Whitaker Place Campground

 
4.5 (50)
66208 0 28 0 21

User reviews

50 reviews

 
(31)
 
(16)
 
(1)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.4  (50)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (50)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (50)
Value 
 
4.6  (50)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (50)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
50 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Aug 29-Sep 03
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Price jumped to $30/night; $210/week; $900/month. No trash cans or dumpster in Campground nor any trash pick up service. No firewood delivery to site as provided during previous 3-visits. New camp host, Sally, is very nice and attentive. No prisoners seen working cleanup. Grounds need grooming, shaggy. Check in and reservation process seamless. We are pleased to see MWR eliminate all the full-time liveaboards in the campground. We fully support military campgrounds as recreational vs housing. We hope MWR mgnt will reevaluate pricing structure for those of us who are from out-of-state and like staying in the area for few weeks to a month. Please get trash receptacles back in Campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jul 29 - Aug 3, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good for short term stay. Being a training base there is no traffic. Nice pool across the street. No commissary and a very small shoppette type PX. Grocery store a few miles away. The good: One of the best entrance gates to accommodate big rigs we have seen. No concrete barriers, just a straight thru entrance. The bad: You arrive at the campground without a site number and must park somewhere (and disconnect vehicle) in order to go to Bldg 402 to check in and get a site number. Bldg 402 is not within walking distance of the campground. It would be more convenient if the site number was also provided in the confirmation email to facilitate parking your RV upon arrival. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 14, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Good for a stopover. No shade (I know, get over it). Some person left his trash by laundry facility versus pack it out or take to dumpster up the road (good grief). Some critter got in it and scattered trash all over. I watched people who work here ignore it. I ended up policing area and throwing it away. Laundry facilities ($1 for both washer and dryer) providing they worked. One dryer ran hot and the other didn’t dry very well. The other two were not working. Same with washers, 2 out of 4 worked. We paid $30/night. We picked up our packet at gate for key to restroom/laundry facility. We have to return to a different building when we leave. Dunno why we can’t give to guard on way out. Insects are horrendous! Plus, watch out for big skunk!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 17, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground has changed since our last visit. WiFi has been installed but is scetchy at times. The biggest complaint is the removal of trash cans. There is no dumpster. Trash must be taken to the base central trash facility witch is 0.2 miles up the road. Very inconvenient. I’ve never been to a campground that didn’t have a dumpster or trash receptacle. If in this area again I would stay but just as a stopover. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 26, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Looks like they are upgrading everything and the wifi was great! Cable is included also. Betsy was our neighbor and our host and she was very kind. We very much enjoyed our stay. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2 Oct 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground now has free WiFi. 3 of the 4 Antenna's which were recently installed have Wireless Access Points (WAPs) with fast internet service. You no longer have to go to the USO or All Ranks Club to get WiFi, you can get it right at your RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
August 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Best kept campground, the grounds are maintained by Indiana State minimum security prisoners. A lot of space between campsites, a lot of open space, and a fishing pond. It is on the secured section of Post so feels safe. Some permanent residents but I might want to do that someday too. Excellent laundry and not crowded. Wifi works for net surfing but not Netflix streaming. All and all, a good experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed here in April 2018. The host, Betsy, was very nice and informative once you get her to talk. The campground is very nice, however there are always improvements that can be made. There are a lot of full timers here, some with storage sheds on their lots that make it look more like a trailer park than a campground. Alot of the full timers have underpinning around their trailers making them more permanent and unattractive. There are also a lot of older units that are not registered or have current license plates. The facilities are great for walking your pets. A couple of trails (not clearly marked) make for a good walk in the woods. The laundry, and restroom facilities are clean and reasonable. There is a small PX on post along with an All Ranks Club that serves food and drink. A shooting range is also nearby. With some additional cleanup of the campground, this could be a hidden jewel. We will return here again. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park itself is good. The sites are gravel, level and spacious. It is close to the pool once it opens and there is a small lake to walk the dogs around and fish and release. The bad is there are several old and what appears to be permanent mobile homes in the park with junk all over and storage sheds setup at their sites making it look very trailer trashy. Like many other RV parks, I wish people would be more responsible for their dogs and clean up their poop. Please, for God sake... clean up after your dog! For the price of the camp ground, the security, and fairly close location to Indianapolis makes it the most affordable and viable option for any ID card holder wanting to explore the area.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Sept 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We decided to visit at the last minute and found the campground to be above our expectations. It has a nice playground for our grandkids and the full hookup for the price was a great deal. The one downside is there is no key drop off near the site. It needs to have a drop box next to the laundry. Other than that, it was a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 9-11, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Absolutely WONDERFUL RV park. Host, Betsy, is great. This place is spotless, inside and outside. Nice respectful neighbors. Very nice base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 30, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I've had my camper less than a week. My husband and I are so excited to get it to a spot and start making memories....anywhere but at Camp Atterbury. We rented a spot to store the camper, but instead of being welcomed we were chased down by the most rude woman I have come into contact with in quite some time. At no point was there an introduction, just a full on berating loud enough for the whole campground to hear. Apparently my husband went above 5 mph and she didn't like that. Too bad we were going all of 7-8 mph at the most. I guess her magic radar gun was broken that day. Anyhow, just wanted to forewarn of the most un hospitable "hostess" in Indiana. Because of her we will never camp at Atterbury and we will be moving our camper to a new storage lot. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 7
Aug 22-24, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground is only about 5 hours or so from our home, so it is a perfect first or last destination when we're headed north. They have large, open sites, both pull thru and back in. Most have full hook-up. It's an easy campground to get in/our of, plus the sites are easily accessed. The free firewood is a definite plus for us when we travel in the fall and spring. The bathhouse is small, but always clean. The campground has a quiet, wooded, country feel. You don't hear highway noise here!! The price is great, as well. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 13-July 13 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed for a month. CG is clean and well maintained. Prisoners from DOC on base do general cleaning in park. Many permanent residents. Sites are large on gravel but level. Bathhouse clean. Best part of CG is free firewood. We had a FHU site with 50 amp. Base is located between Franklin and colombus, IN. Cities are about 8-10 miles from CG. No commissary although there is a commissary in Indianapolis which is about a 45 min drive. Camp host recently passed and his wife has assumed host duties. Cable TV is provided. This would be the perfect CG if wifi was available. Surrounding lakes provide good fishing and kayaking. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov 16-18 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Getting here was no problem. Just follow the instructions on this web page. Once through the gate, bear right, but make a wide swing as you will go around a curve which is no problem, go through what they call a tunnel but its a very tall structure used for inspections, but not in use at present time. Make a left at the first intersection on Headquarters Rd, go to the second building on the right which is the base housing office. Turn right and good luck parking with your rig in tow, but, really shouldn't be any problem. The office closes at 1600. The office staff  was very efficient and friendly as well as helpful. The camp sites are level with compacted gravel as well as wide, the sites have full hook-ups with cable. Each site has a picnic table. Wood is provided for the fire pit. I'm giving this campground a 5 star, although it is gravel. The restrooms and the family room were very clean and inviting. There is a play area for kids (or grandkids) and a couple covered picnic areas with picnic tables.  The PX is almost NON-existent, but has the basics. The post office is next to the PX with a drop box outside. An area not far from the campground is recycling. There are 22 homesteaders in the park. There seems to be enough sites for us folks coming off the road. This campground is well worth a visit while your going north or south.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 17-18 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of those very nice out of the way places. Extremely good facilities and amenities. Some slight annoyances with or dance explosions occasionally, but hey, it's an Army Post. We made a reservation for a pull through in Space #7. But when we arrived the Camp Host said that someone already had that one and he had another unit coming in for his last pull through. On the way around the park, my wife mentioned to me that why should someone else get the pull through when we got there first. As I came around I asked Dave about that and he said we could have the pull through. I told him we were very grateful and appreciated his decision. As far as I know everything worked out for all concerned. He told us that the MWR folks that make the reservations don't communicate with the hosts very well. Other than that, it is a great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I advise calling ahead before arriving, as this new CG is quite busy-with about half of the sites filled with long-term campers. After entering the main gate the one-way street curves to the right. About a block after the curve is a stop sign. Turn left and continue thorough the X-ray quonset-hut. At the stop sign turn left, continue to (I think) building 7002. The check-in desk will direct you to the CG about 3 blocks away. Bldg 7002 is not in the same area as the rest of 7000 series of buildings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 1, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time at this great little Famcamp! Clean, well maintained, and very hospitable camp hosts (who invited us up to sit by the fire after we set up). Especially liked the grassy and shady primitive area. Only negatives: some homesteaders and expensive WiFi. We'll definitely use this one again on our many trips: Albuquerque to Pittsburgh (especially now that our GPS knows how to find it)!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Sep 30-Oct 4, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I think the review from DellJr65 is bogus. I can't believe that Nancy was let go. She worked very hard to maintain this place and make everyone's visit fun. The hosts do not monopolize the space. I've been coming here for years and it has only improved under Nancy. DellJr65 must be an unhappy person.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 5
1 - 3 Oct 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After reviewing the previous poster's entry I entered the park with some trepidation. We came in late well after dark and were meet but two very pleasant lady's who checked us in and directed us to our assigned site. The camp is clean, neat and well run. The sites are huge, we have a 40 foot class A with quad slides the site is long enough for us to park our toad straight in at either end of the coach. The sites are well maintained gravel and are level. This is a gem of a park and we would definitely use it again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
50 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3