Eagle Hammock RV Park

Featured Hot
 
4.8 (196)
108278   0   35   0   80

User reviews

Filters 25 reviews with 4 stars

196 reviews

 
(171)
 
(23)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
 
4.7  (196)
 
4.9  (196)
 
4.8  (196)
 
4.8  (196)
 
4.8  (196)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 8-10 2017

We decided to stop by here on my birthday without a reservation, they were booked up but the office hostess Meredith worked a plan for us to dry camp which was cool and also the temps were in the 70s so no ac or generator running was needed, thanks Meridith for the support. I still see many family campgrounds have homesteaders and also this one, who needs to stay more than 3 weeks in one place in an RV and by doing so deprives active and veterans the opportunity to visit this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2017

I've left a review from past visits, but there's been a change to Eagle Hammock, one that I don't like. In the past when we've arrived after hours, there used to be a folder with our name, site #, map, and general base information in it. The site would even be circled. A note on the check-in booth included instructions on checking in with the duty host. However, they no longer do that. I had to wake up the duty host (it was around 10:30pm). At first I was confused because a sign on his camper said he was over at the rec room facility, but it was after hours. I knocked on the camper and got no answer, so I went over to the rec room - as I thought it was locked and dark. Went back to the host's camper and knocked louder - that woke him up. He had me sign in and told me my site numbers (we were traveling with my son-in-law and daughter who had their own camper). I immediately questioned one of them because it was across from his site and all of the "B" sites were full. Long story short, someone had come in around 8pm, didn't check in with anyone, and just took the empty site (the campground was overfull with at least half-a-dozen campers in the grassy areas). It took four attempts to rouse the owner of that RV. He actually argued with the host over having to move. I finally stepped in and told the owner that I paid for that site over a month ago and he'd better move now or I'd call the base police. He relented and packed up his RV (got death glares from his wife the whole time!). I then asked the host to check on my other site to make sure we didn't have a repeat. Fortunately it was empty. As in past stays, the campground is immaculate, very up-to-date, and the best value of the dozen other military campgrounds we've stayed at. Just wish they'd go back to the after-hours check in - so much easier. The host said they stopped doing that due to personal information regarding the camper. I can't quite grasp that as the only personal information on the folder was just my last name.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2017

Nice famcamp, nice amenities, not a real friendly camp host. DO NOT WALK your dog on the trails. Only take them to the dog walk provided. The TICKS here are HORRENDOUS. Still finding ticks a week later. Advantage doesn't phase these blood suckers. Constantly check yourself and pet each time you leave your RV. Nice park but this is a major deterrent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

09 Feb 2017

Great lil campground. We really enjoyed this FamCamp with one exception. The camp host is a real JERK who apparently thinks he either owns the campground or he should. We witnessed a couple of issues that we felt were handled with absolutely no respect. He literally stood outside yelling and belittling an individual over a leaking blue boy. Next we witnessed him being rude to people over a tiny fire in their fire pit. He has no couth nor respect for his fellow retires. An offer to help or politely go over some rules can go a long way. Hopefully when we return, he either won't be the host or has taken a lesson in customer service 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

20 Dec 16

Very nice campground. Exceptional customer service from staff and camphosts! The only downside is outside the control of the facility; the ticks are very, very bad. Did I mention the ticks are very bad? If you have pets, regardless of tick collars, meds, please check them everytime you take them out and also check yourself. Do not get close to the pine trees or walk on the trails without a post walk tick check.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 2016

All the amenities are pretty much as you get in Mayport, very well maintained and clean. Directions are good, if you keep in mind that they bring you into a gate that is closed after normal working hours, holidays and weekends. However, the Stimson gate is only a few hundred yards north on Rt 40-spur and open 24/7. The ST. Marys gate was posted as closed UFN. The sites are nice with landscaping and level concrete pads. We were in the middle lane, which are the pullthru sites. Our only complaint was the CG roads, which are covered with large gravel that ran from semi-packed to loose, making it difficult to ride anything 2-wheeled with safety. The grass was moved several times a week, but with the warm temperatures, we couldn’t sit outside because of the no-see-ums & gnats. Don't be lured by the cheaper gas prices on base, the pump overhang is only 12 ft high. We stayed in a motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 15, 2013

We are starting our 4th week of our one month stay here. It is a very nice park, and previous reviews noting the cleanliness and site management are spot on. We have enjoyed the golf course on base where we got an outstanding monthly rate and the biking trails, nice and level, that go everywhere. The park provided a very nice Thanksgiving dinner (they provided meats and we the rest.), and the free cold water only laundry is a plus. From previous reviews, we expected more activities to be posted and available. Many are taking place -- card games, golf groups, etc. -- but there is no way for the newcomer to know about them. We will be moving farther south to a private park next week for that reason. Also for warmer winter weather for our golf. The town of St. Mary's is wonderful, and we enjoyed an Amelia Island boat tour and a visit to Savannah and other "low country" sites. Recommend highly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec. 30, 2012 to Jan. 30, 2013

Back for one month and some days there are several sites available so for those heading south and need a place to stay for a day you should be able to get in. If needed they will double up on an end site for you and give you electric and water. We are on a site that overflow uses and our water pressure goes down of course but can always turn on our water pump if need be. Some talk about stopping homesteading but may be idle chit chat so remains to be seen. Also rules about when you can make a reservation may have changed but nothing definite about that either, best bet is to call and ask the new manager Matt Sparks about changes so you have the accurate information. Yes, there are less activities scheduled but campers have stepped up and formed groups that play all types of card and board games and movie shown on Friday nights by campers. Always enjoy our stay here and a trip into Jax for all kinds of shopping, events etc. is very convenient so if you have not been here please give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct. 26th to 28th, 2012

Stopped here on the way back from our trip to New York and New England and were surprised it was so full already. After looking around it appears some of the same people from last winter are here already and they told us they have a 6 month reservation and some never left from our stay last winter. When we made a reservation for Dec. for about 6 weeks we were asked if we had plans on coming back in March or April and should make that reservation now, hmmmmmmmmmmmm rules no longer apply I guess so if you plan on going here call now and book everything or you will not get in. This is definitely a homestead park for full timers now so will see how our stay goes this winter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 21, 2012

I have been to this RV park more than all of the other military parks, because of the high standards. However on this stay there was several washers/dryers broken and not slated for repair. I have on several visits inquired about lake front site only to be told that they are filled. This park is one big click, with snow birds taking all of the really nice spots, which in turns leaves people who want to stay for a shorter period left out in the cold. Mayport Naval Base had this problem and they went to a system that is fair to all, not just the snow birds. Clicks are nice, but not on the naval base, which should be equal for all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 6 - March 13, 2012

Before I get jumped on, I've stayed here several time and have rated the park 5s across the board. I've never had a major complaint. This time I knocked the Amenities/Facilities down to 3 because of the WiFi. It was barely usable during my stay. I rated the Overall Experience a 3 because of the following. Site E-9 looks like it may be homesteaders. They have large wooden steps for entry to their trailer, the site under their trailer is jammed with whatever they can get under it, they have very large patio furniture, and even though the rules state that you can only have appliances that are built into you RV, they have a refrigerator outside on the patio. Another site, D-5 is storing a popup camper on the grass next to the picnic table. I believe the rule states only one camping vehicle is allowed per site. I've stayed at Keesler and Hurlburt Famcamps and is my opinion that these two campgrounds are the worst run and worst in experience in the military. I just hope the two mentioned sites don't multiply into 4 by next spring when we arrive. Yes, We'll be back, The people talking a tight ship being run here should look around a little. I have no problems with Charlie but have never met any of the other folks here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Winter of 2010

RV park is on a secure base so is heavily patrolled. Washer and dryers are free but sometimes are in a lot of use. A small amount of fishing is done at a small lake on the RV site. Although there seems to be a lot of clicks, most people are friendly. There are a few activities each week, but we were not overly impressed especially compared to some parks that many different activities for everyone. Although I recommend this park, I do believe other parks are attempting to improve and attract more retired military.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb. 5-9, 2010

Spent a few days enjoying this wonderful RV Park. Free WiFi and laundry is a BIG plus. We did some site-seeing in the local area. Also enjoyed the ice cream social and card bingo in the RV park community room. Charly, the campground manager is very friendly and helpful, as were the camp hosts and ther office staff. It's easy to see why this RV Park was voted the #1 military campground on the East coast. We'll be sure to return, next time we're in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 7-12, 2009

J.S. left this review using the Directory software: Our stay was excellent, we had 1/2 price golf coupons to use and the rec hall was very clean when we got there and cleaned daily. The staff was helpful with everything we needed. They had a nice clean doggie walk that people seemed to take care of also. The restrooms and showers were always clean. The Commissary and Exchange were also close by and we will be returning for another visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 6-9, 2008

J.M. left this review using the Directory software: I compliment the staff on their outstanding attitude and willingness to help RVers feel welcome. I will definitely return. I am only giving it 4.5 stars, even though I agree with the positive things others have said about this Fam Camp. The base is a bit difficult to navigate, despite its small size, because the street names are displayed vertically on dark wood posts off to the side of each intersection - allowing you to see the street you should have turned on as you pass by it - especially at night. Before you reach the turn in to the Famcamp, you see a sign restricting the road to vehicles less than 4 tons (my rig is 12.5 tons) making you feel you are on the wrong road or have gone so far that you passed the entrance. The camp host site is near the entrance, is clearly marked and easy to find. The interior roads of the camp are gravel, causing the following problems: (1) It is noisy when RVs depart early or arrive late (2) It is difficult to navigate with a cane, crutches, or a wheelchair, when you are not in an ADA compliant site (I was not, and I use a cane or crutches, depending on my destination). Five sites are designated as ADA Handicap compliant. Only 1 is a pull-thru, while 4 are back-in sites. Their designation appears to be based solely on the presence of sidewalks that connect them to the community center. I feel handicap sites should ALL be pull-thru, not back-in, for what I hope are obvious reasons. There are a total of 17 pull-thru sites that could all be made ADA compliant if they either (A) added sidewalks to connect them, or (B) paved the roads to get rid of the troublesome gravel, in which case ALL 50 sites would be ADA compliant without use of any concrete sidewalks. I will email my comments to the staff.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

MAY, 2008

This is the second time we've been to this camp ground. Our first visit, the host lead us to our site and assisted in parking. The grounds were well kept with grass being cut and srubs being trimmed. The laundry room, baths and club house was spotless. The host was out daily working on the grounds, while his wife ran the office. The rules were inforced in regards to pets not in building and must be walked in pet area and must be cleaned up after. While checking in this visit the Hosts wife brought their dog in the office and all you saw them do was ride around on the golf cart. Did not see anyone working. This camp ground is to nice and pretty to let it go down because you have workers not wanting to work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15 Apr - 4 May 2008

Over all experience very good. Enjoy free movies and games at Big E-Z. Cement pad to park coach and excellent view of woods in back and pond in front. Very quiet and scenic. Only minus point is that you have to travel 1 hour to either St. Simon Island or the same to Amelia Is (preferred Fernandina Beach). Nothing in local area except a little in historic St. Mary's. Something that we feel quite strongly on is letting breeds like Rotweilers in the park that make people feel uncomfortable and afraid especially when the dog doesn't LIKE other DOGS! I feel that certain breeds like Rotweilers, Domermans, Pit Bulls should NOT be allowed in dog friendly parks! Other campgrounds band dangerous breeds. We had a neighbor that has a rotweiler and when we walked by with our dog the rotweiler growled. It made us very nervous and scared. The people quieted rotweiler down right away, BUT I still believe that a dog like a rotweiler should NOT be allowed in any campground because other dogs will be around and people should not have to be afraid to walk their dog by any campsite!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 29-Apr 5, 2008

R.H. left this review using the Directory software: I do not really mean for my comments to seem negative, but there are some things which are less than perfect at this park. Some are probably temporary, but I feel I have to mention them in fairness to all. Cleanliness, staff friendliness, etc., are as stated throughout all reviews - nothing short of perfect. High speed wi-fi was superb. Cable TV was disappointing. Fifteen channels is not a lot to begin with, but at least five of the channels were out of service most of the time. I stayed in one of the new lakefront sites. These sites are more private than the main CG, but it is a long walk to the bath-house/community center. Loose gravel is several inches thick, and difficult to even walk on. One must stay on the concrete pad, otherwise will track black sand/dirt into house. There was no shuttle to Exchange/Commissary, as described in another review. Perhaps this a seasonal thing. In forty years of military experience (active and retired), I have never seen a more secure base (other that Area 51). Base facilities were above average, and surrounding community seemed very friendly. Overall, this is a very nice facility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 Mar 08 -1 APR 08

GREAT RV PARK! WELL MAINTAINED, EXCEPT FOR THE FIRE RING/GRILL. IF YOU ARE GOING TO OFFER THIS IT SHOULD BE CLEANED OUT PRIOR TO NEW CAMPER ARRIVAL. OURS WAS HALF FULL OF ASHES AND ABOUT 50 CIG BUTT'S ON TOP OF, MADE ME NOT WANT TO USE IT AS A GRILL. NOT SURE WHAT RULES THEY ENFORCE, AS I WALKED WITH MANAGER'S WIFE FROM OFFICE TO HER RIG, DOG WAS NOT ON A LEASH. IF THE MANAGEMENT DOESN'T FOLLOW THE RULES, WHY DO WE HAVE TO? NEW RV SLABS WERE PLACED AROUND THE LAKE NEXT TO THE PARK. WHY DO THEY RIP OFF THE TROOPS (ACTIVE AND RETIRED) AND CHARGE MORE FOR THE VIEW? DIDN'T COST THEM ANY MORE TO PUT THEM SLABS IN. CANNOT CLEAN YOUR RIG ON SITE, AND THE NEW CAR WASH WHICH JUST OPENED IN FEB 08 DOES NOT HAVE A STALL LARGE ENOUGH FOR AN RV, NOT SURE IF MWR IS NOT INVOLVED WITH BASE PLANNING OR THEY GOT OUT VOTED. ALSO, THE LADY AT THE GAS STATION INFORMED ME THEY RECENTLY REMODELED THE PUMP AREA, THE CLEARANCE IS 12.0, ONCE AGAIN LEAVING OUT THE RV'S WHICH PROVIDE A LOT OF REVENUE TO THIS BASE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2008

G.N. left this review using the Directory software: We arrived later than planned (about 8) and the duty host (Tom) was very friendly and helpful. Extremely clean and neat campground. The cement sites seemed very level and hooking up was a snap. Nice and quiet and very secure (well patrolled by military police). Staff and campers extremely friendly. Excellent wifi access at each site. Loved the free laundry facilities (super clean), nice community room, screen room is a nice touch. Highly reccomend this CG. Will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
25 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2