Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (66)
107705 1 26 0 48

User reviews

38 reviews with 5 stars

66 reviews

 
(41)
 
(16)
 
(9)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.3  (66)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.7  (66)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (66)
Value 
 
4.4  (66)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (66)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
38 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
13 - 16 Sept 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A nice quiet milcamp. Be aware there was no TV reception and limited cell service during our stay there is no longer any wifi offered by the campground. The camp managers were on top of our stay and had a nice check in process.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 19-20 & May 25, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place with very friendly staff. Cabins are awesome! All amenities needed including cable tv. Shaded around cabins with picnic table, grill, fire pit, large front porch with glider and chair. Very clean and well maintained. Price is great, alot cheaper than a hotel and more family friendly atmosphere. Thanks Carlson staff and Fort Knox!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
15-23 May 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Was very easy to find using GPS.  Arrived on Sunday after the office was closed (open until 1215 EDT on Sundays).  As soon as we pulled into the parking area adjacent to the office, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful camp host.  We had made reservations several months ago and had been assigned a electric + water back-in site.  We called a few days prior to see if by chance a full hook-up had come available and they said to ask upon check-in.  The camp host took me around on his 4-wheeler to view available sites.  We found a nice full hook-up back-in site.  This campgrounds is maintained immaculately.  The sites are level, easy to back in my 42 ft long fifth wheel.  Nice doggie park near our campsite.  It is split in half, one side for big dogs, and the other for smaller dogs, and no "land mines" - users apparently police the doo-doo pretty good.  The laundry/latrine facility looks brand new.  The washers and dryers look like they have never been used (eight each I believe).  $1 wash, $1 dry.  Very clean "day room" adjacent to the laundry with fridge and reading material.  Hard surface roads.  Mediocre internet, but it is free so not complaining.  Cell coverage is nearly none-existent, even with Verizon. Poor reception on broadcast channels (cannot receive NBC, ABC or CBS), but was able to see Directv satellites from a tripod.  Policy says no "homesteading" but it would sure appear some of these trailers have been here a VERY long time, especially the primo full hook-up pull throughs.  We have only been here one day but we would definitely recommend this campgrounds with our experience so far. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
September 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp Carlson is a great place to stay. Sites are huge and the WiFi is great. Laundry area and bathrooms are spotless. Washers/dryers are only 1.00. The only bad things is they offer recycling for cans and bottles, but watched them throw all the recyclables into the dumpster. That was disheartening. The other bad part is the garbage that is all around the fishing pond. There are several trash cans located around the pond, but people just throw it on the ground. My hubby and I spent quite some time picking up as much garbage as we could. The park itself is very clean and we'll maintained. Someone needs to address the situation at the pond. Other than that, we really liked staying here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 21, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp Carlson is a decent place to stay. The facilities are large and we'll maintained. Laundry facility is only $1.00 per load. Lots of machines. Grounds are well maintained. Large pads with plenty of room. Other campers are friendly. There's a large fishing pond that's beautiful, but the downside is the litter left behind by the fishermen. They just toss their trash on the ground. Otherwise it's a nice place. Internet is slow, when it even works. I would recommend a stay here.
PR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
September 10-11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
It was a great experience - off base but close, quiet & well maintained, friendly hosts, large sites with trees, picnic tables and fire rings & paved interior roads all at a great price! It was only lacking in cell phone reception (Verizon sometimes had 3G & 1 or 2 bars at best). General comments - Only a few sites were concrete, rest were gravel. Depending on your satelite dish, only a few sites would accommodate a roof mounted system and others will need a portable dish.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 31 - August 14, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground! Helpful host, ditto management. Not too far to base facilities, but not on post so it's quiet. ONLY down tick is for slow internet service (reminds me of dial-up speeds!), but at least it's there. Also, only Verizon works for cell phones, and even that's not great. Still, this is a really nice CG and we'll be staying here again if we're in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Sept 10 - 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wife and I stopped for a week and ended up staying for two. The Famcamp is kept very tidy and the bathhouse is kept very clean everyday. The hosts that take over after business hours were awesome. One of them actually rode around tending to ice and firewood for the campers with campsite delivery. There's a beautiful lake area (Lake Carlson) for fishing. There's even a trail around the backside of the lake for a great early evening walk with your dog. Only problem I found and it has nothing to do with the "FamCamp" was the trash thrown everywhere around the lake by the fisherman. There was trash cans everywhere and they are checked and changed daily, yet fisherman would throw their cans, bottles, fishing line, dirty diapers wherever they fished. It was so bad, my wife and I on our nightly walks, filled a total of 5 trash bags...this is how I know the trash cans were changed daily. New hours, they close at 15:30 M-T-T-F closed wed,S-S. See camp host if closed. They have WiFi, you get a code from office or host, its slow but works for social media.
RT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 19, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time visit and it will not be our last! This is a gem of a park. Clean, clean bathhouse! Nice little bike ride up to the rental lodge, beautiful lake view, if you are planning any event this is the place to have it! Of all the military parks we have stayed in, this is ranked number one. Friendly staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stay here almost every year. My husband's sister lives in Valley Station just down the road. This year, we were here a little over a week. Always liked this park. Very clean. Poor Verizon cell phone service because a small cell phone company has locked up the area and won't allow any other cell towers. Thought their contract would be up, but apparently it has been renewed. Am able to use my Verizon Mifi, but is very slow and sometimes have to play with it before I can get on. Will be back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 27 - Jul 1, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
W.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We had called ahead on the day of our arrival because we had not made reservations. The night host met us and guided us to a place to drop our utility trailer and then to our site. He is outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 June 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had an outstanding visit. We stayed for two weeks for our daughter's wedding and had the time of our life. Park is clean and very well kept. The sites with electric and water can now be reserved on Webtrac but the sites with sewage are on first come first serve basis. WIFI and phone service are sketchy but town is about ten-fifteen minutes away and you can connect at local fast food places. Park is wooded and on a lake, beautiful surroundings. Bathhouse and laundry are new and very well maintained. Reminder to people using the park to clean up after yourself. The area around the lake has many fishing packages and trash left from fisherman.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17-20 Nov
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at this great campground on the way to and again on the way back from Mammoth Cave NP. Very nice hiking trails, a nice small lake and lots of well-maintained group areas. Free Wifi was good, great restroom facilities, very clean and well maintained. Large clean laundry facilities and a dayroom with sat tv, common area kitchen and a large book, magazine and vcr tape sharing library. All of the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Very good value and I would recommend this camp to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 30 - Sep 3, 2012
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the most beautiful campgrounds, military or civilian, we've stayed in all our travels. Office staff very friendly and helpful. Reservations can only be made on line and tends to be somewhat confusing. Reservations can be made for water/elec sites only. Was told on the phone that you have to be put on a waiting list for full hookups. We lucked out and were assigned a full hookup site when we arrived. Campground is immaculate, as was the laundry and rec room. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 10 - 13 August 2012
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here 64 days. Very quite and relaxing, Has a pond with fishing, & walking trail. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $13.00 per night. Campground in not on base, but not far. Also not far from other shopping and dining out. Had laundry at campground 1.00 wash & dry. Has some homesteaders that work on base, but was not a problem, always had some sites open. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25 July 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed one night on our return to Florida. We called ahead and were told one site was available but it was first come, first served as there are no reservations. We arrived at 1900 hours and were greeted by the camp host Royal Jones ... a real pleasure to talk to. After giving us all the info, he showed us the site which worked very well for our 37 foot coach. The bathrooms, showers, laundry and Rec room were immaculate. This is truly one of Ft Knox's best kept secrets as my father was stationed there, I was and my son was and I never heard of it before I learned of it on Military Campgrounds. I will be returning my next trip north.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 7,2012 to June 21, 2012
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I whole heartedly recommend it to everyone. We had a very good time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
Oct 18, 2011
(Updated: November 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent 4 nights at Camp Carlson. The camp hostess was very friendly and informative. Received the Senior discount. Assigned a pull-thru which had good view for the satellite dish. Used the laundry which was clean and reasonable at $1.00 to wash and $1.00 to dry. All though the weather was sloppy wet and cold, we had an enjoyable stay. Visited the Patton Museum and toured the Post once the weather cleared. Will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2 2011
(Updated: November 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
No more discount for golden age/access cards. But I am so old I get the seniors discount. The paved roads is a great addition to the park. Only met the manager at check in yesterday and she was very friendly as always. We visit here once a year for doctor check ups and the staff are always great. We even get decent cell phone service with our Verizon and AT&T phones. The free WIFI here is still very slow, so I just use our air card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I just purchased a used RV and made my first trip from the coast of NC to Camp Carlson. I spent about 10 days there and did not want to leave. Its a beautiful campground and so very clean. The staff was as friendly as could be and I felt at home there. 2 playgrounds for children and tons of picnic areas. Very quiet, peaceful and serene. If you are looking for a beautiful and peaceful campground, this is the place I intend to go back as soon as possible. Thank you for a great "first" camping experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
38 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2