Scott AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (73)
85297 0 21 0 29

User reviews

73 reviews

 
(12)
 
(32)
 
(18)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.1  (73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.2  (73)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (73)
Value 
 
3.8  (73)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
73 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
15-18 Aug 2011
(Updated: August 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were here for 3 days and had a decent experience overall. We were put in the newer section with asphalt pads, water and 30 amp power. The grounds were high with grass and it appeared to be quite a while since the campsites were policed, most of the grills were crooked or falling over and filthy. Bathroom was clean and well stocked with metal toilets and a push button in shower that would give you 3 minutes of water at a time. Base had good commissary and BX as well as a nice asphalt track/bike trail that went all around the base. The FamCamp book said go in the commercial gate, DO NOT GO IN THE COMMERCIAL GATE. They no longer allow RVs to go through that gate, you must use one of the main gates, they are not blocked in any way, so easy to get through. Day trips to St Louis are just a 30 Minute ride and worth the trip. I would recommend staying here but stay in the gravel area of the CG, lots of shade and close to bathroom. Overall we had a good experience at this CG, with a little more attention to detail this could be among one of the better FamCamps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 12-17, 2011
(Updated: June 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were very happy with the facility. We came in on Sunday afternoon with no reservations. Several spots were available, for one night only, with registration forms in a box at the bath house/laundry. The next morning I contacted MWR and although we had to move to a different site, had no trouble obtaining a site for four more nights. Sites 13-24 are paved and fairly level although they do slope a little, probably for water run-off. Sites 1 thru 12 are not paved and the utilities are located in strange places. We had 50-amp at our site (#20) although most are 30-amp, and water. There is a dump station in the campground. Grass was mowed, bushes and trees trimmed, and the bathrooms and laundry were clean. Only two washers and two dryers, each $.75. It was very quiet although reveille was played at 6 a.m., but not too loudly if windows are closed. There is a small lake for fishing nearby. I did not fish but was told no state license was required, only a $5 base license. The golf course is just down the road and was beautifully maintained. The commissary and exchange are very large. All in all, an excellent place to stay if you want to see St. Louis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14-15, 2011
(Updated: June 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Entrance through the main (Shiloh) gate was straight thru, no right lane left lane dance. Follow the directions on this site to get to it. Folks at the gate may send you either way. While you can get there going right at the first light it is a much longer tour. So left at the first light. Reservations recommended. Drop in registration paperwork is located on the shower/laundry house. Much of the rest of the posted material is outdated. The water standpipes here had a little gimmick you need to know about. You may find that after attaching your hose to the hose bib the water comes out of a dodad on the neck of the faucet. The dodad is some kind of freeze protector that does it's own thing. So if the water comes out of the dodad grab it and pull down. Water will then flow out the hose bib. Park was well cared for while we were there. They mowed and cleaned the restroom/showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 25-29,2011
(Updated: May 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We arrived in the afternoon after the office had closed. There was no valid information on what to do or how to do it anywhere to be found. There were and to-date is no registration forms available. The toilet has not been cleaned during our stay and the the grass needs cutting. Please note that I really appreciate this camp ground being made available to me/us. But, it represents the Air Force that I love and needs to do that in a much more professional manner. If the base is short on funds charge us more, but do whatever is needed to make this place a place that we all can be proud of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
OCT 20 to 24 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at Scott 4 nights last week with overall GREAT PLEASURE. There were a couple hiccups with water connection hookup issues and had to move 2 times...but overall...for the price.....I'll be back for sure. Also would be nice in this day and time to have wifi available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
30 Jul - 6 Aug 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Be sure to read the entire blurb about coming in and which sites allow you to have satellite access. The article is very accurate. We were in site 20 and it was perfect for us. Be aware that reservations are site specific, and the second 50 Amp site is only 20 feet long at best. The facilities, for an Air Force Base were totally lacking. Showers were barely adequate, took quite a bit of time for the water to get warm. Stainless steel toilets with no toilet seat, just like in a prison. Cleanliness of restrooms and washer/dryer room not what I would expect. Exchange and commissary were large and well stocked.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We decided to tent camp and had late check in, the facilities were less adequate for an Air base than we expected, and there was not much info for late check in. The grass had not been cut for some time, and we were there late, and there were not very well laid out tent sites, and the information left basically said just pick a spot. Camping was far from bath facilities, and there was no info left on how to get into the bathrooms or laundry rooms for late arrivals, so we had to beg a lady to let us in. The security police that came by were helpful when we asked for help getting a code, but we were unable to get one after trying for a while to reach someone. Unfortunately it rained and we had tent leakage and a severe storm moved in an hour after we set up and we had to break it down in the rain. The lake seemed lovely though and wish we could have stayed the night, but no temporary lodging was available and it took us 3 hours of driving to find a decent hotel to stay in after we left at 1:30 AM. not much for facilities there, did see some decent RV sites, but lots of trees hanging over them kind of low. Definitely needs some maintenance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23 November 09
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you come in the Main Gate, stay to the FAR RIGHT even if the lanes are closed. The AP will open the gate and let you through....there is a sign merely saying to stay right, but not specifically for THAT lane. Checked in 23 Nov 09 for two nights...signs on Scott AFB generally do NOT mention the Famcamp. Best to make a hard left turn once inside the Main Gate onto Golf Course Road and stay on it, around the Golf Course, past the Illinois ANG building on the left...there will be a small, low sign on the RIGHT side of the road for the Famcamp pointing to the left. Once in the camp, choose a site but be SURE there isn't a paper on the post adjacent to the vacant site showing that it is reserved. There is a phone number on the welcoming sign; call it to be sure the site you want is available because the Scott Famcamp DOES take reservations, site specific! Some are treed, some open enough for satellite roof dishes. We found the site adequate, but the bathhouse/laundry was really, really dirty. I visited the Outdoor Rec office and asked about it and was told it was contracted out. Supplies were OK, paper products OK, heat and hot water OK, but clearly no real cleaning had taken place for several weeks, if not months. Staff at Outdoor Rec were very friendly, helpful, and apologetic for the condition, but their demeanor indicated this may be an ongoing problem. Washers and dryers were old, adequate, but not speedy or really hot. Closeness to St. Louis is biggest asset for those wishing to visit the city, easy access on/off Exit 19 off I-64. Would stay here again. Private, safe, and nice rural setting near a nice lake.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
30 May 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This FAMCAMP is out off the main base next to a small lake. Very nice. The camp is tight for big rigs navigating the camp but doable. All the sites are back in with fairly wide spaces and full hook-ups. Didn't use the facilities as we were only staying the one night, therefore the one star. Would stay here again for an extended stay to visit St.Louis. Tried to camp here on the way home but the camp was full. Stayed at the Queen's Casino for a whole lot more money.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23-25 MAY 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Although this CG was in a good location and was easy to get to, it leaves a lot to be desired. First of all the gate guard was a real JERK, who couldn't make up his mind if he wanted me to come through the left or right lane or any lane as far as that goes. Thank God there was a very nice Airman there who knew what she was doing. We were in Site # 2 which is in the old section, the site was real unlevel, the grill was unusable, the water is very difficult to use due to the diverters they have here. The water runs in a big puddle making it stale and nothing but bugs breed there. The vending machine was empty and it appears that it had been that way for some while due to all the bird droppings all over it, along with a birds nest. The grass seems to have been moved recently but was badly in need of mowing again. There is no one to call on the weekend or Holiday if you have any questions or problems. Tried to call to see if we could move to the new section, but just an answering machine. We were going to stay till the 26th but had enough and left early the morning of the 25th. This is a NOT TO STAY AGAIN CG unless they fix up the older section to match the new section which was not full and could have put a few of us campers in it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Easy base to find. When you turn on the golf course road just follow it around. Could use a few more signs, it is marked well coming from the other direction. I turned at 1st sign for the lake go left and come in behind the TLF housing area and you will find it. Out door rec is located back on main base so do not look for it here around the campground. The BX and comm was a surprise as very big and well stocked. It is as big as the one on Eglin AFB and that is one large one. Cost $15 a night and no weekly or month rate, wish they would change that. Believe you could spend a week here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep.7-12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is closer to the price we should be paying for a CG. When compared to others with the same "amenities" the only thing this lacks is sewer hookup. Of the over 50 military sites we've visited, there are a few that are still priced according to what is offered. Here there is beautiful lake, laundry/shower facility, and a nearby commissary and BX. My kids kept busy fishing and riding scooters around, and being close to St.Loius was perfect; Gateway Arch NHS, Ulysses S. Grant's home, Cohokie Mounds, and even the drive to Springfield to visit Lincoln's home wasn't bad from this "base camp." The older part of the campground is very shaded, but the sites are gravel/dirt, and it seemed some sites shared water hookup, and folks needed long hoses and/or electric cords. Some of the new sites are quite sloping, but have better hookup placement. Overall, I would stay here again for a short stay to visit the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When we called the phone number for our reservation a knowledgeable helpful lady answered all our questions and gave us directions to the FAMCAMP from the main gate. Following the directions given here we had no problem finding the FAMCAMP on the first try. Upon arrival we found the FAMCAMP to be well maintained and clean. When we finished setting up we took a walk around the camp and Scott Lake. The lake can be fished, but the bass have to be put back in the lake. Which is not a problem with us as we practice catch and release techniques only. Also there are no boats of any kind allowed in the lake. As stated by the previous visitors there are two areas of the FAMCAMP one has large paved spaces the other has large gravel spaces with many trees to the rear of each space. The laundry room was clean with two washers and two dryers, costing 75 cents per load. Each of the restrooms were clean with two of each type of "facilities". I didn´t notice much about the paved sites, I camped in gravel, but the water hose had to be threaded under the coach due to the shared water standpipes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11-14 Sept 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We stayed in the Scott Famcamp Sept 11 to 14. This camp needs a lot of work, there are no full hook ups and many sites are not paved. One site had had work done on the water hookup due to some one driving off while still connected. The water hookup was reinstalled but no finish work was done on the area that had been torn up for the re-connect. The water hookup was in the middle of a mud bog to access the basements on our couch. The roads to and in the camp are in need of repair. Most of the sites are short so big rigs are limited as to where they can park. Scott is growing and is only about 30 min from St Louis which makes it a great place to visit . With some improvements, sites to accommodate bigger rigs, 50 amp service and sewer hook-ups, this camp ground could be a big asset to the military campground network. It is obvious that the FamCamp is not a high priority to Scott.
RM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
4 Aug 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife and I are passing through Scott on PCS move. We pull a 38 ft 5th wheel and had no trouble navigating the main gate and golf course road. Roads in park are older, but usable. Sites have 30 amp service with water, but no sewer hook-up. There is a pump-out site on the premises. Difficult if staying more than a day or two. Older sites are in shade, newer sites are out in the sun and with record heat wave, difficult to cool RV with only 30 amps service. Camp could use up-grades: sewer at sites, 50 amp service. I would stay again if passing through, but would go elsewhere for longer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18 July 2008 - 24 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I visited this campground for the first time and we were very impressed with the conditions and cleanliness of the campground and the entire base. We stayed in (and would recommend) the older gravel sites because of the shade and tree cover. Newer sites are concrete pads, but new trees will need some time to grow. Bathroom facilities are different and take some getting used to. Nice laundry. Easy late check in system. Two fishing ponds (base fishing pass only, no state license). WIFI is only available at base library and only during library hours. We took advantage of the St. Louis Metro system by using the bases train station and take advantage of sight seeing in St. Louis. Very nice campground and look forward to returning here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 11,2008
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Tthe campground was very nice- the campsites- although small and basic ammenities- but ok when you're looking for a place traveling through the area. The bathrooms were unacceptable so be prepared to us your own rig. The water in the shower can't be adjusted -only hot- couldn't turn off faucet. The lights are sensored so they went off during my shower. I would not use the toilets. The whole facality is dirty and unkept.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 22-25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
According to the reviews I just read, I would not visit this campground. But since we came in without reservations and never having seen this famcamp, we were totally happy with what we found. We came in on Golf Course Rd with no trouble and it takes you right to the campground. We were too late to register at the office but that was not a problem. We just located an empty site that did not have a registration packet and parked. We located the registration box at the laundry facility and completed our form with one nights payment. The next morning we located MWR where we paid for two additional nights. We found the office staff very friendly and all paper work went smoothly. I agree the restrooms could use a little more attention but I have seen alot worse. According to lunderwo's review the roads and campsites were made to accomodate only small units. We did not find this the case. We drive a 40ft motorhome with a towed vehicle and did not unhitch till we located a site in the graveled section. We were able to make all turns without leaving the pavement. The base police make regular runs through the campground and we saw no need for a camphost unless they would be responsible for restrooms. We will deffinately return when back in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 6 - 9, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Made reservations on phone about 2 weeks in advance. We paid in full up front (credit card) and was assigned a site at that time. We don't always like this procedure. When we arrived at our assigned campsite, all the paperwork was waiting for us. We were in the newer section with long paved sites, long enough for truck and 37 foot 5th wheel. That's certainly a lot longer than 20 feet as mentioned earlier. I never saw any MWR personnel while there and didn't really have a need to see any. I did't see the dirt in the bathhouse and laundry either. The 14 foot tunnel made me a little nervous at first. My 5th wheel is 13' 2". I didn't know if the lights hanging down was included in the 14 feet or additional. My wife got out and observed as I drove through the tunnel. We made it ok. To me the better route is to turn left at first light after entering main gate and go around by the golf course. Overall, a decent enough campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
08/09 October 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived at Scott AFB on a holiday and found it a little hard to find the CG. One of the street names has been changed or because of security reasons the route has been changed. We eventually found the correct road and got to the camp sites. We had no idea where we were to go and the Outdoor Rec personal did not leave a note or mark the lot we were to use. There is no Camp Host (I understand MWR will not have one) so that did not help. MWR closed, no camp host and no help from Outdoor Rec. We took one of the paved lots marked H/C. It was open and all the other lot were full on the new sites. I agree with other reviews; the CG is not friendly and is not set up for newer and bigger rigs. I also think that Outdoor Rec doesn't give a hoot if the CG is there or not. When I was in the office to pay a clerk took my money and was talking to the man in charge who was late himself and complaining about another employee who was late also. So, no one knew I was there as far as I was concerned, I was not recognized nor thanked for my coming to the park. In two days I never saw an Outdoor Rec person in the CG. I would not go back unless some are changes made, starting with the office. Close to St. Louis is the only up side I can see. Sorry Outdoor Rec. you need to get your act together.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
73 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4