Uchee Creek Campground/Marina

Featured
 
4.6 (87)
130257 0 16 2 55

User reviews

87 reviews

 
(59)
 
(26)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.5  (87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (87)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.5  (87)
Value 
 
4.6  (87)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
87 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
24-26 October 14
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the best RV park that I have stayed in. That includes both military and private parks. Staff are extremely friendly and helpfully. Very clean facilities. I stay here every Octoberfest. Great wi-fi and cable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
19-24 OCT 14
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We came to the camp for a short getaway. If one wants to disappear & not be found, Uchee Creek is the place! We requested sites near the playgrounds for our 3yr grandson's benefit. This is the front of the park. Our site was full of ant hills. I went to the office to see about a spray. I was told that they cannot give us anything & they cannot spray - but if we did that was okay - the park staff cannot do it. We rented a pontoon boat. We were the only ones out on the water. Lots of turtles, a pair of eagles & just before we came back to dock, an alligator! We also went to the bowling alley for lunch & some bowling. Ft Benning has a lot to offer. The gas station is easy for the RV. Great commissary & exchange.
They are no longer giving the Senior discount - half off. They do offer different deals - check their website or call & see what deals are on when you're coming in.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
May 6-9, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved everything about this place. What a wonderful campground to get away to. They are upgrading the water and sewer systems at some of the camp sites but they have signs all around saying "Excuse us while we fix up the campgrounds". The showers leave a lot to be desired. Nasty, but nothing a coat of paint wouldn't fix, also noted no hot water in the showers but since I am FMF then I am use to it. The store has a lot of space but offers very little. Better plan on bringing your own firewood too. Coming in through 165 to the camp was a lot easier than coming through Fort Benning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 25, 1014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were on the road and called to see if we could make a reservation. We were told that a rally was going on for that weekend and the following week and the RV park would be full during that time. We made other arrangements nearby. During a trip to Fort Benning to use the Exchange and Commissary, we decided to drive through the park. Every site in the front section except one was occupied with a motorhome with a club emblem attached. There were no people around and no towed vehicles. Someone (don't know how true) said the rally was on weekends with the RV occupants going back home during the week and returning the following weekend. I just wonder how many authorized users to this park live within driving distance that they can go home and come back just for the weekend. I also wonder how many of these folks are not military connected and not authorized to use this park. I'll probably never know.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 21 to March 27, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Be prepared for a great deal of construction throughout the park as they are actively working on upgrading the water and sewer system. Only negative we have was we did not have a picnic table and after calling the office none appeared the next day so went to the office and were told someone would meet us at our site with one, that did not happen either. Have been here many times and the abundant wildlife is always fun to watch and give snacks to. This is a very popular military campground so be sure to call as soon as rules allow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan 15 - Jan 19, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Several of us decided to meet up here prior to heading to South Texas for a while. This was my first time here and I was greatly impressed with the facilities, staff, and overall cleanliness of the the campground. Uchee Creek is out in the woods, but close enough to Fort Benning if you need to go to the commissary or PX. As others have mentioned, there is abundant wildlife all over the park. I opened my window shade one morning and had 3 deer staring back at me! Don't pay any attention to time here, because it will make you crazy! The campground is actually in Alabama (Central time), less than a mile from the river border with Georgia (Eastern time.) It's too close to the border for your phone or other electronic device to automatically change over and if you manually reset the time to Central, you can easily miss things like the commissary closing before you get there. Don't ask me how I know. LOL We got there before all the cold spells starting hitting the south, so the ground was still wet and muddy. Fort Benning is installing new water and sewer lines throughout the campground, so there are many soft muddy spots to watch out for. A toy hauler got stuck in the mud while we were there. If you have an America the Beautiful pass from the National Park Service, be sure to mention it when you check in. It will get you a pretty decent discount on the daily price. I'm going to try and get back here sometime when the weather is warmer. This looks like it would be a great place for a vacation!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2 Nov - 4 Nov 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Since we live only four hours away, Uchee Creek has become our "get away for only a few days at a time" RV Park. We visit several times a year, and always arrive with at least 100 pounds of corn for the deer. We love the place, and all of the comments you read are true. There have been many improvements made over the past few years, and the grounds are immaculate, especially when you consider the sheer size of the place. In fact, it can be quite entertaining on "mowing day" to just sit back and watch the crew mow the entire park in just one day. With all that said, it saddens me to write this review, because there is one issue which needs to be addressed: the bathhouse facilities. They are nothing short of atrocious. Filthy is the better word. Although they are cleaned every day (if you look at the checklist), there have been times during the last year that they were not touched for more than a week at a time. During my most recent stay, two of the three toilets were stopped-up and literally full of...well, use your imagination. They were like that when I arrived, and still untouched three days later when I left. Granted, some of the problems can be attributed to campers, but the fact remains that someone is getting paid to clean the facilities. I have spoken to management about this issue, and am assured that the facilities are inspected by a supervisor every day. So there's one more person getting paid for something they're not doing. Like I said, we love Uchee Creek, and will keep returning, but something needs to be done about this one little problem area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 16-22, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Yes, I gave this all 5s. It is out of the way but that is what we wanted. Quiet, set on the water amongst the trees. Uchee Creek is part of Ft Benning, but it is actually in Alabama (south of Phenix City), not Georgia with the base. If you want to go to the commissary or exchange the back gate is a few miles away but easy access. There is a marina and equipment available to rent. Nice areas to walk. The deer are plentiful & seem to know they won't be hunted in the park area. However! Outside the park they better watch out! We travel with our best friends so when we can we like to get sites next to each other. Uchee Creek was very accommodating for us. The staff is quite helpful from phone calls to us stopping in the office. The office does have some supplies available for purchase so you don't have to go all the way in to the commissary. We enjoyed the fire ring every night when we didn't have rain. ATT cellphone signal was minimal if at all. They also have nice looking cabins scattered throughout the park. And some chalets that are in a separate section over on the water. This is our second visit to Uchee Creek & we will be back.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 7 - 17, 2013
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the nicest military parks we have stayed in. The staff here are very helpful and pleasant. The park is beautiful... and well maintained, even the deer and squirrels are well mannered (chuckle, but true. I've seen where the deer are no longer afraid of people on literally are in your face if you are cooking outside.) The sites and roads are paved making it so nice for setting up. This is a plus as we are runners. The water pressure is not so great, but I can see they are working on it. The rest of the facilities make up for that issue. For the number of people coming in and out of this park, the staff does an excellent job of keeping this park so nice. I was here last year and some weekends the cabins and RV sites were full but there was never a lack of pleasant service, from any of the staff. I hope they keep it up because it also has the potential to be a historical site, if the dates on the manhole covers are correct.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 24 to March 31, 2013
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Has been over two years since we have been here and what a nice surprise that the new section of 22 sites is now completed and our Zephyr fits here beautifully with plenty of room for the car and a clear shot for roof mounted Dish. The office/registration building has been redesigned on the inside and more staff available to help you individually as it can be busy at times with so many outdoor activities on this post handled by them and they were very friendly as well as knowledgeable. Sites are blacktop, very level and very large and not just for long term as we are here for 6 nights. The folks someone mentioned that were here with all kinds of stuff must have left or been asked to leave and there are very few RV's in the new area and absolutely no one has any stuff outside that looks like they live here. New brochure states homesteading is prohibited and the other areas of the campground look much better than in the past so at this time I have to say the homesteading prohibited rule is being enforced. The Golden Age Card discount price of $12.00 a day or $360.00 a month should get this place full as word spreads and folks know the new sites are beautiful and very large. We use our MiFi from Verizon and have no problems getting and staying on the internet. The exchange and commissary are large, clean, organized and employees are friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Mar 20 -21, 2013
(Updated: March 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Short stay on the way from Florida back to SC. As usual this is a great place to visit for short or long stay. The new water lines are almost complete and a new power line is being run now. Also with the housing developments on Highway 165 there is a new cell tower making cell service much better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 3 - 10, 2013
(Updated: March 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Another nice visit to this park. They accepted our Golden Age Passport (Now Senior Pass) and charged us 72 dollars for the week. The daily rate with the pass is 12 dollars. WiFi is up and running throughout the park with excellent reception. I asked and was told that Fort Benning does not issue windshield decals any longer. Also, reservations can now be made on line. The temperatures during our visit was less than desirable with a couple of days below freezing. I just disconnected from the water on those nights and got through it. The only drawback to this location is the distance to the exchange and commissary for people who have to visit them every day. We don't. We make one trip. It's 12 miles from the park to those places. They have a new area way out back since I was here 3 years ago. On the brochure it is called "Long Term Parking". They have 22 very full hookup sites for homesteaders. It could be a nice place to stay but some of the homesteaders have everything they own on site. I saw one site with a truck, a car. 2 go-carts, an ATV and several bicycles. Several sites had large dog kennels and house size refrigerators and patio furniture on the patio. It reminded me of the projects that are in a lot of cities. They are beautiful for a while but after a couple of years become slums. This place will get that way very soon. But. As long as Uchee Creek keeps the homesteaders back there away from the front area I'll continue going there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
February 15, 2013
(Updated: February 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I couldn't agree more with the comments posted here. This is a beautiful facility. Only drawback is possibly it's out of the way location. And I'm sure some people LOVE that. No argument, just a comment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan 28-31, 2013
(Updated: January 31, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place. Although there was a lot of trash on the trails and around the roads. If coming from Phenix City Al be aware there is not a sign for Uchee Creek like there is if coming from Post or north on AL 165. Going south on AL 165 watch for the Ft Benning sign, it's a left hand turn about 10 miles from the 431 split.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
5 Nov to 28 Dec 2012
(Updated: December 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Uchee Creek campground has been our best ever experience in a military campground. The place is huge! The sites are paved, level and have loads of space. There are multiple laundry/shower/bathroom facilities spread throughout the grounds. It's a bit of a drive to get to the PX and commissary, but getting there is fairly easy. The AFEES gas stations have better diesel prices than on the economy. There's a Huddle House, Taco Johns, Burger King, Little Caesars pizza and Subway sandwich places on base in addition to the usual food court vendors at the PX. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 12 - 29, 2012
(Updated: August 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great stay to visit grand-daughter. This is a supper facility to visit for short or extended stay. Only negative comment is the low water pressure, but a new "city" water line is in the final stages of installation. Will definitely be returning to this facility when we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
APRIL 2012
(Updated: May 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
They have internet, They have cable, they have clean bathrooms and easy to pull in or back in stalls. This was a pleasurable stay. I am getting ready to stay at West Fort Hood's park and simply can't believe they do not have WIFI. The Uchee Creek park is one I will use any time I am in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
28 - 29 Dec 2011
(Updated: December 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Short stay on the way to Panama City Beach, FL. As usual found this facility to be in great shape. Per previous comments by another individual, I was able to use my "Senior Pass" formally "America the Beautiful Card" and receive a 50% discount. Improvements around the facility only make this place more outstanding. Only negative is directed at the inconsiderate "guest" that don't clean up behind their dogs and walk the through unoccupied sites leaving the mess for others to step in and clean up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 13 to June 13, Oct 1 to Oct 31, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
M.P. left this review using the Directory software: - Beginning Oct. 1, 2011, this campground accepts "the america the beautiful card" (golden access). The cost to stay in an RV site per night is $10.00 with the America the beautiful card. This is a beautiful park with plans to to make this the best campground in the East. This year improvements include new washers and dryers, 22 new pull through RV sites, paving the road to the executive chalets, a new fishing bridge, a remodel camp store, new system for a smoother check in, trees removed and new beautiful street lights through out the Campground. I am sure there have been many more improvements however these are the ones that I have noticed. The office staff is one of the best. They will go out of their way to help you. We get three bars on our verizon cell phone and I tether my blackberry so internet isn't an issue. They are working on getting free wi fi throughout the RV park... This is our second month long visit this year, and it won't be our last. This is a wonderful winter home ...and most times warmer then the gulf coast. Plans to build a new recreation center is in the budget for this year. The camp cove is open for games, card playing, hot dog night and a movie night. The base offers much to do and see. I almost forgot to mention the Large pool had a major overhaul this past spring... new tile, sanding and refinishing took place.. Nice to have if you spend anytime during the summer months here. My very favorite thing to do while staying here is to sit around the campfire with family and friends. A huge herd of deer stop by every evening and morning for whatever handouts we can spare. All the improvements have been made without a price increase.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 15-20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: We enjoyed this campground the most. It was an awesome experience. All need to go to the museum and enjoy. The room on Viet Nam was so lifelike. Gave chills as to just a minute part of what my husband went through. Saw alot of special parts that Uncles talked about in WWII thanks for the wonderful experiences. We will be back soon. Last time my husband was there was Basic @ Sand Hill in 65. Only thing I would recommend is a BIG Fan in Laundry room as very very hot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
87 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5