Uchee Creek Campground/Marina

Featured
 
4.6 (87)
130291 0 16 2 55

User reviews

59 reviews with 5 stars

87 reviews

 
(59)
 
(26)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.5  (87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (87)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.5  (87)
Value 
 
4.6  (87)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
59 results - showing 41 - 59
1 2 3
Ordering
April 22 - 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I'm late with this review but wanted to get it in. We've stayed here several times and will continue to do so. It's a very nice campground, however, there are some negatives. We were assigned Site #8 and have used this campsite before. The Campers Cove Pavilion is located between Sites 8 and 28. This time it was rented for an afternoon and into the evening by a very large group of people with many unruly children. This pavilion is rented to people who aren't normally campers. The adults seemed to stay inside while the children played outside. There were no supervision. We had to be on our guard at all times. We couldn't leave to escape. The children were all over the place with one little one climbing the ladder of our 5th wheel several times. I complained twice to an adult but no action was taken. The office was closed and the Host wasn't home. The following day I mentioned it to the person in the office and she told me that I should have called the MP's. We didn't know. We drove through the back section of the campground for the first time ever and saw a completely different campground. There were at least 11 trashy looking campsites with RVs looking as if they had been there for a very long time. One even had a large refrigerator outside. A couple of trailers looked as if they had everything they owned piled in and around and under their RV. For a campground that doesn't allow homesteading, there sure seemed to be a lot of it going on. This is still a very nice campground (front section) and we will continue coming here. The new AAFES Mall is one of the best we've seen anywhere. It is about 12 miles from the campground. The Dixie Road Shoppette has diesel fuel. The Fryar Drop Zone is 3 miles from campground (turn left at entrance to Uchee Creek and go 3 miles) and have grand stands for viewing paratroop drops. I don't know the schedule of these drops but when the Air Force planes are flying they are usually doing air drops. When staying here you have to understand that everything is about 12-15 miles away, i.e., Exchange, Commissary, Restaurant and shopping in Columbus and Phoenix City. I didn't mean to beat this campground up so hard but some things need to be pointed out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 31, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Helpful at checkin, offer half price greens fee at local course for campers. Nicely stocked store, easy dump station, well-cared for and clean. Lovely pool and playground areas. We were on the edge of the Verizon coverage area.... sometimes our internet connection worked, sometimes it didn't. Sites had a metal picnic table, sturdy lantern hook, most had a fire ring, BBQ grill, and concrete pad. Plenty wide for our single slide, and deep enough that we could pull the 35' motorhome in, and still easily fit the Tahoe in front of it to park. Cable service was excellent, even providing some HD channels. Showers and bathhouse were clean and well-kept. Lovely shaded flat sites, some with trees adjacent, some more open. Most sites were back in, a few pull throughs. MANY MANY MANY MANY deer roaming all around the campground, between units, around picnic tables, MANY deer. Owls and coyotes at night, squirrels during the day. This was a great place to spend some time! Weekdays bring the sounds of military aircraft overhead and automatic fire from local ranges. Water pressure, as mentioned before, was low. Not unbearable, but low. Location is right off 165, clearly marked. Convenience stores close, and driving to downtown Columbus GA takes approximately 20 minutes. My only complaint was a lack of trash receptacles. The only dumpsters we saw were all the way at the entrance, so we had to take our smelly trash and doggy doo bags inside and drive them to the entrance. In spite of this minor inconvenience, we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 20th, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in one of the log cabins. The cabins are on the Chatahoohee river bank. Cell phones basically don't work, may get a text but had no luck with voice. The deer are every where and we heard coyotes across the river. The cabins were well maintained. Ours had a master bedroom with loft overhead containing two bunk beds. In the family room was a couch that would sleep two for a total of six. The rates run about $45 depending on one's rank.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 2005 through May 2006
(Updated: September 01, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I took my old travel trailer down to Fort Benning to "full time" camp while stationed at Ft. Benning and later retired from the Army while there. I found that Uchee Creek MWR facilities are a great way to introduce someone to the outdoors and camping. I enjoyed the evenings by the campfire, fishing off of the pier and renting boats. The deer can be hand fed after getting to know you. The staff do an excellent job at making this campground a wonderful place to go and relax. I did experience the "wind storm" (read as "tornado") in March 2006. As the storm was passing through the area, campground staff came through the CG honking their car horn to warn everyone to go to the bathhouses for safety. Trees came down everywhere and several rigs were damaged, as was mine. The staff prioritized actions and conducted an area sweep to check on campers and injuries (there thankfully were none). Then with volunteer efforts from some campers, they started to clear roads and remove trees from the RV's. Later on a representative from Ft. Benning's JAG and claims department came out and gave a briefing on Army liabilities. After all was said and done, the staff did a wonderful job to provide comfort, care and safety during my stay there. I would recommend this wonderful facility to everyone!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 28 - April 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hard to find-huge base but worth it. Very relaxing and quiet except the mosquitos! (the plane noise is minor!) Diesel at one gas station and close by that station is recycling! Super exchange and commissary except for the distance from park. Dog wash was super! Clean and spacious sites. Water pressure sucks. Verizon internet in our spot was 1-2 bars only.I was leary when I saw the sewer drain and stopped the maintence man -Wesley...he was super! Quick response and no problems. Office was friendly. Lots of amenities with marina and woods and playgrounds, good laundermat and good place for families to visit us in rv's cuz the cabins are around the corner. Would come back in a heartbeat-maybe in less 'buggy' weather.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 17 - 19, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed in this campground several times during the past 5 years and have no complaints. We have been assigned pull thrus each time and they had enough room and privacy as we needed. I've heard the complaints about the airplanes flying over but guess what, paratroopers need airplanes to operate and if the noise bothers you, don't stay there. It's not that bad. The only negative for the people who like to go to the Exchange/Commissary every day is that it is about 9 miles from the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: There was an error in my reservation about my day of arrival, but fantastic camp host cured problem immediately, even though it was after 9:00 PM. Still ended up with great site. One thing I noticed while bicycling through area - unless you are totally unable to back unit into site, don't request pull-through. Back-in sites give you a lot more room and privacy. Verizon signal great in all areas, Cingular non-existant in all areas. One other caution - even though DoD has done away with registration stickers on vehicles, this does not seem to apply to Fort Benning. If you do not have stickers, you must go into Visitor Center and register. And don't forget to register your "toad".

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
26-30 Dec 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground in the woods. Beautiful setting with wildlife. Modern and very clean Bath houses and laundries. Friendly and helpful staff. 20-30 minute drive from civilization or main post and facilities (Huge Base). No Wi-Fi and not anticipated. Staff not well informed regarding on-Post Commercial (Wynsong) Theater with first run movies. Weather Channel seldom available on provided Cable TV which would have been helpful given winter weather changes. RVs w/o DoD decals (USAF no longer issues) must use I-85 gate with Truck/RV gateway for pass despite 100% ID Checks at all times. One Bathhouse / laundry (closest to our campsite) was without Hot Water and was not repaired during our brief over the holidays stay. Most sites are backin, but a few are Pull-thru. New BX is huge! Columbus Museum is great, along with on-base Infantry Museum and Civil War Naval Museum. Callaway Gardens almost an hour away from Campground. On-base "Dog Wash" worked well, basic wash and dry cost is $6. Camp has playground, B-Ball, etc fields along with marine access. Campstore has essentials and lots of Hunting stuff. Access to AL HWY 165 to the west is available and was handy for westbound departure. Will certainly visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. Deer roam freely throughout the camp which is located far from the noise of the main post. Sites are clean, clear well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our truck broke down while we were there and had a rental with no tow bar, we had to stay longer than planned while it was repaired and needed to move our pop up. The Camp host, helped us move our pop up to a new site with his own vehicle. The camp store is well stocked with the essentials and even though it is not very close to the main facilites, BX/PX commissary they are available. Definately look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. 14, 2007 - Oct. 17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
From the staff to the worndering wildlife this is a great place to stay - A little out in the boondocks but well worth the time and effort to get there - We will visit again...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
August 17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Uchee Creek is a great campground! We came in late in the evening, during a thunderstorm, with no reservations. We stopped at the on-duty camp host in site # 1 to check in. Fred was friendly, courteous, and helpful, and had a large awning on his trailer that covered a very nice patio on which to do the sign-in business out of the rain. He assigned us site #3, and said we had to pay at the country store in the morning. It turned out that site #3 had electrical problems and after repeated attempts to reset the breakers, I gave up. Instead of going back and disturbing Fred again, we just boondocked it for the night, without electricity. That was fine, because it was late and we were pretty much whipped from the day's drive and activities. In the morning, I mentioned the electrical problem to the staff at the country store, and they said that there would be no charge for our night's stay. They said they had had a similar report on site #4, and immediately sent the maintenance guy out to fix the problem. The bath houses are modern, well maintained and very clean. Our bike ride around the grounds in the morning revealed a place kept up by a staff that truly has pride of place. Very nice swimming pool in the center of the CG. Lots of nice looking, modern log cabins to rent, as well. As mentioned by others, it's all in a beautiful wooded setting with abundant wildlife. Interestingly, Uchee Creek is on the Alabama side of the Chatahoochee River, in a different time zone (Central) from the main base. However, because it's run by Fort Benning, Georgia MWR, they keep Eastern Time hours. We'll be back when we can stay longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 1-7, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I rented a cabin for the week. (We havent yet purchased a camper). We really liked the campgorund. It was great. It was VERY clean, the staff was very nice and helpfull when we had questions. We saw lots of dear, they practically came up to the cabins and RVs. Very nice pool. Its near the Post but far enough out to make you feel like you are a world away. It was only 15 min to anything you need on Post. And 30 min or less to shopping and resturants in Columbus. We also were able to drive to Calloway Gardens and FDR's Little White house(less than an hour). This campground had lots to offer. We didnt get a great cell signal, but we were on vaction so it really didnt matter, as soon as we went over the brigde and on to post we picked up a signal. Our cabin had AC and cable which was great in the middle of the afternoon when the heat index got up to 100 or more. All in all we have a great experiance and cant wait to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 13 - 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Made reservations via phone to very professional and polite lady. Arrival was a little dicey but got there without a lot of problem. Campground was beautiful with the facilities all clean and maintained. Super staff. Nice pool. Very nice sites. Deer wandering thru the sites. Great boat access. Great experience. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
October and December 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground. Enjoyed both stays last year. Large spacious and level sites. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bought firewood, they deliver to your site. Store is well stocked. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
April 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We showed up during the week with no reservation & had no trouble getting a gorgeous spot. Since the camp was not full, we had our choice of many spots that were secluded or at least separated from others. No warehousing here! Loved the birds and the deer and the quiet. We were planning to spend 1 night but stayed 2 & if we had had a car with us, would have stayed more. Staff was very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground was great. The sites were easy to use, level and most had shade trees. The sites are spread out and you have some space between you and the next unit. We watched deer come out every evening. Kids loved it. We did not get mobile phone coverage out in this area and the playgrounds could have used some grass cutting. Other than that, we definitely plan to re-visit this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2004
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the best campgrounds I've been in (military or civilian). CAble and local phone service at most sites. We also used a chalet once. Only average condition. Very friendly people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Level sites. These people were very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
59 results - showing 41 - 59
1 2 3