Whitaker Place Campground

New
 
4.5 (45)
55311   0   28   0   18

User reviews

45 reviews

 
(30)
 
(13)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.5  (45)
 
4.4  (45)
 
4.7  (45)
 
4.6  (45)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
45 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 Oct 2018

The campground now has free WiFi. 3 of the 4 Antenna's which were recently installed have Wireless Access Points (WAPs) with fast internet service. You no longer have to go to the USO or All Ranks Club to get WiFi, you can get it right at your RV.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2018

Best kept campground, the grounds are maintained by Indiana State minimum security prisoners. A lot of space between campsites, a lot of open space, and a fishing pond. It is on the secured section of Post so feels safe. Some permanent residents but I might want to do that someday too. Excellent laundry and not crowded. Wifi works for net surfing but not Netflix streaming. All and all, a good experience. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 2018

Stayed here in April 2018. The host, Betsy, was very nice and informative once you get her to talk. The campground is very nice, however there are always improvements that can be made. There are a lot of full timers here, some with storage sheds on their lots that make it look more like a trailer park than a campground. Alot of the full timers have underpinning around their trailers making them more permanent and unattractive. There are also a lot of older units that are not registered or have current license plates. The facilities are great for walking your pets. A couple of trails (not clearly marked) make for a good walk in the woods. The laundry, and restroom facilities are clean and reasonable. There is a small PX on post along with an All Ranks Club that serves food and drink. A shooting range is also nearby. With some additional cleanup of the campground, this could be a hidden jewel. We will return here again. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2018

The park itself is good. The sites are gravel, level and spacious. It is close to the pool once it opens and there is a small lake to walk the dogs around and fish and release. The bad is there are several old and what appears to be permanent mobile homes in the park with junk all over and storage sheds setup at their sites making it look very trailer trashy. Like many other RV parks, I wish people would be more responsible for their dogs and clean up their poop. Please, for God sake... clean up after your dog! For the price of the camp ground, the security, and fairly close location to Indianapolis makes it the most affordable and viable option for any ID card holder wanting to explore the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2017

We decided to visit at the last minute and found the campground to be above our expectations. It has a nice playground for our grandkids and the full hookup for the price was a great deal. The one downside is there is no key drop off near the site. It needs to have a drop box next to the laundry. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 9-11, 2017

Absolutely WONDERFUL RV park. Host, Betsy, is great. This place is spotless, inside and outside. Nice respectful neighbors. Very nice base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 30, 2017

I've had my camper less than a week. My husband and I are so excited to get it to a spot and start making memories....anywhere but at Camp Atterbury. We rented a spot to store the camper, but instead of being welcomed we were chased down by the most rude woman I have come into contact with in quite some time. At no point was there an introduction, just a full on berating loud enough for the whole campground to hear. Apparently my husband went above 5 mph and she didn't like that. Too bad we were going all of 7-8 mph at the most. I guess her magic radar gun was broken that day. Anyhow, just wanted to forewarn of the most un hospitable "hostess" in Indiana. Because of her we will never camp at Atterbury and we will be moving our camper to a new storage lot. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 22-24, 2016

This campground is only about 5 hours or so from our home, so it is a perfect first or last destination when we're headed north. They have large, open sites, both pull thru and back in. Most have full hook-up. It's an easy campground to get in/our of, plus the sites are easily accessed. The free firewood is a definite plus for us when we travel in the fall and spring. The bathhouse is small, but always clean. The campground has a quiet, wooded, country feel. You don't hear highway noise here!! The price is great, as well. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 13-July 13 2016

Stayed for a month. CG is clean and well maintained. Prisoners from DOC on base do general cleaning in park. Many permanent residents. Sites are large on gravel but level. Bathhouse clean. Best part of CG is free firewood. We had a FHU site with 50 amp. Base is located between Franklin and colombus, IN. Cities are about 8-10 miles from CG. No commissary although there is a commissary in Indianapolis which is about a 45 min drive. Camp host recently passed and his wife has assumed host duties. Cable TV is provided. This would be the perfect CG if wifi was available. Surrounding lakes provide good fishing and kayaking. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 16-18 2015

Getting here was no problem. Just follow the instructions on this web page. Once through the gate, bear right, but make a wide swing as you will go around a curve which is no problem, go through what they call a tunnel but its a very tall structure used for inspections, but not in use at present time. Make a left at the first intersection on Headquarters Rd, go to the second building on the right which is the base housing office. Turn right and good luck parking with your rig in tow, but, really shouldn't be any problem. The office closes at 1600. The office staff  was very efficient and friendly as well as helpful. The camp sites are level with compacted gravel as well as wide, the sites have full hook-ups with cable. Each site has a picnic table. Wood is provided for the fire pit. I'm giving this campground a 5 star, although it is gravel. The restrooms and the family room were very clean and inviting. There is a play area for kids (or grandkids) and a couple covered picnic areas with picnic tables.  The PX is almost NON-existent, but has the basics. The post office is next to the PX with a drop box outside. An area not far from the campground is recycling. There are 22 homesteaders in the park. There seems to be enough sites for us folks coming off the road. This campground is well worth a visit while your going north or south.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 17-18 2015

This is one of those very nice out of the way places. Extremely good facilities and amenities. Some slight annoyances with or dance explosions occasionally, but hey, it's an Army Post. We made a reservation for a pull through in Space #7. But when we arrived the Camp Host said that someone already had that one and he had another unit coming in for his last pull through. On the way around the park, my wife mentioned to me that why should someone else get the pull through when we got there first. As I came around I asked Dave about that and he said we could have the pull through. I told him we were very grateful and appreciated his decision. As far as I know everything worked out for all concerned. He told us that the MWR folks that make the reservations don't communicate with the hosts very well. Other than that, it is a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2014

I advise calling ahead before arriving, as this new CG is quite busy-with about half of the sites filled with long-term campers. After entering the main gate the one-way street curves to the right. About a block after the curve is a stop sign. Turn left and continue thorough the X-ray quonset-hut. At the stop sign turn left, continue to (I think) building 7002. The check-in desk will direct you to the CG about 3 blocks away. Bldg 7002 is not in the same area as the rest of 7000 series of buildings.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 1, 2013

First time at this great little Famcamp! Clean, well maintained, and very hospitable camp hosts (who invited us up to sit by the fire after we set up). Especially liked the grassy and shady primitive area. Only negatives: some homesteaders and expensive WiFi. We'll definitely use this one again on our many trips: Albuquerque to Pittsburgh (especially now that our GPS knows how to find it)!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 30-Oct 4, 2013

I think the review from DellJr65 is bogus. I can't believe that Nancy was let go. She worked very hard to maintain this place and make everyone's visit fun. The hosts do not monopolize the space. I've been coming here for years and it has only improved under Nancy. DellJr65 must be an unhappy person.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 - 3 Oct 2013

After reviewing the previous poster's entry I entered the park with some trepidation. We came in late well after dark and were meet but two very pleasant lady's who checked us in and directed us to our assigned site. The camp is clean, neat and well run. The sites are huge, we have a 40 foot class A with quad slides the site is long enough for us to park our toad straight in at either end of the coach. The sites are well maintained gravel and are level. This is a gem of a park and we would definitely use it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 28, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Sept 6, 2013 to ????

My experience got off to a rocky start when one of the hosts, (?) answered my phone call for directions with rude and discourteous insults; when I asked her a question about getting to the campground via the Main Gate, her response was, "Well, yeah, duh!" My question was a legitimate one, due to the fact that in some military campgrounds, you enter via a different gate than the main gate; however, I found out the reason for her insulting discourse a few minutes later when I arrived at about 7:45 PM. She was drunk. She handed me a plastic key fob, without the key, pointed to where the bathrooms are located, and said, "Rule#1: you go over 5 MPH in this campground, and I'll ream your ass!" Then, she handed me a form to fill out, which stated that it was $20/night at the top of it. When I asked about the price for tent camping, she said that it was $15/ night; not the $7-10/night advertised on this website (TENT CAMPERS: PAY ATTENTION!!!). So, my wife and I, tired as we were, hurriedly set up out camp site and then went to use the bathroom (about 9 PM). All bathrooms were locked and the little plastic key fob was, of course, useless. I went back up to the host camper (Lot#1) to get a key and when I tried to get someone's attention for help, they turned off their lights. So, my wife and I (not being familiar with the base facilities) went into town to McDonald's to use the bathroom; which, we had to do again the next morning while we waited for the camp host to awaken. The next morning at 8 AM, I went up to the office to see if I could get a key and there was no one there. As I turned to walk away, the ****** (that's what their sign said), in Lot #1 came outside their trailer; so, I approached to ask about the key to the bathrooms. The greeting I got this time was, "What do you want, Bud?". I asked about the key and she said, "You know, there is another camp host over there", gesturing across the campground to the other side of the main building. I told her, "thank you, I did not know that because I've never been here before. Her response was, "Well, we've got signs, you know". Now, I don't know if this is "normal" protocol for greeting guests, but if so, I'll never stay here again. The tone was set right from the start for an unpleasant stay, and thought we tried to make the best of it, all we could see were flaws and faults with all of the high scores given to this place. It makes me think that a lot of these positive comments are from the dozen, or so, "homesteaders" who stay here year-round. It also gives credence to the argument against homesteading in FamCamps. *** had made a statement in our brief conversations, that she and her husband have been here for 13 years. Well, it shows. They, and their other co-hosts, have taken over the lounge, the laundry room, and even the pavilion outside of the main building, turning it into their private little area to entertain their personal guests, or so it would seem. They have all of their personal lawn furniture scattered about, a golf cart (MWR on it) parked underneath in among the picnic tables, and they even have a little statuette fountain that looks like both of their dogs. Even the laundry room seems to have been taken over with someone's personal belongings strewn everywhere, in there. The lounge is a joke; its more like an extension of their office space. All of these things combine to make a stranger very uncomfortable in wanting to use those things which are advertised as being available. To us, it seems as though you must get permission from the camp hosts to use anything, or do anything. Now, I will give high marks for the campground facilities. They are clean and everything looks neat and tidy. In fact, were it not for the unpleasant experience with the camp hosts, I would give this place higher marks; but, in my eyes, one can't help feeling obliged to leave after being greeted and treated the way we were. Campground hosts are supposed to be cordial, inviting, understanding, courteous, and polite; they are NOT supposed to be rude, insulting, and DRUNK!!! And, they definitely should not treat a government-owned facility like it is their very own property.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 August - 3 September 2013

Neat & Clean all around. Very friendly & helpful hosts. FHU Price includes cable TV. Wi-Fi is not free -- costs around $10 a day or $20 a week, but is "hit and miss". I asked for another Wi-Fi location and was directed to "The House", an all ranks club very near the campground, but they also used the same Wi-Fi company. About a block down the road from The House, next to the Chapel, is a very nice USO that has free Wi-Fi and a number of computers to use free movies, games, food, etc.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

30 May- 2 June 2013

We stayed for several nights and with so many cutbacks it was nice to see that the grass was still mowed and things were kept spruced up! Hosts were excellent and the location was great! Plenty of room for our MH and toad and the site was enormous otherwise...plenty of room to walk around. We asked about washing our MH and car and were informed that it was allowed which was a bonus! Thanks for a great stay!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 10, 2013

D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed overnight 05/10/2013. Found camp to be clean and friendly. Showers were hot and clean!! Did notice several TT's with enclosures around bottom that indicates staying permanence. Will use again on our trips to Michigan and return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18 - 21 Oct 2012

It was a very nice campground, friendly staff, free firewood and ice. Full hook-ups at each site to include cable TV. There is a nice hiking trail starting near the campsite. The campground seemed to be about 50% long term residents and is very well maintained. There are washers and dryers for 1 dollar per each load. There are two shower facilities and bathrooms, the lower shower is ok while the upper shower house has excellent water pressure! The base has a nearby dinning facility and a small PX, post office and Subway about 1 mile from campsites. Camp Atterbury is also host to a correctional facility. The base has a nice static display of vehicles but must be accessed from outside the main gate. The campground seemed to be about 50% long term residents and is very well maintained with a nearby pool.

Was this review helpful to you? 
45 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3