Raptor Ranch at Tyndall AFB

 
4.3 (73)
125562   1   31   1   68

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

73 reviews

 
(40)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.4  (73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (73)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.1  (73)
Value 
 
4.2  (73)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
Nov 16 - Nov 25, 2015
(Updated: October 21, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
My wife had surgery Nov 16, 2015. We reserved a site for Nov 15 thru Nov 22, then extended it for 5 days making us depart on Nov 27th. We learned that the site was reserved for someone else beginning Nov 26, That was a very critical time as then we had to vacate the site, and I had to transfer my wife to a rehab hospital at the same time. I was given the opportunity to go to another site, but it still required time that I really did not have.The site should not have been rented out from under us until it was time for us to leave. there are still people that are homesteading in violation of the campground rules. There is still no Wi-Fi available, not even in the social hall even though there has been a price increase under the pretense of getting Wi-Fi 3 times, from $360 per month to $500 per month. I was very dissatisfied with the management of this campground. I use to visit this campground regularly, but as of late it has really gone down hill, from management to its appeal, and I will never visit it again.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 18
October 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed in a 40ft motor coach pulling a car and had a difficult time getting our RV level (we also had to take the car off, very few pull thru sites available). Yes, there are concrete pads, but they are only about half the length of a motor coach. People talked about the foliage and the privacy, but we had to fight the brush to get into our front door and kept getting tree frog visitors inside our RV. Getting to the park involves driving through quite a bit of city traffic but wasn't too hard to find. If you like to visit with neighbors and like to sit outside, some of the spots are not for you. Our site was so camouflaged that it constantly stayed dark and gloomy in the sitting/table area, so we never even took our chairs out. Forget being able to use a roof top satellite system, but they did have pretty good cable. We would stay again, but only for a night or two, not for a full week. We are self contained, so did not use their bath/shower facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Oct 10, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The bathrooms, showers, laundry facilities were not very clean. Complained and they said the lady that usually cleans them had surgery and two other people were taking turns cleaning they sent someone to clean and they did not do a very good job.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
14 June 12
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Spent the night at this site on our way to FL. Our GPS always gives us bad information getting here. We get within 5 miles and the routing takes me the long way around thru Mexico City adding 60 miles. Maybe just my GPS. Directions on web site don't help. Easy way, from I-10 exit on HWY 231 down to Transmitter Road ( about 48 mi.) turn on to Transmitter Rd for a few miles, turn east on 98, about 10 miles go over the bridge and camp is on right. We have stayed here before at the RV camp and Guest house. We got in late and had to go to camp host. She was helpful but said the club house/bathrooms close at 9 PM. In the past we could get in 24Hrs. No hours were posted at the bath house or club house. We found side door to bath house open all night. Cable and WiFi OK. Price seems to have gone up. Eglin seems to be a better deal for us. We are travelers not Snow Birds or Homesteaders, we have a very small RV so only stay a short time at many different locations. It would have been nice to just park in overflow at the front of the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
November 19 to January 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
M.P. left this review using the Directory software: We have been camping at Tyndall AFB from 1986 to 1997 then again from 2001 to January 2011. We spent November, December and most of January 2010 -11 at Tyndall AFB this past winter season. We normally end up in the 30 amp non sewer section because the 50 amp is full and since we only spend 60 days at Tyndall we don’t bother to sign up for the 50 amp section. Upkeep at the famcamp has steadily gone down hill. The roads this past winter season were filled with large pot holes and the dust never settled. The power back in the 30 amp section has problems. One of our friends campers caught on fire because of faulty power box. The new water lines were installed facing your camper instead of paralleling the rigs which made it difficult for slide-outs to clear the faucet. The lots just barely accommodate rigs over 35 feet in the 30 amp section. The trees make it very hard to maneuver the rigs in to the 30 amp lots. We cleaned up our lot and maintenance hauled away over two truck loads of brush. Even the recreation center needs attention to the outside. It took nearly 8 months to install new washers and dryers! They sat outside for 8 months! It is said over and over that there is no homesteading at Military FAM CAMPS …. However I know of folks who live there full time and have for over 5 years. Yet this is not considered homesteading! Since MWR put Military RV parks in category C as a profit making business in the mid 2000’s and turned everything over to civilians, Tyndall Fam Camp has gone down hill. I was even told this past January after a meeting in the Recreation center that MWR didn’t have to do any improvements because we all would come back regardless. Looking for a new winter vacation spot!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
April 10-21, 2011
(Updated: June 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Most of the snowbirds had left so there were many vacant sites. Most of the sites are located in wooded areas and satellite reception may be difficult. The sites are large and spaced far apart and each one has a concrete pad to park the RV on. For those that use mail forwarding, the FamCamp office accepts camper’s mail from the Post Office. The FamCamp is outside the base gate and about 2.5 miles from the commissary and exchange. There is beach access on base near the commissary/exchange but requires a 0.5 mile walk down a wooden boardwalk and there are no facilities at this beach – not even a porta-potty. So there are few people on this beach. There is another Air Force beach area about 3 miles northwest of Mexico Beach about a mile down a well-maintained dirt road that leads to a parking area about 100 yards from the beach. The FamCamp and the base are fairly isolated, away from the downtown business areas. Wal-Mart is 5 miles away. Jet noise is loud (fighters) and starts before 8:00 am but they seem go home by 5:00 pm and on the weekends. But old guys like me need their afternoon nap and the jet noise make that almost impossible. This place caters to snowbirds with a large clubhouse and a cabanna with a firepit. Coffee and cookies are available in the clubhouse each morning. Lots of activities during the snowbird season.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Jan-Feb 2011
(Updated: February 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Spent over three weeks at Raptor Ranch and during that time, the men’s shower was closed for 21 days and the internet not available in one section of the campground for 18 days. The 60 day rotation seems very excessive, especially when one pays the reduced monthly rate. Thirty days on a site seems like long enough and would allow short-termers at least a chance for a FHU site. To avoid any appearance of impropriety, the rotation list should be posted prominently in the office for all to see. Oh yes and what about that 72 hour absence and give up the site rule?? - the long termers leave for extended periods for cruises and other trips. Vegetation growth is under control and the individual sites in decent shape. The new overflow area is very nice and some folks would just as soon stay there as move to a non-sewer site in the woods. With the change in management things really improved, but have now leveled to a point where things are beginning to stagnate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Nov - Dec 2010
(Updated: December 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Free Wifi, very slow and only one connect per camp site. If other means are available keep it. Sat. breakfast canceled. New camp hosts, Ray is moving on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
October 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was in the past a great campground, the rec building that was built by the winter retirees that used this fam camp for years and made this a great place is now always locked and never used. The free wi-fi that is advertised can not be used because the building is always locked. Also the 45 day stay is outrageous in that you are forced to move to another site in the park even though there are abundant sites available. We also miss the morning coffee that was always made in the building- no pot luck any more. no arts and crafts any more and all of those great people have quit coming to the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 4
9 results - showing 1 - 9