Scott AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (73)
85297 0 21 0 29

User reviews

73 reviews

 
(12)
 
(32)
 
(18)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.1  (73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.2  (73)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (73)
Value 
 
3.8  (73)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
73 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
June 17, 2015
(Updated: June 25, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Heads up! There is some serious construction at the main gate area going on from now (mid-June) until at least into August. You can still enter the main gate, but it's through two winding, narrow lanes lined with orange cones and some armco barriers. We tow a 37-ft fifth wheel and I barely made it through. I had to (slowly) hop a couple of curbs and unfortunately murdered a few cones. I would recommend you enter through the Belleville Gate (called the Mascoutah Gate in the directions info above), which is open from 0430 to 2330 daily for inbound traffic, and 24/7 for outbound traffic. Instead of turning left off Hwy 158 at the main gate road, continue to Hwy 161 and turn left, then another left onto Scott Drive, which goes right to the Belleville Gate. Once you're on base you then turn right at the first light (across from the Commissary) and follow the directions posted above. If you enter the main gate be advised it will be a slow process if you have a big rig. If you call to make a reservation I recommend you ask for the latest information on this if they don't bring it up. Other than all that, this is a nice park that's well maintained. Half the park is rustic and the other half is open with asphalt pads. The bath house and laundry is in the rustic area, and is very nice. All in all a good, economical place to stay in the St. Louis area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Feb 23, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - It's not the greatest camp but we were sure glad they stay open year round as it's not easy to find a place this far north in Feb. Our gps took us to a side gate that of course was closed (knew better, we've stayed here before but did it anyway....) The readings at Shiloh Gate are 38.54836 -89.86982.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
My wife and I stayed here during a four day visit to St Louis. We called the day prior to our arrival and they had one spot left for our 40 footer. Our checkin packet was on our site post when we arrived. I'll start with our biggest negative. The trash dumpster was aabout 1/4 of a mile from the campground and the park had no smaller trash containers. I feel the Outdoor Rec people wanted the dumpster convenient for pickup not convenient for campers to use. There were recycle bins withing the park but no trash bins. We saw a white gov't pickup drive through each morning. I suppose we could have stopped the driver if we had a question. The park was quiet and clean. We didn't use the bathhouse. I agree with other reviews that $20/night for W & E but no sewer is a tad high when compared to other military campgrounds, but we liked to convenience to St Louis. Also, the golf course was great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 13-14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
FAMCAMP consists of two loops, one with paved sites and one with sites on grass/dirt and the restrooms/laundry in the center. Many sites offer shade and privacy, some are relatively short (25-35'). Even numbered sites 14-24 are out in the open and spacious. Everything worked at our site and in the restrooms. It seems a little overpriced for W/E only, especially the unpaved area. It was quiet and well away from base activity. Near a small lake. Self check-in is at the restrooms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
May 2-7 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Had reservation and arrived several hours after check in time. Arrived and had to clean pad off (tree limbs) to park trailer. No info packet or marking on site as promised (info packet showed up sometime after 430 when we were gone. NO WATER...the water spigot was missing a part and we had no water (and several other sites in the same position) and because we arrived on a Sat and there is no Camp Host...we had no water until Monday. The rec folks were nice but showed up a garden hose to run water from another campsite...not a drinking hose. After talking to them, they refunded 2 of the 4 days since we did not have water. Talked to some one else at the campground and he told us the lights were out at the bath house and 2 of the street lights were out when he got there. They fixed the street lights and put bulbs inside the bath house but not outside. Ran out of TP in the bath house over the weekend and it was dirty. Not anyone's fault but the ticks are heavy and we really couldn't stay out side with our dogs for any period of time. (and the dogs had just had flea/tick treatment before we arrived) Not what we have experienced elsewhere in the past. The rec team was nice but not being able to get in touch with anyone over the weekend and the site not being prepped before we arrived...not good. We will not be coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
April 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice, safe campground. We will stay here again. $20 per night for elec and water but no sewer. There is a dump site though. Bath house showers need update and personal temperature adjustments. Our promised site was occupied when we arrived, and it was on a Saturday so nothing could be done except take another empty site. Travelingladyjo
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here a few times and found the camp was more than acceptable....especially when compared to many others. This time, we dropped in unexpectedly on our way back from Florida. A quick call, provided info and credit card number, then picked out an available spot across from the bath house. Good electricity and good water pressure. Bath house is clean and has a security lock. Two washers ($1.00) and dryers ($ .75) in a clean room. This camp is quite close to St Louis and near the Interstate. Easy access with post they can remove for long rigs (I maneuvered my 34' travel trailer with no problems without removing the posts). There is no campground host, and no way to contact operators outside normal duty hours. You fill out a form for one night stays if after hours, then contact the staff the next operating day. Excellent BX and Commissary with large gas station/Class VI. This is a large, busy, well-maintained Base. The road into the camp has large chuckholes, but not too bad. Camp sits on Scott Lake with obviously good fishing. My GPS finds the camp with no problems, even though I know exactly where it is, so anyone can find it. Gate guards know where it is, so verbal directions OK. Camp near a large golf course. There is a running path (soft textured surface?) around the runways. Noise not bad despite active runway operation. Good aircraft static displays for kids to see. Good wood shop and other amenities for hobbyists. Don't worry about leveling campers: I stayed at sites 1,2, 22-something, and 12 (currently no power at site 12, but that should be fixed). Site 12 is directly across from Dump Station which has water for flushing tanks. Overall, I found many commercial camps in Florida far, far worse than this one despite costs of $110.00 per night. Don't worry about this camp: it is more than acceptable despite lack of sewers (my only complaint) which isn't really an issue since the showers are excellent and clean. One guy here now has been here 8 months without sewers, but no issues for him (he's on a 2year deployment to Scott); no trashy sites common among homesteaders. Complainers will always complain about something, but this camp is fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Nov. 15 - 19, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived at Scott AFB and were told that the site we would be in would be marked for our arrival. There wasn't any indication that we could find indicating which site we were in. It wasn't difficult to get into the area but the sites weren't well marked or maintained. I know it was fall and things are pretty quiet but it was still concerning that there was little to indicate where to go on arrival. We were pleased with the overall base and facilities at the base. It was located conveniently on our route and made for a good stop on our way west from Maine to Arizona. We will probably stop again when traveling through that area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18 Sept 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - bumpy roads, no directions to bldg. where camp information is displayed. DO NOT accept site #1! It's downhill so you dare not back in. We went in head first. Water/electric are very distant--had to use 50 amp extension cord! The site slants to one side in addition. Low hanging limb impedes approach to dump station. It is close to St. Louis which is good. I've already listed my gripes. More on site #1: If you back in, your rear wheels will be way off the ground!! And, secondly, the water/electricity would be extremely far away! One other problem: big tree limb makes dump station approach difficult! We will stay there again, but will refuse site #1 in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
1-3 Oct 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here two nights on our way East and really enjoyed the small lakes and the quiet nights. We had a small problem because the Scott AFB website said to take exit 19B when it should be exit 19A (which actually says Scott AFB). We backed our 35 foot 5th wheel into spot 22 without too much problem, although it is a little tight. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We did go to the BX, which is a bit of a drive to the other side of the base, but the location of the FamCamp gives it a nice quiet atmosphere. We were able to get a few channels with antenna and partial satellite access. Ken H
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11-13 Sep 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our last visit here was back in 2002, and it was great to find the campground now has a bathhouse, complete with laundry facilities. They have a very efficient reservation system here: we called the day before our arrival, made the reservation and gave them the required credit card information. When we arrived, our receipt and FAMCAMP brochure were posted at our site, no need to go to the Outdoor Recreation office. The campground is very nice; it's only drawback is that it's quite a ways from facilities such as commissary and BX. We would definitely visit again.
A couple of corrections for the listing: the nightly rate is now $20 and there are showers. Ted H.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2013
(Updated: May 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground was clean and groomed. I got a 50 amp paved site for one night on the way thru and paperwork was at the site when I arrived. Everything seemed quiet and nice. We didn't use the bathroom or laundry so I can't speak to that. Dump site was easily accessible and neat. The GPS thought the gate was in a different place, but I just followed the signs anyway. We were in a 34 ft motorhome and would use this site again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2012
(Updated: October 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Without a doubt this was the most disgusting place I've ever stayed. The bathrooms were horrendous with prison cell style metal toilets. There's no one on site - you do everything over the phone. The entire bath/laundry facility was covered in spiderwebs and dead bugs and that includes the soda machine. I know it's in the woods but come on, you can at least wipe things down now and then. It was cheap at $15 but wasn't really worth even that. This was the third Air Force base camp we stayed at on our trip and they have all been so far below par that I won't bother with them in the future.
PB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
26Aug-30Aug 2012
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was our second visit. The laundry room is still in need of attention. The two dryers were out of order and from what I understand, have been for a while. We were in site 2 across from bath and laundry in wooded area. No satellite and poor cable. Excellent commissary and exchange. Good location for visiting area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 6 to 8, 2012
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here again for location near St. Louis and family and friends in the area. Wifi at the library worked well. Great commissary and bx. We will be back next week on our way back home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 6 to June 10, 2012
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The directions and the campground information provided in the webpage summary are spot on. Sites 1-12 are in shade but delightful. The others range from full sun to partial shade. Bathhouse was clean. NEVER saw a campground host. Base Commissary is new and very nice. Air traffic is minimal so noise is rare. If you are interested in visiting St Louis, there is a St Louis Metrolink light rail station adjacent to the base with a pedestrian gate to the station and a more than adequate parking lot on base. You will need your ID card to get back into the base. For $7.50, you can purchase an all-day pass that allows you to use the light rail and all St Louis Metro buses. It is a really good deal when you figure parking and fuel costs to visit the city.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
1-3 June 2012
(Updated: June 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Top tip; as stated in previous postings STAY TO THE FAR RIGHT LANE when entering the gate. There are lack of direction signs to the FAMCAMP. Just remember left at first traffic light. Sites were nice and bathhouse clean. There is a fitness path that circles around the airfield. You can ride your bike to the main portion of the base without being on the road. Excellent PX and commissary. A choice between two fitness centers. WIFI available at Education Center. In striking range of St. Louis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25 - 28 Mar 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Quiet park on the far side of the base. Very little aircraft generation so it was quiet. Reveille (0600) and Taps (2200) made more noise than anything. I love the solemn sound of Taps. The 30 amp site we had was fine. I had a site number 22. It was out in the open. If I had it to do over, I might opt for site #4. It is under the trees, shady, and looked like it would be long enough for my 39' 5er. I am guessing it has water and 30 amp. I didn't walk thru it. Takes about 10 minutes to get from the main gate to the CG. No wi-fi and it is unlikely the CG will ever get it. The Ed Center (next to ITT and BK) has free wi-fi if you really need it. If you fish, take your pole. The CG is across an open field from the base lakes. The contractor who was cutting the grass could stay a bit further from RVs when mowing, but that is the only negative I can think of. Overall, a good CG and great price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
13-18 March 2012
(Updated: March 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife, two girls, and I used SAFB FAMCAMP as a launch pad to visit St. Louis for our spring break trip. The campground is clean and well maintained with paved roads and campsites in the half we stayed in. There's plenty of room for the kids to run around or bicycle. The laundry and bathhouse was exceptionally clean, but had no hot water while we where there. There are no campsite sewer connections, but the dumpsite is available near the bathhouse. We were able to reserve site 20 for our stay. It's the only 50 amp site, though this time of year that's not really necessary for A/C purposes. It's also the only site long enough to accommodate our 41' 5er and TV. The recycle containers for glass and plastic are nearby, but the dumpsters were about 150 meters away. I suspect this offset is a very good thing in the summer months. We spent every day in St. Louis, so didn't use the on base facilities much. The BX and commissary are huge though. One great feature we did use is a Metrolink station right next to the installation to catch the train into town. You park on base and access the station with your ID card from a kiosk. One last detail, when approaching the main gate, the signs direct oversize vehicles to the right lane. That means the far right lane next to the curb. Just pull up to the stantions and wait. A guard (USAF) will come out in a few minutes and check IDs, give directions, etc.., then remove the stantions and allow you to enter. Overall, a great stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
17 Sept 2011
(Updated: September 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Ditto to the previous comments. I'll try to add other data and comments. My Garmin did bot recognize the main gate but as always just filled the Signs. The skeet range is nearby so our pet is really bonding to us. Additionally the flight line is not far away so lots of noise during missions. Typically as we have seen in other Famcamps, this "cash cow" gets very little return and the $$ ends up in the general fund to support 4th of July fireworks etc. As an example, only one fluorescent bulb in the washroom works out of at least 10. Although the bathroom's were clean, the wall grout has never been cleaned or sealed and the prison metal toilets is a disgrace. BTW Charleston used the same mindset... "Folks will screw things up so make it bullet proof" . This place is much better than we have seen and that's sad. If these Engineers would have RV'ers inputs before they built them we would have better reports and actual level sites rather than going to grade. The effort would have been the same but outcome much more efficient and acceptable. So that's my rant, yes We would stay again but we would still say the possibilities of "would have "and "could have" would still remain. Unfortunately this is an example of what "Good Enough" mentality is about.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
73 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4