Scott AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (69)
64135   0   21   0   23

User reviews

32 reviews with 4 stars

69 reviews

 
(10)
 
(31)
 
(17)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.0  (69)
 
3.0  (69)
 
3.8  (69)
 
3.5  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 11, 2018

Don't understand bad reviews was nice location real quiet and for $20 a night it was great will go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 13-14, 2017

Nice enough famcamp. We stayed in a 40' 5th wheel in site #22. Site was back in with water/50 amp electric. No problems backing in and nice shade trees on back of site. RV dump over in other part of famcamp in the trees. Has bath house and laundry. Nice stop for a few days. Nice base with big bx/commissary.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10 Sep 16

We were here for one nite. The base is close to I-64. Takes longer to drive to the park once inside the gate. When you get to the gate, use the far right lane for entering. After entering, here are the directions from Outdoor Rec: turn left onto Seibert Rd, move to the right hand lane, gate is straight ahead, after entering gate , take left at first traffic light onto Golf Course Rd, stay straight ahead passing Golf Course, a 4-way stop, about 1/4 mile, watch for the small Fam Camp sign on the left side. No sewer, just water & electric. Hookups for some sites are on the far side of the site. Sites are among trees. It didn't appear that the sites are checked or cleaned between visitors. The base seemed to be slow to keep up other areas near the RV park. Lots of high grass. Great commissary and base exchange. AT&T worked at the rv park. We'll stay here again as it's a good locale for us to stop between family visits.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

20-21 August 2016

We did one overnight and checked things out. Overall, the campground is very nice and quiet. There were no obvious HS that we could see. No WiFi and you could only get satellite in half of the campground. The campground was mostly full. Grass was cut, but the showers/laundry were very dirty and looked neglected. Cell phone and Television reception were good. The picnic table was good, but there was no fire ring. We also had to go off post/base to get diesel fuel. Overall a good experience for an overnight stay. We will come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 JUN 2016

We stayed in the rustic tent camping area which is near the lake. It was super quiet and peaceful as we were the only tent campers in the area. The grass was long in most of the areas and was only partially mowed near the bathhouse so the areas the kids had to play in was smaller than it could have been. The bathhouse was clean and close to our tent. The BX and Commissary were great so that was an added bonus. The camp area can be hard to find for those who aren't familiar with this particular base. We had to follow someone to show us where it was. Overall it was a pleasant stay and would most likely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 25, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 17, 2015

Heads up! There is some serious construction at the main gate area going on from now (mid-June) until at least into August. You can still enter the main gate, but it's through two winding, narrow lanes lined with orange cones and some armco barriers. We tow a 37-ft fifth wheel and I barely made it through. I had to (slowly) hop a couple of curbs and unfortunately murdered a few cones. I would recommend you enter through the Belleville Gate (called the Mascoutah Gate in the directions info above), which is open from 0430 to 2330 daily for inbound traffic, and 24/7 for outbound traffic. Instead of turning left off Hwy 158 at the main gate road, continue to Hwy 161 and turn left, then another left onto Scott Drive, which goes right to the Belleville Gate. Once you're on base you then turn right at the first light (across from the Commissary) and follow the directions posted above. If you enter the main gate be advised it will be a slow process if you have a big rig. If you call to make a reservation I recommend you ask for the latest information on this if they don't bring it up. Other than all that, this is a nice park that's well maintained. Half the park is rustic and the other half is open with asphalt pads. The bath house and laundry is in the rustic area, and is very nice. All in all a good, economical place to stay in the St. Louis area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 26, 2014

Nice, safe campground. We will stay here again. $20 per night for elec and water but no sewer. There is a dump site though. Bath house showers need update and personal temperature adjustments. Our promised site was occupied when we arrived, and it was on a Saturday so nothing could be done except take another empty site. Travelingladyjo

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-3 Oct 2013

Stayed here two nights on our way East and really enjoyed the small lakes and the quiet nights. We had a small problem because the Scott AFB website said to take exit 19B when it should be exit 19A (which actually says Scott AFB). We backed our 35 foot 5th wheel into spot 22 without too much problem, although it is a little tight. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We did go to the BX, which is a bit of a drive to the other side of the base, but the location of the FamCamp gives it a nice quiet atmosphere. We were able to get a few channels with antenna and partial satellite access. Ken H

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11-13 Sep 2013

Our last visit here was back in 2002, and it was great to find the campground now has a bathhouse, complete with laundry facilities. They have a very efficient reservation system here: we called the day before our arrival, made the reservation and gave them the required credit card information. When we arrived, our receipt and FAMCAMP brochure were posted at our site, no need to go to the Outdoor Recreation office. The campground is very nice; it's only drawback is that it's quite a ways from facilities such as commissary and BX. We would definitely visit again.
A couple of corrections for the listing: the nightly rate is now $20 and there are showers. Ted H.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2013

Campground was clean and groomed. I got a 50 amp paved site for one night on the way thru and paperwork was at the site when I arrived. Everything seemed quiet and nice. We didn't use the bathroom or laundry so I can't speak to that. Dump site was easily accessible and neat. The GPS thought the gate was in a different place, but I just followed the signs anyway. We were in a 34 ft motorhome and would use this site again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 6 to June 10, 2012

The directions and the campground information provided in the webpage summary are spot on. Sites 1-12 are in shade but delightful. The others range from full sun to partial shade. Bathhouse was clean. NEVER saw a campground host. Base Commissary is new and very nice. Air traffic is minimal so noise is rare. If you are interested in visiting St Louis, there is a St Louis Metrolink light rail station adjacent to the base with a pedestrian gate to the station and a more than adequate parking lot on base. You will need your ID card to get back into the base. For $7.50, you can purchase an all-day pass that allows you to use the light rail and all St Louis Metro buses. It is a really good deal when you figure parking and fuel costs to visit the city.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-3 June 2012

Top tip; as stated in previous postings STAY TO THE FAR RIGHT LANE when entering the gate. There are lack of direction signs to the FAMCAMP. Just remember left at first traffic light. Sites were nice and bathhouse clean. There is a fitness path that circles around the airfield. You can ride your bike to the main portion of the base without being on the road. Excellent PX and commissary. A choice between two fitness centers. WIFI available at Education Center. In striking range of St. Louis.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 - 28 Mar 2012

Quiet park on the far side of the base. Very little aircraft generation so it was quiet. Reveille (0600) and Taps (2200) made more noise than anything. I love the solemn sound of Taps. The 30 amp site we had was fine. I had a site number 22. It was out in the open. If I had it to do over, I might opt for site #4. It is under the trees, shady, and looked like it would be long enough for my 39' 5er. I am guessing it has water and 30 amp. I didn't walk thru it. Takes about 10 minutes to get from the main gate to the CG. No wi-fi and it is unlikely the CG will ever get it. The Ed Center (next to ITT and BK) has free wi-fi if you really need it. If you fish, take your pole. The CG is across an open field from the base lakes. The contractor who was cutting the grass could stay a bit further from RVs when mowing, but that is the only negative I can think of. Overall, a good CG and great price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13-18 March 2012

My wife, two girls, and I used SAFB FAMCAMP as a launch pad to visit St. Louis for our spring break trip. The campground is clean and well maintained with paved roads and campsites in the half we stayed in. There's plenty of room for the kids to run around or bicycle. The laundry and bathhouse was exceptionally clean, but had no hot water while we where there. There are no campsite sewer connections, but the dumpsite is available near the bathhouse. We were able to reserve site 20 for our stay. It's the only 50 amp site, though this time of year that's not really necessary for A/C purposes. It's also the only site long enough to accommodate our 41' 5er and TV. The recycle containers for glass and plastic are nearby, but the dumpsters were about 150 meters away. I suspect this offset is a very good thing in the summer months. We spent every day in St. Louis, so didn't use the on base facilities much. The BX and commissary are huge though. One great feature we did use is a Metrolink station right next to the installation to catch the train into town. You park on base and access the station with your ID card from a kiosk. One last detail, when approaching the main gate, the signs direct oversize vehicles to the right lane. That means the far right lane next to the curb. Just pull up to the stantions and wait. A guard (USAF) will come out in a few minutes and check IDs, give directions, etc.., then remove the stantions and allow you to enter. Overall, a great stay!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17 Sept 2011

Ditto to the previous comments. I'll try to add other data and comments. My Garmin did bot recognize the main gate but as always just filled the Signs. The skeet range is nearby so our pet is really bonding to us. Additionally the flight line is not far away so lots of noise during missions. Typically as we have seen in other Famcamps, this "cash cow" gets very little return and the $$ ends up in the general fund to support 4th of July fireworks etc. As an example, only one fluorescent bulb in the washroom works out of at least 10. Although the bathroom's were clean, the wall grout has never been cleaned or sealed and the prison metal toilets is a disgrace. BTW Charleston used the same mindset... "Folks will screw things up so make it bullet proof" . This place is much better than we have seen and that's sad. If these Engineers would have RV'ers inputs before they built them we would have better reports and actual level sites rather than going to grade. The effort would have been the same but outcome much more efficient and acceptable. So that's my rant, yes We would stay again but we would still say the possibilities of "would have "and "could have" would still remain. Unfortunately this is an example of what "Good Enough" mentality is about.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15-18 Aug 2011

We were here for 3 days and had a decent experience overall. We were put in the newer section with asphalt pads, water and 30 amp power. The grounds were high with grass and it appeared to be quite a while since the campsites were policed, most of the grills were crooked or falling over and filthy. Bathroom was clean and well stocked with metal toilets and a push button in shower that would give you 3 minutes of water at a time. Base had good commissary and BX as well as a nice asphalt track/bike trail that went all around the base. The FamCamp book said go in the commercial gate, DO NOT GO IN THE COMMERCIAL GATE. They no longer allow RVs to go through that gate, you must use one of the main gates, they are not blocked in any way, so easy to get through. Day trips to St Louis are just a 30 Minute ride and worth the trip. I would recommend staying here but stay in the gravel area of the CG, lots of shade and close to bathroom. Overall we had a good experience at this CG, with a little more attention to detail this could be among one of the better FamCamps.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 12-17, 2011

We were very happy with the facility. We came in on Sunday afternoon with no reservations. Several spots were available, for one night only, with registration forms in a box at the bath house/laundry. The next morning I contacted MWR and although we had to move to a different site, had no trouble obtaining a site for four more nights. Sites 13-24 are paved and fairly level although they do slope a little, probably for water run-off. Sites 1 thru 12 are not paved and the utilities are located in strange places. We had 50-amp at our site (#20) although most are 30-amp, and water. There is a dump station in the campground. Grass was mowed, bushes and trees trimmed, and the bathrooms and laundry were clean. Only two washers and two dryers, each $.75. It was very quiet although reveille was played at 6 a.m., but not too loudly if windows are closed. There is a small lake for fishing nearby. I did not fish but was told no state license was required, only a $5 base license. The golf course is just down the road and was beautifully maintained. The commissary and exchange are very large. All in all, an excellent place to stay if you want to see St. Louis.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 14-15, 2011

Entrance through the main (Shiloh) gate was straight thru, no right lane left lane dance. Follow the directions on this site to get to it. Folks at the gate may send you either way. While you can get there going right at the first light it is a much longer tour. So left at the first light. Reservations recommended. Drop in registration paperwork is located on the shower/laundry house. Much of the rest of the posted material is outdated. The water standpipes here had a little gimmick you need to know about. You may find that after attaching your hose to the hose bib the water comes out of a dodad on the neck of the faucet. The dodad is some kind of freeze protector that does it's own thing. So if the water comes out of the dodad grab it and pull down. Water will then flow out the hose bib. Park was well cared for while we were there. They mowed and cleaned the restroom/showers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Jul - 6 Aug 2010

Be sure to read the entire blurb about coming in and which sites allow you to have satellite access. The article is very accurate. We were in site 20 and it was perfect for us. Be aware that reservations are site specific, and the second 50 Amp site is only 20 feet long at best. The facilities, for an Air Force Base were totally lacking. Showers were barely adequate, took quite a bit of time for the water to get warm. Stainless steel toilets with no toilet seat, just like in a prison. Cleanliness of restrooms and washer/dryer room not what I would expect. Exchange and commissary were large and well stocked.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 November 09

If you come in the Main Gate, stay to the FAR RIGHT even if the lanes are closed. The AP will open the gate and let you through....there is a sign merely saying to stay right, but not specifically for THAT lane. Checked in 23 Nov 09 for two nights...signs on Scott AFB generally do NOT mention the Famcamp. Best to make a hard left turn once inside the Main Gate onto Golf Course Road and stay on it, around the Golf Course, past the Illinois ANG building on the left...there will be a small, low sign on the RIGHT side of the road for the Famcamp pointing to the left. Once in the camp, choose a site but be SURE there isn't a paper on the post adjacent to the vacant site showing that it is reserved. There is a phone number on the welcoming sign; call it to be sure the site you want is available because the Scott Famcamp DOES take reservations, site specific! Some are treed, some open enough for satellite roof dishes. We found the site adequate, but the bathhouse/laundry was really, really dirty. I visited the Outdoor Rec office and asked about it and was told it was contracted out. Supplies were OK, paper products OK, heat and hot water OK, but clearly no real cleaning had taken place for several weeks, if not months. Staff at Outdoor Rec were very friendly, helpful, and apologetic for the condition, but their demeanor indicated this may be an ongoing problem. Washers and dryers were old, adequate, but not speedy or really hot. Closeness to St. Louis is biggest asset for those wishing to visit the city, easy access on/off Exit 19 off I-64. Would stay here again. Private, safe, and nice rural setting near a nice lake.

Was this review helpful to you? 
32 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2