Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (69)
111834 2 53 0 48

User reviews

69 reviews

 
(42)
 
(17)
 
(9)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.3  (69)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (69)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (69)
Value 
 
4.4  (69)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
69 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Sept 10 - 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wife and I stopped for a week and ended up staying for two. The Famcamp is kept very tidy and the bathhouse is kept very clean everyday. The hosts that take over after business hours were awesome. One of them actually rode around tending to ice and firewood for the campers with campsite delivery. There's a beautiful lake area (Lake Carlson) for fishing. There's even a trail around the backside of the lake for a great early evening walk with your dog. Only problem I found and it has nothing to do with the "FamCamp" was the trash thrown everywhere around the lake by the fisherman. There was trash cans everywhere and they are checked and changed daily, yet fisherman would throw their cans, bottles, fishing line, dirty diapers wherever they fished. It was so bad, my wife and I on our nightly walks, filled a total of 5 trash bags...this is how I know the trash cans were changed daily. New hours, they close at 15:30 M-T-T-F closed wed,S-S. See camp host if closed. They have WiFi, you get a code from office or host, its slow but works for social media.
RT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 26 - June 1, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 7 nights. Campground is clean, as is washroom and laundry. The campground is off base, but Fort Knox is just 3-4 miles away. No diesel fuel on base. Great location to take in some of the area sights. We will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 19, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time visit and it will not be our last! This is a gem of a park. Clean, clean bathhouse! Nice little bike ride up to the rental lodge, beautiful lake view, if you are planning any event this is the place to have it! Of all the military parks we have stayed in, this is ranked number one. Friendly staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stay here almost every year. My husband's sister lives in Valley Station just down the road. This year, we were here a little over a week. Always liked this park. Very clean. Poor Verizon cell phone service because a small cell phone company has locked up the area and won't allow any other cell towers. Thought their contract would be up, but apparently it has been renewed. Am able to use my Verizon Mifi, but is very slow and sometimes have to play with it before I can get on. Will be back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 27 - Jul 1, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
W.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We had called ahead on the day of our arrival because we had not made reservations. The night host met us and guided us to a place to drop our utility trailer and then to our site. He is outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 June 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had an outstanding visit. We stayed for two weeks for our daughter's wedding and had the time of our life. Park is clean and very well kept. The sites with electric and water can now be reserved on Webtrac but the sites with sewage are on first come first serve basis. WIFI and phone service are sketchy but town is about ten-fifteen minutes away and you can connect at local fast food places. Park is wooded and on a lake, beautiful surroundings. Bathhouse and laundry are new and very well maintained. Reminder to people using the park to clean up after yourself. The area around the lake has many fishing packages and trash left from fisherman.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17-20 Nov
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at this great campground on the way to and again on the way back from Mammoth Cave NP. Very nice hiking trails, a nice small lake and lots of well-maintained group areas. Free Wifi was good, great restroom facilities, very clean and well maintained. Large clean laundry facilities and a dayroom with sat tv, common area kitchen and a large book, magazine and vcr tape sharing library. All of the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Very good value and I would recommend this camp to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 11 - 13, 2012
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Clean and well kept park. Nice area to visit and near post facilities. Orientation of some sites have your entry opening next to the road. Our fire ring was only about 3 ft from the road. Rebar sticking up through railroad ties around the gravel pad was a trip and safety hazard. Obviously been that way for a long while. Hard to believe the military doesn't inspect the place. The 120 day rule is with a wink and a nod. Receptionist said as long as no one reserves your site after your time is up you can stay. She seems to have missed the part about vacating for 72 hours. So at $13 a day homesteaders will stay. Military retiree that I met there was upset at having a waiting list for full hook up sites. At the outer rings the Wifi was useless.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Aug 30 - Sep 3, 2012
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the most beautiful campgrounds, military or civilian, we've stayed in all our travels. Office staff very friendly and helpful. Reservations can only be made on line and tends to be somewhat confusing. Reservations can be made for water/elec sites only. Was told on the phone that you have to be put on a waiting list for full hookups. We lucked out and were assigned a full hookup site when we arrived. Campground is immaculate, as was the laundry and rec room. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 10 - 13 August 2012
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here 64 days. Very quite and relaxing, Has a pond with fishing, & walking trail. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $13.00 per night. Campground in not on base, but not far. Also not far from other shopping and dining out. Had laundry at campground 1.00 wash & dry. Has some homesteaders that work on base, but was not a problem, always had some sites open. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
24-27 June 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - A great place, quiet, pleasant surroundings, close to the base for commissary and BX, an easy drive to the Lincoln birth and boyhood sites. The new laundry, lounge and bathrooms were spotless.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
25 July 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed one night on our return to Florida. We called ahead and were told one site was available but it was first come, first served as there are no reservations. We arrived at 1900 hours and were greeted by the camp host Royal Jones ... a real pleasure to talk to. After giving us all the info, he showed us the site which worked very well for our 37 foot coach. The bathrooms, showers, laundry and Rec room were immaculate. This is truly one of Ft Knox's best kept secrets as my father was stationed there, I was and my son was and I never heard of it before I learned of it on Military Campgrounds. I will be returning my next trip north.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
July 28, 2012
(Updated: July 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice campground. When I arrived, the grass was a thick carpet of green and had been freshly mowed. Large attractive hardwood trees. The office and bathhouse look new, clean, and well-maintained. Spacious laundry with 8 washers and 8 dryers for $1.00 each and all were working. Paved roads and some sites had a concrete pad. Free Wi-Fi at each site provided by satellite so usage is limited to 160 Mb a day which could be a problem for moderate to heavy users. Camping fees are very reasonable with a $2 per day discount for 55+ campers. A separate section contains about a dozen cabins near the lake. Thirty miles from downtown Louisville. The only negative about this campground is the condition of the homesteader sites. Many sites show signs of long-term residence – wooden steps, unsightly items stored under the RV, toys and bicycles scattered about the yard, large 100 lb propane bottles at the front of the RV. One site had 5 propane bottles of various sizes in front of their RV. Several sites are growing vegetable gardens in pots on their picnic table.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 7,2012 to June 21, 2012
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I whole heartedly recommend it to everyone. We had a very good time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
June 8 2012
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I arrived at the CG late after driving from Branson, MO and was greeted by a volunteer, that wasn't sure what was going on. I were told that the only site available was one in the rear of the CG, where you have no Cell, Satellite, Antenna TV Service, Internet or Sewer. The neighbor to our left had a fire in the ring with the only thing but smoke rolling out and blowing in our direction, and drinking heavily. The neighbor to our rear had 2 dogs chained up, 1 was a bulldog, that we witnessed him beating that poor dog with what appeared to be a large stick. Now after all this the Home Stealers had every good site tied up. Some have been there, for what seems "THE BEGINING OF TIME". However, after getting setup we walked back to the office to get cell service and found 3 nice sites that were empty and in the open, and of course no one in the office. I did have the opportunity the talk to the MWR Director after leaving feedback on the "ICE" Website, and she assured me there was no home steadier there, (right). There is a Class a Motor home there that had a deck on the front of it. I express my feelings and told her that if there were Active Duty Folks staying there, no one would have any objections them living there, after all they are Protecting Our Freedom!! As a retiree, I felt I were treated inappropriately, or as I told her a 3rd rate citizen. Chances are I will not be going back there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 4
Oct 18, 2011
(Updated: November 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent 4 nights at Camp Carlson. The camp hostess was very friendly and informative. Received the Senior discount. Assigned a pull-thru which had good view for the satellite dish. Used the laundry which was clean and reasonable at $1.00 to wash and $1.00 to dry. All though the weather was sloppy wet and cold, we had an enjoyable stay. Visited the Patton Museum and toured the Post once the weather cleared. Will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2 2011
(Updated: November 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
No more discount for golden age/access cards. But I am so old I get the seniors discount. The paved roads is a great addition to the park. Only met the manager at check in yesterday and she was very friendly as always. We visit here once a year for doctor check ups and the staff are always great. We even get decent cell phone service with our Verizon and AT&T phones. The free WIFI here is still very slow, so I just use our air card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed 1 night in transit south. Nice place with spacious pull throughs. Very clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I just purchased a used RV and made my first trip from the coast of NC to Camp Carlson. I spent about 10 days there and did not want to leave. Its a beautiful campground and so very clean. The staff was as friendly as could be and I felt at home there. 2 playgrounds for children and tons of picnic areas. Very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a beautiful and peaceful campground, this is the place I intend to go back as soon as possible. Thank you for a great "first" camping experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.A. left this review using the Directory software: Visited 03/28/11 for 2 days, had excellent corner site, personnel were friendly and helpful the roads in the campground were being worked on, looks like they will be paved soon. Excellent campground, great value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
69 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4