Mountain Home AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.0 (39)
48227   0   10   0   18

User reviews

13 reviews with 5 stars

39 reviews

 
(13)
 
(18)
 
(6)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
3.6  (39)
 
3.8  (39)
 
4.4  (39)
 
4.0  (39)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 June 2018

Please be advised that the campground is NOT closed. They repaved the roads and as of mid-June the place is wide open with brand new roads. Very nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 5, 2016

First thing I would like to say is this was very BIG RIG freindly. 44 ft 5th wheel at 1 am and I pulled right in, set up and had a great night sleep. Going through the gate was easy, I pulled up to the right side and the guard ran out to open up for me. They must have added a stop light because once through the gate go 3 lights not 2 then turn right. The BX was nice and well maintained. I had a Great time, Thanks!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 18, 2015

Stayed just 1 night passing through on our way to Cascade, Id.  Nice sites with easy access. Decent bath house facility & laundry. Was nice to have a carwash close as the truck & trailer were plastered with 1500 miles worth of bugs. Was able to fuel up easily & grab dinner at Pizza Hut. Utilized the BX in the morning on our way out.  Would stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

7 August 2015

Although base is off the highway a little way, approx 10 miles, once we were on base we were pleasantly surprised. We were quickly greeted by the camp host and welcomed and given options on where to park and door codes for facilities. This was not our destination, just a stop over which worked out perfectly for us. Campground was easy to locate and within walking distance to the BX and Commissary. Sites were clean and easy to navigate with a bigger rig. Would recommend as a stop over for a day or two depending on your need.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 13, 2014

MHAFB Fam Camp is a VERY decent RV park, and for the money it's outstanding! We came in late on a Friday and there were still spaces available - not alot, but we got lucky. We came late on a Friday, so called the command post and they gave us the number to SF to alert them we needed to come through the main gate, they opened up lane 3 to let us and another RV in. Their number is: 208-828-2256. We were just passing through, so only stayed one night, but after looking at all the marina has to offer we may very well come back here on vacation. Every spot is easily accessed and there is a well kept lawn and picnic table for every site - a very nice touch. The bathroom / laundry room is great, nice and clean and the laundry is only .50 per load. One dryer was out of order, but the other dryer handled both of my loads just fine, thoroughly dried. The showers were great, good water pressure, clean, new shower fixtures enabled you to adjust to your perfect setting. We stayed here in a travel trailer with 4 children. Mountain Home is a nice little town too. My only complaint would be that it's 10 miles off the highway, but when you leave there is a bypass you can take to get you back to 84 North, but it comes up on you quickly, so have your GPS zoomed in so you don't miss it, we missed it and went through Mountain Home, no big deal. My final rating for this camp is OUTSTANDING!! Easy in / Easy out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 3 - 5, 2012

Very nice small famcamp. Restrooms/laundry were spotless. Long pull-thru concrete pads. Famcamp brochure is very useful, as is the other info posted in the kiosk where you register. Park hosts were very congenial. We'd like to stay again sometime, for a longer period.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22 July 2011

At Mountain Home now, agree, a little off the beaten path but 15 mi. ain't that bad. I only have a small RV (Leisure Freedom) so we have no problem getting in and out and the weather is nice and cool so we are not using A/C so no power problems. Since you can't make reservations it is good we got here early because at 2 PM there were only 4 slots open. And I think they are all full tonight. As I said WX is nice, we walked to Commissary and BX and didn't pick up a lot. There were a few eating areas close. Bowling Alley right up the block. We are here only one night but I think we could enjoy a longer stay. bath house clean, laundry cheap. I'm using Verizon stick for Internet and TV has about 15 channels on antenna.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 27, 2009

K.H. left this review using the Directory software: Excellent FamCamp. Don is a great host with 11 years experience here at Mountain Home AFB.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

31 Jul-1 Aug 2009

A very clean and quite RV campsite with concrete pads and full hook ups. The base is 10 miles away from the main town and I-84. But it is easy access to town and the base has a good BX, commissary and other facilities expected at most bases. Good Verizon cell coverage for phone and 3G service. For larger units the commercial gate at Grandview is much easier access to the campground. Gas station near main gate was easy access and had cheaper gas/diesel price than other station in the area (at least at the time we were there). Well worth another visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 11, 2009

The base is 10 miles from town so if anything is needed that can't be had at the commissary or BX it might be handy to stop there first. Entry to the base will be much easier if the commercial traffic Crowe gate is used. Once past it, follow the road for a few miles and turn left on Falcon. There are very few signs directing you to the base facilities. Fortunately, it's a small base so a minimal amount of hunting for them will be necessary. I wasn't impressed with the Class 6 store, but the golf course is nice. It's also possible to fit all but the largest rigs into the car wash. The C/G is in a nice quiet location on base. 50A sites are concrete, 30A are gravel, but both types are nice. Anything on the outer ring will be best for satellite signals. The voltage was low even tho there were only a handful of rigs in the C/G. The skeet range is nearby. I suspect that would provide some unpleasant noise when it’s being used. Reservations aren’t taken and there’s no on site office so it’s best to check with the host for site selection even tho there’s a self check in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 29 - June 4, 2008

Nice clean park with most sites having a concrete pad and all having a BBQ grill and picnic table. Verizon aircard works great along with the cell phone. We could get 4 or 5 TV channels with the crank-up antennae. The weekly rate is $84.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov. 2007

We arrived just after dark & had some difficulty finding the campground due to darkness- no street lights to see street names. It would have been easier if there had been other RVs in the park as we could have seen them. This was a new experience for us- only one other sole in the park. The park was very nice and well maintained. Registered & paid at the kiosk so no problems. Couldn't get into the restrooms so don't know how they are. We would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 1 - 4, 2007

A very nice, quiet and peaceful FamCamp. Upon entering for the first time we were impressed with the large, tree-shaded sites. Each site had well groomed grass, concrete pads and BBQs. The host walked over to our rig as soon as we stopped at the check-in kiosk. He was very friendly and informative. The facilities are very clean and comfortably air conditioned. We stopped here on our way to the PNW for a needed rest off the hwy, and we definitely found a great place to rest!

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13