Pointes West Recreation Area

Pointes West Army Resort

 
4.2 (46)
69259   1   19   3   29

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

46 reviews

 
(24)
 
(15)
 
(4)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (46)
 
3.9  (46)
 
4.5  (46)
 
4.2  (46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 1-5, 2017

This is a beautiful campground! It actually consists of multiple small camping areas, including an RV park which has rental campers and a few additional open sites (which appeared to be pull in, back out judging from the position of the hookups). Each Area is located on the water: there are dozens of small peninsulas where sites can be positioned to get good views all around! Not all areas have hookups, however. We noticed that some Areas had concrete tables; some even had concrete patio pads. The main roads are asphalt, with gravel/dirt driveways into camping areas. We were in Area 4 which seemed a little more worn than some of the other areas. It was relatively small (maybe 12-15 sites?) so would be an nice setting for several families camping together. We were in the only pull-through site -- which was right on the roadside leaving little "yard" area. There was a fire ring, grill and picnic table (wood picnic tables had seen better days) but the steep bank made it difficult to get the picnic table level without it being right up against the camper. Also could not see the water views from the front side of the camper facing the road and had to set up our chairs on the "sewer" side of the rig. Area 4 was also a little difficult to maneuver through for larger rigs since the road was a fairly tight circle with steep entrance. Most campers in that area appeared to be around 30' or so, pull behinds. We did see one motor home on the roadside site (which was a little larger than the other sites). There appeared to be some washout of gravel further down into the sites and I wondered if there may have been some earlier flood damage. However, we had full hookups with everything working as it should, grass was cut and area was clean with trash cans at each site and trash pickup. For the price, it was still the best deal around but you may want to check out some of the other areas. The overall landscape has lots of open shore areas (no swimming signs posted) for fishing, etc. and the wooded areas have been thinned out so there are plenty of spaces for walking. Also picnic areas scattered around were nice. Conference center, playground, marina, picnic shelters and green areas were new looking and all well maintained. There is something for everyone here and little towns located within 15-20 minute drive. The guard house was unmanned and we were never stopped or asked for ID other than at check-in (at the Lodge as one enters the resort). If you are a water lover, this is the place for you! Gorgeous views, with places for your boat (and storage area for your camper). Bottom line: It is a great value at the price given; with the additional senior discount, it is a steal!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 18 - 23, 2013

We arrived planning to stay a few days. This time of the year, the area was quiet and calm. We decided to extend a couple more days. Very nice recreation area, with plenty of picnic and camping sites spread out. While not a fancy RV Park, it is a great outdoor recreation area. We had some problems fitting our 40' motor home into the site assigned, but they gladly let us move to another site nearby. I agree with other posters that they could have a couple signs along the entrance road pointing to the lodge. We easily found the lodge, but did start wondering if we had passed it. The lodge isn't near the entrance gate. Everyone working here was fantastic and very kind. We got the senior discount, which makes this a fantastic value. We wish all military campgrounds were fair on their pricing like here. A little out of town, but located on a beautiful lake. Great for this type of camping. Pointes West Recreation Area is on our list to return to!

FHU Site 2L
The lake behind our site.
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 17-20, 2012

We stayed three days and got a great campsite. We were right on the water and had a campfire. The staff had cut firewood stacked nearby which was a nice touch. The campground had been recently mowed and the grounds were in great shape. The lake was down but we saw a few boaters and fishermen and saw a guy catch a big one 100 yards away. The laundry is good although it is ways from the campground. Plenty of parking and a good turn around point for checking in before heading to the assigned campsite. My Verizon Mifi worked fine. My AT&T did not work. The campground is 35 miles away from Augusta and Fort Gordon so it takes a while to get there. We went downtown to the Visitor Center and played golf at Fort Gordon one day. The golf course is a real gem and was in great shape. We camped in a 40' MH.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2, 2012

R.M. left this review using the Directory software: - The laundry facilities (2 washers & 2 dryers) at 50 cents each; however wear flip flops as the washers overflow water all over the floor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6-8 April 2012

Had a real good stay on our first attempt at RV'ing. Rented canoes for $3 an hour, had a fire ring and lots of firewood available. We had a full hookup at the site, and the kids could walk down and fish from where we could see them. They didn't catch anything, but that is probably just using the wrong bait. No cell phone 3G service (did get AT&T EDGE, so it was a bit slow, but doable). It is a bit of a drive if you want to get something to eat or go to a grocery store. The staff was very helpful and we were pleased with how well the site was kept up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3 Mar 2012

Decent facilities, clean, well stocked bathrooms. Sites range from good size to small. Not all sites suitable for longer RV. Main roads are paved but drives leading into camp sites are gravel/dirt and can get dusty or muddy depending on weather. Tents mixed in with RV's on full hook up sites but lots of sites available this time of year. There was firewood stacked up at each camping area, looked to be 9 separate areas for camping, water view from a lot of the sites. There is a small camp store, don't expect much, looked quite bare considering the number of camp sites, cabins and rental RV's available. They do rent boats, canoes and other recreational items. Overall a good CG and only about 30 minutes from Augusta.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 7, 2011

Just did an overnight here on my way to Florida. This is a beautiful campground. I asked for a pull thru site and they assigned me one that was back in. After maneuvering around the trees into the site I find out that the electric, water and sewer connections had been installed on the wrong side of the campsite as if it were a pull thru. However, they told me I could pick any site if that one did not work. The campground is not really big rig friendly but I did manage to get it. At $12 a night and the beautiful area I would say this is a great campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2011

First time visiting this campground and let me start by saying if you are into boating this is the place for you. After arriving we were placed in a site way too small for my trailer (34ft.) went back to office and given a second site, still too small. went back a third time and was went to area # 2, 90% of the sites had cars and trucks parked in it with boat trailers and they were all camping spots, several had tents in a full hook up site; had to settle for a site way in the front just so I can get into one. Now..took a ride around the entire place, not too clean, most of the tent sites had trash on the ground, grass uncut, my site had trash on the ground also. The saving factor was the price, very good for such a large park, and it is very quiet. Would I return to this campground? most likely not....

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 10, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec.8, 2010

Only complaint is that it is far away from I20, but I didn't research it good enough for a 1 night stay in route somewhere else. This camp is great for someone that likes fishing and just the outdoors. The big lake is almost at your front door. If you have lots of time to just relax or fish, this is the place. When I have more time to stay I will be back, just not for 1 night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 6, 2010

R.J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Very nice resort. With discount it was only $12.00/night. The scenery around the lake is wonderful. Very quit and VERY clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 19 - 23, 2010

A pretty nice place. We didn't really take advantage of the facilities as it was just too hot & humid! Our oldest son is stationed at Ft. Gordon, so we spent all our time in AC! Our grandson enjoyed the "beach" at the lake. I saw the golf course on base & while it was just too humid for this desert rat to play it, it looked like a really nice one! The RV sites are "ok" & there are a lot of them & NOW that they TAKE RESERVATIONS, highly utilized! Thankfully when I called early on the 19th they had 2 sites left which I gladly gave them a credit card # to reserve one! It was a wooded one, in section 3, but no satellite capability because of the tall & thick pine trees. The next day a few weekend warriors left & I was able to get a more open site in section 2 over looking the lake. I noticed that a lot of sites were reserved for 30 days, but no one utilizing them. It seemed that they were weekend warriors wanting to make sure they had a site for the weekends. It can be a bummer for "us" retirees, but the Fam Camp gets the "bucks" for the entire 30 days! We will go back for several more visits as our son will be at Ft. Gordon for several yrs, but NOT in the summer!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 31 - Feb 1, 2010

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Sites are dirt, some are pullthru, almost level. Roads in camping areas are mostly dirt good to fair condition. Other roads are paved in good condition. At site 3H I had to use my 50 amp pigtail adapter because the 30 amp receptacle was installed upside down.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 2008

Posting this a little late, but we stayed at Pointes West in September 2008. The water was low, but it was still a beautiful place. The staff and hosts were very friendly and accommodating. We did have one issue after some heavy rain, we had an ant infestation looking for higher ground, but that could happen anywhere. One thing to watch out for are the skunks. In the evening, one wanted to join our camp, luckily he was easily scared off. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2008

H.W. left this review using the Directory software: Area 2 seems to be the best for rv's as it has great views of the lake. So, so friendly staff, but will answer questions if you have any. Fairly clean campground with a small gas station restaurant just outside the facility. Will possibly stay here again, but did enjoy the wildlife (saw a bald eagle swoop down and grab a fish in front of our site).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 28, 2006

Stopped here over New Year and stayed in Area #2, site I. We found the view of lake lovely and bath house spotless.The sharp right angle site are an issue with 5th wheel if the place was full, 9 sites filled when we were there. Sites on the left seemed slightly longer, tables were more level. Fire rings at most of the sites in area #2. Nice playground and Beach area about a mile from area #2. We met such nice people at the lodge and swapped out some books.Lodge has a small store with basic stuff, one washing machine and dryer behind store. Will come again, without the rain.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2006

Very good military facility. Super clean restroom. Friendly staff. Good gravel sites. Would stay here again and again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 16