Raptor Ranch at Tyndall AFB

New
 
4.3 (73)
121260   1   31   1   67

User reviews

40 reviews with 5 stars

73 reviews

 
(40)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.4  (73)
 
4.1  (73)
 
4.2  (73)
 
4.3  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
40 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 13-22, 2018

Could not say more. VERY well run campsite. Clean, easy to navigate, staff and host are very hospitable and helpful. “Mike” in the office volunteered to go home on his lunch break and get a tool that I needed to borrow. Amazing. Kudos to all here. Yes, the flight ops make some occasional noise, no kidding, it’s an Air Force Base, they have aircraft that fly.........imagine that! We WILL return. Keep up the great work. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 29/30, 2017

We were here in April of 2017 and again November 29 & 30, 2017. Raptor Ranch is a nice park with friendly people. Our complaint about it is the sand/dust generated by the sandy roads in the park. The sites are nicely separated - most by trees and bushes with plenty of elbow room. You have to be okay with flight ops. The base executes flights almost all day long during the week and the jets are low flying over the park. It doesn't bother us but some people are really bothered by the loud noise. If it wasn't for the sand and dust we would consider this park top notch.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 20-22, 2016

We stayed at Raptor Ranch for the three days noted and enjoyed our time there. Campground has lots of shade which creates privacy between sites. Office staff very friendly and quite helpful for all our needs. Roads are gravel and the sites have concrete pads with full hookups. Wi-Fi not working yet throughout the park but is scheduled. Showers and bathrooms were very clean. Recreation center is nice with a large HDTV and lounge chairs available. Appears to be lots of social activity at various times. Most sites are back-in with just a few pull through sites available. Plenty of room to disconnect toad from RV. Commissary, Gas Station and BX are located about two miles from campground inside main gate. We would return to stay again. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

04 June 2015

The Tyndall "Raptor Ranch" campground is making and has made many improvements over the past year and into 2015. The cabins have undergone renovations with new kitchen cabinets, new flooring, new bedroom sets, new bathroom vanities and refurbished furniture. The Gazebo has an additional 30 foot pole barn on the side for campers to enjoy. And the "Big Dig" project should be completed by 01 Oct 2015. This will give the campground all full service sites with improvements to the pads as well. FSS has also begun the process of doing a contract to have Mediacom install internet service for all the sites including overflow. This project will not begin until the construction is complete, so no estimated time for the Wi-Fi as yet, but it is coming! Hoping to see you in the Fall for the fun, festivities and friendships, new & old!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 29, 2014

We just attended the Thanksgiving Dinner, organized and put on by Cathy Krostag / Camp Recreation Staff / and it was fabulous. The food was outstanding /gourmet and the whole evening was awesome. We have found that this facility is about the very best we have ever stayed and the director, Samantha Long and her hosts Barbara Johnson & Karen Pauly are friendly, professional and impressively competent. They all have an incredibly difficult job, keeping everybody happy and engaged, and fill that requirement perfectly. There are special events in the club house every day of the week and if you sit in your RV, its not for the lack of activities offered at this place. I feel like I am staying in a spa and love this place. My only dislike of this AFB is the lack of a golf course that was allowed to go to seed and disgracefully overgrown. You don't find that kind of neglect at the FamCamp, where the entire staff continue to do outstanding work for their campers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23 Oct 2014

A very nice FamCamp, Jet noise is a little much but that is to be excepted at an Air Base. Camp itself is set up very nice and in a great setting. The sights a extremely large and very privet, I was very impressed. The staff are friendly and helpful when you need them. Air Police Security patrols the park on a regular basis which is nice. The base itself has everything you might need or want. I will be back if I am in the area again and will recommend it to all Vets I encounter on the road.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26-27 October 2014

Beautiful campground. Lots of privacy, wooded. Stayed in W/E 30 amp site on the bayou. Quiet at night. Sound of freedom noise during the day. Staff at check-in were friendly. Dick the camp host was very helpful. Roads are a little tight in some areas, watch your turns. Supposedly there are plans to add sewer connections to all sites. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1-4 July 2014

We checked in late, came from Phenix City, Al. Pete was the camp host, directed us to a beautiful spot, helped park the camper and offered to help with hook up. Very nice and helpful. Took time to talk with us. Next morning went in to sign up (Pay up) and gentleman behind the counter was very pleasant. We met Kathy, Pete's wife. Talked to her and Sam on the phone. Asking for information. Unfortunately we missed the 4th party, we took a trip to Pensacola (should have stayed there) traffic was terrible coming back that evening. Signed out of Friday the 5th and stored our RV on base. Can't wait to go back Site was spacious, trees, privacy, get place to camp, easy access to base and local restaurants and shopping. ALL GOOD!!!!!!! Mary McDaniel

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2-5, 2014

We stayed here 6/2/14 - 6/5/14. We had a wonderful stay, except for the yellow flies that only God can control. (There must be a reason for them but I'll be darned if I know what.) Clean lots and very clean facilities. The staff was so helpful and friendly, couldn't have asked for better. Great to have ice without having to go out for it. And FULL hookup, including cable TV...all the comforts of home. We didn't want for anything, and other campers offered help if needed. We will return as soon as we get up that way again, sure can't beat the prices!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24 Feb 2014

We only stayed one night and did not even consider it would be the busy time of year. But, site 9 was open and served our needs just fine. The view was wonderful. It was 30 amp and water only. Not a big deal as we were headed to Eglin AFB (full hookups). The staff did come out and warn me about a big tree branch before I backed in. Great FAMCAMP.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 May 2013

Raptor Ranch campgrounds are constantly trying to keep the ambiance & unique surroundings private and yet nice for the campers. They have seldom been accused of not having any privacy or being crowded with your neighbor ending up in your living room. This all takes constant work to cut, trim, prune and clear debris, all done by one maintenance person. The staff is trained to assist the patrons the best ways possible and to help them find a way to get help when they don’t have a solution. With the help of contracted host positions patrons are assisted in finding a site they can be happy with even after office duty hours. The contracted host positions during the winter include 2 site hosts, 1 Recreation Center host, & 1 Gazebo host. Management and maintenance live at the campground, which are the sites 1 & 2, they pay rent and this allows them to be available 7/24 for any serious emergencies which may arise that are not considered to be the responsibilities of the host. Raptor Ranch has also set up 3 contracts for long term AD military members. They must sign a contract and they are charged a higher monthly amount for this privilege. This may give the impression of homesteading to some of the newer customers. The campground has only 5 staff members and relies on the help of the hosts as well as the volunteers that visit every year to accomplish some of the special projects that make improvements which are appreciated by everyone. Camaraderie is a very special feature that is offered here at no cost! From the staff to the patrons everyone who comes here is made to feel welcome and part of our growing family. The winter months are filled with special functions beginning in Nov thru Mar, with food & entertainment along with aerobics 3 days a week, pot luck dinners, bingo, card games, movie nights and much more. The summer months are much slower for this area so there are less events happening, mostly because the patrons are only here for a week or weekend stay. The exceptions are the 4th of July and Labor Day parties. Even the pets are given a big welcome with treats at the office when patrons check in or come to collect their mail. All being said we are proud of this small piece of Paradise, which has become a second home to many folks around the US.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 4-18, 2013

This place is wonderful. We are very private people and love that the tropical foliage make each large lot seem private. Grounds are well kept, clean, gravel is constantly being added and improved. Laudry/bath/club house is really nice and clean, location is great, and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars on the amenities is that, while the bay view and benches/swings on the back of the camp is nice, I think more of the brush should be cleaned so we can enjoy the water more, and possibly some steps or other type of access to the water edge would be great, maybe a pier or some way to be able to fish or just enjoy the water. It seems like a under utilized feature of the park. Other than that this place is great. I suspect there are a few home steaders in the front lots since they have fencing, storage buildings, and even gardens, but it isnt as bad as some RV parks in that aspect. Overall great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 15, 2013

This is a great campground tucked away in some trees. The campground obviously is well taken care of. Our first impression was in the overflow area where it looked like there was a lot of gravel that had recently been laid down. It continued to impress us. The folks from the desk clerk, the camp host and 4 or 5 other people we met within the first 20 minutes were all friendly and helpful. The tone of the campground was congenial and friendly. The campsites are well taken care of with brush and trees cut back so we had no trouble at all getting into our site. Full water, sewer and 50 amp for $21/night. The roads around the two large loops are well maintained. They have used plenty of gravel to fill any pot holes and it is hard packed. The club house and laundry were fine. They have an active group here. Free music session put on by campers at 7 pm last night. Today we can bring a dish and the campground provides the rest for a St Patrick's Day meal. Just a nice place to stay and in a good location. We camped in a 40' motor home and will be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14 OCT to 21 OCT 2012

We just returned from Tyndall last Sunday. The hosts and employees were great and very helpful. It looks as if they are getting ready to make the sites along the water full service also. The beaches were great, most of the time we were the only ones on them. My wife checked out the cabins for a future vacation with the kids and ruled them out very quickly. She saw "Palmetto bugs" and mold everywhere. The club house was great, cookies and coffee in the mornings with great conversation. The walking trails relaxing and the views beautiful. For someone away from the bustle and noise of an active military base the daily fighter sorties, "the sound of freedom" was music to my ears. We had a great time and have already planned our trip for next year. It would be nice if they accepted reservations. We also used Enterprise car rental 11 miles down 98.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 29-31, 2012

Our check-in was very easy and "Sam" made us feel very welcome. She found us a pull-through site which was convenient. She also mentioned that there are bears in the park and to be aware of them. The following day we had bear excrement in the campsite next to our site. Would definitely return to this FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov- 2010 to April 2010

My husband and I and our dogs have been coming to Tyndall for -this is our 9th year. And that will tell you why we are continuing to come. There have been different staff over the years. Sam is a great person and her staff. She makes you feel welcome. She has events different times in the year. We are there for the holidays and great Thanksgiving/ Christmas dinners are provided. It is family atmosphere and everyone makes each other feel like family. There are activities going on and a potluck on Tuesday nights. Hot Dogs at the Gazebo on Friday nights and maybe they will let those go on a little longer this year. Hope so....... A very much needed is more sewer sites and more 50 amp sites. It would be great and other campers would stay longer. Sam has some great ides and I know that this is something that she wants for the campers. So please approve of this for TYNDALL.. Thank you very much.... Looking forward to another winter there.....

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2010 -April 2011

I have visited this campground at least once a year for the last several years. I usually extended my stay for the entire winter season. The hosts have always been friendly and helpful. The activities and facilities are quite adequate and the campers are "SUPER SPECIAL". More full hook-ups would be a plus, but, I find my camping experience at "Raptor Ranch" to be thoroughly enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 15-28, 2010

We recently spent 2 weeks at Raptor Ranch and it was by far the best RV camp we have stayed in. Easy to find and located close to the base and beaches. It was very clean and well run. The community center had large TV's, video game consoles (bring your own controllers if you must play games or exercise with the Wii). Books and puzzles and large enough for a large gathering. Saturday breakfast was well worth the $2 and a nice place to meet and talk. The gazebo is also a morning coffee spot, but we discovered this our last day. Brand new front loading machines and super clean bathrooms. I hope all that use these new machines learn how to use them and stop free pouring soap into the dispensers. We were able to get WiFi in the RV and they were in the process of boosting the signal while we were there. Better to go into the Community center if you need to use the internet. At $19 it was an exceptional value. Living in Central FL, we used to head south to Sigsbee, but will return this way next year. The overall experience was fantastic. The beaches at Panama City and Mexico Beach are close. We preferred the laid back quieter Mexico City to the touristy PCB. Tyndall has a very secluded beach that is a very LONG, hot walk. Early morning is best if you are up to a hike to the water. The only drawback was the yellow flies. Maybe during the cooler months they are not as bad, but they will not keep us from returning. Excellent camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15-16 November, 2009

We stayed here overnight on our way from Las Vegas to Key West. This was one of the better campgrounds we have stayed in. We had no problem getting a site with water, electric & cable next to the water. Site had a covered hardstand picnic table and was fairly level with plenty of room. Bathrooms were very clean, nice laundry, huge community building with free WIFI. Roads in the campground were mostly gravel & dirt but fine to ride bikes and take a walk. Will stay here again if given the opportunity in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

19 -24 Apr, 2010

We spent five nights, FAMCAMP personnel were very friendly and helpful. Saturday Breakfast was great, a "Big Thanks" to the crew that take the time to prepare it. This FamCamp is very easy to locate and is very quiet during the nighttime. The flight line is not far away, loved the sounds of FREEDOM during the daytime hours. It was nice to be at a fighter base. Free WIFI is listed as only in the Rec Center. Campground needs additional dumpsters available, road dust can become an issue at times, also. At this time the dumpsters are located at the entrance to the FamCamp. The main base is to the right after exiting the FamCamp, but the Base Map needs to be updated. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future. Instead of fighting the Panama City Beach traffic, we went to Mexico Beach, 12 miles to the East, easier excess and more private.

Was this review helpful to you? 
40 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2