly payments. EXPERIENCE: I was required to pay for the entire 2-week reservation at the time I arrived. I decided to leave 1-day early due to approaching weather. I was unable to get a refund but did receive a credit for $20 for my next visit. Entry into the facility was very easy because I had a Navy DOD sticker on the motor home and vehicle in tow.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14 Oct - 27 Oct 2011

Great park. Staff is very customer friendly. Great upkeep of all the facilities. Only negative, very erratic wifi and cable on west end of park. New park manager who is super. A breath of fresh air. Has made a few much needed improvements and has a lot more planned. Front row sites are now $20 a day but you can reserve the front row waterfront. Definitely a top military rv park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 18 - June 22 2011

Beautiful campground and location near beaches, fishing, swimming pool and exchange. Unfortunately we had a large 35 ft trailer pull into the site next to us and they trashed their campsite with bags, clothes, rugs, hanging everywhere. Had 5 vehicles on their site on Saturday. Never saw campground manager outside the office. Oh yes, our motorhome did not have a federal decal. We had to go in the gate, park about 3 blocks away and return to the main gate to retrieve our military I.D.s, proof of insurance, drivers licenses and registration. Temp was about 95 degrees. There is no room to pull a motorhome or trailer into pass and i.d. so get a vehicle sticker before you go to Mayport NS!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

SEP 2010

Beautiful location on St Johns River inlet. New pavement for streets is great improvement over old very rough roads. Very convenient for beach activities and inlet fishing. Only negative is park has too many cliques within management of park grounds. Woody was a tremendous help when we scheduled our visit. Very convenient to Mini-mart, subway, uniform shop and Subway. Nice to have free washer, dryer, ice machine and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 5, 2010

This is a fantastic campground. We have stayed here once before and it just seems to get better. The view is fantastic and the sites are great (concrete pads with full hookups). I would definitely recommend it and will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2009

Great campground. Good power/water/sewer/wifi/cable. Crowded in winter and length of stay rules are enforced. Uncrowded in summer, and the staff will help you if you have to stay longer. Our son lives in JAX. We came to help them with their firstborn and wound up having to stay five weeks due to medical things. Small exchange in walking distance, Subway, Post Office, barber, etc. Big exchange/commissary is a couple of miles off base. Others have mentioned the facilities at the Roost. Great staff!! Very helpful & they know the surrounding area well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 12 - 26, 2009

Well it has happened to us again at Pelican Roost. Called about a month in advance to reserve a FHU 50 amp site and talked with the campground manager. I told him we were very flexible and could come a week early or late, we could stay one week or two or 10-14 days. We said we had family in the area and would have some overnight guests. We did not expect to get a premium site. We did get the worst site on the first two rows - site 24. When a 40' bus is parked in site 23 site 24 is totally blind unless you are also in a bus then you can see out the front. We got no satisfaction from talking with management and staff about the situation. While we were there, there were two different 40' buses in site 23. Our main slide was within 18” of the slides on both buses. I personally believe a lot of the animosity for the management and staff could be avoided if they were to go to a first come first serve parking arrangement with a determined stay limit. Even after one has been there for a week or longer it looks like there is some favoritism going on there and a strict first come first serve policy would end that. We have no complaints about the amenities. Those that are advertised are all in place and are abundant. The camp hosts were very cordial and always available for late arrivals. The fishing was great. FastEagle

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 7th to May 17th, 2009

Was surprised to see how full this campground is considering it is now mid-May. Social activities will be ending soon and we have been told by the end of the month many folks will be heading out for their summer trips. Had the unexpected pleasure of seeing a submarine come in and out today, not a site we get to see often. Tried the CPO buffet and was not overjoyed with it, maybe picked the wrong day so will try again. Rita will be leaving shortly but do not know who her replacement will be, she will be missed by many. Notice some new base housing being constructed and they looked lovely in their pastel colors. This is a fun place to go and we have been here dozens of times and undoubtedly will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 09

Had a good time at this camp ground. What I did not understand was why they had several of the first row sites (facing the water) occupied by 5th wheelers with no front windows that faced the water. If they can't enjoy the scenery anyway, why not put them on the second or third row and put a motorhome that has a viewing window in those spots or a 5th wheeler that can back in and has a viewing window. Pleasant camping facility over all. Needs more staff. We had to wait over 20 minutes just to talk to a check in person because he was taking phone calls and making reservations. We went up to the office the next day and waited over 20 minutes again to talk to someone but finally gave up. Heard the same comments from other campers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 1 - 15, 2009

G.G. left this review using the Directory software: Always a pleasure to return to this well maintained CG with spectacular views of naval and commercial shipping on the St. John river way. Staff are cordial and helpful beyond expectations. Reservations have always worked well for us. Be prepared for explicit dog rules that are closely monitored. Support services are readily available on base and in Jacksonville proper. A local retired military, A2Z Services, will cheerfully wash/wax and detail your RV to your specs, on your site. Owner operator 1st Sgt Lou 904-525-3446 does a bang up job at a fair price. We mention it here because we are always pleased to find service and quality work, as advertised.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar. 22 - 25, 2009

L.D. left this review using the Directory software: "Grass" sites seem to jam you in. We had "sewer" but couldn't reach it without some work. Value for the money is good. Roost seems to be less active than previous 4 visits. Previous hosts/volunteers seemed friendlier and more informative. Coming from Tyndall, I rate Tyndall higher in friendliness.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2009

Nice campground, but during the most visited month of March, too small. The difference in ratings concerning this campground most likely depend on whether or not you were in the front row with a view of the ships or on the back row facing a baseball field. They make you sign a waiver that if your car or RV are damaged (probably from baseballs), they are not responsible. The hosts do a great job of fitting people in what is available in the back, but there were some tight fits. Agree with comments about good activities, etc. Best advice: Visit during a month other than March, and hope for a front row view.

Was this review helpful to you? 
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2