Raptor Ranch at Tyndall AFB

New
 
4.3 (73)
121265   1   31   1   67

User reviews

20 reviews with 4 stars

73 reviews

 
(40)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.4  (73)
 
4.1  (73)
 
4.2  (73)
 
4.3  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 10-12, 2017

This famcamp is about as easy to find as they come. It's right on Highway 98 altho it sets back enough and has enough trees that we never heard any traffic noise. We did hear some jets but they weren't loud. But this is an USAF installation. Expect jets. Located off base. When we called for reservations they were very accommodating and helpful. Check in was friendly, quick, and simple. They were ready for us. We had a very nice pull thru site. This place is larger than it looks when first pulling in. Lots of sites and all are spaced far enough apart where you aren't crammed in close to each other. Kind of a nice state park feel. Nearly all sites are shaded. If you're in the PCB area this is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9-17 April 2017

My wife, retired Army, called and spoke with Mike to make our reservations, it was no problem. He handled our request professionally and quickly. We arrived at Raptor Ranch Fam Camp on Tyndall AFB, Sunday afternoon and left 8 days later on Monday. It was our first visit to the area. the campground is easily accessed directly off of Florida RT98. You do not need to go through any security gate, you just drive into the park entrance, the registration office is immediately on your left. We liked our stay at Tyndall, the occasional F-22 Raptor was entertaining and we learned you could go down near the flight line and watch them land and take-off. We tried twice, each time we drove over the end of the runway, they would inexplicably stop, oh well, maybe next time. The base had an adequate Exchange and Commissary about 2 miles away which required you to go onto the base. There is a nature trail within the campground which was a very nice short walk through the wooded area surrounding the campground. While there we visited the downtown historic district of Panama City and took the self-guided walking tour. It was unremarkable. We also decided to visit the Bear Creek Feline Center, just north of Panama City, which was very educational and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 9, 2014

We only spent one night here during peak season. Got into an "overflow" site, with water and electric. This was perfect for us. Everyone in the campgrounds, staff and campers, were extremely nice. This looks like a wonderful place to spend a little time at. Campground was full during our visit. MANY activities going on almost everyday. This campground is constantly improving and is well managed. Considering the changes our military budgets are going through (or lack of), they do a good job here with what they have.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2013

We were only here one night as a layover to our final destination, but were very pleased with the facility. Loved how spread out the spaces were; the bushes, greenery, trees, etc. made for a private spot. Will return again sometime to stay longer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

22-26 March 2013

We stayed in partial hookup under the trees in our 40 foot motor home. It has been 2 yrs since our last visit and everything is so much better. Brush has been cut back, plenty of harden gravel to travel on in the campground. We were offered full hookup after our first day but declined for our short stay. The sites are great under the trees, concrete pad to sit on with a little covered table at each treed site. There were twice as many partial hookups in the graveled front lot, but no one was parked in them. The weather was nice but as everywhere on the cool side. This is a winter haven for many but still had plenty of short time visitors also. Activity room is always busy with game and card players, movies once a week and exercise in the A.M. I found everyone very nice and will again add it to a list for returning from our more southern winter haven as we go home. Rumor says the golf course at the airbase is closing this summer. Its not making enough money, but once thing like campgrounds, golf courses, marinas and swimming pools were for the good of the military not the money they made. Once again another way to hurt the military. But this IS a great place to be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 4-6, 2013

D.W. left this review using the Directory software: - We only stayed two nights on our way to south FL, nice park, roomy sites with trees. We did not have a full service site, lacked sewer but for just two nights that was ok. Some homesteaders but new regulation states that any camper on a site for 60 days must rotate to a different site, so, hopefully that may open some full service sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2011

P.L. left this review using the Directory software: Enjoyed our first stay at this campground. Host and most all of the the other RVers were very friendly and helpful and lots of planned activities. Unlike so so many other military campgrounds. Only thing is the very bad odor permeating the area from a factory to the north when the wind is out of the north. Great place to stay with a nice trails. So many trees you can not receive satellite but have cable to replace the loss. Great value for your money,

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13-17 August 2010

Great little Fam Camp. Clean, secluded, close to base facilities. Loved it there. Could update their wifi. Host was friendly and a good breakfast cook. Don't miss Ray's Saturday morning breakfast pancakes and bacon. Wife and I would visit again when we are in the area. Rained alot while we were there, but you have to expect that during hurricane season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 22 - Feb 5, 2010

C.H. left this review using the Directory software: This was our third stay here. Upon arrival we assigned to an overflow site near the office for what turned out to be one week. Actually we prefer the overflow area - lots more sun than available back in the campground proper. We then moved to site 31 for our second week. Nice enough site, although rather dark for our liking. Near the end of of our stay, the 30-amp breaker in the utility box failed late one afternoon. I reported it to the office, but it was too late to get repaired that evening. We managed just fine with the 20A outlet. First thing the next morning, one of the FAMCAMP workers, Jeff, came by to assess the problem. He called it in to CE, who responded very promptly and soon had us back in full service. Being in line with the runway, there is significant "Sound of Freedom" here, but I'm not complaining at all. The Community building has wi-fi available inside and offers a small book exchange. Bathroooms were clean and the showers had some of the hottest water we've ever encountered. One of four washing machines in the laundry room had been removed, thanks to mechanical failure. New washers and dryers had just arrived and were sitting on the porch of the Community building awaiting installation. Washer and dryer were each $.75 per load. We'll definitely be back in the future. Ted H.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan. 18-21, 2010

Being the "snowbird" season, we weren't sure if we would get a site. We arrived around 1700hrs and the VERY friendly camp host (Ray) got us into an "overflow" site, which is with water and electric. Since overflow electric posts are shared, we got the 30amp while our neighbor had the 50amp. We were just glad to have any electric! There were always at least 2 available overflow sites available during our stay. They have a wonderful community room here and it's always in use for a variety of activities. Although many of the campers return each year and are friends, they made us feel very welcomed. Tyndall AFB has all of the facilities you would expect on a large USAF base. I can see why many people choose to make this their winter home. It seems the winter 2-month stay limit in a FHU site was being enforced, which makes it fair for everyone wanting to visit. I forgot to ask how long the stay was in overflow before being able to rotate back to a regular site. Sammi and David in the office were also very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25-28 May 2009

We drove up from MacDill's Famcamp, arrived here some 330 miles later. Camp had just closed and we checked in at the designated host's site, a guy named Ray. Could not have been any nicer!! Introduced him self right away. I explained we needed to have wi-fi and a satellite connection, and he immediately told us their wi-fi was down temporarily, but would hopefully be back up as early as tomorrow. As to satellite, he said they had free cable and I was free to pick any site I thought I could hit the satellites with on my rooftop dish, and then he said "let's take a ride". He showed me the entire place, and I picked a site, and then said just to see the office tomorrow when they were open and sign up. Did that, and the Hostess-Manager also was terrific..apologized for lack of wi-fi, and said she had it at her trailer and we could sit on her chairs in her yard anytime. Also offered to let us use the office, although there was a weak signal from her trailer. Decided to go to Starbucks for free wi-fi, about 5-6 miles west on US-98, just across the street from Wal*Mart. Wal*Mart is on the LEFT heading west on US98, Starbucks is on the RIGHT across the street from Wal*Mart. A bit noisy as there are lots of F-15 and F-22 fighter missions going on, but hey, its the Air Force, so not a problem for us. Lots of trees, so satellite TV will be difficult, but cable works OK. Rooftop antenna for digital HD only brought in the local two channels, WKHG-7-NBC and WMBB-13-NBC. You'll need cable for CBS WTVY in Dothan AL and for the other usual Cable stuff. Fox, CNN, ESPN, etc. Good system - about 70 channels. The Main Base is to the east about 2 miles from the FamCamp on US98.....easy to get around. The Main Base is to the right (South) on US98, and the runways and Mission part of the base is on the left (North). BX and Commissary are good, and are on the Main Base. Camp is a little weather beaten, perhaps a little old, but community building is open 24/7 and is very nice, and bathrooms are tiled, A/C, nice showers, and very clean. The people are really terrific. My hat's off to Ray, the other man in the office and the Manager. Great people - would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar. 19 - 21, 2009

L. D. left this review using the Directory software: 2008 we stayed overflow at $10; now $15 both w/WE. We moved to a site with W/E and CATV for $17. Price structure seems high on the high side based on amenity. Friendliness exudes: from the host(s) upon arrival to all the people who welcome you, greet you by name, and are GENUINE. I used to think Pelican Roost was the best, but now changed my mind. Try the Sat AM breakfast for $2. May not be a lot to do in the area for families.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 28 - Mar 2, 2009

We stayed only 3 nights because we had to stay in overflow, which is the gravel lot with water & elec. When we were getting ready to pull out and leave the host came by and said he had an opening in the campground. Had we known this before we had everything hooked up and getting ready to pull out of the lot, we would have stayed longer. But we didn't. Don't get me wrong the overflow lot is ok and everything is close. The campsites are really great though and we will plan to stay longer next time. It's a long way if you want to go to Panama City Beach or Mexico Beach if you're staying a short time, it is a better place to stay for 2 weeks or longer. Great people and a great campground. We enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 25, 2008 for 3 weeks

THEY HAVE RAISED THEIR RATES, NOT ALOT, UP TO 17.00 A DAY. WE ALWAYS STAY HERE WHEN IN THE AREA AND HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED OUR STAY HERE. IT'S STILL A GREAT FAM-CAMP, THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THERE ARE PEOPLE STAYING IN HERE WITH VERY NASTY DOGS. THIS FAM-CAMP IS ONE OF THE FEW THAT HAS NO LIMIT ON PETS, THESE FOLKS HAVE 3 VERY NASTY PUGS WHO HATE OTHER DOGS AND GO NUTS ANYTIME THEY SEE ANOTHER ANIMAL. WILL GO TO OFFICE AND SEE IF THEY WILL DO ANYTHING ABOUT THESE LITTLE MONSTERS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27/28/29 Dec 2007

Unfortunately the time of year during our stay the camp is full of full timers/snow birds who apparently have been coming to this facility for years. Because of this, there are only one to three spots that might open for new arrivals each day during winter or spring. In fact while we were there, there were three RVs dry camping for two days waiting for spots. However the facility staff was spreading gravel to increase the size of overflow parking for RVs waiting for a spot. We were informed that the snowbirds will gladly go into overflow camping after their maximum of 60 days at FHU, and patiently wait one to two days to get back into another 60 days of FHU! We were in the older section of camp that had 30 amp, water and no sewage. These sites are back-in and can be very difficult for large Class A and fifth wheel trailers to get into. In our opinion some of the vegation needs trimming. Someone who stayed there a week earlier told us later that you can run your gray water into the forest using a garden hose; but no one told us this at check-in, so we don't know if this true. The club house and activities are very good, but the size of the bathrooms and the laundry are to small. We routinely had to wait to use toilets and showers. We witnessed people waiting to use the laundry past 2200 every night we were there; in fact we went to laundry at 0700 Saturday morning to find one lady using all the machines. Good facility that could be enjoyed by more personnel by shortening the max time allowed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12 February 2007

Great location. Beautiful view over the water.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2007

We only stayed a few days in overflow. The sites on the water looked spacious and private. Rec building was nice and had a pool table. There were only 4 washers and driers so I was unable to wash clothes. Something was planned every day in the rec room. Exercise, pot luck, bingo to name a few. Host was very helpful getting us in our site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 1-5 2007

A place to relax and enjoy! Lots to do in the area or just stay in the park. The 'winter' folks are quick to make you part of the group. Nightly games in the community building and other activities. Sites are large and even the non-sewer sights are well worth the $98 for a week (water, electric and cable). Campground provides a 'blueboy' (actually gray) to dump if needed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

---

They revised length-of-stay rules; time in overflow reduced. Excellent facility/well run. Probably one of the best beaches in US!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 06

This was the most friendly military campground we've ever visited! The night we arrived, there was a fish fry for $4, put on by other campers. Nice, large and private RV sites, but 30A wasn't a true 30 amps. Had problems with circuit tripping.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20 results - showing 1 - 20