Pointes West Recreation Area

Pointes West Army Resort

 
4.2 (46)
69259   1   19   3   29

User reviews

22 reviews with 5 stars

46 reviews

 
(24)
 
(15)
 
(4)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (46)
 
3.9  (46)
 
4.5  (46)
 
4.2  (46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 16-18, 2016

This was our first visit to this resort. The area was very nice. We stayed in one of the cabins which had a large deck over looking the lake. The cabin had two bedrooms and one bathrooms which we had to share. The TV in the cabin was very small, I wish it could have been bigger. Overall we had a wonderful time and will be back for our anniversary in March 2017. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 17-21, 2016

Well I came back.  Its still one heck of a place.  Location Location Location!  asked for spot in campground 4 and 7.  my son and a friend wanted to tent camp and these two areas are close to each other.  In campground 4 I found another beautiful spot.  It appears that the grounds keeping and maintenance staff have been steadily working since my last visit.  It is noticeable and appreciated, these folks work hard to keep this place in working order.  I had very good time, checkin easy no problems.  will be back.   If you are in this area of GA or SC, you should stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 9-13, 2016

This facility is full of contradictions.  At first look its a fantastic park.  The Staff is more than helpful.  I was initially assigned a spot in campground #2,  I arrived just minutes before the office closed and checkin was done without any problem, front desk very polite.  I went to my site, found two large holes in gravel pad, appears that a dully dug up the area during a particularly wet time.  the pile of disturbed gravel and the holes combined would make it impossible to get in the site.  I returned to the office after they had officially closed but before anyone had actually left.  I explained my problems with my site and requested another.  The Staff individual sat down and found me an alternate site, He went over and above what I have found at other places after closing.  The alternate site was a pull thru and its location is fantastic, I could not have asked for a better site. Now the bad. bath house, looks great is new, but not well maintained, only one of the two showers had a shower head.  NO HOT WATER.  mud dirt and mold visible. Laundry, only 2 washers and 2 dryers, room is moldy has been and in fact did flood while washers in operation.  so poor pluming, drainage, and /or up keep.  It appears that the ARMY spent considerable funds to update and set up this camp, but then did not provide the resources to maintain it properly. So appearance 5 stars, this is a beautiful camp.  Helpful office staff 5 stars, they could have told me to bad we are closed but did not, instead they worked out a solution that was better than the original. Amenities and facilities 4 lots of new construction but not much upkeep. Will be back, have already reserved spot for next Month.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21-23 March 2015

Site 4A - beautiful area, on a lake. Agree about signage for check-in - especially when you get into resort area. Approximately 30 miles from Fort Gordon. About 15 miles from restaurants and grocery store. Check-in was very easy, staff pleasant. This is a beautiful resort for the military and their families. There are tent and rv sites, cabins, etc. The RV sites are nice for gravel sites. No cable, but we were able to pick up several channels with our antenna. There are some RVs that definitely appear to have been here longer than the 30 day limit stated in the rules (one right beside us that no one was staying in while we were here); if the resort would clear these campers out it would look a lot nicer. The one next to us was very mildewed and tool box, fishing stuff, etc were laying out at the site. Upper end of Area 4 had sites that were very tight. We were told the park is working on making Area 2 pull-through sites. We stayed here in a motorhome with a tow (which we had to unhook before backing into site). Paid $14 per night. We will definitely come back here for a longer visit. Recommend Armondo's in Evans - very good Italian food (in shopping center with Publix grocery store).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2-3 Sept 2014

Role reversal: I usually praise a place that other folks bash. I’m going to be the curmudgeon here even though I’m giving it a 5. Of course the price is fantastic so I shouldn’t complain. Guess my expectations were built too high when we saw how fantastic the drive into the park was. Beautiful buildings and grounds. Amazing playground. Fantastic lake views. But then. How many reviews does it take for them to realize that they need to put a dang sign up indicating the check-in place? The parking lot for the hidden check-in place is striped for cars, not RV’s! Not a problem for us because it was empty but I could see where this could be an issue on a crowded weekend. BTW, I may be the first reviewer since they paved most of the main roads in the CG. They did a great job and it looks fantastic. And then the RV sites. It looks like they blew all the money on the rest of the park and didn’t have a dime to spend on sites that generate revenue. The pathways into them are confusing. It is crushed, not well maintained, stone. There is no direction…you go in any old way and in some areas it is hard to discern where the “road” is. Definitely stop on the paved road and do a foot reconnaissance first. And, many/most of the best sites are occupied by long, long termers and/or hosts. There are no signs indicating they are hosts but they have golf carts. Many rigs were never occupied while we were there and looked as if it had been awhile. That’s the constructive criticism. The good, and there is it a lot of it, has already been covered in other posts and we experienced that too. Very nice folks and beautiful views. The hookups are great once you get into the site. Verizon worked well for us. Not many satellite friendly sites but there are a few. They are great about letting you find a site that you like. We’ll be back if I’m not on the blacklist after this. PS: there was a sign at check-in saying that DOD was requiring these type of MWR facilities to charge more in-line with comparable civilian rates. As a result, they will raise rates starting 1 Oct. I asked how much and was told about $2. Not much but wonder if this is just the nose of the camel under the tent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2014

Very nice and quite place. The staff is super friendly. I stopped there on a trip through the area to check it out and made a reservation then. Upon offering to show my retired military ID card to the staff lady, so said that because I was retired that the fee was only $12 per night. WOW! I already thought the $18 fee was very reasonable. Really enjoyed the beautiful lake and area. The 4 star rating for amenities is due to no cable or WIFI. There also is only 2 washers and 2 dryers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 13-17, 2014

Had reservation for April 15-18. Our schedule allowed us to arrive two days early so I called and they were very accommodating to allow me to arrive early. Be careful with the directions to the park. Take exit 183 off of I-20 and go north. Once you turn left on SC Hwy 47W, the entrance is just past the convenience store/gas station on your right. The directions should say 8/10 and not .8 because we missed the decimal point and saw the entrance too late to make the turn. Had to go several miles to find a turn around. Also, once you enter the park, there is no signs to the lodge. Just follow the sign to the beach and it will take you past the lodge. Plenty of parking at the lodge to register. This park has lots of trees so I wanted to have a site that I could get satellite service. Upon my arrival they gave me a list of sites that were available for my time period so we drove around and found one that would work. Even though the park is some distance from any town, we were able to get antenna TV service from Augusta. Many sites had RVs that were not occupied and other RVs that were park rentals. They must allow sponsored guest because our neighbor and four other sites were guest of the same military member. I know this brings in revenue for the park but they had some of the better sites. There is a small camp store at the lodge for any basics that you might have forgotten. They will give a refund if you decide to leave early. Good Wi-Fi service at the lodge only. Good Verizon service in the park for phone and internet. Don’t forget to ask for the retired/senior discount – instead of $18/night you pay $12/night. What a deal! Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 20, 2013 - Jan 6 2014

We love this place, though we come here to visit our son who is stationed at Ft. Gordon, it offers a relaxing setting, great fishing, a short drive 25 mi, into Augusta. We also like the other sight seeing things like, the Laurel and Hardy Museum, Atlanta is 120 mi etc. etc... The lake is very, very, full right now at peak, maybe a little over, but we have seen it just one year ago at 17 feet below its rim. Mgt is beginning several improvement projects on this peninsular resort including boat dock improvements, road resurfacing, and others. They just finished a brand new children's play area and upgrading the wifi to other areas just not all of the RV spots. NOTE: Follow the above "new" direction EXACTLY ! ! !
We wish more military parks would follow this ones example of pricing and length of stay or rotations. It was terrific to meet for a few minutes with Larry F. while here, he and Connie are terrific people. They are energetic and ethical, it's no wonder that this site is as successful at it is. They are driven!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 18, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14-17 June 2013

This was our first camping trip with the new pop-up trailer. We stayed in Area 6 and enjoyed a great view of the water and the shade of the tall pine trees. The trash can at our site (6F) was collected each morning throughout our stay and the area porta potti was immaculate enough that my wife was willing to use it, and she is a very harsh critic in that area. The $7 sites have power in the form of four 110V outlets protected with two 20A circuit breakers mounted on the telephone pole that the power comes to the site on. I was able to successfully run my A/C and fridge all weekend without issue, but was careful to turn off the A/C before running the coffee pot. The lodge and the permanent restroom/shower facilities were about a mile from Area 6, which is the farthest away from them. There is a small convenience store in the main lodge which has beer, ice, and a hotdog/sandwich window. There are two washers and dryers available and are 50 cents each. Kayaks, Canoes, John boats (no engine, just oars) are available for rent as are many camping items such as lanterns and sleep mats. They do have bikes for rent but they are stored outside and are in pretty rough shape unfortunately. We were a little disappointed that on such a great lake the MWR did not have any motor boats for rent like we have seen at many other facilities. There is a great covered slip marina associated with the camp ground as well though we did not use it on this trip, as experienced boaters we were impressed with the set up. Overall we had a very enjoyable time, even making a trip to the Evans Center Dog Park at the recommendation of a family from the local base who was out camping for the weekend, much to the delight of our dog. We will definitely be returning soon!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 - 13 Oct 2012

We have stayed here several times, and it is always a great time. The management of this facility should be commended, as well as the staff. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Crystal James and although she was very busy with many customers, she was polite, efficient and very helpful! The lake is down but not much the camp can do about that!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5 -13 May 2012

The only thing I have to say is that the sites were crammed in a little close for my liking. For the price I can't complain to much. I enjoyed the stay while mom and daughter were prepping for the wedding in nearby Thomson. Overall nice place but wish they would get lots of rain to fill the lake back up to its original levels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 - 10 June 2012

Stayed here 5 days. Very quite and relaxing, Water is everywhere. Has a small beach for swimming in the lake, fishing, & walking trails. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $ 12.00 per night. Campground in not on base, but not far. Also not far from other shopping and dining out. I don't consider 15 miles far. Has a small store at campground, basics only. Had laundry at campground .50 wash & dry, and it still leaks. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 23, 2001 - January 23, 2012

We arrived on Christmas Eve, 2011 for a 30 day stay. Having stayed here before we knew how to get here and hoped our favorite space was empty and waiting for us. To our delight, the office was open and cheerfully staffed, even though it was Christmas Eve afternoon! The winter season is a discount season, we paid $10 per night for a full hook-up site, Merry Christmas! That's from the beginning price of $18. We were given discount ($6) for our being seniors, and ($2) for it being winter. Winter discount stops end of February. If you come during the winter, expect a skeleton crew, few people, facilities needing attention (cleaning) and mild weather. We regard this camp as one of the best kept secrets (not anymore after this writing) for winter RV'ing. The new manager has been able to put many $$ into new facilities and upgrades. We stayed in section 2 in a 5th wheel. We have a Porta-Bote and launch it from our camp-site, perfect! Did not catch fish, though, as we did in fall of 2008. NOTE: This park has a 30 day in, then 30 day out policy. Leitner Lake on Ft. Gordon is a great place for the other 30 days, it's been improved, too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2010

Loved this RV site. Right on the lake. We carried our inflatable kayaks to the shore & off we went. Only have a 20' trailer so site was plenty big. Camp & restrooms clean. With less campers at this time year, of course things are better maintained. The view & the sunsets will always be remembered. There is a hiking trail, but not well maintained.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2011

Close to home, camped here before. Went there for shake down camp with my new (to me) trailer. had choice of area 2 or 3, went with three because closer to beach and it was my son's 16th birthday, took him and his two friends. spots are level, which they made effort to make them that way on hilly terrain. great view of the lake. no WiFi at site or cable, but great park and great location. my favorite local spot for camping.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 27, 2010

Beautiful facilities and outstanding surroundings for the outdoors. Very quiet area, and great hookup accommodations even if it was below freezing at night. We did get a satellite signal but only in spot 4G. Would like to stay longer but was traveling through. The park itself is very clean and surrounded by the lake of about 1000 miles of shoreline. BIG is the word here! Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 31, 2009

This is a wonderful facility, well maintained and comfortable. Our check in was exceptional, a lady named Ruth was more than helpful, we had never been to this campground before, and she made us feel very welcomed to be here. There are two areas that have full hookups area three is more rustic, while area two is pretty much like a commercial campground. Both areas are very nice, I would certainly return to this campground again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24-27 Feb 09

Over all great place. BUT!! The first impression is always the lasting one. When checking in the office upon arrival the women that greeted us in the office was less than helpful almost to the point of being rude. She seemed to have basically NO knowledge of whats going on in the CG. The reception was very COLD and inhospitable. Had thoughts of leaving. Glad we didn't!! After picking our site, met CG host (Doug) very upbeat, knowledgeable, friendly and apologetic for our reception. Ruth was great with all our questions. Larry, CG manager has great ideas for CG and with a bit of money can transform the CG into the Army's "PRIMER" CG. I agree with all the accolades posted before me. Great place, although the lake levels are down still due to the drought but fishing was still great!! Good cell reception, fifty cent laundry, free firewood stacked around central areas of sites (when available). Satellite reception great from our site, wi-fi only at office. Beautiful Log cabin rental too. Would return again and again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 25, 2008

This park is one of the top five military FAMCAMPs for us. We stayed in a space that backed up to the lake providing terrific views of the wildlife and sunsets beyond belief. The location may be a bit of a downfall for those who "need" to be close to malls and stores, about 12 miles to the nearest big shopping center. We don't look for that sort of thing as a "need". We "need" solitude, wildlife, hiking, open skies, little freeway noise, strong 30 amp or better, good water. This campground has all those. WIFI is available at the lodge/office. Though it is about 10 miles away from the Interstate, it is worth the drive, just follow the directions listed here. Since our last visit (in March 08') a new all-in-one fuel station, store/restaurant just opened right at the last right turn into the rec area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 06, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 08

What a Jewel! Stayed 2 days. The staff was courteous and helpful. I stayed at campsite 2 and the view of the lake is special. Fire rings and B-BQ setups at every site. Lack of WiFi and cable stop this from being a total 5. No pull thrus all back ins. Ample personal space for each RV. Bathrooms and showers were clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2