Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured New
 
4.5 (63)
101654   1   26   0   47

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

63 reviews

 
(41)
 
(15)
 
(7)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.3  (63)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (63)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.4  (63)
Value 
 
4.5  (63)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
May 30-June2 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good little campground! Quite clean, new bathhouses/laundry facility is very nice. Ft Knox is close by, with all the usual amenities. I wish the Gen. Patton museum was finished, but for a two night stay, it was very good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
21-25 Aug 16
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had a very good time here. Easy to find, but the entrance is almost at the bottom of a hill, so slowing down to make the turn can be an issue. Campground is extremely well maintained. Grass cut, bathroom/laundry was very impressive. The campground is off post and no security at the gate. We were able to get the satellite up and running. Which is good because TV and Cell phone reception were non-existent. The WiFi was hit or miss most of the time. Two very nice dog walk areas. The table and fire ring were very good. We had a pull through gravel site which sloped slightly to the driver side. The only downside was the number of HS who took up good spots. The campground was very full while we were there. Overall great experience. We will definitely come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
20 Nov 14
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Only stayed here one night, but we really liked what we saw and will stop back for a longer stay on the way home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Oct Nov 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have stayed at this campground over a dozen times and it is still on top of our list, there has been some changes. First, the Camp Hosts are the best ever. If it was not for them, it would not be a great park. The WIFI might as well not exist. And no matter how much you talk to them about it, nothing is done, the service is provided by a contractor. Being the location is down in the valley, there is nothing no one can do about the phone service. As always, you have too many contractors homesteading and the sites look like trailer trash. There is also a new camp manager who never comes out of the office. But the park is still a great park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 26 - June 1, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 7 nights. Campground is clean, as is washroom and laundry. The campground is off base, but Fort Knox is just 3-4 miles away. No diesel fuel on base. Great location to take in some of the area sights. We will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
24-27 June 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - A great place, quiet, pleasant surroundings, close to the base for commissary and BX, an easy drive to the Lincoln birth and boyhood sites. The new laundry, lounge and bathrooms were spotless.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 28, 2012
(Updated: July 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice campground. When I arrived, the grass was a thick carpet of green and had been freshly mowed. Large attractive hardwood trees. The office and bathhouse look new, clean, and well-maintained. Spacious laundry with 8 washers and 8 dryers for $1.00 each and all were working. Paved roads and some sites had a concrete pad. Free Wi-Fi at each site provided by satellite so usage is limited to 160 Mb a day which could be a problem for moderate to heavy users. Camping fees are very reasonable with a $2 per day discount for 55+ campers. A separate section contains about a dozen cabins near the lake. Thirty miles from downtown Louisville. The only negative about this campground is the condition of the homesteader sites. Many sites show signs of long-term residence – wooden steps, unsightly items stored under the RV, toys and bicycles scattered about the yard, large 100 lb propane bottles at the front of the RV. One site had 5 propane bottles of various sizes in front of their RV. Several sites are growing vegetable gardens in pots on their picnic table.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2011
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed 1 night in transit south. Nice place with spacious pull throughs. Very clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
MAY 2008
(Updated: July 28, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have to agree with Tsunami's & ckt1945's posting. We arrived here a year ago in April, after my hubby returned home from his fourth tour in Iraq, to retire. It has taken much longer for his retirement to go through than we had anticipated and appreciate the hospitality we have received while being stationed here. We right now have a gentleman that came and dropped off three fifth wheels about 2 months ago. We have not seen this gentlemen since, but there have been at least 14 different people, including women and children, who have come to stay in these rv's. None of the vehicles have military stickers on them. I have asked a few of the different patrons if they were military, or if they were working on post and they just ignored me. There are a few patrons here who have been here for over two years that are either project managers or are working in some fashion on post. But they do own their own units and stay in their own units. The restrooms and laundry facilities are very clean. Since this last batch of contractors have arrived, there have been 5 out of the 8 washers continually out of service. (Have since been fixed) I do agree, that there needs to be more spaces made available for active duty military, reservists, national guard and retired vets to use. Right now, it seems to me, that the contractors have priority. UPDATED: May 28, 2008 - The five fifth wheels have finally left. Come to find out, all of these people who stayed in these rv's were sponsored by one individual. That individual, had his own business, and had been awarded a contract for some work at a power plant in Louisville (non-related to any military facility). He brought his 5 rv's and all his employees from Florida, up here, none of whom had ever served a day in the military, and they were allowed to stay in this park. They arrived in early February and just left. Let's see, that is past the 120 day limit. There were several complaints made by other military patrons to management about the loud music and drinking, but nothing was done. There was an active duty soldier and his wife, clearing, on his way to Fort Hood to be deployed to Iraq, guess where he had to park his rv? On a 30amp, no sewer hook up, while the non-military people, working at a power plant in Louisville, had the prime FHU spots. We had made an ICE complaint some time back, and guess who responded to the complaint? Management, and nothing was resolved. We were told that as long as someone is sponsored they can stay here. (There should be a limit on the amount of non-military individuals that one person can sponsor along with a specified length of time.) The sponsored individual does not have to have the sponsor with them and if more more then one individual rotates in and out of the units, it is not her business. So when you come to stay here, expect to be surrounded by non-military contractors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
9 - 10 October, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The directions to the CG are good. We found the office personnel very friendly and helpful. The grounds and the office/day room are very nice. The sites are nicely spaced with FHU, good water pressure and 125 or better volts of electric power. The camp grounds is in a wooded area and very quit and peaceful. I had a little problem getting on the WiFi, had limited service for my e-mail. I have a MacBook so it could be me. The CG is on the site of Ft Carlson Army Post and the Gen Patton Museum is great. The PX and Commissary on Ft Knox are not far away. Overall we enjoyed the time we spent at Ft Carlson Rec Area. We will go back when we are in the area. Great job Outdoor Rec.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
27-30 Aug 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have been to this campground numerous times from when it was only 18 sites to present. It is a nice place with a friendly staff. A quiet retreat with lake nearby. With progress so goes cost and they now are at $16 and that is to me high for a mil camp. There are to many homesteading construction workers (dod) here which limit the # of sites for travelers that retired and even for active mil. There is no reservation system so you gamble coming in if on a holiday week. The wifi is pretty good with 4 antennas but at times it shuts down though not for a long time. This a good campground but there are areas that could be improved for active and retired members.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 27, 2007 - July 10, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This CG is one of the best we stayed at. The staff is helpful, accommodating, and friendly. We were told at check in that there was only a few sites left with no sewage. We viewed them and decided on G3, as recommended (uploaded a picture with attached screen room). The site was worth the trips with the honey wagon. The office and facility buildings are new. I uploaded a few pics on the laundry and kitchen. Always clean. The showers have a bench seat in private stall, one has a popup seat for the handicap. Free phone for local calls and free WIFI. The negatives camp Carlson, WIFI is not always available, fades in and out. Because of the location in a valley, there is NO cell phone service. No reservations allowed. We will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
1-30 May 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Definately agree with all the positive comments about this Park, but.............They have brought in 4 ex-FEMA small travel trailers and set them on on primo sites as rentals!! This action, combined with the homesteaders & squaters (not all of whom are GIs) has severely limited the number of sites avail to the traveler. Best call ahead to be sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I agree with most of what others have said. The new bathhouse/laundry is completed, the paving not yet begun, and the park manager is indeed very nice and helpful. WiFi operation is great and FREE! Cell phone operation is iffy, due to the location of the park in a depression, which completely surrounds the park with higher ground. The older (30 amp) area is still in use with at least six campers located there. The long timers consist of two civilian contractors, who have been onsite for over eighteen months, and may possibly remain until contract completion (five years!). There are at least ten sites occupied by active duty personnel and two sites with unoccupied RV?s (?), plus the camp host. The RV sites are located adjacent to a very large and well maintained picnic area in which new playground equipment is being installed. Additionally, there is a separate area with a number of small and large cabins, which can be rented; access to Otter Creek and a small lake ensures great fishing opportunities. A very nice RV park indeed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camp Carlson is an excellent Park with amazing water pressure. What a treat to have a shower in my RV like the one I have at home. Found the active duties folks friendly and very helpful. There is some contention between the lady that runs the Camp and the long timers. They are preparing to pave the road system that takes you to your spots, so you may want to call and check status.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2005
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
CG was being expanded/upgraded at time of our stay. Nice wooded area, good walking around/along adjacent lake w/good fishing also. Friendly hospitable staff we thought. Good place to stay if in the area. Nice walking areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16