Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (69)
111967 2 53 0 48

User reviews

69 reviews

 
(42)
 
(17)
 
(9)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.3  (69)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (69)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (69)
Value 
 
4.4  (69)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
69 results - showing 61 - 69
1 2 3 4
Ordering
1-30 May 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Definately agree with all the positive comments about this Park, but.............They have brought in 4 ex-FEMA small travel trailers and set them on on primo sites as rentals!! This action, combined with the homesteaders & squaters (not all of whom are GIs) has severely limited the number of sites avail to the traveler. Best call ahead to be sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10-11 May 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the best overall sites ever! A new experience for us..arrived with no notice at 5:35PM, although it was 5 minutes after closing, the Office Manager acted as though we were their best customer - what a refreshing attitude! Clean, newly built laundry, washrooms, showers all with A/C, free wi-fi, - all wonderful. TV reception is not the best because it is in a valley, but satellites work if you can aim thru the trees, but there is free TV with all the channels in community room if you're hooked on having to watch TV! Sites are all large, picnic tables, fire pits and char grills, too. User friendly!! I'd be a camp host here in a heartbeat if they'd have me and I lived closer to Louisville!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 22, 2007
(Updated: August 19, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were here 2.5 years ago, while stationed here, right before the renovations started. Oh my goodness, what a change, everything is just wonderful. This is the best military rv camp we have visited. We are now stationed here and will be staying here as long as they will let us. The only down side we can see, is the very large dogs that are left tied up outside the owner units. At night when you walk any where the dogs are barking. I have not stayed at an rv camp that allowed dogs to be tied up outside when the owners are gone. Other then that, it is absolutely beautiful. (Updated on Aug. 19, 2007 - the large dog is gone!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 21 - July 14, 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love it at Camp Carlson, KY. Since our first visit there in 1997, we return every chance we get. Is my "home away from home". Everyone has always been so nice, and the campers are usually very friendly. Our first visit there was before they added the new section. We enjoyed it then, and whenever we go back, we ask for the old section. We just enjoy that section better. More trees, near the woods and is quiet. We enjoy hiking around the Lake and down to Otter Creek, just enjoying nature. We always look forward to returning. And the no phone reception and no TV (without satellite) is just fine with us. But do enjoy using the Internet in the evening when relaxing. Thank you for the opportunity.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 7 - 11, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp Carlson is a jewel. 1st -directions to the park. If you're coming up I-65 from the South there is no longer any need to drive North of Eliz'town and take the East-West Hwy 313. You can exit I-65 below Eliz'town, directly onto a 31W (which goes due North believe it or not) bypass around Eliz'town. Just stay on 31 W all the way to Ft Knox. Follow signs (past the first few gates) to the Brandenburg gate. But BEFORE you are at the gate you'll see brown signs on the right side of the road, indicating a left turn to Camp Carlson. Renovations on the showers, bathhouse, laundry room and lounge are complete. What a beautiful set-up. Lots of new machines in the laundry, and a lounge that we haven't seen the likes of in RV parks. Brand new color dish TV, and a complete kitchen. Can't tell how many residents are full-timers or PCS personnel, but there were plenty of open slots when we arrived. Wi-Fi does work great and like stated we couldn't get any cell phone reception here but up the hill (on base) it was fine. Actually it was a gift. No one can call in to us, but we can call out if we want to, ha! Camp hostess couldn't be nicer. We were charged $12 a night (Over 55 discount). Pads and roads are gravel but level and easy to navigate. Base facilities are great and easy to find. We've loved Camp Carlson used it as a base to explore central KY. If it were a bit warmer, we'd say another 5-7 days; no discussion.
JH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I agree with most of what others have said. The new bathhouse/laundry is completed, the paving not yet begun, and the park manager is indeed very nice and helpful. WiFi operation is great and FREE! Cell phone operation is iffy, due to the location of the park in a depression, which completely surrounds the park with higher ground. The older (30 amp) area is still in use with at least six campers located there. The long timers consist of two civilian contractors, who have been onsite for over eighteen months, and may possibly remain until contract completion (five years!). There are at least ten sites occupied by active duty personnel and two sites with unoccupied RV?s (?), plus the camp host. The RV sites are located adjacent to a very large and well maintained picnic area in which new playground equipment is being installed. Additionally, there is a separate area with a number of small and large cabins, which can be rented; access to Otter Creek and a small lake ensures great fishing opportunities. A very nice RV park indeed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camp Carlson is an excellent Park with amazing water pressure. What a treat to have a shower in my RV like the one I have at home. Found the active duties folks friendly and very helpful. There is some contention between the lady that runs the Camp and the long timers. They are preparing to pave the road system that takes you to your spots, so you may want to call and check status.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
---
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice location, quiet during off season. Construction of new RV sites and cabins almost completed. Improving internet connection; cellphone reception spotty. Excellent staff!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2005
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
CG was being expanded/upgraded at time of our stay. Nice wooded area, good walking around/along adjacent lake w/good fishing also. Friendly hospitable staff we thought. Good place to stay if in the area. Nice walking areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
69 results - showing 61 - 69
1 2 3 4