Scott AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (69)
64135   0   21   0   23

User reviews

17 reviews with 3 stars

69 reviews

 
(10)
 
(31)
 
(17)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.0  (69)
 
3.0  (69)
 
3.8  (69)
 
3.5  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

11 - 13 Sept 2017

I would not call this Famcamp Big Rig friendly as most if not all sites are short and narrow. There are no camp host and all actions are controlled at outdoor rec. Doubt we'll return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 15, 2017

Gravel sites, bath/showers leave something to be desired. No hot water, no water pressure and showers are not the cleanest. Location is nice, with shade.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2-5 June 2017

Good enough location, lots of trees and shade. Mostly all are back-in, many from very tight angles and on the blind side. The base is good, friendly with a big BX and really great commissary. While it is a pretty good place and very reasonable, I will likely not stop there again. What this place needs is a camp host. Good: water pressure, quiet, level paved sites (for the most part). Bad: No maintenance, recycle bins running over (and have been for some time), bath house was terrible, dead bugs, cob webs and overall lack of oversight. The laundry room was really bad as well. Men's had only one shower, which provided hot water, but no privacy. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

25-27 Sep 2015

We were assigned site 24, a spacious back-in with good 50 amp electrical and water. Very easy to get a DTV satellite signal and two bars of Verizon LTE. We too followed the directions to approach the Shiloh gate in the right most lane but had to cross over into lane 2 as the gate guard didn't indicate he was going to open the other one. Very tight getting our 40-ft motor coach through. Did not us the bath facilities but the laundry room needed cleaning before we used it. Dog hair everywhere. We rode the train (station accessed from Scott) to St. Louis to do the Arch tour. $5 each for round-trip, a great value. Very nice BX and Commissary. We will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 23, 2014

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - It's not the greatest camp but we were sure glad they stay open year round as it's not easy to find a place this far north in Feb. Our gps took us to a side gate that of course was closed (knew better, we've stayed here before but did it anyway....) The readings at Shiloh Gate are 38.54836 -89.86982.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2014

My wife and I stayed here during a four day visit to St Louis. We called the day prior to our arrival and they had one spot left for our 40 footer. Our checkin packet was on our site post when we arrived. I'll start with our biggest negative. The trash dumpster was aabout 1/4 of a mile from the campground and the park had no smaller trash containers. I feel the Outdoor Rec people wanted the dumpster convenient for pickup not convenient for campers to use. There were recycle bins withing the park but no trash bins. We saw a white gov't pickup drive through each morning. I suppose we could have stopped the driver if we had a question. The park was quiet and clean. We didn't use the bathhouse. I agree with other reviews that $20/night for W & E but no sewer is a tad high when compared to other military campgrounds, but we liked to convenience to St Louis. Also, the golf course was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 13-14, 2014

FAMCAMP consists of two loops, one with paved sites and one with sites on grass/dirt and the restrooms/laundry in the center. Many sites offer shade and privacy, some are relatively short (25-35'). Even numbered sites 14-24 are out in the open and spacious. Everything worked at our site and in the restrooms. It seems a little overpriced for W/E only, especially the unpaved area. It was quiet and well away from base activity. Near a small lake. Self check-in is at the restrooms.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov. 15 - 19, 2013

We arrived at Scott AFB and were told that the site we would be in would be marked for our arrival. There wasn't any indication that we could find indicating which site we were in. It wasn't difficult to get into the area but the sites weren't well marked or maintained. I know it was fall and things are pretty quiet but it was still concerning that there was little to indicate where to go on arrival. We were pleased with the overall base and facilities at the base. It was located conveniently on our route and made for a good stop on our way west from Maine to Arizona. We will probably stop again when traveling through that area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

18 Sept 2013

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - bumpy roads, no directions to bldg. where camp information is displayed. DO NOT accept site #1! It's downhill so you dare not back in. We went in head first. Water/electric are very distant--had to use 50 amp extension cord! The site slants to one side in addition. Low hanging limb impedes approach to dump station. It is close to St. Louis which is good. I've already listed my gripes. More on site #1: If you back in, your rear wheels will be way off the ground!! And, secondly, the water/electricity would be extremely far away! One other problem: big tree limb makes dump station approach difficult! We will stay there again, but will refuse site #1 in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

26Aug-30Aug 2012

This was our second visit. The laundry room is still in need of attention. The two dryers were out of order and from what I understand, have been for a while. We were in site 2 across from bath and laundry in wooded area. No satellite and poor cable. Excellent commissary and exchange. Good location for visiting area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

08/09 October 2007

We arrived at Scott AFB on a holiday and found it a little hard to find the CG. One of the street names has been changed or because of security reasons the route has been changed. We eventually found the correct road and got to the camp sites. We had no idea where we were to go and the Outdoor Rec personal did not leave a note or mark the lot we were to use. There is no Camp Host (I understand MWR will not have one) so that did not help. MWR closed, no camp host and no help from Outdoor Rec. We took one of the paved lots marked H/C. It was open and all the other lot were full on the new sites. I agree with other reviews; the CG is not friendly and is not set up for newer and bigger rigs. I also think that Outdoor Rec doesn't give a hoot if the CG is there or not. When I was in the office to pay a clerk took my money and was talking to the man in charge who was late himself and complaining about another employee who was late also. So, no one knew I was there as far as I was concerned, I was not recognized nor thanked for my coming to the park. In two days I never saw an Outdoor Rec person in the CG. I would not go back unless some are changes made, starting with the office. Close to St. Louis is the only up side I can see. Sorry Outdoor Rec. you need to get your act together.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 25, 2007

Unlike the previous poster I saw no problems with the roads. I had no problems navigating the campground or the roads to it. Additionally, I saw nothing unsafe or in a hazardous state and saw nothing that would cause the campground to get an "unsat" on an ORI. Sewer hookups would be nice, but there is a dump station on site. The restrooms were locked and the MWR office was closed for training, but we didn't need the facilities anyway. Near two lakes with plenty of walking/biking possibilities. We didn't since only there overnight, but above average in my book. Would definately stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 22, 2007

We arrived mid-afternoon with no reservations. Self-registration is only good for one night. For longer stays, you must contact Outdoor Recreation. There are two sections of this campground, one in the woods with gravel/dirt sites, and one out in the open with concrete pads. They are adjacent to each other and share a common bath house. The water hook-ups are a bit tricky if you aren't familiar with this type of faucet. You have to pull downward on the flush valve while raising the on/off handle. The bath house/laundry is coldly functional, and not kept very clean. The toilets are stainless steel. You sit directly on the cold steel rim of the bowl. There are no hinged seats. It's as if whoever built it figured the scum-of-the-earth would be using this facility and that, first and foremost, it should be made indestructible. Comfort and aesthetics are completely absent here. The showers are constructed in the same mode, with bare concrete floors, and a destruction-proof water control button. There is no hot/cold control, just a button on the wall that starts the water flowing. You wait for it to warm up then use it until it stops flowing. There is no off button. Ostensibly, this is a water-saving device, but it just kept on running for a couple of minutes after I got out, which of course defeats the whole purpose of the design. The overall effect of this bath house leaves you with the feeling that campers can't be trusted with normal facilities because they would only destroy them. Not a good feeling. The above star rating of "one star" for amenities/facilities and cleanliness/hospitality is heavily weighted toward the prison-camp style bath house. I'd venture a guess that if the base commander or MWR officer had to use these toilets and showers on a regular basis, they'd make some major changes. Beyond the bath house, things are more normal-feeling and pleasant. There's a large commissary and exchange complex, and other nice facilities on base. And of course, the proximity to the great city of St. Louis makes this a good location. Side note: For users of Sprint cellular and broadband cards, the signal here is very good with EVDO.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 6, 2007

My wife and I are tenters so we are looking at the campground from a different point of view. The tent sites are plentiful, no electric, if you tent by a pavilion there are receptacles, I had to turn on a breaker to get mine to work... There was no hot water and this was the second day it was out and the bathroom was dirty. You can go directly to the campground and fill out your check-in sheet and pay in an envelope. The base is really nice with a lot of flight activity also very loud trains. With hot water this would be a nice camp

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 2006

Campground is located on the opposite side of runways from the commissary and exchange. It is a 5 mile drive to the other side. Campground is quiet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 2006

(No comments)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2006

Sites 1-12 probably don't have satelite reception. Sites 17-23 probably don't have it either.

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17