Scott AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (69)
64135   0   21   0   23

User reviews

9 reviews with 5 stars

69 reviews

 
(10)
 
(31)
 
(17)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.0  (69)
 
3.0  (69)
 
3.8  (69)
 
3.5  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

Arrived on a Tuesday for 4 nights (that's all we could get, although we wanted 6). Boy Scout jamboree event going on over the weekend and the rv sites were fully booked. Anyway, assigned to spot 12, which is a great site. And it rained. And rained. And....more rain. And more forecasted through the weekend. We were headed west, through OKC and Amarillo, etc. We saw on the news where they were evacuating rv parks south of here, due to flooding. By chance, we called outdoor rec when they opened to see if maybe they had any cancellations (due to the rain!) and maybe a site opened up so we could stay and wait out the rain. For the next hour, Jen, bent over backwards to accommodate everyone. Another party didn't want to leave for the same reason. Overflow was occupied. Oh, and it's still raining, with some hail thrown in for good measure. I do t know how she did it, maybe some cancellations were called in, but we ended up moving one spot over, to 11, and everyone was accommodated. Can't say enough good about the staff at outdoor rec, namely Jen. We've stayed here many times, and this was by far the best experience. The scouts were quiet and well behaved (half of them were gone by Saturday evening) (It's still raining). Will definitely be back. Staying 6 nights in a 37' 5th wheel. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 26, 2016

We stay here several times a year, usually for one night as it is a good way station from home base (Memphis). The campground is on the far side of the golf course from the rest of the base in a recreation park. Reservations are advised because it is sometimes booked up. The recreation office is on the opposite side of the base. The Air Force FAMCAMP membership packets were available there. The restrooms are sanitary but insects tend to creep in because of the lighting. Most of the spots are back-in and of the paved ones, tend to be smaller. We are in a 22 ft Toyota Winnie so the main gate is not a problem. For bargain hunters, the Scott AFB thrift store opens at 10 -12 Tue, Thurs, Fri and 1st & 3rd Saturdays. Each visit has been pleasant. IL gas prices are higher than surrounding states - fuel up in Kentucky, Wisconsin, Missouri, Iowa or Indiana before entering IL. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 29,2016

Great place. Looking forward to coming back next year...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 1, 2015

Great improvement to the road into the campground area since we were here last year. Recently new blacktop on all of the roads in and around the camping area. The outbound gate area is under construction, at the Shiloh gate, but the inbound gate is the same as it has been for years. Oversized rigs are told on signs to stay right and a guard will come out and make life a little easier. As always a very nice campground just off of I-64 east of St. Louis.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2014

Stayed here a few times and found the camp was more than acceptable....especially when compared to many others. This time, we dropped in unexpectedly on our way back from Florida. A quick call, provided info and credit card number, then picked out an available spot across from the bath house. Good electricity and good water pressure. Bath house is clean and has a security lock. Two washers ($1.00) and dryers ($ .75) in a clean room. This camp is quite close to St Louis and near the Interstate. Easy access with post they can remove for long rigs (I maneuvered my 34' travel trailer with no problems without removing the posts). There is no campground host, and no way to contact operators outside normal duty hours. You fill out a form for one night stays if after hours, then contact the staff the next operating day. Excellent BX and Commissary with large gas station/Class VI. This is a large, busy, well-maintained Base. The road into the camp has large chuckholes, but not too bad. Camp sits on Scott Lake with obviously good fishing. My GPS finds the camp with no problems, even though I know exactly where it is, so anyone can find it. Gate guards know where it is, so verbal directions OK. Camp near a large golf course. There is a running path (soft textured surface?) around the runways. Noise not bad despite active runway operation. Good aircraft static displays for kids to see. Good wood shop and other amenities for hobbyists. Don't worry about leveling campers: I stayed at sites 1,2, 22-something, and 12 (currently no power at site 12, but that should be fixed). Site 12 is directly across from Dump Station which has water for flushing tanks. Overall, I found many commercial camps in Florida far, far worse than this one despite costs of $110.00 per night. Don't worry about this camp: it is more than acceptable despite lack of sewers (my only complaint) which isn't really an issue since the showers are excellent and clean. One guy here now has been here 8 months without sewers, but no issues for him (he's on a 2year deployment to Scott); no trashy sites common among homesteaders. Complainers will always complain about something, but this camp is fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 6 to 8, 2012

Stayed here again for location near St. Louis and family and friends in the area. Wifi at the library worked well. Great commissary and bx. We will be back next week on our way back home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

OCT 20 to 24 2010

Stayed at Scott 4 nights last week with overall GREAT PLEASURE. There were a couple hiccups with water connection hookup issues and had to move 2 times...but overall...for the price.....I'll be back for sure. Also would be nice in this day and time to have wifi available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18 July 2008 - 24 July 2008

My wife and I visited this campground for the first time and we were very impressed with the conditions and cleanliness of the campground and the entire base. We stayed in (and would recommend) the older gravel sites because of the shade and tree cover. Newer sites are concrete pads, but new trees will need some time to grow. Bathroom facilities are different and take some getting used to. Nice laundry. Easy late check in system. Two fishing ponds (base fishing pass only, no state license). WIFI is only available at base library and only during library hours. We took advantage of the St. Louis Metro system by using the bases train station and take advantage of sight seeing in St. Louis. Very nice campground and look forward to returning here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 22-25, 2008

According to the reviews I just read, I would not visit this campground. But since we came in without reservations and never having seen this famcamp, we were totally happy with what we found. We came in on Golf Course Rd with no trouble and it takes you right to the campground. We were too late to register at the office but that was not a problem. We just located an empty site that did not have a registration packet and parked. We located the registration box at the laundry facility and completed our form with one nights payment. The next morning we located MWR where we paid for two additional nights. We found the office staff very friendly and all paper work went smoothly. I agree the restrooms could use a little more attention but I have seen alot worse. According to lunderwo's review the roads and campsites were made to accomodate only small units. We did not find this the case. We drive a 40ft motorhome with a towed vehicle and did not unhitch till we located a site in the graveled section. We were able to make all turns without leaving the pavement. The base police make regular runs through the campground and we saw no need for a camphost unless they would be responsible for restrooms. We will deffinately return when back in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9