Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.1 (81)
128174   0   19   1   32

User reviews

81 reviews

 
(36)
 
(27)
 
(14)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.3  (81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (81)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (81)
Value 
 
4.2  (81)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
81 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
19 & 27 Oct 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.S. left this review using the Directory software: - When all the planned updates are completed this will be a super RV stop, off IS-75. The quietest RV park I have ever found.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 13-14, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory sofwtare: Nice facility....the only problem we saw was where office was compared to campsites..When temps are in 100's it is hard to walk downhill for check in after you find your site. I recommend checking in @ office then when you locate site you can CALL them with site # or they can provide one. Other then that It was restful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 5, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.P. left this review using the Directory software: This campground is great for an overnight stop this time of year. Its clean, plenty of available sites which are spacious, gravel, and level. All the activities listed in other reviews do not happen this time of year. Office personnel were helpful. Take plenty of bug repellent with you as gnats abound.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 2011
(Updated: May 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
BUGS!! This is south Georgia, but even for south Georgia, there are a LOT of bugs in the baths. This is a beautiful place though, and the 2 employees I spoke with on the phone and in person were very nice. Spaces are large and well maintained. Wifi and cable, small fenced toddle/ little kid pool, very nice docks, a few boats that appear to be available for rent, including paddle boats. Gators and snakes likely in the ponds, so I would not want to swim in those. This camp is very close to I-75 and great for a stopover, but we're thinking about a long weekend here to visit a nearby amusement park and wild animal safari. Clubhouse looks fun too, with billiard tables.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2011
(Updated: March 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a welcoming place. Staff and hosts, Becky and Jim, are all really, really, fantastic! Talk about a place where people go out of their way to help you. Lots of planned activities too. Loved the grounds and hook-ups, even in overflow. Cant wait to come back here again. Make sure you get over to drink some of Dewayne's coffee every morning... Great coffee and it's free thanks to the management... Speaking of management, new manager, Michael, is over the top in doing a great job.....Thank you ALL for such a wonderful stay..... The only thing that would make it nicer is a bigger club house....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 12 - 21, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.B. left this review using the Directory software: We were pleasantly surprised and found the camp to be a delightful experience. It is about 40 minutes drive from Moody AFB, but Wal-Mart’s and the city of Valdosta is only a 20 minute drive away. There is a Win Dixie just down the street in Lake Park also. The camp host and staffs were wonderful and there were plenty of activities going on from pot luck supper to a Sunday morning breakfast for five dollars. The proceeds are used for the Thursday evening pot luck. The evening fire in the ring located in center of the camp was delightful also. Most of the campers gathered around the fire to socialize and everyone felt quite at home. We will defiantly go back to Grassy Pond. We felt so much at home and welcome we extended a few nights and were actually sort of sad to leave and move on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
28 - 31 December 2010
(Updated: December 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The set up of the campground is probably the best we have stayed at so far. The sites are spread out so you are not on top of your neighbor and there is plenty of trees so you don't feel like you are in a parking lot like at other parks. The camp host is great and met us at check in and led us to our spot. Our spot was pretty unlevel and the fire pit was full of dirt which is fine but doesn't earn a 5 rating. The community center is nice and is maintained well by the community of campers. The snowbird community there is very nice and welcoming. The campground is conveniently located to I-75 and to Wild Adventures (amusement park/zoo). Only complaints are the lake is still down due to the Dam break but has been fixed and will hopefully be full of water soon; also we were told reservations are not accepted but when we arrived we were told that they are holding some sites (the nice ones) for snowbirds...so no reservations unless you are a regular. Other than that small stuff it is a very very nice campground with a nice staff and community and we plan to return when we can.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 16, 2010
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped for a one night stay en-route to Pelican Roost in Mayport Florida. Had made a phone call and was told to just pick a site for the night but was met by the host as I pulled into the camp and directed to an easy access, pull through site near the clubhouse. Was invited to potluck dinner in clubhouse so I walked down to office, checked in for the night and had a wonder dinner with the folks staying at Grassy Pond. The lake is still down due to the dam bursting during the summer. There are some new trailers around for rentals and the camp itself looked well kept. The new Flying J fuel station at Exit 2 may hurt some with their free overnight stays and a new Denny's restaurant there. Overall enjoyed the stay and the hospitality of the host and campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 20 - 26, 2010
(Updated: December 11, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Not much has changed since our last visit. The dam had broken and was under repair so the pond was very low. My 6 yr old grandson was very disappointed that he couldn't go out in the pontoon boat. Free firewood, friendly crowd, spacious sites, and very quiet. Close to I-75 but about 25 miles from Moody AFB. Civilian stores, fuel, RV dealers, restaurants, outlet mall withing 3 miles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
31 November 2010
(Updated: December 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The main pond's dam had broke during the summer. The dam was being worked on. Many fish was lost. Being from Valdosta and fishing Grassy Pond for many years, this was heartbreaking. Items noted in other reviews will not get fixed until we get a Commander that loves the outdoors. Moody AFB could turn this RV camp into the best RV camp.
JB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 21-22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
G.M. left this review using the Directory software: Sites are well planned to avoid congestion. They were level, large and far enough apart. The staff were friendly. The grounds were well maintained. The only drawback to the place was that during peak season (whenever that is) the inability to make reservations might make it tough.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 7th to 9th, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I was traveling to Florida and took a short break by stopping. I like the rustic campground feel. I had full hook-ups and was under some great trees. The gravel roads and sites did not bother me. The mosquitoes were a bother. The shower rooms and grounds were clean and the park was very quiet. I will be sure to stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14-16 Feb 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Was put in "overflow" location down by the lake with W/E even though some sites were vacant for the duration of our stay. Camp Host was helpful in locating an overflow site giving us a choice of spots. Bath house available however was some distance away and was reasonably clean. Hosts Steve and Melee did do a lot to organize activities such as breakfast on weekends, pot lucks and other social activities in the "Round House." Campgrounds itself was not impressive, roads rough and unlevel gravel sites. I agree with a previous poster that this park seems to generate a lot more funds than are used in upkeep. A lot of FEMA trailers have been set up with satellite TV for each and concrete drives with decks. Some of this attention for the RV park in the form of paved drives and sites would be a BIG plus as would WIFI and cable TV, however I did have my own satellite. One does NOT want to swim in the lake or allow children or pets near the water. Can you say ALLIGATORS? Stayed here in a TT. The Hills.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Dec 27 -30 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I don't know why there's been so many complaints about this campground. I stayed 3 nights between Christmas and New Years and had a great and relaxing time. The property is kept clean and neat and the hosts go way above and beyond to keep it so. The 3 mile nature trail walk was gorgeous. Living in SE Georgia I understand why folks don't want to camp here in the summer. The bugs in our area of the country will eat you alive. This will be my October thru March campground get-away. 16 bucks a night for water, electric and sewer? Try getting that at a KOA. The price is the epitome of "bang for your buck".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec. 27, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Grassy Pond could be one of the best "one nighters or extended stay" campgrounds in GA. Unfortunately, the campground needs a more progress/aggressive management. The RV sites are minimal at best. They have removed the kitchen at the office, that allowed guest to cook together, and any hot foods that they used to serve at the counter. Now their raising the monthly RV site rate to $380.00. I looked at all of the other RV sites in Georgia and the only other military campground that charges this high a rate is Kings Bay. If Grassy Pond had the same standards as Kings Bay, I would gladly pay the $380.00. Kings Bay is on base, has controlled access and base security, close to base facilities, extremely clean, well managed and well maintained. It appears that Moody management wants to suck in the funds that are generated by Grassy Pond for their own slush funds, rather than improve the campground. The only reason I gave four stars for hospitality, is that the on site staff, camp ground volunteers and site host, work wonders with what little they have to work with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 5 to present (2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
In response to the Review of Oct-Dec 2009, I feel compelled to correct some of the slander, presented behind "The Cowardly Cloak of Anonymity". There are many management problems at Grassy Pond, years of promises to pave-over the mud-holes, install cable TV, Enlarge the Club-House, level lots and install working WiFi, have gone unfulfilled. Other than when the hosts Steve and Malee Winans are here, the place is filthy, no repairs are performed and there is no visible effort to maintain or improve the facility. The latest 17% raise in fees, is an unjustified slap in the face to all who have earned the right to use this facility after many years of service. The hosts Steve & Malee are the glue that holds Grassy Pond together, they work 12 hour days cleaning, making coffee, supervising community service workers, organizing pot luck dinners, Sunday breakfasts, greeting and assisting new arrivals, etc., etc. I have never encountered hosts who do so much, for so many, for so little. There have been several instances where dead trees have fallen, causing property damage at Grassy Pond. Steve does provide a valuable service in felling such dangerous trees, and yes, the wood is used by all at the park campfire. Any volunteer help in this important work is always welcome. People come to Grassy Pond for the camaraderie, to meet old friends and to enjoy the Community Spirit, not for the sub-standard facility and not to criticize from behind closed doors. Scotti Reilly
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
Dec 5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Only spent one night, but took a good look around. This is a modern and clean recreation area. All of the staff and Steve, the host, were very friendly. They had a breakfast in the morning and some type of activity going on when we arrived. This rec area has LOTS to do and would be a great place for a family vacation. We didn't have a reservation, but there were a few sites empty.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 2009 - Dec 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Grassy Pond is a conveniently located CG it is not too far from Valdosta for shopping. The base is about 35 minutes away. I have been staying at Grassy Pond a lot in the past. It was very beautiful with a lot of wildlife and friendly people there. There is a chance of Grassy Pond going down hill. The management does not get anything done or fixed properly. The camp host acts like he owns the CG and just cuts down the trees for firewood for the winter as mentioned in previous post that the CG supplies wood for fire 24/7 all winter, claiming to be taking down dangerous trees. My opinion is that if a tree has a dead limb then cut the limb off do not take the whole tree down. There have been quite a lot of trees taken down this winter. I have witnessed some of these trees being taken down in a very unsafe manner putting lives of campers as well as other civilians helping out at risk. When a camp host begins to put camper against camper because of his own unsafe actions a replacement of camp host should be in order. I would like to see more professionalism at Grassy Pond both from staff and camp host.I am ashamed that the actions of grown adults that have served our country can revert back to act like children. God bless you all happy trail.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
Sept. 1 - 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at Grassy Pond for our first time this year. Loved the lillies, critters and wonderful people. We road on the peddle boats, took lots of pictures. The best thing in the whole place was we had electricity in our tent and didn't have to pay RV prices. We will be coming back it was a cool place to put up a tent, put up my feet and stay awhile, full activities in the winter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
SHELBY, WHO WORKS IN THE OFFICE GOES OUT OF HER WAY TO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED. TOO MANY TREES FOR SATELLITE AND NO CABLE BUT THE ANTENNA WORKED WELL. WI-FI WORKED AT THE FARTHEST SITE. WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
81 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5