Whitaker Place Campground

New
 
4.5 (45)
55311   0   28   0   18

User reviews

30 reviews with 5 stars

45 reviews

 
(30)
 
(13)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.5  (45)
 
4.4  (45)
 
4.7  (45)
 
4.6  (45)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 Oct 2018

The campground now has free WiFi. 3 of the 4 Antenna's which were recently installed have Wireless Access Points (WAPs) with fast internet service. You no longer have to go to the USO or All Ranks Club to get WiFi, you can get it right at your RV.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2018

Best kept campground, the grounds are maintained by Indiana State minimum security prisoners. A lot of space between campsites, a lot of open space, and a fishing pond. It is on the secured section of Post so feels safe. Some permanent residents but I might want to do that someday too. Excellent laundry and not crowded. Wifi works for net surfing but not Netflix streaming. All and all, a good experience. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2017

We decided to visit at the last minute and found the campground to be above our expectations. It has a nice playground for our grandkids and the full hookup for the price was a great deal. The one downside is there is no key drop off near the site. It needs to have a drop box next to the laundry. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 9-11, 2017

Absolutely WONDERFUL RV park. Host, Betsy, is great. This place is spotless, inside and outside. Nice respectful neighbors. Very nice base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 22-24, 2016

This campground is only about 5 hours or so from our home, so it is a perfect first or last destination when we're headed north. They have large, open sites, both pull thru and back in. Most have full hook-up. It's an easy campground to get in/our of, plus the sites are easily accessed. The free firewood is a definite plus for us when we travel in the fall and spring. The bathhouse is small, but always clean. The campground has a quiet, wooded, country feel. You don't hear highway noise here!! The price is great, as well. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 17-18 2015

This is one of those very nice out of the way places. Extremely good facilities and amenities. Some slight annoyances with or dance explosions occasionally, but hey, it's an Army Post. We made a reservation for a pull through in Space #7. But when we arrived the Camp Host said that someone already had that one and he had another unit coming in for his last pull through. On the way around the park, my wife mentioned to me that why should someone else get the pull through when we got there first. As I came around I asked Dave about that and he said we could have the pull through. I told him we were very grateful and appreciated his decision. As far as I know everything worked out for all concerned. He told us that the MWR folks that make the reservations don't communicate with the hosts very well. Other than that, it is a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2014

I advise calling ahead before arriving, as this new CG is quite busy-with about half of the sites filled with long-term campers. After entering the main gate the one-way street curves to the right. About a block after the curve is a stop sign. Turn left and continue thorough the X-ray quonset-hut. At the stop sign turn left, continue to (I think) building 7002. The check-in desk will direct you to the CG about 3 blocks away. Bldg 7002 is not in the same area as the rest of 7000 series of buildings.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 1, 2013

First time at this great little Famcamp! Clean, well maintained, and very hospitable camp hosts (who invited us up to sit by the fire after we set up). Especially liked the grassy and shady primitive area. Only negatives: some homesteaders and expensive WiFi. We'll definitely use this one again on our many trips: Albuquerque to Pittsburgh (especially now that our GPS knows how to find it)!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 30-Oct 4, 2013

I think the review from DellJr65 is bogus. I can't believe that Nancy was let go. She worked very hard to maintain this place and make everyone's visit fun. The hosts do not monopolize the space. I've been coming here for years and it has only improved under Nancy. DellJr65 must be an unhappy person.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 - 3 Oct 2013

After reviewing the previous poster's entry I entered the park with some trepidation. We came in late well after dark and were meet but two very pleasant lady's who checked us in and directed us to our assigned site. The camp is clean, neat and well run. The sites are huge, we have a 40 foot class A with quad slides the site is long enough for us to park our toad straight in at either end of the coach. The sites are well maintained gravel and are level. This is a gem of a park and we would definitely use it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

30 May- 2 June 2013

We stayed for several nights and with so many cutbacks it was nice to see that the grass was still mowed and things were kept spruced up! Hosts were excellent and the location was great! Plenty of room for our MH and toad and the site was enormous otherwise...plenty of room to walk around. We asked about washing our MH and car and were informed that it was allowed which was a bonus! Thanks for a great stay!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2012

Great place to stay. There are a number of long term out of state National Guard staying at the park while training but they leave plenty of pull through sites for the rest of us. The price is right and the camp host is outstanding. This is a great location for visiting Columbus, IN and Brown County. I arrived from the south and left by the east road (252). I had no problems using 252 with a 40ft coach. Just do not get in a hurry. I appreciated the additional on base directions from a previous reviewer. Those should be in the campground directions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 16-22, 2012

Another great campground opportunity. The bathrooms were very clean. The laundry was affordable at $1 per load. Full hook-ups including cable available on each site. Everyone was friendly. Our only issue is the heavy smoke smell in the office and day room. Be sure to visit the museum about the camp's history (across from main gate in the welcome center). Better to use exit 76B, go about 4 miles then turn left when you see the arrow for the Camp. Ignore your GPS if it mentions taking a U-turn. Several restaurants and outlet shopping at the interstate exit. In addition, Walmart, Kroger and numerous restaurants are about 10-15 miles north on Hwy 31.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 12 2012

Consider hidden jewel! Full hookups, great town for shopping, base facilities, super clean restrooms. Awesome. Only downside was smoking in office/lounge areas. Definitely return. Really 5-star.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 29, 2012

A nice, very well-maintained campground. Large spaces and easy to park with most spaces being pull-thrus. The staff are very hard working and friendly. If you visit; take my advice and exit 76B off I-65 onto US 31 North. Follow it for about four miles and there are signs to Camp Atterbury (left turn onto County Road 800). Stay on CR 800 for about 2.5 miles; gate will be on the left. Once thru the gate, go about one mile and turn left onto 5th Street (you should see the swimming pool down 5th Street. It ends at the camp ground entrance. This saves you going thru Edinburgh and making many turns to stay on IN 252. My GPS had me bypassing the left turn at CR 800 and making a U-turn. It is a cross-road at US 31 and IN 252/CR 800. The only bad thing for us was the free firewood. Our neighbor enjoyed the smoke and kept a fire going all day long.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 15, 2011

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Not the last time I will visit here. Very pleasant place to visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 9, 2011

The newly found campground was exceptional.. Very clean,large camp sites,,wi-fi and a pool nearby. friendly staff, the base is immaculate and a pool is there as well as a gym. The bathroom and showers at campground are very clean. Would recommend to all. Great place. We'd come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 19-25, 2011

Follow the directions on this site (although the car lots mentioned are gone.) Our GPS has us traipsing all over the countryside! This is a training camp, so heard lots of artillery and small arms fire. Nothing close by, but audible. The campground has a fishing pond, laundry facilities, group meeting area. Sites are gravel, each has a picnic table and fire pit. Everything is well maintained. Camp host was friendly and helpful. There's lots of day trips in the area: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, of course, plus museums, zoo, lots of caves and distillery tours. The Louisville Slugger Factory Tour is a pleasant day trip. We definitely recommend a visit to the Ripkey Armor Museum in Crawfordsville, IN. It's an impressive private collection of refurbished tanks, planes, etc.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 26, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

13 & 24 October 2010

We "stumbled" upon this facility looking for a one-night stopover on our way to Nashville to visit family. WHAT A FIND! Definitely a Five-Star. We agree with the comment about not taking Exit 80 off I-65, but it's not too bad. Our GPS got a little stupid when arriving at US-31. But if Exit 80 is taken, just continue across US-31 and that will put you onto Hospital Road. When approaching along US-31 from north or south, there is good signage to Camp Atterbury. All previous comments are right on. Of course we couldn't take advantage of the pool, but hope to be there for a few days next summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 28 - June 1, 2010

I've noticed no ratings since Oct '09, and I know a lot of people have stayed there since, so, in the interest of good relations, I am glad to endorse this campground as one of my favorites. Memorial day weekend was great there, and it turned out to be my last hope to spend the weekend camping..... Nancy and all the staff are excellent hosts, and made us all feel very welcome. Facilities are top notch and extremely well maintained... On Memorial Day, they hosted a pitch-in luncheon which was excellent... Lots are big and all are RV friendly. The only detractor is that, they are located inside the post so you have to contend with Security upon entering the facility, but that really isn't that difficult..... Nancy and Staff, keep up the excellent work, and I will be back soon......

Was this review helpful to you? 
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2