Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.1 (79)
113898   0   19   1   31

User reviews

33 reviews with 5 stars

79 reviews

 
(36)
 
(27)
 
(13)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (79)
 
3.8  (79)
 
4.3  (79)
 
4.1  (79)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 March 2018

We stopped here for the first time as a staging stop on our way to the FMCA Rally in Perry. Even though, many of the previous comments were on the negative side, I don't let others influence whether we stop or not. It is our own judgment whether we STAY long or not. And, we happy to report that we not only stayed our full two weeks but we'll also be coming back next year. As to the "negative Nellies", just want to add, it's all about economics. If management hadn't opened up to public at higher prices and more nites stayed they'd have to have closed the facility. Then what would be said about that! For the two weeks we stayed, never saw the place totally full. So come on in an enjoy a very nice FAMCAMP that has all that your used to having. It's not far from the I-75, yet very quiet. FHU sites! good fishing that free if you're over 65! We were parked in space 32 in the open with great satellite sighting. The office also has ice cream, soda, beer and candy for sale. When we needed to do our clothes washing, the machines worked great, at $1 per load, dryers worked great at $1.25, too. Nick, in the office taught me, between other customers, how to fish this difficult lake. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 28, 2018

Unlike many RVers, I'm thrilled to find a famcamp that will allow tent campers someplace to enjoy OUR military benefits too. Pricing is great, facilities were good except the campground bath house is closed due to a failed septic system. Had to use the RV park bath house for everything. They're working on it, but it may be a while for repairs to complete. The view from the campsite was outstanding! I had electricity in the tent to charge my phone and laptop, but the wifi was sporadic. No biggie, I tethered my cell phone (ATT) and pressed on with my web work. Stop in, be pleasantly surprised and taken care of by the easy to work with staff at the office. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 7 - Jun 7, 2016

Nice park, clean well maintained,  Monday thru fri very quiet, weekends more crowded but still very quiet.campground always had open spaces,wifi works.over the air tv is good,host is good helpful. we will see how memorial day weekend is,I expect a large party.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 - 18 January 2016

Very impressed with Grassy Pond overall! We rented a 2-bedroom cabin for $55 a night (military rate) & our friends had an RV spot. All areas were very clean & well-maintained. Our cabin was spacious & was alot more than we expected from what you normally get in a "cabin" at FamCamps. The RV spot was in a nice location, too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2015

Stopped in Grassy Pond Fam Camp last winter. The facilities have improved. Nice place. Nice lake with boats, walking path etc. Thank God they ran the homesteaders out of there. The homesteaders were there starting to run the place. OR should we say "ruin the place." That is what happens when you have people stay long term homesteading. They start to think they are above the rules and the place belongs to them. Hats off to who ever made the decision to have this group of homesteaders move on. Ran them out. THANK GOD! Now we see Grassy Pond is open to the general public. Folks the general public has been sneaking in Grassy Pond for years. One time I had some civilian woman and her kids set up their stuff on OUR table outside of OUR RV. We told her to move on. I don't mind civilian visitors. To a point. If these people want to use a military facility so bad then raise their right arm and JOIN up. Serve and go places where civilians don't want to go to. Nope they want military benefits without serving. This is not right. All of us need to write to the command and Moody AFB and let the command know we served. These local civilians did not serve. What happened to the days of a military facility being there to support the troops/airmen/saliors and retirees? Guess those days went away when MWR needed to make a buck. IMHO it is WRONG to let civilians in to the FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 27, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 21-24, 2015

We spent three nights at Grassy Pond to break up the drive from Kings Bay Sub Base in St. Marys, GA to Blue Angel Naval Rec. Area in Pensacola, FL. It was our first time to visit this campground. We loved the rustic setting. We had a spacious, shady pull-thru site with FHUs and 50 amps. Our phone, MiFi, and TV antenna (no satellite dish) worked well. The cable TV wasn't operable, our only minor complaint with this campground. The restrooms, laundry room, and activity room were spotless. Even on the weekend the CG was only 2/3 full. Half a dozen sites appear to be occupied by seasonal residents. The CG host was very helpful and friendly. He told us that the CG was losing money and that's why it was opened to the public in January. However, very few civilians have stayed overnight so far, even on weekends, although many locals like to fish on the lake just down the hill. We enjoyed walking with our dogs on four miles of mostly well-groomed, shaded hiking trails through the forest and wetlands around the two lakes and there were plenty of places for us to ride our bikes on nearby country roads and beautiful residential streets in Cypress Lakes Estates, Don't be deterred by the fact that this campground is now open to the public -- it's a very nice, rustic place to relax, fish, hike, etc. and quite convenient if you're headed north or south on I-75.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24-26 Oct 14

Just spent the weekend at Grassy Pond. There's a spot to stop at where the camp host will come out & check you in. You can go to the office later & take care of your bill. Beautiful setting under the trees. It was late October but the mosquitoes were still VICIOUS! Make sure you have repellent with you. Please know that the actual base is about 27 miles away. Grassy Pond is a great place to plan to stop if you need an overnight off of I-75. We have an easy time of getting in to the Shell station when we come off the interstate - fill up & drive on to Grassy Pond. This time we decided to stay longer & take advantage of the rec area. There are boats available for rent; great deck behind the office; community fire ring up at the rv area. Nice clubhouse too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2014

Pulled in early evening. The place was completely silent, barely anyone around. A few campers around a few sites. Nice place. A good spot between Charleston SC and Pensacola FL.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2014

This is our first experience work an rv we purchased recently. We live near Moody afb so figured close would be great in case we forget something. Easy access and hook up, lots of shade, feels private,nice laundry ($1 wash & $1.25 dry)/shower/community room facility. Fishing pond with boat rentals. The office closes at 5pm so if you come in later there is a sign when you drive in to just pick a spot and check in at the office by 10 am the next morning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 27-29, 2014

This has to be the easiest setup we have ever experienced in our rig. Directions listed above are perfect. We drove up, turned into the driveway, drove about four spaces in, and found that site #16 (as many others) had an ENORMOUS drive through with concrete patio and full hookups. Drove in, left toad attached, and we were even pointed in the right direction to drive out. Check in was fast and efficient, great $20 rate, too. Would definitely recommend.

Grassy Pond 1
Grassy Pond 2
Grassy Pond entry
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2014

This park is perfect for an overnight stop when traveling I-75. They do take reservations. However, pay no attention to the Site # that is supposedly reserved for you. We arrived after office hours & were headed for the site that we had been given when we made the reservation. Luckily, one of the maintenance people stopped us. He thought we were headed to the office. We told him the site that we had reserved. He then told us that spot was taken & explained that it really is first come to the sites. Luckily, there were several pull thru sites open. This park is a great setting for water recreation. It is not near the base, but is set for getting away with easy access. There is a Cracker Barrel nearby. We ate dinner at a local place called Farm House. We would recommend it. It's on the other side of the interstate but easy to get to. We will definitely stay here again as it does break up our trip going to Florida. We'll make sure to get to the park earlier so we know that pull-thrus will be available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 01, 2014

This campground is a gem! Very quiet and rustic. Lots of Spanish Moss hanging from trees and beautiful 3 mile nature trail. There are a pair of nesting eagles on site and several large owls. The Lake is wonderful (hard to catch fish though) but great to sit on the docks and just have a cup of coffee. This is a nature lover's paradise! The community center is newly remodeled and beautiful. The manager is very pleasant and works hard to make guests feel welcome. Of course you always get a few who do nothing but complain around the campfire but really couldn't see what their problems were. Staff tried to be helpful and the place was very clean and well maintained. Manager obviously has the base engaged (new construction going on down in the main park while I was there). Will definitely be back next time through. Rumors about time limits are true and false. As long as campground is not at 100% capacity, manager works around your needs. As with most military campgrounds, if they fill up and have a waiting list, then he told me he will have to enforce the 60 day limit, but everyone I talked to said that hasn't been a problem in the last 2 seasons. Great place to stop over for a few days, few weeks, or few months. Better than being in the snow and ice!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-20 Dec 2013

This is our time at this CG and again were very pleased with our stay. Stayed in main camping area this time, gravel, dry and level site. Water, sewer, power 30/50 amp, CATV and WIFI available with good signal at our site, the closer you get to community center the better the signal. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained, shower was good and hot in the new bath. The Community Room is open 8:30 to 5 and does not appear to be used much. There are a few docks on the lake and a nice concrete boat ramp. Valdosta is about 15 minutes away and the Florida state line is about 10, Moody AFB is another 10 to 15 minutes past Valdosta off I-75. Wal Mart is about 15 miles. There is a 3 mile trail around the lake which is a nice walk but this time of year the trail is covered with leaves and the covered roots can trip or twist ankles, I recommend using hiking shoes for ankle support and take your time. Loved our visit and will visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 25 - June 1, 2013

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - This campground has been totally updated and is a place to stay and unwind. As stated before there is a children's pool but they have now added a mushroom-looking water system that showers down into the pool. There are lounge chairs around the pool for watching young ones. A wonderful playground. It is just about empty and I don't understand it. There are two trailers, 1 tent and 2 motorhomes. It seems like a heavenly place for families to come. We were here over Memorial Day and it was still nearly empty. Just a couple miles off I-75 and so easy for North or South travel. They have put a lot of money in this place and people are not using it as I would think. It is a shame. Be sure to visit on your way up I-75 or South I-75. This is our 2nd time here and we've seen such a difference. We will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 31, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 May 2013

This was our second stay at Grassy Pond in the last two months. It is a real gem! Easy to get to, great location, lots of shade trees, and large spaces. We will definitely come back here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 January - 5 February 2013

This is our first time visiting this campgroud but it will not be our last. The campground is clean and well maintained by the staff.I understand this campground use to be full of homesteaders but they are gone and there is now a 60 day stay limit. The campground is currently undergoing several renovations that should be done in 60 - 90 days. There are plenty of good eating places in the area. PX, commissary, wal-mart, etc are all within about 30 minutes of the campground. If you are looking for a nice quiet leisure place to visit I would deffinetly recommend this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec. 29, 2012

Very nice site. It was too cold for us to wander, but there's a nature hike and the hills look like good bike riding :) No open campfires, but the sites are nice and clean, and have a bbq. My only complaint, and it's tiny, is that there were not enough hooks in the shower area to hang your clothes. Otherwise, the facilities were great. Looking forward to coming back in the spring!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 4-8, 2012

Easy to find the campground off I-75. There were no signs to the office where we were supposed to check in but we figured it out. We unhooked our towed car and found after we did that there is a turn around in the parking lot near the office. Not very convenient but no big deal. The campground was very well maintained with grass mowed and camp sites in good order. We wanted to use our in-motion satellite for TV and moved to an open site which they accommodated for us. We enjoyed a hike around the lake on the Nature Trail near the campground. The laundry was small but has two washers and four dryers at $1 and $1.25 a load. We camped in a 40' MH and will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 - 29 January 2012

Stayed here 2 weeks. I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don't. Well, I like this famcamp! Very quite and peaceful. Had full hookups (water, sewer, elec, cable,). Wifi located near office. Had a lot of snowbirds here, but they keep some sites for short term stays. Host always had something going on to keep you entertained. Shopping & dining out close by. The base is actually about 20 miles away. Will certainly come here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2011

My wife, my grandchildren and I spent Thanksgiving weekend at Grassy Pond Campground. We only live 60 miles from Grassy Pond in North Florida. I am so glad they now take reservations as that has been a drawback that has prevented us from staying here in the past. Upon arrival the Campground Host directed us to our site and assisted me in backing into the site. Grassy Pond Recreation Area is very clean and the staff members were very friendly. It is a very short drive to Wild Adventures Theme and Animal Park. Our grandchildren had an outstanding time. We look forward to many more visits in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
33 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2