Leitner Lake Recreation Area

New
 
4.2 (11)
47046   1   18   0   12

User reviews

6 reviews with 5 stars

11 reviews

 
(6)
 
(3)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.2  (11)
 
3.7  (11)
 
4.6  (11)
 
4.2  (11)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 25- Sept 2, 2016

This is one nice place. Yes its a log way back from Gate 1, but not to bad for gate 5. there is a gas station asd shoppette at gate 5 as well as gate one. Remote, Quiet, small, clean, friendly, FREE Laundry. instructions drive in find spot park RV got back to TASC tell them how long you want to stay and pay the bill. everyone in the process was professional and friendly. I called TSAC on way in to town asked if any empty spots he checked reg book told me how many were open so no wasted trip to camp. therer were 4-5 vacent sites for our entire sty, in fact beeing a Holiday weekend with good forcast i was surprised that I was the only new arrival during this time. really nice place. Camp host meet me on way in gave me rulse said pick what you want. Only thing I did not know before i got there was the possibility of alligators, sign posted at entrance to park, but we did not see or hear any. will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

01 March - 26 December 2013

This Camp site was a well kept secret for several years. Now word is out that this is a great place to visit. We met the Camp Host who is great, just follow the rules. Much like most military installations, the WMR is run by non-prior civilians. Everyone has to try to follow the rules even if they don't make sense. This is a very friendly camp, several are Active Duty, some are DOD workers, and there are many Retirees. Yes, you can boat on the lake, no boat stamp for boats with just oars, if you use an electric motor the better have the boat registered. Please check it out, my wife and I love it there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2012

We are currently camping at Lake Leitner as civilian relatives of a military family stationed here at Fort Gordon. When we arrived there were only about three available sites, and we believe that many of the sites are occupied by long-term residents who stay for months at a time. Sites are paved, level and spacious, the shower house is very nice, and our site is adjacent to the beautiful lake. The rate per night is now $18, or $12 for seniors (62 and above). Making payment for camping here is inconvenient since there are no written instructions at the campground, and no self-pay station, and although there is a camp host here, he has a day job and we did not cross paths until we had been here several nights. By then we had finally reached someone at the TASC (Tactical Advantage Sportsman’s Complex) who said payments should be made there. The TASC is open until 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and closes earlier on Saturdays and Sundays. The TASC phone numbers are (706) 791-5078/3317. It is at least 20 minutes between the TASC and the campground since the more direct route is blocked long-term. To get to the TASC, go to the 4-way stop where Range Road, North Range Road, and 25th Street intersect, then head south on Range Road past the Gordon Lakes Golf Course. Turn west on Carter Road and follow the TASC signs. The coordinates of the TASC are: N 33 degrees 25.232’, W082 degrees 07.348’. As for cell phone, our daughter's Verizon works fine here. Our TracFone does not work at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 19, 2012

Great place for our three day stay. Whoever designed the sites knew about RVing. The facilities were fairly new, clean, and well kept. It was quiet while we were there but is close to the base ranges so I assume it could be noisy at times. Mike, the camp host, was very helpful and easy to talk to. He works on base so might not be there during duty hours. The only problem is how to make payment. We were there during a holiday weekend and left a check on Mike's door. A map to the ITT office would be helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Septembr 28 - November 30, 2011

What a great RV campground! The lake is beautiful ... the sites are outstanding ... and the amenities in the campground are great ... except ... The telephone service is almost non-existent at the campground ... we had Virgin Mobile with nothing. Others had Verizon, T-Mobile and nothing. Our MIFI was also very weak at the campground. Funny story, we had to make a phone call one night and drove up to the firing range. While on the phone, a security police approached us and thought my wife and I were up to something! The PX and Commissary is 11 miles away ... the other distraction for us. But, if you are looking for peace and quiet (with no phone calls), this is it. Free laundry, too! Overall, we will return on our way North next year ... even with the distractors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 26, 2011

I work for Fort Gordon Outdoor Recreation. I have overseen some of the renovations and the place looks fantastic! The park will be open in just a few weeks. We are finishing up some small things such as putting in grills and fire rings. The new complex will have a shower house and laundry facility. We have trailer spaces available for rent with full hook ups. They will be available on first come first serve basis. We will also have a few rental trailers out there for those of you without one. They will also be available on a first come first serve basis. We also have spaces for primitive camping. For pricing and more information call Outdoor Recreation at (706) 791-5078

Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6