Scott AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (72)
81166 0 21 0 29

User reviews

72 reviews

 
(11)
 
(32)
 
(18)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.1  (72)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.2  (72)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (72)
Value 
 
3.8  (72)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (72)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
72 results - showing 61 - 72
1 2 3 4
Ordering
October 3, 2007
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This RV Parks should be closed due to unsafe and dangerous conditions that will cause injury and damage to the RV campers. The turns within the park, the obstructions along the road, the width of the roads, the length of RV sites make this RV park unsatisfactory and unsafe. The Park was designed for entirely smaller RV trailers. Any RV over 20 feet within this park would not be able to safely navigate the narrow, sharp turns and safely park within the alloted sites. I recommend this site only for RV trailers under 20 feet. It is necessary to enter wide into the grass areas to make many of the turns to the sites, dump stations and to exit. A driver or pedestrian is going to get hurt or damage property while using the area. I will be sending an email and/or letter to the Base commander alerting them to the unsafe conditions. The RV Park needs to be completely renovated increasing the size of roads, less tight turns, longer RV sites and other improvements to make this a safe and suitable place. If this were inspected by an ORI/ MEI inspector, they would rate it unsatisfactory and not fit for use. I could not rate this site any lower than "1" above, but would rate it a "0" if possible, due to unsafe conditions to all concerned. I deeply hope the management and staff review this information and take corrective action.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 6
September 22, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived mid-afternoon with no reservations. Self-registration is only good for one night. For longer stays, you must contact Outdoor Recreation. There are two sections of this campground, one in the woods with gravel/dirt sites, and one out in the open with concrete pads. They are adjacent to each other and share a common bath house. The water hook-ups are a bit tricky if you aren't familiar with this type of faucet. You have to pull downward on the flush valve while raising the on/off handle. The bath house/laundry is coldly functional, and not kept very clean. The toilets are stainless steel. You sit directly on the cold steel rim of the bowl. There are no hinged seats. It's as if whoever built it figured the scum-of-the-earth would be using this facility and that, first and foremost, it should be made indestructible. Comfort and aesthetics are completely absent here. The showers are constructed in the same mode, with bare concrete floors, and a destruction-proof water control button. There is no hot/cold control, just a button on the wall that starts the water flowing. You wait for it to warm up then use it until it stops flowing. There is no off button. Ostensibly, this is a water-saving device, but it just kept on running for a couple of minutes after I got out, which of course defeats the whole purpose of the design. The overall effect of this bath house leaves you with the feeling that campers can't be trusted with normal facilities because they would only destroy them. Not a good feeling. The above star rating of "one star" for amenities/facilities and cleanliness/hospitality is heavily weighted toward the prison-camp style bath house. I'd venture a guess that if the base commander or MWR officer had to use these toilets and showers on a regular basis, they'd make some major changes. Beyond the bath house, things are more normal-feeling and pleasant. There's a large commissary and exchange complex, and other nice facilities on base. And of course, the proximity to the great city of St. Louis makes this a good location. Side note: For users of Sprint cellular and broadband cards, the signal here is very good with EVDO.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 3
Aug 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice little facilty. Would use it again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
July 31-Aug 2, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at this famcamp. MWR staff is very helpful. Base facilities are excellent and reasonably accessible. I agree with most of the comments from previous reviews, but will add the following: The directions for entering through the commercial gate prior to 1800 hours should be removed. I was told by MWR prior to arriving that RV's no longer use this gate and to use the Shiloh main gate only. The MWR extension 3204 should be removed; it is never answered and the voice mail announcement does not identify who you are calling. Some of the hardstand sites have excessive slope and require some creativity to level an RV. For moderately accessorized RV's the lack of 50A service and sewers is manageable but inconvenient, especially in hot weather. I would definitely recommend this facility for a short stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
3 July 07
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice setting, sites spaced further apart than many. We had a concrete pad (#14) and separate truck park on a different concrete pad. On day before holiday, flight noise was minimal. We didn't use or see the restroom facility. We would go again.
JB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
9 and 10 July 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice campground located near Scott Lake. All sites are back-in. Sites 1 through 9 and 12 are dirt sites while sites 13 through 24 are paved. There are no sites numbered 10 and 11. Sites 1 through 9 and site 12 are 40 foot or longer as are sites 13, 16, 18, 20, 21, 22, and 24. Sites 14, 15, 17, and 23 are 38 feet long. Site 19 is 32 feet long. Sites 19 and 20 have 50 amp service. Sites 16 and 18 are handicap parking and require handicap decals for use. All sites are electric and water only. A dump station is available near the bath house. Sites 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 20, 22, and 24 are mostly open and satellite Internet and TV should be no problem. Site 12 possibly might get both. Very well maintained grounds. Showers and laundry very dirty. This could become one of the best if sewers were added and the showers and laundry cleaned on a regular basis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 6, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
My wife and I are tenters so we are looking at the campground from a different point of view. The tent sites are plentiful, no electric, if you tent by a pavilion there are receptacles, I had to turn on a breaker to get mine to work... There was no hot water and this was the second day it was out and the bathroom was dirty. You can go directly to the campground and fill out your check-in sheet and pay in an envelope. The base is really nice with a lot of flight activity also very loud trains. With hot water this would be a nice camp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Park area is very clean, except for the restrooms. It appeared they had not been touched in sometime. Numerous bug nests throughout the restrooms. If you were in the military, the aircraft noise will not bother you. Good park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in the open "meadow". Some aircraft noise but it stopped before 10 pm. Beautiful setting. Great Sunset. Nice laundry room. A good value. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Campground is located on the opposite side of runways from the commissary and exchange. It is a 5 mile drive to the other side. Campground is quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Sites 1-12 probably don't have satelite reception. Sites 17-23 probably don't have it either.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
72 results - showing 61 - 72
1 2 3 4