Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (69)
111967 2 53 0 48

User reviews

69 reviews

 
(42)
 
(17)
 
(9)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.3  (69)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (69)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (69)
Value 
 
4.4  (69)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
69 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
May 2011
(Updated: May 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have stayed here numerous times mainly for military duty. I noticed this winter they made some nice improvements. All of the roads throughout the campground are now paved, no more dust flying around from vehicles and they established a new area just for tenters, so they are not using RV spaces, great idea. As always, management and staff are always helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
January 2011
(Updated: January 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife and I camp at Camp Carlson a few times a year. This is a very nice campground and very clean. The staff is both helpful and friendly. Our most recent trip was the past January 2011. We spent two nights there and was very satisfied. They have the cleanest restrooms we have ever seen. The only bad thing is the television reception and the distance from main post facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 22, 2010
(Updated: November 10, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We traveled to Fort Knox to attend our nephew's basic training graduation. We spent two days in one of the cabins with other family members. The cabin was very clean and fit our needs perfectly. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds and scenery was beautiful and well maintained. Would highly recommend this facility. We certainly had a wonderful time. Greg & Trisha, Talladega, A
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 3,2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here for one night on our way to Mississippi. Loved it!!! Large spots, absolutely spotless restrooms and showers, VERY nice staff. It was over 100 degrees in the shade and we had no problems with our electrical hookup...a/c ran fine. Lots of nice shade. Lake is small and open to the public so there were quite a few fishermen. Very quiet park. It seemed like it took forever to find it once we exited the highway but directions were well stated. Would hate to drive there in the dark though! Would definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 10-12 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I just stayed for two days. The only open spots were water & Elect. I read all the other reports but I didn't have any of those issues, yes the WiFi was a little slow at times, yes a little dusty (but if the drivers would have slowed down NO DUST), I wish I could have stayed longer but the plans didn't allow it. The only big issue is the 120 day stay limit, some unit have way to much stuff around and outside their units like 5 propane bottles because they are allowed to stay for 4 months with out moving. If they were not allowed to stay that long it wouldn't take long to get a full hook up site. I have sat TV and didn't have a problem getting it in just had to watch where I parked. The power was a little low but heck every one was running 1 or 2 AC's; Washer/Dryers; and even one unit had a window AC mounted in the window along with 2 AC's on top. This causes elect drain on all spots. I didn't have any problems with the dump but I have a motorhome and the dump is on the drivers side, but i know some of the travel trailers have the dump on the right side so they have to drive around a circle or use an extra length of drain hose. The staff are the best and very helpful.I wish they would spray for bugs every once in a while can't sit out at night. BUG ATTACK !!!! even tried a fire. Really it's a great place to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We arrived on June 20, 2010 and reserved a site for three nights. We left after one night. The campground was clean, the showers and laundry rooms were spotless, really nice, with a TV in the laundry room with a satellite hookup. It's the only TV we were able to watch. There was no TV coverage at the sites (cable, local or satellite), no sewage, no cell phone service and the WiFi never worked. I will say that Diana, the site manager, was very courteous and tried to be helpful, but not enough to bring us back to this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 3
June 13, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Positives: Professional staff, laundry facility, reasonable prices with age and America the Beautiful Card discounts, close to Ft Knox facilities, small lake with fishing, fairly new cabins to rent, well kept bathhouses, pleasing surroundings, free Wi-Fi. Negatives: It's a journey to get to this place from the major interstates. There are 32 rules mostly aimed at protecting their grass, Wi-Fi is as slow as a dead turtle, the squatters have all of the FHU 50 amp sites, the dump station is on the wrong side of every RV in the world, voltage is low (althogh, it was hot and the campground was full). Access road is gravel which make for alot of dust.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 3 & 4 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed our stay. Attendants very nice. Be sure to follow directions for getting to campground if you wish to miss traffic of Elizabeth. Had no problem getting a site. We did have a problem with an electric 30 amp plug but was allowed to move to another site the next day. Great walking paths around entire campground including the lake area. Lots to see and do in the area. Buddy and June Buie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 28,2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
When we arrived the night-time host was very pleasant. I lost a part from my tow dolly on the trip, and the host was very helpful in helping me locate a local hardware store for the part I needed. The park had many units there and only a few sites were available. I was amazed at how clean the park was and the condition of the facilities were excellent. We only stayed one evening and had to finish our trip to Michigan. I would gladly stay there again if I am ever in the area. Alan and Carol Parmentier, North Port, FL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
October 25-November 3, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We are glad we were here in the fall as the campground is not crowded, it is very quiet, and the autumn colors are beautiful. We made this our main site for visiting Kentucky as we were close to Louisville, and within driving distance of Frankfort. We intended to go into Lexington but ran out of time. The campground is very clean and everyone was friendly. There are a few that look like long-time residents but their sites were clean and neat. The bathrooms, laundry and kitchen were spotless. Both washers and dryers were $1. Plenty of hot water for showers. I had a couple suggestions that a rack be added to the laundry room for hanging clothes and a couch in the kitchen area for watching TV. Right now there are only kitchen tables and chairs which aren't comfortable when watching a football game. There is a beautiful living room area at the check-in building but I never saw anyone using it when I was there. We don't have children but the playground area seemed very nice to me and was very convenient to anyone staying in the campground. Ft. Knox is about two miles away and has the best commissary I have ever seen with a great selection of meats and produce. We would definitely come back here next time we are in Kentucky.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
June 4-7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
C. left this review using the Directory software: We found the staff very helpful and friendly. We did find that in spite of having a WiFi connection, the service was good but faded frequently. Cell phone service was intermittent with Verizon. Since the campground is at the botton of a hill, the communication problems are no doubt, inevitable. We found it easy to get to Louisville from there. The laundry and shower facilities were spotless- the cleanest I have ever seen anywhere.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Apr 14-22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
After reading the reviews, and hearing great things from a fellow camper while in FL, I couldn't wait to visit. It was rainy when we arrived and the gravel/dirt roads (and narrow pads) were aggravating. Many hookups were in very strange placements, as were the 'patios' for the sites, often times not matching where the RVs' doors were. And, since there were so many homesteaders, summer may be a hard pressed time for a free space, since no reservations can be made. Many of the partial hookup sites are on a difficult to manuever road with overhaning branches and narrow openings between trees. The playgrounds are small, and the larger one is way across the road. There is no cell service. The new laundry/showers and TV lounge are great, and the lake is beautiful (on all sides now; we spent an afternoon picking up trash from the infrequented far side of the lake), and the staff is friendly and VERY helpful. There was a recycling bin on site. Luckily, the rates were average, and being by Louisville to see the sites is convenient, so the negatives were overlooked, but I cannot rate it higher than a 3.5
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
MAY 2008
(Updated: July 28, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have to agree with Tsunami's & ckt1945's posting. We arrived here a year ago in April, after my hubby returned home from his fourth tour in Iraq, to retire. It has taken much longer for his retirement to go through than we had anticipated and appreciate the hospitality we have received while being stationed here. We right now have a gentleman that came and dropped off three fifth wheels about 2 months ago. We have not seen this gentlemen since, but there have been at least 14 different people, including women and children, who have come to stay in these rv's. None of the vehicles have military stickers on them. I have asked a few of the different patrons if they were military, or if they were working on post and they just ignored me. There are a few patrons here who have been here for over two years that are either project managers or are working in some fashion on post. But they do own their own units and stay in their own units. The restrooms and laundry facilities are very clean. Since this last batch of contractors have arrived, there have been 5 out of the 8 washers continually out of service. (Have since been fixed) I do agree, that there needs to be more spaces made available for active duty military, reservists, national guard and retired vets to use. Right now, it seems to me, that the contractors have priority. UPDATED: May 28, 2008 - The five fifth wheels have finally left. Come to find out, all of these people who stayed in these rv's were sponsored by one individual. That individual, had his own business, and had been awarded a contract for some work at a power plant in Louisville (non-related to any military facility). He brought his 5 rv's and all his employees from Florida, up here, none of whom had ever served a day in the military, and they were allowed to stay in this park. They arrived in early February and just left. Let's see, that is past the 120 day limit. There were several complaints made by other military patrons to management about the loud music and drinking, but nothing was done. There was an active duty soldier and his wife, clearing, on his way to Fort Hood to be deployed to Iraq, guess where he had to park his rv? On a 30amp, no sewer hook up, while the non-military people, working at a power plant in Louisville, had the prime FHU spots. We had made an ICE complaint some time back, and guess who responded to the complaint? Management, and nothing was resolved. We were told that as long as someone is sponsored they can stay here. (There should be a limit on the amount of non-military individuals that one person can sponsor along with a specified length of time.) The sponsored individual does not have to have the sponsor with them and if more more then one individual rotates in and out of the units, it is not her business. So when you come to stay here, expect to be surrounded by non-military contractors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
9 - 10 October, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The directions to the CG are good. We found the office personnel very friendly and helpful. The grounds and the office/day room are very nice. The sites are nicely spaced with FHU, good water pressure and 125 or better volts of electric power. The camp grounds is in a wooded area and very quit and peaceful. I had a little problem getting on the WiFi, had limited service for my e-mail. I have a MacBook so it could be me. The CG is on the site of Ft Carlson Army Post and the Gen Patton Museum is great. The PX and Commissary on Ft Knox are not far away. Overall we enjoyed the time we spent at Ft Carlson Rec Area. We will go back when we are in the area. Great job Outdoor Rec.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov. 8-12, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our 2nd visit in a year. We couldn't wait to get back. There was plenty of room. Most of the construction must be over, the new lodge on the lake is completed. Same great, friendly staff & the same spotlessly clean facilities. $12 a nite (over 55) for a full hook-up. Still no cell coverage, but that's not their fault. Wi-Fi workes fine. Avg diesel is about $3.26 nearby. Don't skip Camp Carlson if you're nearby.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
4th of July 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great Camp Hosts, staff and campground. I would stay here again. Clean Clean Clean.... Agree with the statement about homesteading construction workers. Some campers admitted to living there for almost two years. Some of them even have their own lawn mowers. Close to lake and F. Knox main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27-30 Aug 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have been to this campground numerous times from when it was only 18 sites to present. It is a nice place with a friendly staff. A quiet retreat with lake nearby. With progress so goes cost and they now are at $16 and that is to me high for a mil camp. There are to many homesteading construction workers (dod) here which limit the # of sites for travelers that retired and even for active mil. There is no reservation system so you gamble coming in if on a holiday week. The wifi is pretty good with 4 antennas but at times it shuts down though not for a long time. This a good campground but there are areas that could be improved for active and retired members.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 27, 2007 - July 10, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This CG is one of the best we stayed at. The staff is helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We were told at check in that there was only a few sites left with no sewage. We viewed them and decided on G3, as recommended (uploaded a picture with attached screen room). The site was worth the trips with the honey wagon. The office and facility buildings are new. I uploaded a few pics on the laundry and kitchen. Always clean. The showers have a bench seat in private stall, one has a popup seat for the handicap. Free phone for local calls and free WIFI. The negatives camp Carlson, WIFI is not always available, fades in and out. Because of the location in a valley, there is NO cell phone service. No reservations allowed. We will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 30 -July 2, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Off the main interstates, but well worth the trip. Nice big sites, easy to back into, didn't have satelite, but listening to the NASCAR race on radio was worth your mind picturing the cars lap by lap. We finally went over to the community hall and watched the last 30 laps, we were the only one in there, and could not get over how clean and well stocked the place was (2 microwaves and 2 refrigs-freezer). The rest room/shower is spotless. Washers and dryers new and clean. When you get close to Louisville call and get their directions, much better then the book. Alot of President Lincoln history in the area. Gen. Patton Museum very nice and free, donations taken if you want. Will mark this as a cg to come back too
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7-9 June 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
69 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4