Uchee Creek Campground/Marina

Featured
 
4.6 (87)
132587 0 16 2 57

User reviews

87 reviews

 
(59)
 
(26)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.5  (87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (87)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.5  (87)
Value 
 
4.6  (87)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
87 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
20 May to 31 May 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to stay while visiting Ft. Benning. Poor water pressure at times, no water pressure because they filled the pool, no one told us in advance that they would be no water. Seem like it would have been to much trouble. Most sites are nice some need some work like cutting weeds around utility pedestal. Over priced compared to other FamCamps. Laundry room could use some cleaning and organization. Stayed in site # 3 - terrible Verizon phone service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 29, 2011 - April 01, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Short stay waiting out rain on return trip from Florida to South Carolina. Stay was enjoyable and the FAMCAMP was in great shape. Always glad to stop over here for long or short stay. MWR staff are friendly and helpful. Look forward to returning for a longer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2-16, 2010
(Updated: January 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
GREAT GREAT campground. We stayed several time, but the latest time was for a vacation last summer. We had family come with us and it was great. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Does get busy in the store, but they help you any way they can. Pool had some problems when we were there so it was shut down some of the time. All the campers seem to be very friendly and the deer just love people. Great place to stay if you are passing thru or on vacation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Dec 26, 2010
(Updated: January 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
It was clean and grand kids had a great time. Seeing deer ever day was great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Nov 21, 2010 - Dec 05, 2010
(Updated: December 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second visit to this facility. Overall not much has changed. This is a very nice campground. We were on site 31 on this trip. The 50 amp power supply did not work, used 30 amp with no problem as the weather was cold and did not need AC. We have a signal booster so lack of good signal for Verizon was not a problem. Was able to get 3 to 4 bars with phones and computer. The main laundry facility was closed most of the time we were there. Five of the six washers did not work. Repairs were made and they still didn't work. Seems like most of the attention goes to the rental cabins. Wildlife lovers will see plenty of deer in the campground. Despite the negative comments we will continue to come to this campground in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 29 - Dec 1, 2010
(Updated: December 09, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The park is beautiful and well maintained. It's been a couple of years since we were here, but it's still just as nice. The water pressure is not great, as noted by other reviewers. The rest of the park facilities make up for that issue, though. One of the nicest military parks we have stayed in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov. 5th to Nov. 8th 2010
(Updated: November 06, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Been over a year since we have been here and the only change is office staff are more on the ball then before. They did assign us to a site to small for a 45' class A but thankfully site 34 was available and open so we could use our roof mounted satellite system. Was happily surprised I was able to use my Verizon Broadband this time in the AM (not PM though). Only complaint and it has always been this way is the water pressure but it does not keep us from coming back. The 50AMP service is super and we do not use showers and laundry facilities so I cannot comment on them.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
31 May - 4 Jun 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed this park and will come back. Staff was nice and helpful--only markdown is for the laundry facilities. They could use a good cleaning and several of the dryers didn't work. We were parked near the pool and found all the spots around us to be well kept and large; many parks you are right on top of your neighbor--here you had plenty of room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
19 May 2010 - 02 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Generally speaking this is a nice facility, however, on arrival we were assigned a site in the "long term" area (Site 65) on the back side of the facility. It appears that alot of the travel trailers in the campground belong to Fort Benning and are being utilized for housing active duty and other personnel. All of the campers appeared to have been there for some time. The area was infested by mosquitoes to the point that it was not possible to go outside day or night. After several days I requested to move to another site in the campground. Was permitted to move to Site 41 and it was much better and the remaining time was much more enjoyable. Deer are everywhere. Laundry facilities could stand general cleaning and several driers had been broken into and not repaired. Cell phone and internet service was almost non-existent. Satellite service was good. Water pressure was low.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 27 - April 2, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First, getting there. I used the GPS and it took me right to the Country Store for check in. I talked to another person that also used it and he had no problems except he thought it was taking him astray. He said he was confused because he was in Alabama. Uchee Creek Campground is in Alabama, but part of Ft. Benning, Georgia, thus the confusion. I was in site 27 and it was an excellent site. I was within easy walking distance to a bath house and laundry. The only down side of the place was in the laundry. There were 6 each washers and dryers. Some of the washers were 75 cents a load and some were $1.25. Same type washers, so couldn't figure the difference. 2 of the washers were broken. The dryers were also different prices. Half were labeled as 25 cents but no time given, the other half were labeled as 50 cents for 12 minutes. Again, could not see any difference in them. I dried a double load in one of 50 cent ones and put $2 in and they dried very well. All the facilities were very clean and the whole camping area was well landscaped and maintained. Definitely a place to stop if you are going to be in the area. Not that far to Columbus for major shopping. The exchange was large, well stocked and had just about everything you would need. Commissary also large and well stocked. Verizon and Dish worked well here except you are right on the Time Zone line and my phone kept changing times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
February 8-23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is one of our favorite military campgrounds. The sites are large and easy to get in to. Office personnel are friendly. The one who checked us in, though, needed to be updated on one way streets in campground. He had us going down wrong way. It's a good thing we had been here before. Deer are always seen in the campground in the evenings. The Fryar Drop Zone is only about a mile away where you can go and watch the Airborne drops. Some of the sites flood pretty good during a hard rain, but dry up quickly. Didn't get a chance to visit the new museum but understand it is worth the visit. Would recommend this campground highly. DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR GPS DIRECTIONS. We never did find the campground that way! Just follow the directory directions. I am sure we will be visiting here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb. 12-14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stopped here for a couple nights to let a small snow storm pass by. This is a pretty nice recreation area. I can see it being popular when the weather is better. Actually, we would love to spend a week or two here with nice weather. Sites are large and spaced apart. Staff was friendly. We almost forgot we were at a military campground. Too bad they are expensive for WiFi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Enjoyed the campground. Very nice but very,very low water pressure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov. 11th to 15th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Same check in situation as last time, young woman at desk not trained yet or does not know what customer service means. She asked for less money than we owed so I had to tell her how much we owed and she assigned us a site with a big tree at the back of the site so a 45' would not fit. Found our own site and let them know what site we took. Arrived after NorIDA went thru and lots of flooding in low areas but no standing water on sites. Boat launch area was flooded up to the Country Store so no launches while we were there. Not able to use Broadband at all this time in site 35; had to drive out of the campground about a mile then signal was good. Huge construction going on since last visit and rumor has it troops from Fort Campbell are coming to Ft. Benning. These have to be the best fed deer in the U.S. as we see so many people feeding them and they come as close as a few feet from the RV's that put out food. Love Uchee Creek and we will always return here.....
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
June 21 - July 1, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: This was my third visit to Uchee Creek. It was also my first summertime visit, so I was able to experience something which had thus far escaped me. My visit included the longest day of the year, and with temperatures into the high 90's, I was disappointed to see that the pool is open only from noon to 6:00 PM during the week, and only slightly longer during the weekend. When I asked about it, I was told that there was only one attendant, and that he was allowed only 40 hours per week. His explanation was understandable, but not quite acceptable. All other aspects of this campground are the same as before - impeccable! Although not guaranteeing a specific site at time of reservation, staff always has gone above and beyond to accommodate my request. Although only an old enlisted dog, I feel like a VIP when at Uchee Creek.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
22 Apr to 24 Apr 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This has got to be one of the BEST military campgrounds we have stayed at ever........... The setting is fantastic, the people were good, our stay here was absolutely fabulous. We will be going here often from now on. Yes, you are 20 minutes from main post, but who cares. First night we were on a site that was fairly good but asked if we could move to a different site because of our two dogs. No problem, we were moved. Huge site, with trails right behind us, and yes, we clean up after the dogs. About dark, 20 or so deer walked across by our rig to go eat and bed down in the center of the cg. This campground was exceptionally well cared for and is also a marina where you can rent boats to go fishing or relaxing. This will definitely be one of our stops on our way north to south and back again...........
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
22 Apr-29 Apr 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Came back to Fort Benning for my 30th and my Father's 60th Reunions... Stayed a week. Absolutely magnificent and clean. Well maintained sites. Great boat launch. Fishing is good. Cabins are clean and well kept. All sites are as level as can be with asphalt. Pull throughs and back-ins. We stayed in back-in, extremely level. First place we have stayed at that wi-fi was available but NO FREE Wi-Fi.. It will cost.... The cable tv needs some work too...it had allot of snow but they are getting it fixed, repair crews were there upon our departure. No problems getting a great shoot at the southern sky for sats... I would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 8th to March 16th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
New person at desk at check in and she had no clue what to do. She asked for help and was told since we had a 45' Class A we should look for a site between 30 and 35. We took our car there and they were all full so drove around and found our own site. This check-in debacle never happened before so hope none of you will experience the same thing. Water pressure still poor and Verizon Broadband is iffy. Still one of our favorite places to come as we love the wildlife and there is a German Store and Restaurant less than 10 miles away. There are many empty sites so guess snowbirds go further south than this. Good to know for future winter travels as we leave our Florida house in the winter to escape the snowbirds who flock there; I guess we are reverse snowbirds.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Weekend of Dec. 3, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is by far my families favorite military camp! It is located in a beautiful wooded area, with nice play grounds, views of an amazing river, a swimming pool, and huge camping lots. I was very impressed and can't wait to come back and camp here!!! This place is great!! It's a drive to get to main post, but it's not too bad. It's worth the drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
October 2 - 4, 2008
(Updated: December 05, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We usually stay in the campground. This time we rented one of the lakeside chalets, and yes, there are alligators in the lake. We saw at least two. The chalets have 2-bedrooms and come with a fully equipped kitchen and towels and linen. We did drive through the campground because we have complained in the past about the back section being so trashy looking. This time it looked a lot better but still looked like some homesteading were taking place. There just didn't seem to be as much as before. Staying in the chalets were a great experience and we will stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
87 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5