Uchee Creek Campground/Marina

Featured
 
4.6 (87)
129199 0 16 2 55

User reviews

26 reviews with 4 stars

87 reviews

 
(59)
 
(26)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.5  (87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (87)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.5  (87)
Value 
 
4.6  (87)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Mar 30 - Apr 3 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Second time staying here and it was another nice stay. Bridge from the post out the back gate is under construction, but your RV will fit...just go as slow as you are comfortable. Quiet during the week and only a little noise from kids on the weekend. Plenty of room between sites. Utilities worked well and were located in a great spot for my rig. I had a back-in this time and went all the way back to the tires almost on the concrete block. Some sites are open and others are well treed. No grill at my site, but most site have one. Wifi was fine late at night and during the week when fewer people were using it. It is over a 30 min drive to Columbus whether you go thru the post or the long way around. Andersonville National Military Cemetary/POW museum/historic site is over 90 min away, but worth the drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 10- May 9th, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our first stay at this Fam Camp. The spaces are nice and large and the camp is quite well maintained. The pool does not open before Memorial Day and it was HOT here. It would have been wonderful it it had been open. You cannot send or receive mail here. But you can drive onto the base and send mail from there. You and your kids can ride bikes or walk your dogs throughout the park without worry. We had no trouble with our satellite dish - but this area is not AT&T friendly. Nice museums in the area as well as a couple other sites to see. About 2.5 hours to Atlanta. Fire pits in most of the sites. Mosquitoes and ticks. If you walk in the woods - be aware there are snakes and there are gators near the water. We've been there done that now...... probably won't stay here again. It was fine, but you can only ride or walk around the park so many times. A month here was just too long without the pool or other activities at the park. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 Nov - 3 Dec 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Directions say use base access point #2. There are no signs that tell you which gate is what access point. Gate guard at the end of I-185 said that is gate #3. Regardless, if you come in I-185, it is very easy to find the park and drive thru the base even in a big rig. Once you pass the big water tower (it will be on your right) you go down a small hill and will see 3 crosswalk signs. Just past the 3rd sign, you will turn left. There are signs to the campground, but some give zero warning of an impending turn. This was one with next to no notice of a turn. The other left turn with next to no warning is the final turn onto the marina/campground road. Immediately after passing the 2nd solar panel farm (this is out the back gate), you turn left to the marina/park. Easy check in at the country store. I had an older pull thru and had to adjust a few times to make sure the slides would extend and not hit the trees. If I return here, I will ask for a back-in out in the open. I just don't like climbing up on the roof and sweeping off the slides. The newer pull thrus appear to be longer and wider, but not tree covered. This place is HUGE!! No fenced dog area, but there are so many roads to walk the dog, it is not a problem. Just remember to carry your pick-up bags, because the doggy comfort stations were empty. Water pressure was very good. Electrical and cable worked well. Wifi was better than I expected. If ever in the area again, I would definitely stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
March 25-April 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I can't say too much bad about this place but do have a couple of problems. We stayed in one of the Executive Chalets. We loved the chalet. However, there was no phone service at all and the internet was hit and miss, mostly miss. We were told that we could use our phones if we had Verizon. Other than that nothing works. Our AT&T didn't work any where in the park. We had to drive up almost to the main post road in order to get a signal. The other thing is the internet. The first couple of days we had service in the morning and nothing at night. Then the last 4 days we had no service at all. They put in all those new routers around the park a few years ago and I know they worked at one time. We had one on a pole across the street from our chalet.  Another complaint is when I called a couple months ago to make reservations the person told me that the policy is a maximum of  7 nights, nothing more. We wanted to stay 10 nights. When we checked in I asked that person and she said there is no rule that says you can only stay 7 nights. If the chalet was available at the time we could have stayed 10 nights. Now we know.  On Easter Sunday at the chalet next to us, a truck and large van backed in and began unloading. I thought at first a bunch of college students were having a spring break party. I watched them unload for a while until I got tired. They unloaded at least 6 large military duffle bags, 2 large backpacks, 2 very large chests that took 2 of them to carry and several cases that at first I thought were musical instrument cases. But they turned out to be rifle cases. This was happening at the next two chalets also. The next day our question of who are the guys were answered. When we came home from our outing for the day, 7 or 8 of them in uniform were in the yard and had ropes tied around most of the trees and were throw hatchets at the trees. They had set up a bivouac area in a recreational residential area. The next day I found out about the rifles. They got out of the vehicles with weapons and ammo cans. Don't get me wrong, they didn't cause any trouble. I just can't understand why something like this could happen. I asked at the office when I checked out and the 3 ladies there were surprised at what I was telling them. I told them if I wanted to live in a military bivouac area I could probably get something a little cheaper than the 140 dollars I was paying here.  With all this said, we had a wonderful 7 nights and plan to do it again but maybe 10 nights.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 7
November 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was a very nice campground with everything you could need. All sites are full hook ups 50amp, and cable hook up with 58 channels! We came from Alabama so we didn't need to drive through the whole base. Also information here is incorrect and outdated so I will update: first the address is all wrong, here's the address your GPS will take you exactly to this RV park: 5 Uchee Creek Rd, Fort Mitchell, AL 36856. Also prices are as follows; Prices are based on rank (retired or active), E-5 and below= $23/$138/$552, Tent=$8/$48, E-6 and above= $24/$144/$576, Tent=$9/$54. They also have 75' pull through sites for $1 additional per night for E-5 and below and $3 additional for E-5 and above. Golden age/access pass is $5 discount. (Editor note: Website updated).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
22-24 Jun 15
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice recreation area. Had a very nice pull-thru spot in the outer loop. Lots available to do there--boat rental, fishing, swimming pool, etc. If there is wifi, we could never access it. Even cell service was weak where our spot was. Did not use the shower or laundry facilities but checked on the ones located near our spot and it appeared everything was in working order. Played golf on post. The golf course had 3 nine-hole courses. Course was in good condition. Would return (but would wait until the fall or early spring). It was extremely hot during this time of year!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 18-20, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had originally planned to stay 4 nights, but had to leave early. This is a beautiful campground in the woods, plenty of space between sites and great fishing. Unlike most campgrounds they have there own section for permanent party further back in the woods. You can't fault the staff who do and excellent job but some issues need attention. The laundry facility had 6 washers and 3 dryers working with only 1 of the 3 worth a hoot! Internet was spotty and so we gave up. Would like to of seen the pool remain open past 1800 for us older folks. We camped in a 26 foot travel trailer and entered off of Highway 165. Notified the campground that we would be arriving late and they had our information with site # and gate code taped near the door, and informed us to check in at our convenience the the next day which was nice. The phone numbers above are correct the phone numbers provided on my email confirmation were not.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 25, 1014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were on the road and called to see if we could make a reservation. We were told that a rally was going on for that weekend and the following week and the RV park would be full during that time. We made other arrangements nearby. During a trip to Fort Benning to use the Exchange and Commissary, we decided to drive through the park. Every site in the front section except one was occupied with a motorhome with a club emblem attached. There were no people around and no towed vehicles. Someone (don't know how true) said the rally was on weekends with the RV occupants going back home during the week and returning the following weekend. I just wonder how many authorized users to this park live within driving distance that they can go home and come back just for the weekend. I also wonder how many of these folks are not military connected and not authorized to use this park. I'll probably never know.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2 Nov - 4 Nov 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Since we live only four hours away, Uchee Creek has become our "get away for only a few days at a time" RV Park. We visit several times a year, and always arrive with at least 100 pounds of corn for the deer. We love the place, and all of the comments you read are true. There have been many improvements made over the past few years, and the grounds are immaculate, especially when you consider the sheer size of the place. In fact, it can be quite entertaining on "mowing day" to just sit back and watch the crew mow the entire park in just one day. With all that said, it saddens me to write this review, because there is one issue which needs to be addressed: the bathhouse facilities. They are nothing short of atrocious. Filthy is the better word. Although they are cleaned every day (if you look at the checklist), there have been times during the last year that they were not touched for more than a week at a time. During my most recent stay, two of the three toilets were stopped-up and literally full of...well, use your imagination. They were like that when I arrived, and still untouched three days later when I left. Granted, some of the problems can be attributed to campers, but the fact remains that someone is getting paid to clean the facilities. I have spoken to management about this issue, and am assured that the facilities are inspected by a supervisor every day. So there's one more person getting paid for something they're not doing. Like I said, we love Uchee Creek, and will keep returning, but something needs to be done about this one little problem area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 15-20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: We enjoyed this campground the most. It was an awesome experience. All need to go to the museum and enjoy. The room on Viet Nam was so lifelike. Gave chills as to just a minute part of what my husband went through. Saw alot of special parts that Uncles talked about in WWII thanks for the wonderful experiences. We will be back soon. Last time my husband was there was Basic @ Sand Hill in 65. Only thing I would recommend is a BIG Fan in Laundry room as very very hot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
20 May to 31 May 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to stay while visiting Ft. Benning. Poor water pressure at times, no water pressure because they filled the pool, no one told us in advance that they would be no water. Seem like it would have been to much trouble. Most sites are nice some need some work like cutting weeds around utility pedestal. Over priced compared to other FamCamps. Laundry room could use some cleaning and organization. Stayed in site # 3 - terrible Verizon phone service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 21, 2010 - Dec 05, 2010
(Updated: December 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second visit to this facility. Overall not much has changed. This is a very nice campground. We were on site 31 on this trip. The 50 amp power supply did not work, used 30 amp with no problem as the weather was cold and did not need AC. We have a signal booster so lack of good signal for Verizon was not a problem. Was able to get 3 to 4 bars with phones and computer. The main laundry facility was closed most of the time we were there. Five of the six washers did not work. Repairs were made and they still didn't work. Seems like most of the attention goes to the rental cabins. Wildlife lovers will see plenty of deer in the campground. Despite the negative comments we will continue to come to this campground in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov 29 - Dec 1, 2010
(Updated: December 09, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The park is beautiful and well maintained. It's been a couple of years since we were here, but it's still just as nice. The water pressure is not great, as noted by other reviewers. The rest of the park facilities make up for that issue, though. One of the nicest military parks we have stayed in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
19 May 2010 - 02 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Generally speaking this is a nice facility, however, on arrival we were assigned a site in the "long term" area (Site 65) on the back side of the facility. It appears that alot of the travel trailers in the campground belong to Fort Benning and are being utilized for housing active duty and other personnel. All of the campers appeared to have been there for some time. The area was infested by mosquitoes to the point that it was not possible to go outside day or night. After several days I requested to move to another site in the campground. Was permitted to move to Site 41 and it was much better and the remaining time was much more enjoyable. Deer are everywhere. Laundry facilities could stand general cleaning and several driers had been broken into and not repaired. Cell phone and internet service was almost non-existent. Satellite service was good. Water pressure was low.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 27 - April 2, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First, getting there. I used the GPS and it took me right to the Country Store for check in. I talked to another person that also used it and he had no problems except he thought it was taking him astray. He said he was confused because he was in Alabama. Uchee Creek Campground is in Alabama, but part of Ft. Benning, Georgia, thus the confusion. I was in site 27 and it was an excellent site. I was within easy walking distance to a bath house and laundry. The only down side of the place was in the laundry. There were 6 each washers and dryers. Some of the washers were 75 cents a load and some were $1.25. Same type washers, so couldn't figure the difference. 2 of the washers were broken. The dryers were also different prices. Half were labeled as 25 cents but no time given, the other half were labeled as 50 cents for 12 minutes. Again, could not see any difference in them. I dried a double load in one of 50 cent ones and put $2 in and they dried very well. All the facilities were very clean and the whole camping area was well landscaped and maintained. Definitely a place to stop if you are going to be in the area. Not that far to Columbus for major shopping. The exchange was large, well stocked and had just about everything you would need. Commissary also large and well stocked. Verizon and Dish worked well here except you are right on the Time Zone line and my phone kept changing times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
February 8-23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is one of our favorite military campgrounds. The sites are large and easy to get in to. Office personnel are friendly. The one who checked us in, though, needed to be updated on one way streets in campground. He had us going down wrong way. It's a good thing we had been here before. Deer are always seen in the campground in the evenings. The Fryar Drop Zone is only about a mile away where you can go and watch the Airborne drops. Some of the sites flood pretty good during a hard rain, but dry up quickly. Didn't get a chance to visit the new museum but understand it is worth the visit. Would recommend this campground highly. DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR GPS DIRECTIONS. We never did find the campground that way! Just follow the directory directions. I am sure we will be visiting here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Feb. 12-14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stopped here for a couple nights to let a small snow storm pass by. This is a pretty nice recreation area. I can see it being popular when the weather is better. Actually, we would love to spend a week or two here with nice weather. Sites are large and spaced apart. Staff was friendly. We almost forgot we were at a military campground. Too bad they are expensive for WiFi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 11, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Enjoyed the campground. Very nice but very,very low water pressure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov. 11th to 15th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Same check in situation as last time, young woman at desk not trained yet or does not know what customer service means. She asked for less money than we owed so I had to tell her how much we owed and she assigned us a site with a big tree at the back of the site so a 45' would not fit. Found our own site and let them know what site we took. Arrived after NorIDA went thru and lots of flooding in low areas but no standing water on sites. Boat launch area was flooded up to the Country Store so no launches while we were there. Not able to use Broadband at all this time in site 35; had to drive out of the campground about a mile then signal was good. Huge construction going on since last visit and rumor has it troops from Fort Campbell are coming to Ft. Benning. These have to be the best fed deer in the U.S. as we see so many people feeding them and they come as close as a few feet from the RV's that put out food. Love Uchee Creek and we will always return here.....
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
March 8th to March 16th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
New person at desk at check in and she had no clue what to do. She asked for help and was told since we had a 45' Class A we should look for a site between 30 and 35. We took our car there and they were all full so drove around and found our own site. This check-in debacle never happened before so hope none of you will experience the same thing. Water pressure still poor and Verizon Broadband is iffy. Still one of our favorite places to come as we love the wildlife and there is a German Store and Restaurant less than 10 miles away. There are many empty sites so guess snowbirds go further south than this. Good to know for future winter travels as we leave our Florida house in the winter to escape the snowbirds who flock there; I guess we are reverse snowbirds.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2