Eagle Hammock RV Park

Featured Hot
 
4.8 (197)
111507   0   35   0   83

User reviews

169 reviews with 5 stars

197 reviews

 
(172)
 
(23)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
 
4.7  (197)
 
4.9  (197)
 
4.8  (197)
 
4.8  (197)
 
4.8  (197)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
169 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 1-7, 9-23, 2017

My husband & I visited NSB Kings Bay for the first time this summer & stayed on a lakeside lot at Eagle Hammock. The campground is wonderful, & lakeside lots are huge & worth the extra $2/night. We enjoyed many breathtaking sunsets over Lake D that only our God could paint. Navaida (hope I spelled that correctly!), in the office is so kind & very helpful, as were the camp hosts. (Campground office staff at Mayport could certainly take lessons from her!) The laundry room is very nice & clean, as are the community room & restrooms. Lots of neat paths for walking the dogs & never had a problem with ticks....we use the Seresto collars. The base, BX & Commissary are nice & we took advantage of the dog park just outside one of the gates in a residential area. We cannot say enough good things about this campground! We will certainly be returning! Wish all military-run campgrounds were as nice as this one & Pelican Point at MCAS Cherry Point. Oh, and if you love great barbecue, you have to try Malson's Barbecue in Kingsland. Oh my goodness is it delicious! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

20 - 23 June 2017

This is an outstanding campground. Facilities are top notch and the location right on a lake is great. Camp host was friendly and helpful. Laundry was free which is a new one for us. We will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23-25 June 2017

This was our first trip here and it was also our first trip in our RV. The campsites are great. We had LF8. The cable does not work at the lake front sites, but they do have a dish network box that you can use to get tv. We used our antenna and received a few channels. Wifi signal was good as well at the site. Beautiful campground. Quiet with a nice view of the lake. Each site had poured concrete and was level. Electric, water and sewer connections were within easy reach. Will stay at again for a weekend getaway. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April14-16 2017

Nice but small RV Park. Friendly host on duty! Office has very limited hours probably due to size of facility, not real busy. Restrooms are very clean and well kept. Conveniently located in the middle of all sites. Small community room with full kitchen open for use by patrons instead of cooking in RV,s. Free ice machine and free laundry facilities. Looks like many spaces occupied by long term RVers. This surprised me due to size of Park. Limits short stay spaces available. Glad I made a reservation. When I pulled in, my reserved space was last one open. ( arrived 1630) Two RVs were in open space with no utility connections (overflow). Probably enough room for 4 to 5 RVs. Expansion is a definite necessity due to popularity! Basic amenities available including cable except lake sites. Pet friendly with dog walks around perimeter of Park. RV park is the distance from main base tucked in the woods next to Lake D. ( I hear there is Bass waiting to be caught). If just looking for peace and quiet and just to relax, this is the place to go ! Only an hour from Jacksonville Florida. Small town of St. Mary's Georgia close by . Can't beat the cost, $19-$23 per night. I will definitely be back! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 & 3 April 2017

A busy park near I95, we were supposed to be in overflow, but were lucky enough to get a site both nights. We have stayed here a few times over the last few years. The staff is always AWESOME. It is a nice top notch park with a fresh water lake. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2 April 2017

Only negative was at the lakeside spot. We do not have satellite. There is a cable hookup at the site, but no cable at the lakeside sites. Over air was spotty. This was our only negative comment, but a great place to stay!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 April 2017

Have stayed here 4 years ago. Same cleanliness an very good sites. GPS led me to St Mary's gate which was closed. If you end up there, you can turn around and go right to Franklyn Gate. Thru gate, turn right at 3rd light, straight thu next light, park on right. We had a back in by the lake. Lake sites do not have cable. Over air questionable, have to see if anything at night. We only spent 1 night before heading N/W. 40' MH towing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 21-25 2017

Great stay for a week! The base recreational facilities are wonderful. MWR held a casino night at the clubhouse which was great fun! Spray your pups with a little "Off". There are ticks in places.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12-15 Feb 2017

We love this RV Park. Yes, there are quite a few long-term campers here but they seem to have a good mix of short-termed campers there too. Management must be keeping the ratio of both pretty fair. The only way you would know if someone was staying for months is if they told you - campsites are kept clean, neat and tidy. Facilities are very clean and they have several activities going on each week for the campers. We had a pull-thru site and hookups were convenient to use. (Some places we have stayed, the sewer hookup was under our RV! Had to make sure we didn't run over it!) Camp hosts are very helpful, as is the staff.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2017

Our 3rd stay here. Last time here I mentioned that the CG roads were over-graveled making it difficult for 2 wheeled transportation. This year the roads were nicely graded and packed. we stayed in a center site (pull-thru) and everything was perfect. Strong wifi, very level concrete pad, FHU and cable. Staff as always was extremely helpful and friendly. We filled up with LP there which is a convenient setup and payed about $4/gal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2016, December 2015, December 2014

This is the jewel of military campgrounds we've visited up and down the East Coast. The pricing is outstanding compared to other campgrounds, yet Eagle Hammock manages to provide so many more amenities. They do have quite a few homesteaders, but I always manage to get sites. Checking in after hours is pretty simple, but finding the open gate where you can navigate is a bit tedious for first-timers - do NOT trust your GPS to get you there because it will either take you to a gate that's only open during the day or to a permanently closed gate (mine did!) or down some road that may have gone into the base but is now completely fenced off. Be sure to get directions from the campground office before trying it. The campground is a bit off the beaten path, but does afford mostly peace and quiet. If sitting outdoors you can hear in the distance shipboard announcements from across the water, but nothing distracting. The base gas station sells diesel and is often cheaper than the nearby stations. However, be careful of filling up with your unit attached - it's a low overhead and navigating around the station and pumps isn't easy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8-12 January 2017

Just a brief stay this time (our 5th in the past 3 years) & another FANTASTIC experience! The staff & camp hosts are TERRIFIC: professional, friendly and helpful. The campground is beautiful & well maintained. We stayed in a 35' motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 29, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 3-15, 2015

I had originally posted a bad review due to a clerical error where I was charged an additional amount on my credit card which should have been subtracted instead. After going through a process with my CC company and Eagle Hammock RV front desk personnel, the situation was resolved in a highly professional and satisfactory manner. I give them a big thumbs up for their service to the patrons and professional manner of doing business. My apologies for my first posting! I should have been a bit more patient and let the process work itself out. Thanks Eagle Hammock! I will stay again when opportunity allows me to do so. (Editors note - the original review was never posted, as this came in the same day.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 18-19,2015

Wonderful from start with front desk staff for same day reservation, camp host Larry is GREAT, and our neighbors came out to meet us right away, and made us feel right at home. Very clean bathrooms, showers and laundry facility. Manicured grounds for regular sites, very pretty. We were in overflow where you share a site in open grass, next to your neighbor that has extra electric and water hookups. Process was flawless and we will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24 Jun 2015

We're heading North, so we just stayed one night. We've been here before and plan on staying again. VERY easy to see why it's won the awards it has, neat as a pin and everyone helpful. Thanks for the stay!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 31-April 3 2015

A beautiful park on a great base. One of the nicest community/laundry areas we've seen. St Mary's is a fun little trip. We went to the Submarine Museum, a bargain at 4$ each. Still a work in progress but they're trying. A nice little town to walk along the shore while enjoying an ice cream cone. The only thing we did not like about the park was the traffic, reason I only gave it a 4 for overall. We were in the pull thru's near the front of the park so there were roads behind and in front of us. Not sure what the attraction was but the traffic was constant, especially starting late afternoon. Many of the same cars going by over and over, not speeding but still kicking up dust and making noise. If we would have been staying longer we'd have asked to move to the back in sites at the end of the lake behind the office where you had a good view of the lake and were away from the action.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2015

Great park. We were met by the on duty host. Showed us our site. Beautiful pull through site. The hosts was very informative about the base and surrounding area. Will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 3 to March 12,2015

WOW is this place packed this year with every overflow used and as many as 5 in dry camping. As this is so close to I95 it is the perfect place to stop going South or North. We have been coming here since this campground opened and it has been well maintained and new hosts here are top notch. Office staff is efficient and courteous and the landscape is always neat. Be aware there will be some changes coming on length of stay when you make your reservation; it will be okay to make it for a 6 month stay (Larry is confirming this). This may make it difficult for travelers to get a site here for a shorter stay so will see how it works out next year. For those of you who have not been here in awhile you can take a train ride in St. Marys and they have several theme rides throughout the year. Only negative is there are homesteaders that have been here many, many years, contractors and more active duty than I have ever seen so less sites for travelers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 2015

This is a 5 star CG that will rival any plush resort that cost many times more. Located away from main side, it offers some seclusion on a beautiful lake. Golf course is a bargain and quite the challenge. Excellent bathhouse, community center, running/biking trails, full service base, etc. Camp host was great and went out of his way to make sure that we taken care of. Arrived with no reservations and were given the option of overflow or dry camp. We opted for the dry camp at 5 bucks a night (May as well exercise expensive gennie for real). Internet was excellent, TV reception with antenna was great, and tank drain/flush easily accessible. So far this has been the most organized, efficient, and cost effective CG--this is the bench mark. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2nd 2015 thru April 2nd 2015

Granted, we are first time RV'ers. Been on the road since November on our trip to Eagle Hammock. 4 campgrounds later we have arrived here, to the most pleasant hosts. It's safe, secure, and quiet. My husband and I can't say ENOUGH positive things about this campground. I haven't seen one person that doesn't pick up after their pet and having just started bicycling, haven't seen nor have I ridden on, any gravel drive that is in "desperate" need of repair. Everyone here is so incredibly pleasant. The hosts as well as fellow travelers. VERY helpful. We love it here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
169 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9