Great Lakes Naval Training Center

New Hot
 
3.5 (36)
65198   0   9   1   10

User reviews

Filters 17 reviews with 4 stars

36 reviews

 
(5)
 
(19)
 
(5)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.3  (36)
 
2.7  (36)
 
3.9  (36)
 
3.4  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 1, 2016

Can't add much more than what jmccombs says about the place. Found it difficult to find the check in spot, signs were spotty especially from main gate. Walked around base, nice historic district, museum and large exchange. Commissary off base, hit it on the way out, nice early bird opening of 0700. The water drainage surrounding rv site is slow and the area was mucky, the view makes up for it's shortcomings.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18 SEP 2014

Nice relaxing campsite on the water. Beaches are nice to walk on. We were told that they are going to upgrade the RV campsites very soon. They currently have only electric at the sites. The staff at the lodging facility were very friendly, however, they were not aware of the best gates to utilize to gain access on base. Additionally, as stated in an earlier post, the gate guards seemed to make up there own rules. Example: They told me that my retired ID card, with my social security number on it, needed to be changed out to a new ID card without the SS#. No problem, right? Well, the following day, at the same gate, the guard said, "Your ID card is suspended. I should not let you on bases. You need a new card." He then said, "I should confiscate this card, but, get it replaced by tomorrow." Of course when I went to get it replaced, the ID card personnel stated that this was not true. They stated that the guards are just trying to get people to get new cards. Other than that experience, the campground and base facilities were very nice. Good gyms, close BX, however, the large BX and commissary are off base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 10, 2014

I found the previous instructions a little confusing, so I hope to give you more details here. As stated, enter through the Main Gate off of IL-137 (Buckley Rd). Just ID's were needed. Once you depart the Main Gate, go 0.2 miles straight ahead (to the end) and make a Right on Sampson. Then get into the left lane and make an immediate left onto Decatur. Go 0.1 miles and make a Right onto Mahan (just past the white gazebo on the left). Go down the hill to the Stop sign (0.2 miles). Straight ahead from the Stop, about 60 feet, is the sewage dump on the right (the Marina Building with showers is also there on your right). Turning left at the Stop sign will put you on Ziegemeier Rd. At 0.3 miles there water fill is at the Nunn Beach Pavilion on your right, and the Campground is another 0.4 miles on your right. As suggested, somewhere around here, call MWR (847-688-6675) and get your site number and go set up. After that, you can drive your car to check in at the Navy Lodge at Bldg. 62. which is NOT in the area of the Campground. The Campground is nice! Verizon Cell & data are excellent! The Restrooms at the Campground are pit toilets. The showers are in the Marina Bldg. and were very clean. The NEX is on-base, the Commissary and Package Store are off-base. All-in-all a nice stop.

Great lakes Site #5.jpg
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 19-21, 2012

For Chicago it's a good location, about an hour drive to downtown. The biggest problem was getting onto the base. Went to the main gate which is required and easy to find but the civilian guards had no idea there was an RV facility there. They told me I had to go to MWR but since it was 1500hrs on Sunday they said it was closed and that I would need to return tomorrow. They wanted me to back up into the traffic circle and go away. With a 43 foot class A motor home pulling a toad I said no. I offered to pull forward where I would be out of the way and we would work it out. No go. By that time my wife had the lodging people on the phone but the guard refused to talk to them. By this time other police had arrived and they had to open the other side of the gate to allow base traffic in. Finally a police officer arrived in a patrol car and I was told to follow him. I did but since I had not talked to him I had no idea where he was taking me. I finally stopped the coach and got out and then I was able to talk to the officer. He said he was taking me to the RV park and I could unhook the car and find the office. There is room to do that and there was no problem. There is only one 50 amp lot and that seems to be permanently occupied. Only about 50% of the spots were being used and the office let us pick which one we wanted. No problem with those people although they don't seem to have much knowledge about RVs or there needs. Water is located down the road by most of the dry boat slips and lots of room to turn around.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 June 2012

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We made our reservation under the old system and when we arrive 4 days later it was the first day the new system was in effect. The folks at blg 5 went ahead and checked us in anyway, saving us a trip up to the hotel. At the campground we found our assigned site already occupied. Someone drove down immediately and assigned us a new spot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 6-14 2011

Beautiful view watching the sun come up over Lake Michigan. The frontage road to the Marina is open. The staff and amenities are fantastic. It was easy to dump. We would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June,24 till July 5,2011

Location is great, views to die for. Only electric but so what, deal with it the negative for me is that the water and sewer dump is a long way down the road. The out house's are great for what they are [no smell, clean] the workers at the marina are great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct. 12 - 18. 2010

G.A. left this review using the Directory software: Beautiful campground; watched the sun rise over the Lake. Nice bathhouse and laundry; pit toilets in campground were the cleanest I've been in and absolutely no smell. Need a campground host to control campers leaving their dogs alone in campers and allowing them to bark "all day long". This was a drawback for us and made some days unpleasant.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27 Aug - 17 Sep 2010

This campground has it's limitations, but if you know what they are before hand it is not too bad. There is no water, sewage, and they have poor phone reception. However the location, view, quietness, and availability of all on base facilities make this a very nice campground. Water to the campground has been promised for several years now, but still not available on site. The roads, grass and landscaping have all been well maintained. It is a small campground so reservations are a must. The view across Lake Michigan with sailboats and Chicago skyline on the horizon is something special.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 12 - June 10, 2010

We are currently staying at this campground while my husband and I receive medical treatment at the VA Hospital. Pros: The views are magnificent. The price is right especially for the Chicago area. We are currently paying $400 for a month. The Illinois Beach State Park just to the north is $25 nightly, and their 30 amp is not very good. The people at the Marina are very helpful when you register. There is a very clean laundry room at the Marina. This is also where you must water up and dump. Once your rig and car are registered, it is very easy to access the base with your ID. The Exchange and Commissary are off base, but very close and easy to get to. Cons: There is only 30 amp at the sites except for one handicap site which has 50 amp. However, if you watch your usage, 30 amps is fine. You do have to drive a little bit to the water/dump area, and it is a learning curve to get your rig exactly right for dumping and watering because a large concrete abutment is sheltering the dump area. We had to pull forward more so our bays would open. There are several rigs here who seem to be living fulltime; some seem to be used for storage since we have been here a week and never seen anyone at their site. Overall we would definitely stay here again. We have a 40 ft motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2008

Visited on June 16-20, 2008. The view of Lake Michigan is awesome. We did not use the shower or dump facilities but aware they are not located at the campground. We took the train into Chicago and was able to park our car in the lot near the gate to the train depot, which was extremely convenient. NEX / Commissary is off base and found it a little hard to find. The gate guards seems to change the entrance rules without notifying the campground office so there is some confusion about which gates to enter through, especially with a big rig. Would definitely recommend this facility for access to Chicago and a place to chill out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-10 Sep 2007

I highly recommend reading all the reviews before this. If you have your eyes wide open, and realize there will be only basic facilities, you should have a great stay at Great Lakes. The one surprise to me was how far away the restrooms/showers were from the campground, about half a mile away. However, the location is excellent, relatively close to Chicago, very close to the train station, and right on Lake Michigan. Our plans had very little time at the campground, so the level concrete pad, the picnic table at our site, and 30 amp electric met all our needs. One other tip, if you plan to travel to Chicago on the train, definately go to METRA (the Chicago train) and CTA (light tail/subway/bus) web sites and read about schedules/fares in advance. I will definately stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 14 - 24, 2007

I agree with most of the reviews; 1) Dump station by Marina - do it before you head to the CG, and it is difficult on weekends/4-days when busy, and fill with water 2) Showers old/rustic, also at the Marina; early morning or evening is best, 3) Easy to manuever RVs through gate five; make sure you have your pass (Main gate Visitor Center), 4) LOVELY VIEW; Wonderful beach (Nunn beach has lifeguards on Th-Su), 5) clean CG with "long drop" potties. 6) A very spread-out base; NEX/Comm "off" base. For families with kids there are little beaches to explore and a large field next to camp for soccer and baseball/frisbee, Nunn beach (for swimming) close by. Bowling cheap on Wed!! Community Center sucks (my kids report); not worth the venture. LAUNDRY; call the Navy Lodge; unless they are swamped, you CAN do it there!! Library usually very busy at nights/weekends with new recruits, but they have movies to check out! No recycling, yet, but they are working at getting bins in the CG. Train easy access to Chicago, and I would definately stay here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 30, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 30, 2007

Excellent campground with beautiful views of Lake Michigan. Sites 9-20 are nearest the water. Make sure you stop and dump tanks and fill your fresh water tank if necessary before proceeding to campground because there are only 30A hookups at site (no water or sewage). There are pit toilets at the campground and showers are located across from Bldg. 13 as are water hookups and sewage dump. There is a nice Marina here with boat (sail & power), canoes & kayaks for rent. Downtown Chicago is approx. 40 mi. away and accessible by train,located directly acrosss from the base. The reservation system is a bit messed up. Campers are routinely uprooted and made to move to another site to make room for campers that are here to watch their children graduate from boot camp. So, if you are here for a long stay pay in advance and make sure that your spot is not reserved by someone else during your stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 2006

While I did not get to stay at this camp, I was very impressed with my telephone conversations with their MWR staff. I had to change my reservation several times. They credited me for days that I did not stay, then their representative spent a lot of time on the phone giving me advise as to what to see in the Chicago area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 2006

Great location, right on Lake Michigam. Beautiful campground with concrete pads, lawns, & flower beds. 20 sites. Staff at Marina office friendly and helpful. Base has everything: theater, pools, bowling, boat rentals, exchanges and commissary, etc. Would be perfect except for: no flush toilets, no water or dump station at campground (these are located at Marina Office - about 1 mile away). HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2005

Tent area is at south east end of base lakefront. Tent campground has no hookups and has portajons for toilets. RV campground is at northeast corner of base. Marina has good selection of fishing equipment, bait, outdoor rental equipment, popup campers and some other camping equipment. Can't beat the view of the sun rising over Lake Michigan in the morning! I downgraded from a 5 due to no flush toilets (pit) close by and some of the concrete pads fill with water when it rains hard. Quiet location and excellent campground for viewing the sights in Chicago or Milwaukee. Excellent customer service at the Marina, reservations accepted.

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17