NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (145)
240725   2   33   4   100

User reviews

10 reviews with 2 stars

145 reviews

 
(80)
 
(40)
 
(20)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.8  (145)
 
4.0  (145)
 
3.8  (145)
 
4.5  (145)
 
4.2  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jan-Mar 2017

12 winters at Sigsbee and no improvements in the campgrounds. The facilities are way overused due to increased active duty and their families using the laundries and showers. The facilities were not constructed to handle the overload. Yes, it's warm, and the water is lovely, but wait until you have your lovely site ruined by someone who moves in next to you with a loud asphyxiating generator (or two). The rule to have a generator the equivalent of 5db (Honda 2000) has been pushed aside as two generators is now the fad. Key West is entertaining to say the least, but parking downtown is now virtually non-existent and expensive. It's about the money. MWR is now the funding agent for the active duty facilities and CO's "appear" to be in a double bind situation of not wanting to rock the boat on a cash cow. Comments were made about active duty rent funding the campground...the campground made money before active duty used it for housing. I'm not blaming the active duty for taking advantage of the situation...if we were active duty here, we probably would too. The "rock pile" hook up sites were not made for the 40ft plus RV's but I've seen worse at civilian sites. The Sunset Restaurant (please do away with the Lounge name) violates SECNAVINST 5100.13e Smoking Regulations. Although they call it open air, smokers routinely light up next to you while you're trying to eat, and during entertainment. Even if you sit outside in close quarters, second hand smoke is a killer. Common sense has eliminated smoking from open air events in stadiums!! All being said, why do we keep coming back...beats shoveling snow.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

10 Nov, 2016-12 Jan 2017

I have camped a Trumbo and Sigsbee for several years. In the last 2 years the place has gone down hill. When campers complain, they are threatened with "don't complain too much, because all it would take is a stroke of the pen for the Commanding Officer to close the campground". Many campers fear if the complain, they will be put on the black list and not permitted to return or escorted off the base by security. I agree with earlier post, the roads are getting worse and worse. :<Name with held> tried to tell the campers at Trumbo the she personally spread gravel on the roads. They all insist they spread the gravel and nobody remembers seeing her there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Good Old Days

Used to be a very nice campground. Many years ago they had good and helpful camphosts. Activities director made it a very fun place to spend winter months.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

28 Dec - 23 Feb 2015

Area is good for winter weather. If you have a rechargeable fan you can keep cool when humidity is up. Yes, quite a few years ago we had a fun time and our own activities directors at Trumbo. Since MWR took away the electric hookup for camphosts and activities dir. Also didn't have fences put up on the base to keep us military retired persons off the tarmack. Also they keep away space for campground in the field at Trumbo. Weather is good as long as humidity is down. Since you have to dry camp and have generators off at 2300 you have to depend on a rechargeable fan to keep cool! Rules change as the wind with MWR. OK for a very short stay! Only military campground that has NO just electric at least to stay on until a full hookup is available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Dec 2013 - Jan 2014

Value: considering it is KW, you can't beat the price. Civilian places cost! Hospitality: Camp hosts are ok. Not the best but ok. One host there should get a job at the county jail He is rude and his NAZI approach to you is horrible. He has his good old boy club. When anything went wrong and he wanted to nail you for some mickey mouse thing he always made sure to tell his good olde boy club members (the RVers he loved). This guy is bad news. Name is *****. Base: has all you need. Commissary, NEX, gas station etc. Only problem with Sigsbee location is there are no longer guards on the gate. Job Blow the civilian can drive through all they want now. Yes base security caught a few of them and escorted them off base. But still not a good feeling. The ladies in the office are great. The camp ground hosts need to improve on their manners and customer service. Some of these host never made it past E3 in the military and now being the all mighty host they want to play CSM (E9). ((Thrumbo still has gate guards)) Bath house: most of the time was dirty. Over used. Laundry: broken machines that never seemed to get fixed. People brought their dogs into the laundry. Even got hostile when told no pets in the laundry room. Guess this is how military camping is these days. Guests: Lots, repeat lots, of CIVILIANS signed in by a authorized sponsor (i.e. retiree, base member etc) are staying in the Fam Camp. You will not notice these types until you ask their status and how they got on base. Few told us "we were signed in by some guy we met who is in the Navy." Worse is these sponsors are never to be seen again and leave these CIVILIAN to be on their own. Sign these civilians into the Fam Camp and never come back. THIS IS WRONG. MWR should be more about taking care of the military instead of worrying about making money. Military have earned the privilege to use such a place. I agree sponsoring a CIVILIAN is ok IF they are related to or immediate guests of the military person signing them in. This is a get over system by civilians (don't mean civil service folks...mean civilians who have not worked or served in the military) to get a huge savings on camping in Key West on base. Tent camping: tent campers are not allowed at Thrumbo. Was nice when they could camp next to the pool. But new commander, so we were told, decided NO tent camping at Thrumbo now. Few tent camping areas at Sigsbee. One is along the water in front of the RVers. The RVers whine and cry about tent campers and their POVs "blocking their view" Well folks the tent campers didn't make that location for tent camping. If you want to whine, whine to the office NOT the tent camper. The hosts are not the nicest bunch of guys towards tent campers. Guess these guys graduated from Howard's Univ (at Hill Fam Camp) with a degree in how to be rude. They are building a tent area on the far side of the FamCamp. Will be a &_#&@( to tent camp where they are making this area now. No view. No breeze. Parking will be tight. Can already see the RVers act like they own all of the spaces along the street where the new tent area is being made. We would NEVER tent camp there.
Overall Experience: KW is great. Love downtown. Most of the RVers are ok. Great number of them are snotty. Generators running all the time. Despite turn off hours. Again its who you know and b&@% if you can get over on the rules. Majority of the RVers never go far from base and their RVs. Seem to have their "groups - clubs - who is who gangs" Sad thing is when asked many of them do not know beans about KW. Never been to Fort Jefferson or anywhere in the area. Few are town drunks. Thrumbo: Thank God ***** the head NAZI is no longer a host there. The " I know everything in the world" maint guy (or wanna be maint guy) at Thrumbo is still there. And still rude as ever. Suggestion: if MWR even reads this page -- put a time limit on how long a host can be a host in KW. The longer they stay as host the more they start to think they are the base commander and make rules up as they go along. That is exactly what host named ***** was doing last winter. Making up rules as he went. WRONG.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 28, 2013 - June 5, 2013

We can now say we've been to Key West, but we will not return. Still recovering from the bad roads to get there; poor signage on U.S. 1; rotting foliage or sewage smell just past the check-in gate on the island's access road; masses of flies greet you at the dumpster and invite themselves to your campsite. Two days of nats mating and swarming any open orafice on our body; the Sunset Lounge can't keep a cook; the commissary and exchange have limited selections (very small); NO local HD tv; didn't even take down our kayak to put in the water due to severe weather and lightening that turned into TS Andrea. Sewage filled the city streets when the drains couldn't handle the storms. We got to see ONE sunset. It was lovely. Thank goodness we did not have to dry camp. We met a few very nice visiting campers, but the people who live there permanently didn't socialize between thunderstorms. John Pennecamp State Park in Key Largo costs LESS for state seniors, and though it rained as much there it did not smell or have trashy looking campsites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Nov 09

The price went up because all the other campers have to pay for all of the volunteers who get free rent. There has to be at least 15 freeloaders between Sigsbee and Trumbo. I can't believe that MWR lets the management get away with losing all this money. If you figure $630.00 a month for each volunteer, and you just say that there are 10 of them that is $6,300 per month that MWR is losing. I also wonder if they file a IRS form 1099 for the income that they are receiving. Just thought I'd throw this out there, let us know how you other retires feel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

01 Oct to 30 Nov, 2009

Great location, but now costs 21 dollars a day for just basic Water, electrical and sewer. No cable, no wifi. Bathrooms and laundry is used by a lot of people other than campers. Attitude at front office is you can leave if you do not like the price. I agree with the other poster, the staff love to smoke right in front of the office and you have to walk through it to get to the office. Loretta, one of the camp hosts is just wonderful. Small NEX and commissary. CG is not worth the money. Patrick AFB and JAX are far better for the cost.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Winters of 2001 - 2008

Larry glad you deleted the names on previous post. But, the issues remain the same: MWR needs to get on the situation at Trumbo and clean up that act. While I do not think names should have been used in the post (and you deleted them) the basic information in that post remains to be true. THE ACT NEEDS TO BE CLEANED UP THERE. They need to rotate campground hosts. Sometimes these hosts get locked into a place and start to think they run the entire base. There is a way to address problems and get things moving in the direction that helps all of us. Let this be a learning experience for all concerned. (Moderator note: The rest of this review has been deleted as result of a controversial discussion).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 2006

I'm curious as to why people are allowed to live at the campground permanently? I talked to one guy that has lived here for 5 years another that has lived here for 3 years. On the 17th of May they held some kind of lottery for reserved spaces, because I arrived on the 20th I was not allowed to book a space past the 1st of June as lottery winners were taking the space I had parked on. The more folks I talked to that were here for 2, 3, or 4 weeks the more I heard complaints of two sets of rules, one for vacationing retirees and one for those that knew someone, seems the rules, even rules about pets, don't apply to them. From my personal observation, this is a very poorly managed facility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10