McConnell AFB FamCamp

New
 
3.6 (24)
31018   0   3   0   10

User reviews

Filters 11 reviews with 4 stars

24 reviews

 
(4)
 
(10)
 
(9)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
4.1  (24)
 
2.8  (24)
 
3.6  (24)
 
3.6  (24)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4 Sep - 7 Sep 16

We have had our 2nd trip to McConnell & have now stayed in both sections of the rv park. Last year we were in the secondary row of sites that has only water & electric hookups. There is a dump located right by the strip of sites so it's easy to dump when leaving.When we stayed in this section last year the grass was unkempt so there was no using the picnic table. These sites are located so close to each other one needs to check that the awning is not touching the neighbor's slide. This year we were able to stay in the section with full hookups. After checking in at the lodge we were quickly set up & on our way to seeing family & the sites around Wichita. Make sure to have your up-to-date pet records with you at check-in. They do not keep any records for repeat visits so you'll need to show records each check-in. The park is quiet; in a nice setting with fishing ponds right by. Enjoyed the birds that visited. There are 2 tornado shelters - one at each end of the park. There is a great track one can access right at the park. Walk, jog, ride your bike. Commissary is small, but adequate. The NEX is very small. AT&T cell was good. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6-7 Jun 15

Stayed along what used to be their golf course. Pretty sparse camp site. The facilities seemed to be nice, we would likely have enjoyed it a bit more if we'd been in the main area. All told we'll stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 25/26, 2015

Sewage dump at back-in sites, although recently constructed and very nice, lacks the ability for a pickup truck to adequately pull straight in and exit without the front wheels becoming hopelessly placed in a mud bank. My motorhome I could place by judiciously backing & filling (tugboat term) and hoping my sewage hose was long enuff. I would hope the maintenance group would think of placing rock fill & pouring a concrete extension to the site allowing an easy approach and exit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6 Jun 2015

The location and overall facility were ok. The BX, commissary and Class Six were pretty close. We had to stay in the overflow area; a pretty small and unattractive area. The main area looked pretty good. They have an amazing walking trail. The laundry is clean and free. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 29, 2014

We recommend that you make a reservation. They want you to enter the main gate then proceed to the Air Capital Inn (N 37.63587,W 97.24873) to check in. They will assign a site and give you directions (map) to the campground. Verbal directions are hard to follow because the roads are not straight and make several twists and turns. There have been many nice improvements since we last visited the park. We live in the area and have been waiting and hoping for the promised improvements for several years. The park used to be ignored and unorganized but now the Air Capital Inn desk seem to have an efficient process to manage the facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7-9 Aug 12

Check in is at Air Capitol Inn, where the folks are very nice and helpful. If you have pets take their shot record(s) with you to check-in! The new FamCamp is open ($18 per night). Large, level concrete sites with 20/30/50 amp water and sewer. The current watering system for the newly sodded grass leaves a lot to be desired. I had to put on my rubber boots to hook-up the utilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Mar - 1 Apr 2012

Great place for $14 a night. Yes, it is small. Yes, sites are close together. Big deal. Unless you're going to live there, the FamCamp is fine. Quiet place in private area. Big field behind the sites. The 50 amp power at my site's pedestal didn't work. Out comes the extension cord to the pedestal. Fixt. Yes, I reported the outage to Outdoor Rec. CE will fix it. Good water pressure at the sites. No cable or wi-fi. The antenna pulled in enough channels for me. Maybe when McConnell finishes the Krueger Rec Area (KRA) they'll have those additional amenities. If you fish, lakes at the KRA are within walking distance. Same with the base running trail, paintball field, frisbee golf and RC car course, though paintball, frisbee golf and the RC course get very little use.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 20 - 21, 2010

I just spent two nights here at McConnell. The airman at the gate gave me directions to the famcamp which was easy to find. Its small, old, sites right next to each other, and there are absolutely no signs at the famcamp on how or where to register. I chose an empty site and set up, got my instructions on how to register from this website! The lady at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. She did say that at times the famcamp is full and calling ahead for a reservation is a good idea. She offered the hotel laundromat at no charge to do laundry. She also mentioned that if you have pets you must present their shot records in order to register. And the planned expansion is not ever happening as far as she knew, still in the rumor/talking stage. The camp itself is not really suitable for a big rig, and there are no sewer hookups. The cable tv outlet on the electric box is not hooked to anything hence is not functional, but the electric worked. The camp is located in a very pleasant and out of the way part of the base. Lots of grass, a couple of small lakes nearby. Base amenities are fine but be aware that the class VI store is overcharging outrageously. I was shocked at the prices and mentioned it to someone standing next to me with a clipboard. He turned out to be the beer distributor and said the manager was using an 80% markup vs. the 20% that was normal off base. Otherwise it was a quiet pleasant place to stop for a couple of nights, I'd stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 March 2009

We just used this as an overnight stop, returning to Texas from leave. Not much to say other than clean and better armed security than other near by campgrounds. Was quiet overnight, but construction crews were working by 0700 across the field. We were the only ones there. Don't think it'd be to enjoyable if all the spaces were occupied as they are close together. Had to go to billeting to check in/out. Billeting is located at the 2nd left after you go through the main gate. Rock Road is still under construction, and is still a pain.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 30-31, 2008

WalMart with hookups. I don't mind that there were no amenities, but I would like full hookups. Nothing more than a great level concrete pad with water, electricity, and rudimentary cable TV. The dump station is nearby. A little too expensive ($14.00) for what was offered. But better than nothing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

About 100 days between 1 May and 30 Nov 2006

It is presently a very small and obscure campground with only 9 or 10 back-in spaces. Most are nice sized concrete pads that are adequately spaced apart. They do have grills and picnic tables and a new concrete storm shelter and it is well illuminated at night. The campground is located in a remote area on the south and east side of the Air Base fairly near to Rock Road. They have electric and water at each site and a common dump station nearby. They are supposedly in early 2007 adding 26 to 28 new pull thru campsites with concrete pads which will be in behind the present campground. These new campsites are also supposed to have sewer services at each campsite. Rumors are mixed about them also having a bathhouse/latrine building with an adjoining laundry and game room. The campground is located very near to the Shoppette/Service Station and the Commissary, Base Exchange, Bank and medical facility. We stayed there for a fairly lengthy period as both of my wifes parents were in very serious failing health and were hospitalized there in Wichita. Overall we felt that it was a very nice small Family Campground facility that should dramatically improve in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11