Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
133278 0 19 1 32

User reviews

83 reviews

 
(36)
 
(28)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.3  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (83)
Value 
 
4.2  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Sept. 1 - 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at Grassy Pond for our first time this year. Loved the lillies, critters and wonderful people. We road on the peddle boats, took lots of pictures. The best thing in the whole place was we had electricity in our tent and didn't have to pay RV prices. We will be coming back it was a cool place to put up a tent, put up my feet and stay awhile, full activities in the winter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
SHELBY, WHO WORKS IN THE OFFICE GOES OUT OF HER WAY TO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED. TOO MANY TREES FOR SATELLITE AND NO CABLE BUT THE ANTENNA WORKED WELL. WI-FI WORKED AT THE FARTHEST SITE. WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Grassy Pond - that should give it away right there. Mosquitoes live here in abundance. We lived in GA for 15+ years and know mosquitoes, but this place breeds the largest. It really is a nice place, especially if you like to fish. Very quiet at night and close town and many places to eat. Good distance from Moody AF Base.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
19 Feb-22 Feb 2009
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I agree with all the positive comments from the previous reviews. I agree it is a bit far from Moody, but Wal-mart and Sams club about 10 miles away...Ok country miles. FAM Camp needs to put some money into this area. They are spending tens of thousands on FEMA trailers (single wides) for rentals. The campground needs to improve an the roads in the camp ground area. We stayed at the pavilion area over looking the lake ..Beautiful views. Great fishing too.!! The host was superb, met us and helped us to the temp, site. TV reception is good, providing you have a HD/Digital tv antenna..good sat. signal from our area, clear shot at the southern ski, but not all sites and temp area are like that. Wi/fi connected great..Strong signal and no problems. Over-all great place. I would come back.. Moody needs to look at this treasure chest that they have here and just put some new money into the CG and it would go to five star fast. Just a bit more money!!! Something for practical hook up and some road improvements around the sites would do wonders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1992 TO 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WE HAVE BEEN COMING TO GP SINCE 1992 AND SEEN IT GROW AND MAKE IMPROVEMENTS YEARLY. IT IS A SUPER NICE CLEAN SAFE PARK. VERY FRIENDLY ORIENTED. SPACES ARE NICELY LOCATED. THE MANAGER IS EXCELLENT AND DOES HIS BEST TO MAKE YOU COMFORTABLE IN HIS GOOD OLE SOUTHERN STYLE. THE ONLY PROBLEM HE HAS IS FIGHTING THE UPPER MANAGEMENT IN GETTING FUNDING TO COMPLETE THE MANY IMPROVEMENTS HE IS TRYING TO IMPLEMENT IE; ADDITIONAL SITES, UPDATING/ENLARGING ACTIVITY BLDG FOR THE CAMPERS USE. OVERALL HE DOES A TREMENDOUS JOB KEEPING PEOPLE HAPPY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 23 - Dec 27, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The "homesteaders" trailers mentioned by an earlier poster are actually MWR rentals scattered throughout the park. In the summer they are all placed on the front row of the main (treed) side of the campground. I was in space #23 and got satellite reception with my automatic dish by turning on the TV and receiver as I entered the park and could still get a picture. I then backed up and moved around a bit on the site until it locked on thru the trees. That process might not work on every site but worth a try. While out in the boonies from Valdosta and far from Moody AFB, still a nice spot that I will use when in the area. Very quiet all the time. No freeway noise from I-75 about a mile away.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17-20 November 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Very nice campground. Staff was very friendly. A little too far from Moody, but plenty of shopping in Valdosta, about 12 miles away. Brand new washers and dryers a week before I got there. A little misleading though. Slots marked for coin only had three marked so you would think 75 cents per load. Wrong. $1 wash, $1.25 dry. Still not too bad. This seemed to be a good destination and many campers were there for the winter. I was in site 38. Verizon cell phone and internet worked very well. Dish also worked very well. I guess if you stay on the other side where most of the campers are, you would not be able to use Dish. In that part, campers quite close together. On the side I was on, plenty of room between sites. Not all had fire rings. Small concrete patio and picnic table.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 1-12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent 11 nights here and enjoyed every minute of it. The host Steve and Molly are always there with help when needed and serve the campers well. Everyone here this winter was friendly and nice people. There is a campfire burning all of the time 24-7 and all of the firewood is provided by the campground. They have some 30 amp and some 50 amp. service. It is quite and have a least one pot luck a week and some times two. They never turn anyone away without offering them someplace to park for the night. The lakes here have a lot of catfish and bass. I will stay again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 22 - Jan 3, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As previous postings have indicated, this MCG has to be in top 1% of them all. This is the absolutely best campground I have stayed at thus far. Staff is Great, Steve the host was very helpful with local information and also putting us on a great site...The only detraction was the lack of WIFI or high speed internet access and that the lot we were put in, had a huge Mercury Light with no OFF or ON Switch. Made night sleeping a bit difficult. The Christmas day pitch in was terrific as well as the New Year's Eve and Day festivities. This campground is tops in my book and will surely stay there again...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 14, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great campground, convenient to I-75 that we use quite often when leaving Florida. It has two nice lakes with a 3 mile trail around Grassy Pond Lake and a playground for the kids. The office has a very small store with basic items and they sell annual GA fishing licenses as well as 1 & 7 day licenses. Our verizon air card worked great and we picked up about 5 stations with the crank-up antenna. Overall a great place to stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There are two CG areas on either side of the main road. We stayed in the smaller of the two. The sites were very clean and level even though they were gravel. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local attractions. The CG is within 5 min. driving distance of Wild Adventures. The lake at the CG is very well maintained with nice docks and a deck overlooking it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As previously noted, easy on/off to I-75 for quick overnight stay. Nice park with 50 amp full hookup, level parking, concrete patio area, aluminum picnic table, good satellite, poor Verizon internet (roaming)hilly terrain overlooking the lake. Down-fall, gravel road but maintained. Quite, peaceful park. Little grass, mostly dirt/weeds but mowed. Hostess was very friendly. We will stay again each time we come/go from our home state, Florida. We camped in a 40' motorhome.
JL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
12-13 Mar 07
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a friendly, rural Famcamp. Very quiet, rustic, scenic area. Sites in wooded area may not be level and preclude satellite reception. The sites across the street in open area seem better, but sacrifice the wooded ambiance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
March 15th and April 5th, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great location and easy to get to and quiet. We used it for a stop in-route to our destination of West Palm Beach, FL both going and returning home. Even though we stayed only one night each trip we took our young boys, 9 and 5, on walks down the trail to see a Eagle's nest and were able to see them in flight while out on the pond in a motor boat. There is also a resident Peacock that roams around office/recreation building down by the pond. The campsite was clean and so were the bathrooms. The boating was a great oppourtuity to have our nine year old learn about boating etiquette and have some fun by stearing the outboard motor. It was a great father/son thing at a low cost. The only thing I missed was having a Wi-Fi connection. We'd stop again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Mar 5, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very convenient location to the interstate. Excellent choice for an overnight stop over. We arrived late afternoon and host was very nice and quickly found us a pull through for the night...actually he placed us next to an empty boy scout cabin (w/electric and water) right close to the club house ...with excellent view of the lake and boat ramp. Cost was little to nothing for the night. Nice folks with military families in mind. As a side note: They cook and serve a full hot breakfast buffet at the club house on Sunday morning at 9:00 sharp for $4.00 dollars a head...there were some mighty big sea stories being told passed around at that time too I bet!! Now you can't beat that can you. We will visit again on our next trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 2007
(Updated: February 14, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Mostly people staying here seem to be parked for months at a time, kinda cluttered and run down looking. The most sites need maintenance. It appears that someone has tried to get a phone system installed, but lots of wire just laying around not hooked up to anything. Mosts sites in the main area are 30 amp. There is 50 amp available on the other side of the road from the main campground - but it appears everyone there is homesteading their spots. "Some" sites have a hookup to a TV antenna located near the restrooms. This is not cable system - just over the air broadcast. Reception is very poor when connected to this system. There is almost no grass at any of the sites on the interior of the loop - mostly just sand. Our site was not level - almost needed to raise the front wheels of our motorhome off the ground to get level. I called in advance to get information about this campground. I was told when I arrived just to see the campground host at site 15. When we arrived at the campground there was a sign directing you to the campground host at site 15 - BUT there is NO site 15! I did finally find someone to ask where the host was located, but he wasn't sure who the host was. I did finally find (at the community fire pit) the wife of the host, but she was totally clueless as to what was available and told me there where not any 50 amp sites in the main campground. I walked around looking for empty sites - found 3 - one site did have 50 amp. Over all not impressed. I doubt we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jan 26-31, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice place to just stop or spend some time. Though there are not a lot of site, they work to find room for anyone stopping. Some folks stay all winter! There are things to do in the area and a nice 3 mile hike around the lake. As others have noted, the base (Moody AFB) is about 25 miles northeast of the campground.
JS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 Nov.06 /23 Feb 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I Lov it.Tho rustic, it's quite, has no road noise & UR left alone to do what U want. But at the same time the people are great. The Base is almost a straight shot, (5 right hand turn's, to inc. the one out of the campsite's & the one into the base). Also my miles to there were/are 24. Rt out of the C/G to the 2nd stop sign, Rt. for (about) 500 ft, Rt, ontp inter Perimeter Rd. for about 6 lite's Rt. (sign for Moody at lite) for about5 or 6 lites (about 5 mi or so) rt into the base. I WILL return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jul 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The campground is much improved since our last visit. Very clean, well maintained with separate showers for the additional sites across the road. Personnel extremely friendly & courteous. Glad we gave it another chance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice treed c/g. There's a pool, boat rentals, big clubhouse. Lots of card playing etc. at night. It's at Exit 5 at Lake Park, which has huge Outlet Mall. Lots of activity at this exit but at the c/g it's quiet, though you're only few minutes from I-75. I'd like to stay a few weeks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
83 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5