Uchee Creek Campground/Marina

Featured
 
4.6 (87)
130024 0 16 2 55

User reviews

87 reviews

 
(59)
 
(26)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.5  (87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (87)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.5  (87)
Value 
 
4.6  (87)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
87 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
April 22 - 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I'm late with this review but wanted to get it in. We've stayed here several times and will continue to do so. It's a very nice campground, however, there are some negatives. We were assigned Site #8 and have used this campsite before. The Campers Cove Pavilion is located between Sites 8 and 28. This time it was rented for an afternoon and into the evening by a very large group of people with many unruly children. This pavilion is rented to people who aren't normally campers. The adults seemed to stay inside while the children played outside. There were no supervision. We had to be on our guard at all times. We couldn't leave to escape. The children were all over the place with one little one climbing the ladder of our 5th wheel several times. I complained twice to an adult but no action was taken. The office was closed and the Host wasn't home. The following day I mentioned it to the person in the office and she told me that I should have called the MP's. We didn't know. We drove through the back section of the campground for the first time ever and saw a completely different campground. There were at least 11 trashy looking campsites with RVs looking as if they had been there for a very long time. One even had a large refrigerator outside. A couple of trailers looked as if they had everything they owned piled in and around and under their RV. For a campground that doesn't allow homesteading, there sure seemed to be a lot of it going on. This is still a very nice campground (front section) and we will continue coming here. The new AAFES Mall is one of the best we've seen anywhere. It is about 12 miles from the campground. The Dixie Road Shoppette has diesel fuel. The Fryar Drop Zone is 3 miles from campground (turn left at entrance to Uchee Creek and go 3 miles) and have grand stands for viewing paratroop drops. I don't know the schedule of these drops but when the Air Force planes are flying they are usually doing air drops. When staying here you have to understand that everything is about 12-15 miles away, i.e., Exchange, Commissary, Restaurant and shopping in Columbus and Phoenix City. I didn't mean to beat this campground up so hard but some things need to be pointed out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14 Nov 08 - 21 Nov 08
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Being a native GA boy, I liked the countryside setting - which is good, because the cg is definitely way out in the country. Very far out. To the px - 8-9 miles, to anything - 8-9 miles. Campground staff were friendly enough, but not very up to par on what camp sites were available, when we could reserve/not reserve, etc. The campground generally is not really big rig friendly. Many trees/shrubs need to be trimmed or removed. I would probably return if I were in the area, but I would not go out of my way for it. The hour long trip to FDR's little white house was worth the trip, as well as the country buffet we had in Warm Springs, and Callaway Gardens Christmas lights were very nice. Due to the time of year, we did not get to see many flowers, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 31, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Helpful at checkin, offer half price greens fee at local course for campers. Nicely stocked store, easy dump station, well-cared for and clean. Lovely pool and playground areas. We were on the edge of the Verizon coverage area.... sometimes our internet connection worked, sometimes it didn't. Sites had a metal picnic table, sturdy lantern hook, most had a fire ring, BBQ grill, and concrete pad. Plenty wide for our single slide, and deep enough that we could pull the 35' motorhome in, and still easily fit the Tahoe in front of it to park. Cable service was excellent, even providing some HD channels. Showers and bathhouse were clean and well-kept. Lovely shaded flat sites, some with trees adjacent, some more open. Most sites were back in, a few pull throughs. MANY MANY MANY MANY deer roaming all around the campground, between units, around picnic tables, MANY deer. Owls and coyotes at night, squirrels during the day. This was a great place to spend some time! Weekdays bring the sounds of military aircraft overhead and automatic fire from local ranges. Water pressure, as mentioned before, was low. Not unbearable, but low. Location is right off 165, clearly marked. Convenience stores close, and driving to downtown Columbus GA takes approximately 20 minutes. My only complaint was a lack of trash receptacles. The only dumpsters we saw were all the way at the entrance, so we had to take our smelly trash and doggy doo bags inside and drive them to the entrance. In spite of this minor inconvenience, we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 20th, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in one of the log cabins. The cabins are on the Chatahoohee river bank. Cell phones basically don't work, may get a text but had no luck with voice. The deer are every where and we heard coyotes across the river. The cabins were well maintained. Ours had a master bedroom with loft overhead containing two bunk beds. In the family room was a couch that would sleep two for a total of six. The rates run about $45 depending on one's rank.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sep 15-18, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It has been a year since we were here and it is still a great campground. Our Verizon Broadband last year was average and this year not so much! Water pressure no better, no one can explain why so we live with it. One concern we had was an RV that was there last year is still in the same site. When we asked if they started homesteading we were told these people come back and always ask for the same site throughout the year, lots of stuff on the site so not sure if I am convinced they told me the whole truth. They did a great job with the new PX and Food Court and I read about a new museum under construction but did not see it. Hope we can get back before another year goes by.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 2005 through May 2006
(Updated: September 01, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I took my old travel trailer down to Fort Benning to "full time" camp while stationed at Ft. Benning and later retired from the Army while there. I found that Uchee Creek MWR facilities are a great way to introduce someone to the outdoors and camping. I enjoyed the evenings by the campfire, fishing off of the pier and renting boats. The deer can be hand fed after getting to know you. The staff do an excellent job at making this campground a wonderful place to go and relax. I did experience the "wind storm" (read as "tornado") in March 2006. As the storm was passing through the area, campground staff came through the CG honking their car horn to warn everyone to go to the bathhouses for safety. Trees came down everywhere and several rigs were damaged, as was mine. The staff prioritized actions and conducted an area sweep to check on campers and injuries (there thankfully were none). Then with volunteer efforts from some campers, they started to clear roads and remove trees from the RV's. Later on a representative from Ft. Benning's JAG and claims department came out and gave a briefing on Army liabilities. After all was said and done, the staff did a wonderful job to provide comfort, care and safety during my stay there. I would recommend this wonderful facility to everyone!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
14-16 MAY 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We found the post AND the campground quite difficult to find but with several calls to the RV office staff, we managed to finally find it. They were patient with us. There were deer everywhere and alot of them so tame they were laying down on the grass. We enjoyed watching them from our window when we had coffee in the mornings. Three laundry rooms, one for each area and we were near the largest one. There was actually a pool in the middle of the RV park which looked really nice. It was open the day we got there but not afterwards (it was sprinkling on and off which is probably why). Wish we would have been able to utilize it. There were no hours posted and it was padlocked. You can hear C-130's overhead and we saw paratroopers coming out of one the planes while we were there. My husband attended jump school here in 1967 so he enjoyed a lot of the activity on base including paratroopers jumping from the jump towers. Very nice exchange mall - the 2nd or 3rd largest in the nation. (Ft Campbell is the largest). We were sorry to see that the Museum on post was closed while we were there. We were told that it won't reopen for another year. Very low water pressure which is annoying and very limited Verizon cell coverage, but they have cable TV with lots of stations. Office staff is friendly and many of the workers wave at you as they drive by. Spacious campsites with picnic table, grill AND fire ring. Not too close to other campers, which is nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 28 - April 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hard to find-huge base but worth it. Very relaxing and quiet except the mosquitos! (the plane noise is minor!) Diesel at one gas station and close by that station is recycling! Super exchange and commissary except for the distance from park. Dog wash was super! Clean and spacious sites. Water pressure sucks. Verizon internet in our spot was 1-2 bars only.I was leary when I saw the sewer drain and stopped the maintence man -Wesley...he was super! Quick response and no problems. Office was friendly. Lots of amenities with marina and woods and playgrounds, good laundermat and good place for families to visit us in rv's cuz the cabins are around the corner. Would come back in a heartbeat-maybe in less 'buggy' weather.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 17 - 19, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have stayed in this campground several times during the past 5 years and have no complaints. We have been assigned pull thrus each time and they had enough room and privacy as we needed. I've heard the complaints about the airplanes flying over but guess what, paratroopers need airplanes to operate and if the noise bothers you, don't stay there. It's not that bad. The only negative for the people who like to go to the Exchange/Commissary every day is that it is about 9 miles from the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: There was an error in my reservation about my day of arrival, but fantastic camp host cured problem immediately, even though it was after 9:00 PM. Still ended up with great site. One thing I noticed while bicycling through area - unless you are totally unable to back unit into site, don't request pull-through. Back-in sites give you a lot more room and privacy. Verizon signal great in all areas, Cingular non-existant in all areas. One other caution - even though DoD has done away with registration stickers on vehicles, this does not seem to apply to Fort Benning. If you do not have stickers, you must go into Visitor Center and register. And don't forget to register your "toad".

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
26-30 Dec 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground in the woods. Beautiful setting with wildlife. Modern and very clean Bath houses and laundries. Friendly and helpful staff. 20-30 minute drive from civilization or main post and facilities (Huge Base). No Wi-Fi and not anticipated. Staff not well informed regarding on-Post Commercial (Wynsong) Theater with first run movies. Weather Channel seldom available on provided Cable TV which would have been helpful given winter weather changes. RVs w/o DoD decals (USAF no longer issues) must use I-85 gate with Truck/RV gateway for pass despite 100% ID Checks at all times. One Bathhouse / laundry (closest to our campsite) was without Hot Water and was not repaired during our brief over the holidays stay. Most sites are backin, but a few are Pull-thru. New BX is huge! Columbus Museum is great, along with on-base Infantry Museum and Civil War Naval Museum. Callaway Gardens almost an hour away from Campground. On-base "Dog Wash" worked well, basic wash and dry cost is $6. Camp has playground, B-Ball, etc fields along with marine access. Campstore has essentials and lots of Hunting stuff. Access to AL HWY 165 to the west is available and was handy for westbound departure. Will certainly visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. Deer roam freely throughout the camp which is located far from the noise of the main post. Sites are clean, clear well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Our truck broke down while we were there and had a rental with no tow bar, we had to stay longer than planned while it was repaired and needed to move our pop up. The Camp host, helped us move our pop up to a new site with his own vehicle. The camp store is well stocked with the essentials and even though it is not very close to the main facilites, BX/PX commissary they are available. Definately look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. 25th Oct. 29th, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Once again we found this campground to be one of our favorites. More deer there everytime we go and our cats love watching the wildlife. Water pressure was no more than 25 psi and maintenance could not find out why and they said it had nothing to do with water crisis in the state. For you shoppers out there the new and improved PX should be open before month end. Will definitely be back!
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct. 14, 2007 - Oct. 17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
From the staff to the worndering wildlife this is a great place to stay - A little out in the boondocks but well worth the time and effort to get there - We will visit again...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Sep 18-24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for our 1st time while my wife had knee surgery at Hughston Clinic in Columbus. The lady that took my reservation was GREAT and very friendly. She gave me a map of the open sites and told me to find the one I liked. When we checked in everyone in the office were very nice. I have a MotoSat Satellite on my MH and wanted a site without a lot of trees, the one I found was a nice back in. All the pull thru sites are "curved" and alongside the road. The park is nice and quiet and I would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
August 17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Uchee Creek is a great campground! We came in late in the evening, during a thunderstorm, with no reservations. We stopped at the on-duty camp host in site # 1 to check in. Fred was friendly, courteous, and helpful, and had a large awning on his trailer that covered a very nice patio on which to do the sign-in business out of the rain. He assigned us site #3, and said we had to pay at the country store in the morning. It turned out that site #3 had electrical problems and after repeated attempts to reset the breakers, I gave up. Instead of going back and disturbing Fred again, we just boondocked it for the night, without electricity. That was fine, because it was late and we were pretty much whipped from the day's drive and activities. In the morning, I mentioned the electrical problem to the staff at the country store, and they said that there would be no charge for our night's stay. They said they had had a similar report on site #4, and immediately sent the maintenance guy out to fix the problem. The bath houses are modern, well maintained and very clean. Our bike ride around the grounds in the morning revealed a place kept up by a staff that truly has pride of place. Very nice swimming pool in the center of the CG. Lots of nice looking, modern log cabins to rent, as well. As mentioned by others, it's all in a beautiful wooded setting with abundant wildlife. Interestingly, Uchee Creek is on the Alabama side of the Chatahoochee River, in a different time zone (Central) from the main base. However, because it's run by Fort Benning, Georgia MWR, they keep Eastern Time hours. We'll be back when we can stay longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 1-7, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I rented a cabin for the week. (We havent yet purchased a camper). We really liked the campgorund. It was great. It was VERY clean, the staff was very nice and helpfull when we had questions. We saw lots of dear, they practically came up to the cabins and RVs. Very nice pool. Its near the Post but far enough out to make you feel like you are a world away. It was only 15 min to anything you need on Post. And 30 min or less to shopping and resturants in Columbus. We also were able to drive to Calloway Gardens and FDR's Little White house(less than an hour). This campground had lots to offer. We didnt get a great cell signal, but we were on vaction so it really didnt matter, as soon as we went over the brigde and on to post we picked up a signal. Our cabin had AC and cable which was great in the middle of the afternoon when the heat index got up to 100 or more. All in all we have a great experiance and cant wait to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 13 - 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Made reservations via phone to very professional and polite lady. Arrival was a little dicey but got there without a lot of problem. Campground was beautiful with the facilities all clean and maintained. Super staff. Nice pool. Very nice sites. Deer wandering thru the sites. Great boat access. Great experience. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
April 13th to 19th, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were in site 15 and got satellite and broadband Verizon with no problem, so this loop may be better positioned for reception. Sites long and wide and utilities good. Perfect place for wildlife viewing and photography of the wildlife. Only negative was the price was the highest ever paid in the military campground system and no discount for disabled vets.
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a beautiful campground. The sites are large, level, and have excellent hook ups. However, it has some downsides that you should be aware of. The following comments are offered as information, not complaint. First of all, it is a long ways from the CG to any base services (hospital, PX, Commissary) and any community services (e.g. shopping.) If you want to go any place, you will have to drive a minimum of 8 miles--the distance to the commissary/exchange complex. Cell phone coverage is weak and the large number of trees rendered our satellite useless. There are sites where one could get a satellite signal, but they are few and far between. Our Internet connection (through Verizon Broadband) was spotty and slow at best, when it was even available. Of course, there were also frequent over flights of large military aircraft (there is a parachute drop zone close by), but to us retirees that's the "sound of freedom" and we didn't mind it. There were no night drops while we were there. The park does not enforce its pet rules (there were several dogs tied outside the rigs while we were there, and at least two of them were "barkers" who disturbed other campers.) Given how long it looked like they had been there (kennels on the site) there was little evidence that management objected. There is still evidence of "homesteading" which is technically not allowed. The problem is worse at the back of the CG, less noticeable in the front areas. The park was very busy when we were there, due in part to it being spring break and Easter weekend. Unlike many other military campgrounds, there were a lot of families using the park--it was good to see youngsters being exposed to the camping experience--and the ones we had contact with were well behaved. However, if the sounds of children playing and riding bicycles around bothers you, this isn't the place for you. Hope this is helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
87 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5