Mountain Home AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.0 (38)
46384   0   10   0   18

User reviews

18 reviews with 4 stars

38 reviews

 
(12)
 
(18)
 
(6)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
3.5  (38)
 
3.8  (38)
 
4.4  (38)
 
4.0  (38)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
18 results - showing 1 - 18  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6-12 June 2014

This is an excellent park. My only recommendations are for more signage when entering from the Commercial Gate, as well as direction of travel once inside the park. Also once in the park it would be nice to know where the BX, Commissary and other facilities were located on base. Granted it's a small base so we were able to drive around and find everything. My point is if a map was located on the wall where you self check-in, it would have saved a couple gallons of diesel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2014

The Famcamp is great for the price. Laundry is only .50 per load. The place to eat is at the bowling alley. They have fixed it up much better than some off base sandwich shops. I would give the bowling alley snack bar 5 stars! The BX and commissary are small. It all correlates with the base population. The base has all new housing since the 80's when I was stationed here. The hospital can fill your prescriptions! Less than 50 miles to Boise. Sun Valley is about 130 miles. There is a Walmart in town!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17-19 Dec 2013

Great little camp site. Warm showers that were really appreciated during negative temps. Older facilities and thin pads but overall okay. No camp host available during low temps but the self pay center was very informative. No cable available, but you can explore so much here. Its a good little camp site to stay at for a little bit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct. 11-14 2012

A very quiet base/stay as well as almost empty. Even the skeet range next to park was quieter this visit. Camphosts were gone for winter so not sure when the restrooms/laundry will get cleaned again... Verizon MI-FI was fine but poor TV reception(only ABC in our site) Nice big dog park since last visit and you can no longer eat at chow hall. Sites are small as RV's get bigger but the concrete pads are flat. Camphosts had planted wonderful garden-impressive. We had a ridiculous wait at the Commercial gate...appeared to be one guard for two lines till suddenly 5 guards showed up and they apologized for wait as all we had to do was show ID's twice to go thru. All in all though we would come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 19, 2012

A nice FamCamp. Hosts were congenial; disappointed that we didn't stay longer. We like trees so this was very pleasant for us; shade most of the day; that helped with keeping the RV cool. Restrooms/showers, Clean clean clean! Base commissary/BX very convenient and appropriately stocked. Gas station has room for big rigs needing diesel (use the right hand pumps, right side). Note: you have to enter via the commercial gate for security, BUT you can depart via the main gate; there's adequate room to get around the barriers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 9, 2011

We stayed there Oct. 9, 2011 for 1 night. Really liked the campground. CAUTION - the commercial gate is closed on Sunday and there is no way to turn you rig around to go back to the road. There is a sign directing you to go on an old road thru a field back to Grandview if the gate is closed. Took the road only to find a fence at Grandview. I had to drive out into a field to turn around to go back out the way I came in. Note: the commercial gate is also closed after hours. I was able to enter through the main gate with no problems. My rig towing a car is 45ft. Other than getting into the base our experience was positive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9 Sept-12 Sept 2011

We stayed here 9 September for 3 nights and found it very quiet and clean. Our space was 8 and close to laundry. Toured the Dam area, but did not go into Mountain Home. There was a host on duty and were told to pick any spot available. Would stay here again. Amy and John Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 10-13, 2010

Very nice FamCamp. Paved roads and full concrete pull-thru sites. 50 & 30 amp electric. Lots of pretty green grass and shade trees. The trees may cause a problem with satellite reception. Full size commissary and exchange nearby. Nearest town is 15 miles away. Nothing in between. My RV is 37' and the sites are not quite long enough to park tow vehicle on site. Nice clean laundry and bathhouse. Commercial gate is open 24/7.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 30, 2009

If you have a long rig, use the Commercial Gate on Grandview Avenue. It is a little further west on Highway 67 from the main gate. The Main Gate has been recently re-designed and has sharp curves. We maneuvered our 40 RV and toad through the curves but were hitting the sidewalls on our rear RV tires. The FamCamp is an older campground but very nice and clean with many tall trees. It is on the north side of the base and located in a very quiet location. The host is very friendly and helpful. I sought and could not find a base map. There is a crude map posted at the FamCamp entrance but it is not entirely accurate. Like another post, we had water spots on our RV each morning from the sprinkler system that runs every night. I don't know how you can avoid this and you are not allowed to wash your RV in the campground. Overall, a nice, pleasant place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 15-28, 2009

This seems to be a very well run campground. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the camp host. He was helpful in telling me about the campground and how to register. It is self registration. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were extra clean and well maintained. Laundry is 50 cent wash and 50 cent dry, although I did have to put extra in for the dryer on a couple of loads. The campground is well maintained and quiet. I would stay here again and it would probably be a lot better in the summer. Easy drive to shopping off base. Well stocked commissary and exchange on base. Verizon cell and wireless worked very well. Dish network also worked well. When coming on to the base, if you stay in the right lane after going through the gate, you will be in the right lane to make the right turn to go to FamCamp. At the second light if you are in the right lane, you have to turn right.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 20, 2008

Nice camp with shade trees and a quiet atmosphere. No restrooms. Good base camp for local sights like Hagerman, Snake River, Thousand Falls,and Boise (only 1/2 hr). Base facilities are all close by. Movie theater was good. About 15 min from town with Walmart etc. Terrys RV Repair in town did some work on our 5th wheel and treated us fairly. Great stay for the price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-2 Oct 2008

Main gate is still closed. Not a place to stop just to get some sleep since it's several miles from I-84 however, they have a nice BX and Commissary. Meat prices in the Commo were very reasonable. Club is not open for dinner any longer and the enlisted lounge is only open on Fridays now. Nice golf course with good prices. Verizon cell and aircard service is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-4 Sep 2008

It was a bit interesting getting to the Famcamp as the main gate is closed and traffic enters the Grandview Gate. Base street names have apparently been changed, so we could not rely on the names on our printed map from MS Streets & Trips or the names we saw on the GPS. One "street" on the GPS took us into a dead end but had a large parking lot we could turn around in -- fortunately it was Labor Day holiday! We had an enjoyable stay. We had to ask how to find the Post Office as the location on the map was an empty building with no direction posted as to where to find the new location. The only irritants were hard water spots on the side of the motorhome from the automatic sprinkler system, and several intermittent "ground fault" alarms on our electrical line meter in the very early morning hours the last night we were there. We really enjoyed using the provided grill at our site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 4 - 18, 2008

Small, but very nice famcamp. No camp host during winter months. No reservations, first-come, first served. Paved roads throughout. Check-in kiosk at entrance. Sites are pull-thru, level concrete pads. Each site has a grill and picnic table on small, concrete pad. Each site is landscaped with grass and shade trees. Shower/restroom/laundry room by entrance. Two washers and two dryers ($.50 to wash/$.50 to dry). Very clean. Exchange/commissary/gym/pool all within a few blocks. Small base so everything is convenient to the famcamp. Note: Main entrance will be closed for reconstruction from April 2008 until November 2008. Enter thru Grandview gate. Just follow signs on Airbase Rd as you come in from I-84.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 27, 2008

There was no host since we were into the winter season. The check-in kiosk did not have any forms so I had to call the next day to get forms. The cost was great! It was $12 a day and if you signed for 6 days the 7th was free. The only problem we had was entering the main gate. The rent-a-cop stood at the entry station and laughed at us trying to get our 40' through the barriers. We entered and all was well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13-15 April 2007

A very nice FamCamp. Don and his wife, the camp hosts, made us feel right at home. They invited us to dinner at the club which we joined while we were there. Had a very nice visit with them and other folks. Very clean restrooms/showers and laundry facilities. Great BX and commissary! It would be nice to have had cable TV as we don't have a sat. system. No TV on the antenna. Will go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 2006

Very nice campground. Enter through the main gate. Paved roads, concrete pads, and several pavillions. The indivdual pads are seperated with trees and green space. Each pad has a picnic table and bbq area. MHAFB is 10 miles south of I-84, so a little bit out of the way, but well worth it if staying for more than a night. Lots of natural sight seeing around Mountain Home and the FamCamp booklet explains where to go and what to see. Computers and wifi are available at the base library about 3 blocks from the FamCamp. Commissary and BX are about 4 blocks from the FamCamp. The only negative has nothing to do with MHAFB -- right-hand lane on I-84 from Boise for about 30 miles east is very damaged from truck traffic and is one of the worst pieces of interstate I've driven on. FamCamp host said several rv's had been damaged by driving in the right-hand lane.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2006

We found this campground to be very neat, tree shaded with grill at each site, paved and level long pads, extremely clean laundry and shower facilities, friendly host and close to all base amenities. A very refreshing stop on our trip west. Gasoline on base is about 3 cents cheaper than town. Get a 15 cent per gallon discount on the first 20 gallons by spending $50.00 or more at the BX. Access is easy as the highway ends at the main gate. Large rigs may want to use the "commercial truck" entry to the right (our 26.5 Lazy Daze with Honda Element tow maneuvered the barriers easily). From gate the drive to the campground is short and easy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
18 results - showing 1 - 18