Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (66)
107702 1 26 0 48

User reviews

11 reviews with 3 stars

66 reviews

 
(41)
 
(16)
 
(9)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.3  (66)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (66)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (66)
Value 
 
4.4  (66)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (66)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
July 27-28 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
For the amenities it cost too much. There is no local TV stations, satellite is only available from just a few spot in the CG, there is no phone signal, and there is no WIFI. If you like a secluded camp with no contact with the outside world then this is the place for you otherwise find another CG. The camp itself is well maintained everything was clean and the campers friendly. I would stay here again but only long enough to go the Patton museum, then I would have to go where I can get satellite and WIFI. I NEED MY TV! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 24-26, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
It cost $35.00 per night, which is more than I have ever paid at a military CG. There is absolutely no WIFI, even in the community center or office, there are no AIR TV channels to receive, and NO phone signal. We are FT and this is important to us... We had to go on base (CG is off base) to the PX to get WIFI, but you can get a signal for your phone a few miles away from the CG. The CG is quite a ways off of I-65, but not too bad. However, other than the Patton museum (awesome) there is NOTHING around there, but a few fast food joints; nothing! The sites, layout, office personnel, and CG were excellent. Very family camping friendly. Water pressure was GREAT! Overall, I highly doubt I would stay here again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
28-31 May 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This is a peaceful, quiet campground located not far from the main Ft Knox base. Grounds and bathhouse were beautifully and meticulously maintained. There is a lovely hiking trail to the nearby lake where one can fish as well. There appeared to be many long-term campers, with semi-permanent fixtures, but no visible sign of occupancy. Such "homesteaders" make it difficult for those who simply wish to visit the area for a few days. The free WiFi was poor at best, and there was NO AT&T wireless coverage, which we understand is not the campground's fault. In our situation, we expect to be connected 24x7, so were grateful when we moved out of the gully after four days. Considering the wireless and Internet situation, we will likely not stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Prices are incorrect here, they went up. They consider HIGH peak season till December 1. We stayed here in October and rates are $23 for FHU and $20 for w/e, weekly rates are pay for 6 get 7 free and America the beautiful is only a $1 discount. I really don't think the rates are worth it. Cell reception is zero for anyone except Verizon and even with Verizon it's in/out. Only way around this issue is buy a $500 Verizon signal boaster...not worth it unless you plan to stay long term.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 28 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stopped for one night heading south. Camp host are very friendly and helpful. This campground has a lot of homesteading and sites show it. Hot water heater laying by camper along with 5 or more storage tubs stacked up, tarp for awning, pallets laying around. Saw a couple sites that were junked up and detract from the campground. Active duty living there. Is becoming a trailer park if you ask me. No cell service, didn't have wifi code, did not use bathhouse. Might stop again if we're passing thru. Oh, cabin area looks very nice and well taken care of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 11 - 13, 2012
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Clean and well kept park. Nice area to visit and near post facilities. Orientation of some sites have your entry opening next to the road. Our fire ring was only about 3 ft from the road. Rebar sticking up through railroad ties around the gravel pad was a trip and safety hazard. Obviously been that way for a long while. Hard to believe the military doesn't inspect the place. The 120 day rule is with a wink and a nod. Receptionist said as long as no one reserves your site after your time is up you can stay. She seems to have missed the part about vacating for 72 hours. So at $13 a day homesteaders will stay. Military retiree that I met there was upset at having a waiting list for full hook up sites. At the outer rings the Wifi was useless.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 8 2012
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I arrived at the CG late after driving from Branson, MO and was greeted by a volunteer, that wasn't sure what was going on. I were told that the only site available was one in the rear of the CG, where you have no Cell, Satellite, Antenna TV Service, Internet or Sewer. The neighbor to our left had a fire in the ring with the only thing but smoke rolling out and blowing in our direction, and drinking heavily. The neighbor to our rear had 2 dogs chained up, 1 was a bulldog, that we witnessed him beating that poor dog with what appeared to be a large stick. Now after all this the Home Stealers had every good site tied up. Some have been there, for what seems "THE BEGINING OF TIME". However, after getting setup we walked back to the office to get cell service and found 3 nice sites that were empty and in the open, and of course no one in the office. I did have the opportunity the talk to the MWR Director after leaving feedback on the "ICE" Website, and she assured me there was no home steadier there, (right). There is a Class a Motor home there that had a deck on the front of it. I express my feelings and told her that if there were Active Duty Folks staying there, no one would have any objections them living there, after all they are Protecting Our Freedom!! As a retiree, I felt I were treated inappropriately, or as I told her a 3rd rate citizen. Chances are I will not be going back there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 4
January 2011
(Updated: January 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife and I camp at Camp Carlson a few times a year. This is a very nice campground and very clean. The staff is both helpful and friendly. Our most recent trip was the past January 2011. We spent two nights there and was very satisfied. They have the cleanest restrooms we have ever seen. The only bad thing is the television reception and the distance from main post facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We arrived on June 20, 2010 and reserved a site for three nights. We left after one night. The campground was clean, the showers and laundry rooms were spotless, really nice, with a TV in the laundry room with a satellite hookup. It's the only TV we were able to watch. There was no TV coverage at the sites (cable, local or satellite), no sewage, no cell phone service and the WiFi never worked. I will say that Diana, the site manager, was very courteous and tried to be helpful, but not enough to bring us back to this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 3
June 13, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Positives: Professional staff, laundry facility, reasonable prices with age and America the Beautiful Card discounts, close to Ft Knox facilities, small lake with fishing, fairly new cabins to rent, well kept bathhouses, pleasing surroundings, free Wi-Fi. Negatives: It's a journey to get to this place from the major interstates. There are 32 rules mostly aimed at protecting their grass, Wi-Fi is as slow as a dead turtle, the squatters have all of the FHU 50 amp sites, the dump station is on the wrong side of every RV in the world, voltage is low (althogh, it was hot and the campground was full). Access road is gravel which make for alot of dust.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 14-22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
After reading the reviews, and hearing great things from a fellow camper while in FL, I couldn't wait to visit. It was rainy when we arrived and the gravel/dirt roads (and narrow pads) were aggravating. Many hookups were in very strange placements, as were the 'patios' for the sites, often times not matching where the RVs' doors were. And, since there were so many homesteaders, summer may be a hard pressed time for a free space, since no reservations can be made. Many of the partial hookup sites are on a difficult to manuever road with overhaning branches and narrow openings between trees. The playgrounds are small, and the larger one is way across the road. There is no cell service. The new laundry/showers and TV lounge are great, and the lake is beautiful (on all sides now; we spent an afternoon picking up trash from the infrequented far side of the lake), and the staff is friendly and VERY helpful. There was a recycling bin on site. Luckily, the rates were average, and being by Louisville to see the sites is convenient, so the negatives were overlooked, but I cannot rate it higher than a 3.5
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
11 results - showing 1 - 11